Monday, December 26, 2011

Zane's Redemption By Tina Folsom

Zane's Redemption (Scanguards Vampires #5)

*Submitted for review by Publisher*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance

Description:


The last thing vampire bodyguard Zane wants to do is to guard a hybrid, a half-vampire, half-human, whose father wants to keep her a virgin. Known for his violent temper and callous lack of compassion, Zane’s out-of-control rage, born of the cruelty he suffered during the Holocaust, drives him to focus only on revenge. Trying to find the last of his torturers is his only goal in life.

Portia is a young hybrid with a serious dilemma: in a few weeks, her body will be set in its final vampire form. If she is to avoid having to live out her immortal life as a virgin, she must find a lover in that short time—something her father hires Zane to prevent.

The moment Portia and Zane meet, rules begin to bend, and a forbidden attraction bursts into flames hotter than the hell of Zane’s past. But that past threatens to pull them apart unless they can overcome their prejudice, forsake hate for love, and revenge for forgiveness.




Review
 
Zane is a vampire, a member of the Scanguards, he hears a woman in trouble, a woman being violated and saves her but when he sees the woman, he mutilates and tears her attackers apart, he is enraged by what they had done to the woman who resembles his little sister Rachel from his past, a very painful past. This act leads to him being downgraded in his class at the Scanguards and pulled off assignment as punishment, but is given the opportunity to redeem himself by being put in charge of guarding a hybrid vampire while her father is out of town. But thing just get more complicated for Zane with someone out to see him killed, the very person who destroyed his soul in the past, who made him what he is.

Portia is a hybrid vampire on the cusp of her twenty-first birthday and needs to find a man as soon as possible but not all goes to plan when her father finds out what she is up to and refuses to let her go through with it. He hires Zane under the pretences of stopping his daughter from doing anything against his will, not that Portia was going to just sit back and accept it, and she is determined to see through her plans, which gets all the more tempting when she lays eyes on Mr. Sexy and Delicious Zane. The heat between Portia and Zane is instant and she knows that she wants him to help her with what she needs to do, but Zane is reluctant, at first that is. When it comes to light the connection between Zane’s past and Portia it tears him apart and he pushed Portia away, but he eventually sees the light and is determined to get her back.

This as a great read, if you love The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward or the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian you are going to enjoy reading this one. I loved the characters, the tormented nature of Zane and Portia’s willingness to do what is right for her, to not be controlled and treated like property by her father. Lots of butt kicking action combined with steamy scenes that were perfectly written. I don’t think there was anything I didn’t like about this book, it was brilliant, loved it from start to finish.




Rating:
«««««

Friday, December 23, 2011

Take Me Home By Sloan Parker

Take Me Home

*Submitted for review by the Author*

Genre:
M/M Romance

Description:

Aspiring television writer Evan Walker has been in love with his best friend since high school, but Kyle doesn’t do boyfriends. Never has. Never will. Evan knows it’s a bad idea to give in to desire when he wants more than a friend with benefits. He has a new dream job. Now all he needs is the dream partner.

Kyle Bennett is a mystery novelist with a severe case of writer’s block. He needs a change. He has three days on their cross-country train trip home for the holidays to figure out how to tell Evan he’s staying there for good. He also has to write the overdue pages for his editor. Only, he’s a little too distracted by the close quarters in their sleeper compartment—and Evan’s ass—to get much done.

The sparks that fly between them are hotter than ever. Good thing they have a real-life mystery to focus on: why people all around them, including Evan’s new boss, want to get their hands on a journal that once belonged to Kyle’s grandfather.

When a blizzard traps them in the mountains, Kyle and Evan steam up the train’s windows and must finally face their true desires.




Review

Evan and Kyle have always had feeling for each other extending beyond just their friendship but for various reason they had never made the steps to show each other just how much they mean to each other and what they truly want. Kyle is afraid of hurting Evan, and Evan is afraid of getting hurt especially after getting out of a relationship which has left him feeling unworthy and heartbroken. When Kyle is given a journal from his dead grandfather, the story in it that his grandfather writes opens Kyle up to his feelings and gives him the courage to believe he could make Evan happy. When Dennis was causing friction between Evan and Kyle I was so irritated, I hated him, but in the end he didn’t turn out to be such a bad guy, he had his own reasons for when happened with Evan and he was also hurting, he did what was best for Evan even though it ended up hurting them both.

This isn’t just a romance, it is filled with plenty of heartfelt moments, action of both the steamy kind and adventure kind, it had everything you could want from an m/m romance read with a little mystery and plenty of suspense. I liked how each character really had a personality of their own and didn’t get lost in the words or telling of the story. The twists and turns in the book were easy to keep up with and it didn’t feel bogged down with too much information, it flowed and I really got caught up in the story, I didn’t want it to end. I wanted to read more about Evan and Kyle, how everything is now that they have found each other, if they do end up with a family and the life they want together. I really loved Evan and Kyle as characters, they were amazing to read and even though frustrating at times with not putting their issues behind them and being together sooner, I couldn’t help but enjoy every second of them together. I would give this between 3 and a half and borderline four stars. Great read.




Rating: ««««

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

The Darkest Surrender By Gena Showalter

The Darkest Surrender (Lords of the Underworld #8)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Possessed by the demon of Defeat, Strider cannot lose a challenge without suffering unimaginable pain. For him, nothing stands in the way of victory. Until Kaia, an enchanting Harpy, tempts him to the razor’s edge of surrender.

Known among her people as The Disappointment, Kaia must bring home the gold in the Harpy Games or die. Strider is a distraction she can’t afford because he has an agenda of his own – steal first prize, an ancient godly artifact, before the winner can be named. But as the competition heats up, only one prize will matter – the love neither had thought possible…




Review

Kaia is a strong and determined woman, a harpy in fact and she has her eyes set on one man, the hard-ass Strider. Kaia is to take part in the Harpy games and to do so she must take a consort or a slave, but as she has no slaves she needs consort and as she believes in her heart that Strider is the one for her, he must go with her. Strider has other incentives for accompanying Kaia to the Harpy games, he is after an artefact that he needs Kaia to help him retrieve, a very dangerous task, one that could see Kaia hunted, tortured and killed but none of that will happen with him on watch, Strider is determined of that. Seemed like it took forever for Strider to finally make his move on Kaia and admit his true feelings, wanted to hit up upside the head so many times to get him to wake up and man up already but I was glad when he finally did; I also like how he was protective of Kaia but was aware that she could hold her own and fight her own battles;

“You are not Kaia the Disappointment. Do you hear me? That’s what I was trying to tell you earlier. You are Kaia the Mighty. How many Harpies out there do you think could have brought down the most badass Lord of the Underworld? The same Lord who also happens to be the strongest, sexiest and smartest. And by the way, in case there’s any doubt, I’m describing me.”

There were no shortages of similarly cute moments throughout this read. I really liked the Phoenix angle with Kaia, that’s pretty damn cool and how she managed to save herself with her fire. One of the great things about Kaia is that she is a kick-ass female lead in her own right and isn’t one of those damsels in distress which I don’t really like reading about in books.

I would give this three and a half stars if I could but on the higher end. I just found it dragged a little bit, though that could just be my dirty mind at play wanting to see some Strider/Kaia action though I was expecting a bit more from Strider as a character. This read did leave me eager to read about Paris however, can’t wait to get a hold of his book, I think it’s going to be a real steamer.




Rating: ««««

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Take Me Home By Sloan Parker Giveaway!

A little about the Author:

Sloan Parker, author of m/m erotic romances and romantic suspense, loves to explore the lives of people who are growing as individuals while falling in love. Her novel MORE is the 2011 EPIC eBook Award Winner for Mystery, Suspense, and/or Adventure Erotic Romance and Winner of the 2010 Rainbow Award for Best Gay Contemporary Romance.
Sloan enjoys writing in the fictional world because in fiction you can be anything, do anything...even fall in love for the first time over and over again.



Take Me Home







Aspiring television writer Evan Walker has been in love with his best friend since high school, but Kyle doesn’t do boyfriends. Never has. Never will. Evan knows it’s a bad idea to give in to desire when he wants more than a friend with benefits. He has a new dream job. Now all he needs is the dream partner.

Kyle Bennett is a mystery novelist with a severe case of writer’s block. He needs a change. He has three days on their cross-country train trip home for the holidays to figure out how to tell Evan he’s staying there for good. He also has to write the overdue pages for his editor. Only, he’s a little too distracted by the close quarters in their sleeper compartment—and Evan’s ass—to get much done.

The sparks that fly between them are hotter than ever. Good thing they have a real-life mystery to focus on: why people all around them, including Evan’s new boss, want to get their hands on a journal that once belonged to Kyle’s grandfather.

When a blizzard traps them in the mountains, Kyle and Evan steam up the train’s windows and must finally face their true desires.




*Giveaway* (CLOSED)
Winner: Desert RoseDue to the winner not contacting me back within the time frame stated in my giveaway policy a new winner has been drawn.Diana (@Offbeat Vagabond)
Thanks to Sloan Parker and her generosity, I have one eCopy of Take Me Home to give to one lucky person.


To enter:

-Be a follower (GFC/Email/Twitter/Goodreads)
-Comment with which way you follow me & name you follow with and your email address so I will be able to contact you to confirm your win.


Optional Extra Entry:
(Please post extra entry along with your main entry in the same comment)

-Tweet about the Giveaway +1




This Giveaway will run from today the 8th of December until the end of the 17th of December. A Winner will be drawn at random on the 18th and contacted to confirm their win and email address. Please refer to my policies page if you are unsure of anything.

Waking Up Dead By Skye Savoy

Waking Up Dead

 *Provided for Review by Publisher*

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Before death came to collect Ava Berry in the form of one mouth-watering fallen angel named Suriyel, she was a newly divorced, 51-year-old caterer with Suriyel and his magic amulet, she’s now in the body of her 20-something niece who died on the same night. Ava’s hell-bent on catching a killer even if it means not being heaven-bound anymore.

Fending off a possessed dumpster and an Elvis impersonator while dealing with her deceased mother who’s back as her pimped-out, Hoverround®-riding, guardian angel, are a lot easier than keeping her heart away from Suriyel. The soul-collector risks being thrown back into the center of the earth so he can protect and teach Ava to use the powers of the amulet. Good thing, too, because she soon finds herself using it to save his life and what remains of her lineage.




Review

 Ava wakes up and believe she is having a kind of out of body experience, but it soon comes to light that she is out of body alright, but not in the way she thinks and when an angel comes to collect her, she isn’t at all happy about the situation;

“I refuse to let you do a beam-me-up-Scotty with me if it’s the last thing I do!” With my free hand, I reached for the post by the headboard and hung on with all my might. “No sir-ee. I’m not going anywhere with… whatever you call yourself, period!”

Ava refuses to go anywhere until she finds out how she got into this situation, who killed her. Ava teams up with the angel, Suriyel, making a deal that is he helps her find her killer, then she will go willingly with him. Suriyel gives Ava the opportunity to live again, to inhabit another body in order to aid her in finding her killer, a younger body at that, her nieces. But things don’t go to plan with something trying to kill Ava again putting the ones around her in danger. I got a little confused at times with the story, it isn’t what I expected that’s for sure. I liked the humorous moments throughout this read but it just didn’t suck me in or enthral me.




Rating: «««

The Storm That Is Sterling By Lisa Renee Jones

The Storm that is Sterling (Zodius #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

HE MAY BE INVINCIBLE TO EVERYONE ELSE...


Sterling Jeter has remarkable powers and has shown himself to be just about indestructible. But beautiful, brilliant Rebecca Burns knows that even a Super Soldier needs comfort, and so much more...

BUT SHE CAN SEE THAT DEEP DOWN, HE'S JUST A MAN...

Sterling and Rebecca's teenage romance was interrupted, but years later the heat between them flares back to life. Even though it endagers everything they're fighting for, it's impossible to resist picking up right where they left off...





Review
 
With Adam still intent on his plan of creating a Zodius nation continuing on from the first book, he is using a drug called “ICE” which leaves the users with strength and healing as long as they keep taking regular doses, but miss a dose and you get nothing but death. Adam seeks the expertise of Becca to help him improve the “ICE” formula, but Sterling is there to put a spanner in the works of his plan and to get Becca away from his grasp. Becca and Sterling have a history of sorts, Sterling standing Becca up on a date years before but little does she realise that the reason he stood her up is because he was signed up to the army and the GTECH program. When they are captured by Adam’s people Becca is forced to down a vial is ICE or risk Sterling being shot, due to the fact she isn’t aware he is GTECH, she does what is demanded of her;

“He meant it. She saw it in his eyes. He hated Sterling. He wanted to kill him, if he hadn’t already succeeded. There was too much of Sterling’s blood on the steel floor pooling around his body for him to survive. Too many bullets were buried deep inside him, but she couldn’t-wouldn’t-give up on him.

“I’ll take it.” She held out her hand and received a gloating smile in return.”

But although the ICE has the terrible effect of death if not continuously consumed, it also heals Becca from the death sentence she was facing. This ended with a bit of a cliff hanger of sorts, leaving you wanting more, with Adam’s plan with his son Dorian, which is bound to have some disastrous effects for The Renegades and Cassandra’s father from the last book, General Powell, making a reappearance. I really like how Lisa Renee Jones balances out the romantic aspects with the action and suspense. I loved the twists throughout this read, and finding out what Tad could do, even though he was fighting on the wrong side, his ability would be damn cool to have. It was pretty crushing how Damion caught so much bad wrap in this because of what Tad had done when Sterling was saving Becca, when I first read it I was totally against Damion and couldn’t believe it, but I am glad it all turned out right in the end. I was a little bit frustrated by Becca at times, mostly due to her pulling away from Sterling and from hiding her Lifeblood mark from him, what the heck girl! You can’t help but swoon over Sterling, just how I like my lead male characters, strong, protective but also sensitive, can’t beat that. This story wasn’t quite as good as the first but still fantastic, I’d give this four and a half stars if I could.





Rating:
««««

Sunday, December 4, 2011

The Legend Of Michael By Lisa Renee Jones

The Legend of Michael (Zodius #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

HE IS A LETHAL WEAPON…

One of an army of human soldiers injected with alien DNA, Michael is a legend within this new race, split between good and evil. Untamable, he has walked on the dark side and returned to the light. Feared and misunderstood, he leaves everything behind, including the one woman destined to be his mate.

HE IS HER ENEMY…AND HER DESTINY…

Fate leads Michael back to Cassandra Powell, for she holds the key to defending his comrades. With their loyalties divided between duty and the people they love, only together can Cassandra and Michael overcome insurmountable odds to save humanity from the wrath of a madman.

But no ordinary woman can control a creature such as Michael, and only one thing is clear—the world will never be the same…






Review
 
Cassandra works at a facility run by her father to create super humans, GTECH soldiers using alien DNA.  She is working on a gene called X2 that leaves the modified soldiers with an anomaly of a special unique ability but her father isn’t as accepting of this ability and decides to lock up all the soldiers with this gene, including her lover Michael, but things don’t go quite to plan when fellow GTECH Adam who also had the X2 gene revolting and planning to start a colony of Zodius;

“As you know from prior conversations,” Adam announced, “we are here today because our government is failing our people, and you want to be a part of a better nation. You want a country free of corruptness, free of human illness.” He tapped the table. “You want a Zodius nation...”

Not is all that it appears with Michael and as Cassandra soon finds out, Michael didn’t betray her, he needed to go along with Adams plan and Adam soon finds out about Michaels false loyalty which has dire consequences for Cassandra. So many times I wanted to hit Michael over the head and get him to wake up to himself and just be with Cassandra and stop trying to protect her when she was capable of doing that for herself and deciding what she wanted, but I was glad how it all turned out in the end. It was sick what Cassandra’s father was prepared to do to get what he wanted, even it if meant hurting his daughter, total nut job. Adam and Ava aren’t exactly on the sane side either, though Ava was particularly unlikable. There are plenty of twists and turns in this book, one of them being who Michael’s mother is doing the dirty with.

There are plenty of hot steamy scenes, mixed with some butt-kicking action which is just the way I like my romance. I love the way this was written, it flowed perfectly and even though the story had plenty of detail, it wasn’t hard to keep up with or follow. Lisa Renee Jones knows how to write a great read and I cannot wait to pick up the next in the series.





Rating:
«««««

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Kathleen Grieve "Dating 911" Excerpt & Giveaway!

Blurb

Emergency room nurse, Roxanne Carter is a loser-magnet wishing she could enjoy her single life. Commiserating with girlfriends over butterscotch martinis creates the idea of The Dating Manifesto--a not so scientific research project which promises to point the way to dating success. While gathering data to find the most suitable single men available, she wades through a series of unsavory, stale dates, which literally places her back at ground zero. Just when she is ready to give up, sin personified in the form of sexy firefighter Jett Avery, arrives tainting all of her previous data.

A traumatic warehouse fire, in which firefighter Jett Avery's closest friend dies, has him suffering from Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. Attempting to stave off the worst of his depression, he decides to use his brand of therapy...Sex. The remedy has lost luster until he encounters ER nurse Roxanne Carter.

The pursuit of Roxanne by Jett's twin brother, Doctor Cruz Avery, complicates her research and interferes with Jett's therapy. Does Roxanne choose the brother who by analysis is the perfect match? Or the broken, dark and irresistible one?


Excerpt

She held up her hands, palms facing toward him. “Stop. This is a hospital. Not some stupid television show where the medical staff is always making out in a closet. I work here. Don’t even think about it!”

Jett closed the distance between them until her hands pressed against his chest, searing their imprint through the thin cotton of his T-shirt. He grasped her fingers and lifted them to his mouth, licking the sensitive tips with his tongue one by one. Heat filled her eyes and she trembled.

“You feel the pull, too. Don’t you?” he asked, dropping her hand.

Jett slid his hands to her waist, and molded her against his erection. A perfect fit. Her sharp intake of breath as she shook her head told him all he needed to know. He smiled. Satisfaction filled him.

“Liar. Shake your head in denial all you want, but I can see the reflection mirrored in your eyes, and feel the powerful draw when I touch you,” he said in a husky tone. He rubbed his stiff cock against her stomach. The intensity of his desire eliminated all reason.

Jett buried his face in her neck and breathed in her sweetness. “Hmm. Today you smell like chocolate.” His tongue traced the delicate shell of her ear as his hands stroked her bare arms. “But you taste like honey.”

Her knees bent and he placed his leg between hers to support her. On the brink of total insanity, he continued his light exploration. His hand skimmed her torso, and skirted the side of her breast. With slow, deliberate care, he let his fingertips graze her collarbone on the way to grasp the back of her neck. Another tremor rippled through her.

God, she felt so damn good.

She tilted her chin and her head rested in his open palm. “Jett,” her sultry voice caused his penis to throb. “This is not a good idea. Anyone could come in here and….”

He pushed his thigh against her crotch. She inhaled sharply, desire deepening the blue of her eyes. “You were saying?”

Her brow furrowed. “And…”

“Intoxicating being a little naughty, isn’t it?” he rasped. He gently tugged her face closer to his.

“Hmm. I believe you mentioned the other night that your most recent sexual exploits have been lacking. Let’s add something of interest for your science venture.”







Buy Links

About The Author


A graduate of University of Nebraska Medical Center, Kathleen Grieve earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Science and Nursing in 1994. She has been a dedicated nurse for the past seventeen years, serving most of those years in intensive care. Always writing, Kathleen chose to pursue yet another career- that of a writer. An avid romance reader of all genres since age 13, she decided to try a hand at writing her own novel in the summer of 2006.

She draws a lot from the real-life medical drama she experiences as a RN for her novels. Writing romance is a creative outlet where she can effectively deal with the daily stress and sorrow, adding levity and humor to situations that provide a happily ever after when there isn't one. 
To find out more about Kathleen Grieve and her books, you can stop by her blog, Keeping A Pulse On Life & Romance at: http://kathleengrieve.blogspot.com

Her website: www.kathleengrieve.com

Follow her on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Kathleen-GrieveAuthor/251669291518939

Follow her on Twitter:
@KathleenGrieve




http://coffeebeanslovescenes.blogspot.com/2011/11/vbt-launch-party-end-of-tour-giveaway.html


*Giveaway* (ENDED)
Winner: Francesca 

 You're in luck, I have one eCopy of "Dating 911" to give away to one fortunate person.


How To Enter:

- Be a follower (GFC or via Email)

- Leave a comment with your email address so I will be able to contact you if you are lucky enough to win so I am able to confirm your win.


Optional Extra Entry +1

-Tweet about the Giveaway, please leave link of the tweet in the same comment as the mandatory entry above.


(This Giveaway will run from today the 27th of November until the 3rd of December at which point a winner will be drawn at random.)



There will also be an End of Tour Giveaway courtesy of Coffee Beans + Love Scenes of an ecopy of "Dating 911".
Click the link under the tour banner for more info.
Don't forget to check out the next tour stop at:
Sandra Cox



Friday, November 25, 2011

Night Bites By Nina Bangs

Night Bites (Mackenzie Vampires #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:


Cindy Harper has an ice-cream flavor for every emotion. Vanilla caramel fudge eases the stress of dealing with her weird and wacky guests at the Woo Woo Inn. But no sweet treat from her freezer is smooth, creamy, or tempting enough to cool down her dark fantasies about Thrain Davis.Thrain is a man to be enjoyed on a strictly primitive level. Every woman who-s ever seen him smile wonders about the pleasure his mouth could give her and recognizes the secrets in his hard blue gaze. Too late Cindy realizes the danger of inviting an ancient vampire into her inn. The concept of fanged creatures of the night scares her witless. Besides, he forces her to examine her past when she-s just fine with her present. He does have an upside, though. Who needs ice cream when you have a hot and yummy immortal in your bed?





Review

 Cindy runs a hotel specialising in an experience of the supernatural kind, but when Mr. Hot sexy vampire walks in and books a room, things start to get very interesting. Cindy has a secret, she may look twenty eight but she has lived for over seven centuries and has no idea why, little does she know that Thrain has the answers she seeks and has been sent to bring Cindy to her father Darach.


I have to say, I was expecting so much more from this book, it was such a chore for me to read. I found myself putting the book down for days at a time trying to get myself motivated to continue on and finish it but it was tough going, it just didn’t capture me, I was seriously considering just giving up on it. I probably enjoyed the interaction between Trojan the “cat” and Thrain more than anything else. I found the characters so bland and uninteresting, I found myself skimming through most of the book, it was just not suited to my tastes. I think it might have something to do with the way it was written, it just didn’t hold my attention. It did get better towards the end but if I hadn’t read this book, I wouldn’t have missed out on anything. Not even the steamy scenes could save this book for me.





Rating: ««

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

24.11.2011


 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"You are a kick ass chick, ready to face the night and kill some nasty vampires. You have your leathers on, your sidekick is ready...What is your weapon of choice?"
 
 
 
I'd have to take a leaf out of the books of my favourite series and bring out a couple of these fine pieces of vampire killing great-ness.
 
 

 
Yes, twin daggers, pretty bad-ass hey hehe

Monday, November 21, 2011

Revenge Is Sweet, A Kali Sweet Urban Fantasy Story By Misty Evans

Revenge is Sweet, a Kali Sweet Urban Fantasy Story (Kali Sweet Series)

*Provided by Author for review*

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Payback is a bitch and her name is Kali Sweet...

I’m Kali Sweet, the best damn vengeance demon on Earth. I work for the supernatural world’s Justice Department and protect innocent humans from otherworldly creatures like me. While I can’t take revenge for myself, I make sure justice is done for others.

But when my latest run-in with Chicago’s vampire king backfires, the fallout leaves me with three big problems: a powerful Undead enemy who wants my head, my boss looking over my shoulder, and three personal blood slaves jeopardizing my reputation.

One of those slaves happens to be sexy rock star Radison Beaumont – the half-human, half-chaos demon who left me at the altar three hundred years ago. Even if he does need my blood now to survive, Rad and I will always be enemies.

Especially since he’s joined an ancient society of demon killers—and I’m the number one demon on their most wanted list.






Review

Kali’s life is pretty straightforward, protect the innocent and kill the bad guys. She is a vengeance demon and a bad-ass one at that;

“While I looked like a male fantasy come to life in my short leather skirt, thigh-high boots and Red Riding Hood cape, they knew a true badass when they saw one.”

Things start to go to hell when her ex makes a reappearance, Rad, the man who stood her up at the altar a couple of hundred years ago, but not all is what it seems with Rad for he turns out to be a demon slayer. You would think that would be all the drama that could happen to one person, but Kali gets captured by Nudra and fed upon by a shifter and a witch wanting to be more powerful, which ends up putting Kali is some real trouble that seems to be never ending. There is heaps of stuff going on in this, lots of twists and turns and new plot thickening drama happening left right and center, which I found a tad hard to keep up with at times. I wanted so badly for Kali and Rad to sort everything out in this, the ending really left you hanging and begging for more to see what happens with them. I got hooked right from the start but I got a little uninterested in the middle, it seems like too much was happening all at once, it was hard to keep track of but I got back into it at the end. I’m not as big an urban fantasy lover as some, I like a bit more romance to my books but for those who are I think they will really enjoy reading this. I would give this one three and a half stars if I was able, three just doesn't do it justice.





Rating: «««

Friday, November 18, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

18.11.2011



 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"What is one series that has topped your TBR list forever but has never made it off?"
 
 
 
Gosh there are so many! I think one of the larger series that I have been needing to get cracking on is the Carpathian series by Christine Feehan.
 
 

                                                         
Excuse the low-quality image.


I have to say I am a little iffy about this series, but I will have to get around to giving it a go soon.


 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

17.11.11





Question of the Week

"Which paranormal creature do you wish would "come out of the closet" and reveal themselves to the real world?"



My first thought was vampires but now I think that angels should come out, not only would it be good for people everywere; angles going around doing good and giving people hope, but I know I would love me a hot sexy angel man... hehe


Monday, November 14, 2011

All She Wants For Christmas Is Her Dom By Stacey Kennedy

All She Wants for Christmas is her Dom

*ARC provided by Author*

Genre: Erotica

Description:

Madame Eve’s 1NightStand service has brought together Blake and Taryn on a cold Christmas Eve at the Castillo Lodge. The two will set out on an adventure of pain and pleasure surrounded by Alaskan snow-capped mountains and nestled in a warm country lodge. But as the night develops, Taryn discovers it’s not Christmas presents that will surprise her but instead the very man who mastered her through a night of intense BDSM.

WARNING — This book has intense BDSM that some might find objectionable. If you don’t enjoy some serious spanking, rough play, and the use of floggers, among other toys, this story is not for you
.






Review

Stacey Kennedy never fails to write a steamy hot read that has the ability to fog up the screen. In this short little BDSM story, Taryn is set up to meet with a Dom she has been matched to buy Madame Eve, but who she is matched with is not who Taryn expected but with a few unexpected surprises, it turns out that he, the man from her past Blake, is the perfect Dom for her;

“He knew all her deepest, darkest desires, and he didn’t run from her fantasies, but fulfilled them.”

Though it may be short, you don’t feel like you have been left hanging or have missed out on any part of the story but it does leave you wanting more! I would have loved to keep reading and reading about more sexy scenarios involving Taryn and Blake, Stacey Kennedy does not disappoint. If you haven't read anything by this author yet, you need to give her a shot!





Rating: ««««

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Texas Tangle By Leah Braemel

Texas Tangle (Tangled)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Thanks to her cheating ex-husband and her thieving brother, all horse breeder Nikki Kimball has left is a bruised heart, an overdrawn bank account and an empty home. When sex-on-legs Dillon Barnett and his brooding foster-brother Brett Anderson start showing more than just neighborly attention, Nikki is intrigued...and a little gun-shy.

Dillon and Brett have a history; back in high school, the two friends fought a bitter battle over Nikki. Now, ten years later, Brett still longs to be the man in Nikki's life, but he's determined to stand back and let Dillon win Nikki's heart.

Society says Nikki must choose between the two men she loves. Is Nikki strong enough to break all the rules in order to find happiness?





Review

Nikki is a divorcee who looks after her no-hoper brother that is the apple of their parents eye, no matter that he is on parole and unreliable. Nikki wasn't happy with her ex Wade who treated her horribly and her parents even worse when she divorced him but Dillon wants nothing but the best for her and now that she has had time to heal, he sees the opportunity to make his move. When Nikki’s place is broken into and her bank accounts drained it all points to Phil who has run off leaving her without money and having to rely on Dillon and his friend Brett for a place to stay which is where things get interesting between the three and Brett’s feelings for Nikki also come to for forefront;

“Why aren’t you good enough, Brett? You’ve got a good job. You’re as good a man as Dillon.”
No. I’m not.” His eyes opened, pain filling his eyes. And his voice was rough, betraying the struggle he was having with himself. “I’ve got a drunk for a father. My mom ran off when I was little. I’ve got nothing to offer anyone. Dillon’s got the whole Barnett family behind him. He owns a ranch, while I live in a rented apartment. He’s got his own business, with employees. Responsibilities. Don’t you see? That’s why I had to back off. He can offer you so much more than me.”
Her breath stuttered in her throat. She barely made it to the chair before her legs folded under her. “You did want to date me, didn’t you?”
“Yes.” The word was little more than a breath, barely making it past his lips.”

When all this comes to light, the three of them make the decision that Nikki will take the time to know them both before making a decision on whether she wants to be with Dillon or Brett. I love how this all came together at the end, how Nikki stood up for herself and followed her heart, how Brett finally felt loved and accepted after everything that happened to him in the past. There was no shortage of steamy hot romps and plenty of emotion, I didn’t want this to end.




Rating: ««««

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

10.11.2011






Question of the Week

"What supernatural power would you NOT want to have?"



I would not want the power that what you touch someone you can see how they will die in the future, sort of like premonitions.
I wouldn't be able to handle that, it was drive me crazy.


I really like this eye, thus I decided to include it! haha

The Bird With The Broken Wing By D L Richardson

The Bird with the Broken Wing

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Description:

Angels may not reveal themselves to mortals…

...but when the mortal Rachael’s watching over is hurting, how can she stay hidden in the shadows?

Guardian angel Rachael becomes trapped with the mortal she’s been assigned to watch over. Unable to watch him suffer, she decides the only way to free him of his inner demons is to break the rules about becoming involved, revealing her true identity, and applying divine intervention. But what choice does she have? Without her help, his soul will be trapped forever. Then a stranger appears, giving Rachael reason to wonder if his is the only soul in need of saving...




Review
 

Jet finds herself waking up in what she thinks is a detox centre after having a mix of vodka and pills, making friends with Ben and Rachael who are also there with their own personal demons to face, but all is not as it seems. Ben is stuck in a bit of a trickly situation, infatuated with Jet, while his friend Rachael is falling for him unknown to him of course, but there is more to Rachael and the situation they all finds themselves in then meets the eye.  Ben is haunted by the thoughts of his past, most involving his mother and being in the war; Jet helps banish those memories when he is around her;

“Ben had lied when he’d said Jet was pretty. She was hot. And she had an awesome smile, the kind that could blindside you. Maybe it was or wasn’t love at first sight, but Jet’s smile filled the hole in his heart and for a brief moment he didn’t care that nothing could fill the deep well in his head.”

During a Group therapy session in which Rachael decided to head up, Jet walks out, not wanting to be involved, wanting to go swim and enjoy her time which is wear something strange happens and she is almost drowned and that is when things start to get real freaky. I really didn’t like the character Rachael in this; she got on my nerves so many times, she comes across as a bit of a know it all and controlling, especially when it comes to Ben though with who she is, I guess that is understandable and toward the end you like her and understand her more. This was a great read, nothing like I have read before. I loved the storyline and how it kept you guessing and the ending was perfect.





Rating: ««««

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Where Demons Fear To Tread By Stephanie Chong

Where Demons Fear to Tread (The Company of Angels #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Fledging guardian angel and yoga teacher Serena St. Clair dares enter Devil's Paradise nightclub on a mission—to retrieve the wayward Hollywood "It Boy" she's assigned to protect. But she's ambushed by the club's owner, arch demon Julian Ascher. The most powerful demonic entity in Los Angeles, Julian is handsome as sin, a master of temptation who loves nothing more than corrupting pleasure–seeking humans. He won't release the lost soul Serena is supposed to guard. Unless she accepts his dangerous wager…


After the disastrous way his human life ended, Julian vowed that no woman would get the better of him again. Yet this sexy–sweet angel, smelling of fresh ocean air and happiness, triggers centuries–old feelings. Now, their high–stakes game of seduction, where angels fall from grace and where demons fear to tread, will lead them either to an eternity in hell.or a deliciously hot heaven.



Review


Serena is the guardian angel sent to be protector of Nick, or so she is lead to believe is her sole task, to save him from the path he is leading himself down. It isn’t an easy task for Serena, due to an Archdemon named Julian wanting his soul for himself. As soon as Julian lays eyes upon Serena he knows he wants her, to corrupt her. His usual tricks don’t work on her so he uses her brother as leverage to get Serena to go to Vegas with him, which is where his lust for her turns to love;

“Somewhere along the line, although he didn’t know where or when, this had stopped being a game of seeing whether he could seduce an angel. She was no longer just another passing conquest, or a challenge to alleviate his boredom.
He was dangerously close to falling in love."


Things get more complicated with a fellow Archdemon Corbin wanting Julian destroyed and using Serena to get revenge against him as well as using Nick as a pawn in his plan. Not to mention an ex-lover of Julian’s added to the mix, teaming up with Corbin to really cause trouble. I really loved how Serena was able to crack through Julian’s defences and demonic bravado, saving him and fulfilling her own needs and finding happiness. It was great how you could really track the changes Julian was going through personally and that is testament to the way this book was written and how it flowed. There wasn’t anything I didn’t like about this book and if you are a lover of angels and demons you need to read this. I was in a but of a debate with myself as whether to give this four stars to five, but due to the fact I couldn't find anything bad to say about it, I settled on five.




Rating:
«««««

Friday, November 4, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

04.11.2011



 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"What book shelf would you ask santa for?"
 
 
 
 
I would loooove this one!

 


I don't have anywhere to sit and read in my room due to space restrictions, this would be perfect and how it has a light so I could read in the dark comfortably on the top is great!

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

03.11.2011



 
 
 
Question of the week
 
"Zombies are attacking your house! What do you grab first?"
 
 
I'd grab a hardcover book for protective purposes, knocking out zombies by hitting them over the head with my book is bound to give me enough time to think of an escape route. Of course I wouldn't use any of my favourite hardcovers, I do not want zombie goop on one of my favourites!
 
I would also refer to my zombie attack plan which everyone should have...
 

Remember the three steps people!

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Night Falls Darkly By Kim Lenox

Night Falls Darkly (Shadow Guard #1)

Genre:Paranormal Romance

Description:

A cunning immortal who's been called upon to reclaim a marked soul...

Ever since an accident took away her memory, Miss Elena Whitney can't recall the secrets of her own past. All she knows is that with her mysterious benefactor Archer, Lord Black, returning to London at the behest of Queen Victoria, she should seize the chance to get some answers.

A member of the immortal Shadow Guard, Archer has been summoned to London to eliminate the soul of an evil demon-Jack the Ripper. Archer feels not only bound to protect the women of the night, but also his beautiful young ward, Elena, whom he spared from death two years before. But with a wave of panic spreading across London, Archer fears that Elena is his weakness-a distraction he can't afford, especially since she's likely to become the Ripper's next target...






Review

Elena has little memory of her life in the past and now lives in a mansion under the guardianship of Lord Black, but when he comes for a visit, he is not what Elena was expecting. When she sees him the first time almost totally stark naked apart from some cloth I was green with envy!

“Elena turned. Her eyes widened.
Flickering lamplight revealed the outline of a man standing in a small alcove off the study. A tall, naked man, save for the small narrow swath of linen he clasped against a tightly corded hip. His skin glistened and golden, except for the defining shadows that clung to each tautened sinew. Behind him sat an enamelled hip tub.”

Sparks fly between Elena and Lord Black and the tension between them sizzles but he must remember why he has come back and not get distracted. Lord Black has returned back to London because he is on the hunt, after Jack the ripper who is killing women as he is a shadow guardian he needs to stop him and Reclaim his soul. I really wanted to love this book, mostly because of the cover I mean look at it! I am not much for the historical romance genre even with this books paranormal edge, but I picked up this book and decided to give it a shot anyway. The wording and accented speech was well done with the old cockney accents. I liked how Elena had a mind of her own and was determined to make a name for herself in the profession of her choosing and not willing to submit to being married off. I think those of you who are fans of the historical romance genre will love this, but for someone like me who only dabbles lightly in the genre, it just didn’t float my boat.




Rating: «««

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Sexy Snippets

01.11.2011





Night Falls Darkly by Kim Lenox (Shadow Guard #1)


Her heartbeat raced. Everything she'd been feeling-the irritation and impatience-went into a complete reversal at his touch. He gazed down at her with sensual, almost intimidating intensity. She still heard the voices of the museum visitors in the next room.
Lord Black kept his voice low and discreet. "I want to kiss you. To drag you off like the cretin you just vilified and ravish you behind that partition."
There was an earnest, raw, tone to his voice that thrilled her to the core. Gone was his emotionless facade. Her guidebook fell to the floor, forgotten, as she grasped his forearms and instinctively leaned into him, boldly matching her hips against his. The stiffening length of his arousal seared through the multiple layers of her undergarments and clothing.
She required no explanation to realize this as proof of his desire for her.
She gasped as he seized her by the waist, his thumbs curling possessively against her stomach.
He murmured, "Do you see why I have stayed away?"
So, you were avoiding me," she accused softly.
"What is the alternative?"
She peered up from beneath the curve of her bonnet. "Kiss me again."
"I can't stop at kisses."

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Marked By Elisabeth Naughton

Marked (Eternal Guardians #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

THERON—Dark haired, duty bound and deceptively deadly. He’s the leader of the Argonauts, an elite group of guardians that defends the immortal realm from threats of the Underworld.

From the moment he walked into the club, Casey knew this guy was different. Men like that just didn’t exist in real life—silky shoulder-length hair, chest impossibly broad, and a predatory manner that just screamed dark and dangerous. He was looking for something. Her.
She was the one. She had the mark. Casey had to die so his kind could live, and it was Theron’s duty to bring her in. But even as a 200-year-old descendent of Hercules, he wasn’t strong enough to resist the pull in her fathomless eyes, to tear himself away from the heat of her body.

As war with the Underworld nears, someone will have to make the ultimate sacrifice.




Review

When Casey gets bumped by a tall drool worthy stranger where she works at a strip club; she doesn’t know that it is going to lead to her saving him from a pack of animals tearing him apart and her bringing him back to her house or the danger it puts her in. Casey doesn’t know that she is half Argolean, Theron who is an Argonaut, is ordered by the King of Argolea to bring Casey back to help heal his daughter, Isodora, who is dying just as Casey is due to a prophecy;

“This human-whom he hadn’t been able to stop thinking about for three long days-was the woman he’d been sent to find.
The king’s long-lost daughter.
The lone woman who would save his race.
The one he would lead into certain death.”

The prophecy states that the two of them must be reunited and that one of them will die; only the stronger of the two will survive. Theron and Casey’s connection grows and he believes her to be his One, he refuses to hand her over to the king to her death. I have to say, I was a little underwhelmed by this read, I was expecting so much more from this book. Theron took a little time to warm up to as a character, I find myself more interested in Nick and what he might have to offer in the future. Over all it was an okay read, a bit average but I will continue on with the series in future.



Rating:  «««

Friday, October 28, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

28.10.2011


 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"If you could dress-up a favourite book character for Halloween, who would it be and what would they wear?"
 
 
I would dress-up Anita Blake from the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K. Hamilton. I would dress her up as Wonder Woman! ( I also think dressing her up as Xena would be pretty neat as well)



For a male choice, I would have to pick Tohrment from The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. I would dress him up as Superman!


*Drool* I love me some Superman.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

27.10.2011





Question of the Week


"If you could shape shift into anything, what would it be?"



There are so many good choices, wolf, jaguar, tiger but I love the idea of being able to fly in the sky and also be something mythical like a dragon! Being able to breathe fire would come in handy also.



Look! I'm shifting...hehehehe



Graffiti Moon By Cath Crowley

Graffiti Moon


Genre: Young Adult

Description:

"Let me make it in time. Let me meet Shadow. The guy who paints in the dark. Paints birds trapped on brick walls and people lost in ghost forests. Paints guys with grass growing from their hearts and girls with buzzing lawn mowers."

It’s the end of Year 12. Lucy’s looking for Shadow, the graffiti artist everyone talks about.

His work is all over the city, but he is nowhere.

Ed, the last guy she wants to see at the moment, says he knows where to find him. He takes Lucy on an all-night search to places where Shadow’s thoughts about heartbreak and escape echo around the city walls.

But the one thing Lucy can’t see is the one thing that’s right before her eyes.







Review

Lucy is on the hunt for Shadow, a street spray painter who inspires her with his artwork, she knows in her heart that she has to meet him, she is determined to do so but little does she know that the infamous Shadow is someone she already knows, someone she had broke the nose of in the past. I like the breaks of poetry by “Poet” in the book and the writing throughout has some beautiful words and imagery, I just wish I could have liked this more; it didn’t have the magic that makes you get lost in a book. I liked the ending how everything came together;

“I know who I am. I don’t know exactly who we are together, yet. Ed takes out a can and paints a little yellow bird. It’s not like that sleeping bird, belly up to the sky.
It’s awake.”

I had read Chasing Charlie Duskin by this author years and years ago and I really enjoyed that book, the personality of the characters, with this one it just didn’t have the same edge to me. I liked Lucy however, she has spunk and I loved when she punched Malcolm, she is a unique character. Over all it wasn’t a bad read, it was just average to me.





Rating: «««

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Vampire Mine By Kerrelyn Sparks

Vampire Mine (Love at Stake #10)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:


Nothing on earth can make this vampire fall in love . . .

After 499 years of existence, Connor Buchanan has arrived at an inescapable conclusion: he is a cold-hearted SOB. He's been watching his friends—those poor romantic fools—plummet off the cliff into love like a dazed herd of sheep. But not Connor. He knows that love leads to nothing but heartache.
Until Marielle . . .

She is an angel cast down from heaven for disobedience. Trapped in mortal form, she finds a protector in Connor, a Scottish vampire haunted by a dark past. Marielle hopes to heal his broken heart and earn her way back home, but suddenly she has these . . . feelings. This strange yet pleasant physical yearning—for a vampire! Is this the work of a demon luring her into hell, or has this angel found heavenly bliss?





Review

Connor is on the hunt for Casmir when he stumbles onto Marielle being banished by who he thinks is a member of Casimir’s followers, malcontents. She is hurt and he decided to get her to safety, in information she may have could be of use to him and the others. As it turns out Marielle is an angel, banished by Zackriel, or so it seems, sent to earth in a human body without her wings, a body that if anyone touches they die, unless of course they are already dead. Marielle’s revelation of using the bathroom and her new state to Connor was hilarious;

“I believe I did it correctly,” she announced proudly.

“That’s good.” He guzzled down some blood.
Doona think about making love.

“And I discovered something amazing. I have an entire set of female private parts.”

He spewed blood into the sink.”

I loved Marielle’s innocent nature through-out the story and I loved the way Connor spoke and his desperate attempts to not think of Marielle in a sexual way at the start, made for some real funny and cute moments. There are quite a few twists in this book that keep you guessing. One of the things that is great about a Kerrelyn Sparks read is that once you get into the story before you know it you have read it all and find yourself wanting more.




Rating: «««««

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Sexy Snippets

25.10.2011







Vampire Mine by Kerrelyn Sparks (Love at Stake #10)

With a moan, she wrapped her arms around his neck. She wanted him to know how much she cared, too. When he deepened the kiss, she melted into it. When he ran the tip of his tongue against her lips, she opened and let him inside.
Her intent had been to give, but with a small shock, she realized she was receiving, too. With each invasion of his tongue, she felt a spark sizzle down her body. It made her tremble. It made her want more.

She dug her fingers into his shoulders and pressed against him.
"Marielle," he whispered, and trailed kisses down her neck.

More sparks tingled down her body. With another small shock, she realized all the sizzles were gathering between her legs, and a desperate need was building inside her. An empty ache that begged to be filled.
His hands cupped her rear end, and he pulled her against him.
She gasped. His groin was hard. And large.

Sunday, October 23, 2011

YouTube Spotlight




I saw these videos a while back but I had to share them with you, they are some of the best Black Dagger Brotherhood character themed vids I have come across.


Channel: Dhanger80



Vishous




 
 
 
 
 
Zsadist




 
 
 
 
Butch



 


 

Friday, October 21, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

21.10.2011






Question of the Week


"What authors do you stalk reguarly?"



It's a healthy kind of stalking I assure you...hehe

  • Jaci Burton

  • J.R. Ward (YAY! The new official cover of Lover Reborn was updated on her facebook today, super excited!)

  • Delilah Devlin

  • Lisa Kessler

I'm not that big of a stalker of authors, I'm more of a fellow blogger stalker, so watch out ;P

Thursday, October 20, 2011

All These Things I've Done By Gabrielle Zevin

All These Things I've Done (Birthright #1)

Genre: Young Adult

Description:

Sixteen year-old Anya becomes the head of a mafia family after her parents are both murdered by rival gangs. Although Anya is embrolied in the criminal world, she is determined to keep her brother and sister out of the mafia family, but her father's relatives aren't so keen to let them go. When Anya's violent ex-boyfriend is poisoned with contaminated chocolate – chocolate that is produced illegally by Anya's mafia family – she is arrested for attempted murder and sent to the notorious jail on Manhattan Island.

Eventually she is freed by the new D.A. in town, who believs she has been framed. But this D.A. is the father of Win, a boy at school to whom Anya feels irresistibly drawn, and her freedom comes with conditions. Win's father wants to be mayor, and he can't risk having his ambition jeopardised by rumours spreading that his son is seeing a member of a notorious crime family. Anya knows she risks the safety of her family by seeing Win again, but the feeling between them may be too strong to resist...






Review

I should start off by saying that I am very picky with what young adult books I read, this one is one of the books that you have to read. Anya lives in a world where chocolate among a few other things is illegal, did you just scream in horror inwardly? I sure did. With her parents dead she is left under the guardianship of her gravely ill grandmother which leads to Anya having to step up and look after her younger sister and her older challenged brother. Anya is haunted by her family name and legacy and gets in some real trouble when her ex-boyfriend Gable gets poisoned off a chocolate bar she receives from her cousin Jack, the question is who is poisoning the chocolate supply.

This book was amazing. I was glad Gable got what he deserved but also pleased that it allowed him to see the light of sorts. I loved Anya and the way she puts herself at risk to protect her family and her brother. I hated Win’s father for the bargains he had forced Anya to take. I loved Win for at the end for not giving up on Anya and I was happy when Anya took a chance;

“For that moment, I was a person without a last name and so was he. We did not have fathers, mothers, sisters, brothers, grandparents, uncles or cousins to remind us of what we owed or were owed. Obligation, consequence, tomorrow- the words did not exist, or perhaps I had temporarily forgotten their meanings.”

The way this was written was smooth and like nothing I have come across before. The story itself is brilliant, I could not stop reading once I started, I didn’t want to stop, I didn’t want the book to end. There was emotion and heartbreak mixed in with family corruption. One of the best young adult reads I have read.





Rating:«««««