Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Lover Revealed By J.R. Ward

Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood #4)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Butch O'Neal is a fighter by nature. A hard-living ex-homicide cop, he's the only human ever to be allowed in the inner circle of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. And he wants to go even deeper into the vampire world-to engage in the turf war with the lessers. His heart belongs to a female vampire, Marissa, an aristocratic beauty who's way out of his league. And if he can't have her, then at least he can fight side by side with the Brothers.

But fate curses him with the very thing he wants. When Butch sacrifices himself to save a civilian vampire from the slayers, he falls prey to the darkest force in the war. Left for dead, he's found by a miracle, and the Brotherhood calls on Marissa to bring him back, though even her love may not be enough to save him.





Review

Butch, a human ally of the Brotherhood has been captured by lesser, The Omega contaminating Butch with a part of his form, inserting it inside Butch’s abdomen before dumping him in the woods for the brotherhood to find which they would thankfully be able to do, due to Vishous forcing Butch to drink some of his blood beforehand after a vision. The Scribe Virgin appears the Vishous telling him to use his hand to cure the evil of the contamination that Butch faces, which is the very start of a connection the two will share throughout this series. When Marissa, one of the vampires, hears of Butch being hurt she goes to see him in hospital, but he is under a sort of quarantine and she enters the room without protective measures leaving her trapped in there with him until they are both cleared, which allows them to clean up confusion between them, misunderstandings and the fact that they both have feelings for each other. The scene in the hospital bed with Butch and Marissa was hot! When her brother Havers finds out about them, he throws Marissa out and she has nowhere to go, except the Wrath to ask to stay with them which turn out to be the best thing to happen for Butch and Marissa. As it is revealed Butch comes from Wrath’s line of vampire and he decides he wants to be turned, to be with Marissa as it should be. The moment when Butch becomes one of the Brotherhood was great;

“”That’s you,” Wrath said. “You shall be called the Black Dagger warrior Dhestroyer, descendant of Wrath son of Wrath.”

“But you’ll always be butch to us,” Rhage cut in.”As well as hard-ass. Smart-ass. Royal pain in the ass. You know, whatever the situation calls for. I think as long as there’s an ass in there, it’ll be accurate.”

“How about basstard?” Z suggested.

“Nice, I feel that””

There are some big developments with John Matthew in this one, including a much needed friendship between him and Zsadist, but I won’t ruin it by going into the details, you will have to read it to find out. One of the things I approved of most in this book was that Marissa was a virgin and her first time with Butch wasn’t written all fluffy and un-realistic, something that you don’t often get with romance books. Another great BDB read.





Rating: «««««

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Lover Awakened By J.R. Ward

Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood #3)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

A former blood slave, the vampire Zsadist still bears the scars from a past filled with suffering and humiliation. Renowned for his unquenchable fury and sinister deeds, he is a savage feared by humans and vampires alike. Anger is his only companion, and terror is his only passion—until he rescues a beautiful aristocrat from the evil Lessening Society.

Bella is instantly entranced by the seething power Zsadist possesses. But even as their desire for one another begins to overtake them both, Zsadist’s thirst for vengeance against Bella’s tormentors drives him to the brink of madness. Now, Bella must help her lover overcome the wounds of his tortured past, and find a future with her…





Review

This is one of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books that will touch you, it’s heart breaking but also heart warming. Filled with healing and being able to trust and love again from someone who was so badly broken and wounded by his past. Bella has been taken and held prisoner by a lesser who was psychotic, believing he loves her and that she was his to have, his wife. Zsadist is on the war path, killing all lesser he can find in honour of Bella who everyone believes is dead, when he learns that she is alive he is set on a rescue mission even if it is at his own detriment. Zsadist succeeds in his rescue, taking the injured Bella back to the Brotherhood mansion, taking her to his room to watch over her, not leaving her side, taking care of her. Bella eventually needs to feed and it forces Zsadist to remember things from his past, his slavery, the mistress that used his, his bands, he believes himself to be tainted, to be worthless, to be dirty. While at the mansion Bella goes into her needing, that is when the real steam starts and what helps breakdown some of Zsadist's barriers; the dark pits of his eyes returning to yellow colour like the eyes of his twin Phury. Zsadist’s reaction when Bella caught him touching himself was adorable;

“Disgusted with himself, he released his hand and started yanking the boxers back up-
“Don’t stop,” Bella said softly.
A frigid blast shot down Z’s spine. Busted.
His eyes went to hers as the blood hit his face”

When Bella returned to Zsadist after two months and he was starting to learn to read and he wrote “I Love You” to Bella, my eyes brimmed with tears;

“He glanced back down at the pencil in his hand and then turned to the table. Flipping the spiral notebook to a new page, he bent way over and laboured on top of the paper for quite a while. Then he ripped the sheet free.
His hand was shaking as he held it out. “It’s messy.”
Bella took the paper. In a child’s uneven block letters there were three words: I LOVE YOU.”

Zsadist says perfect in a line what Bella did for him and how much she means to him;

“I was dead until you found me, though I breathed. I was sightless, though I could see. And then you came...and I was awakened.”

I loved when Zsadist found out about Bella’s pregnancy at the end and how he cried and wish for a daughter who looked just like Bella, you can read more about Zsadist, Bella and their baby in the Insider’s Guide in the novella Father Mine. We get information about where John Matthew from the last book ended up as well in this book, living with Tohr and Wellsie, finally finding a family, a home. This would have to be my favourite Black Dagger Brotherhood novel, at the very least in my top three. This series never fails to capture my full attention and enthral me completely.





Rating:«««««

Monday, August 29, 2011

Lover Eternal By J.R. Ward

Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Within the brotherhood, Rhage is the vampire with the strongest appetite. He's the best fighter, the quickest to act on his impulses, and the most voracious lover-for inside him burns a ferocious curse cast by the Scribe Virgin.

Possessed by this dark side, Rhage fears the times when his inner dragon is unleashed, making him a danger to everyone around him. When Mary Luce is unwittingly thrown into the vampire world, she must rely on Rhage's protection. Knowing that Mary feels the same intense animal attraction, Rhage must make her his alone...





Review

When Mary discovers a mute orphan boy in her backyard, Bella her neighbour comes to join them while they talk and notices Old Language letters on a bracelet the boy, John Matthew was wearing, spelling out a vampire warrior’s name, Tehrror. The boy in unaware of the significance of the bracelet or what it means so she decides she needs to take him to The Brotherhood, Mary tags along. Rhage was still feeling the effect of his beast but as soon as he hears Mary’s voice it triggers something else;

“Rhage stopped breathing. His heart skipped a beat and then slowed.
“Say that again,” he whispered.
“Ah, my name is Mary Luce. I’m a friend of Bella’s...We came here with a boy, with John Matthew. We were invited.”
Rhage shivered, a balmy rush blooming out all over his skin. The musical lit of her voice, the rhythm of her speech, the sound of her words, it all spread through him, calming him, comforting him. Chaining him sweetly.
He closed his eyes. “Say something else.””

Rhage or Hollywood as he is also known is a chick magnet and when he asks Mary out she can’t believe it, figuring it to be a pity date at Bella’s request when in fact he is falling hard for her. But Mary can’t afford to get close to anyone, she’s ill with cancer and not to mention she doesn’t feel worthy of him. Together they become close, loving each other, depending on each other, Mary helping Rhage to accept his beast. Then Mary gets terrible news, her cancer is too far gone, there is nothing the doctors can do for her, but then hope arrives in the healing of The Scribe Virgin, who grants Mary eternal life until she decides it’s time due to her inability to bare children from the cancer treatments. One of my top three favourite Black Dagger Brotherhood novels, I love Mary’s strength and determination balanced out with Rhage’s bravery and heart, a perfect match.




Rating: «««««

Beyond Eden By Kele Moon

Beyond Eden (Eden #1)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Three lifelong friends find themselves tangled in a web of love, pain and dangerous secrets in this erotic Garden of Eden tale.

Tall, dark and handsome Danny Carlow has always gotten whatever he wants except for the two he wants more than anything-his best friends, lovers Paul and Eve. Determined, he waits like a snake in the grass, poised for the right moment to offer them a temptation too delicious to resist.

Artist Eve Everton makes the painful decision to leave her true love Paul for the siren call of New York City. Ten years later, with her life in shambles, she returns. When Paul's waiting arms aren't available, Eve falls for Danny's charm and finds herself a willing accomplice in the dangerous games Danny plays.

Former college football star Paul Mattling is now a successful attorney with a bright future ahead of him. But behind those brilliant blue eyes are secret desires for a taste of the forbidden. Will he play it safe or give in to Danny and Eve and bite the apple?




Review

Let me start by saying this is not one for the light-hearted, it’s emotional, it’s intense and filled with kinky and dark BDSM, so if you’re looking for a fluffy romance, this one definitely isn’t for you. Paul and Eve love each other, growing up together but now it’s time for Eve to see the world for its potential starting in New York and they must part ways.

Ten years later Eve is back in town and runs into her old friend Danny who happens to be living with Paul, things in New York didn’t work out, but now Paul has a fiancĂ© and is now a Lawyer. Danny has always had feelings for Eve and now that Paul is involved with someone, he sees his chance with Eve and is taking it. Though Danny and Paul have a secret, they have been fooling around together, Danny dominating Paul.

When Eve finds out she is shocked but then is intrigued with the idea which leads into some hot romps between the three before the time comes when Paul is set to marry Trisha. Eve and Danny move away to New York, not being able to handle the thought of Paul not being with them anymore, they need a fresh start, thankfully Paul follows them and they get their happy ending. I really loved this, I couldn’t stop reading, the way the story developed was perfect and did the character’s justice, I didn’t want it to end.





Rating: «««««

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Dark Lover By J.R. Ward

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.





Review

Darius, a member of the Black Dagger Brotherhood has no choice but to tell Wrath about his daughter he had with a human, she’s a half breed and in order to survive her transition into a vampire she needs to drink blood from Wrath, the last of the purebred vampires. Wrath is very reluctant, but when Darius is killed by a bomb set by their enemy, Lessers, he feels obligated. When Wrath goes to meet Beth the first time it didn’t go too well, he scared the crap out of her but the second time goes a little differently, a hot steamy romp ensues and since that moment he can’t get her out of his mind. This pretty such described how much Wrath wants Beth all to himself when he sees her kissing another man;

“A low growl vibrated through his chest and out his mouth.
She’s mine.
He cursed. Yeah, and in what parallel universe was he living in? She was his temporary responsibility, not his shellan. She could be with whomever she wished. Wherever. Whenever.
But God, the idea that she might actually like what the guy was doing to her, that she might prefer the taste of the human’s kiss, was enough to make Wrath’s temples pound.
Welcome to the wonderful world of jealousy, he thought. For the price of admission, you get a splitting headache, a nearly irresistible urge to commit murder and an inferiority complex.
Yippee.

Wrath eventually get her back to Darius’s house, where he now resides which if Beth survive her transition will be all hers. I love the element that Wrath is visually impaired, it adds so much depth to the story and there aren’t enough books that embrace such differences or challenges. Beth’s friend Butch (His story can be found in Lover Revealed) finds Beth on the floor of her apartment, not moving, he thinks it’s a drug overdose but she is in fact going through her transition and she manages to persuade him to take her to Wrath. During Beth’s transitions Wrath watches over her diligently. Beth’s reaction to her first view in the mirror of herself as a vampire was a hoot;

“She went to the bathroom. Removed her contacts. And saw perfectly.
Well, there’s one benefit.
Whoa. Fangs. She had fangs.
She leaned in, prodded them a little. Eating with those puppies was going to take some getting used to, turned her fingers into claws, Hissed.
Cool.
Halloween was going to be a real kick in the pants from now on.”

There comes a time when Beth is captured by Lessers and Wrath goes out of his mind. When Wrath goes to save her he gets badly injured. Thankfully he survives with the help of Marissa’s blood. This book is the perfect paranormal romance, balance of action, emotion, steam, the whole series of these books are what I measure the other books I read against, brilliant.





Rating:«««««

Saturday, August 27, 2011

Kiss Me Deadly By Michele Hauf

Kiss Me Deadly (Bewitch the Dark #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Death cocktail is what the vampires call a witch's blood. It's poisonous a drop will destroy a vampire within minutes. Nikolaus Drake is the rare vampire who has survived his first taste. Now he's on the hunt for the witch who almost brought him to his demise Ravin Crosse.
A witch who spends her nights hunting vampire tribes, Ravin has three obligations to fulfill to set her soul free. One of those obligations crafting a love spell twists her world upside down when Nikolaus draws the spell from her veins. Natural enemies rarely make the best bedfellows--but is it possible their intentions are really, truly the same? Can Nikolaus's tribal loyalty survive if he surrenders to desires far darker than his own?




Review

Ravin Crosse is a vampire slayer and a witch, also pretty badass riding a black chopper with venom carved on the gas tank, leather clad, Nikolaus is out to kill her for revenge. Unfortunately A pilled love spell causes grief for them both, Nikolaus cannot bring himself to kill Ravin and Ravin now had a pheonixed vampire who believes he loves her. This moment was so cute;

“She slammed the grimoire shut. Black lacquered fingernails tapped the stone countertop.
“Are you Goth?” he suddenly wondered.
“A-what? I am not!”
“You dress like one.”
“I could argue you dress the same. You’ve more black leather than a damned cow.”
“Cows are Goths?”
“Now you’re just trying to piss me off.”
Nikolaus met her furious gaze- and smiled. He loved her fire”.

As the spell continues Ravin begins to develop true feelings for Nikolaus, she falls for him. When the spells finally breaks Ravin’s feelings remain the same, yet Nikolaus’s do not, he is disgusted, though he soon realises that though he was bewitched in mind, his heart remained true.This book was just missing something for me, I would say it would be worth three and a half stars rather than just the standard three however.


Rating: «««

No Mercy By Sherrilyn Kenyon

No Mercy (Dark-Hunter #19)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Dev Peltier thought he knew it all. But one night when not just a Dark-Hunter, but an official member of the Dogs of War sashays into his bar, he realizes that he might have met his match.

Sam was one the fiercest Amazon warrior in her tribe. But when an act of brutal betrayal made her a Dark-Hunter, she's been pissed ever since.

Life fast, fight hard and enjoy the night. That's her credo. But as old enemies and new move into New Orleans, she realizes that Dev just might be the only hope she and mankind have to save the world.




Review

I love Samia’s character, she isn’t wimpy or a damsel in distress, she’s got spunk and is pretty kickass, even her name is bad ass like the Dark-Hunter she is, Sam Savage. Sam has the ability to see into other people thoughts which causes her trouble when getting hot and steamy with a man...However she is unable to read Dev. When Dev told Sam what his full name was the moment that followed made me laugh:

“”Devereaux Peltier”. She savoured the syllables of his name that flowed and rolled from her tongue. “It’s very soft sounding.”

He made a sound of disgust in the back of his throat. “Oh thank you so much. That’s what every man wants to hear about his name. You might as well call me ‘Little Pecker’ while you’re at it and tell me you’d love to have me go shopping with you for feminine hygiene products. Oh and by all means, carry a big, sparkling pink bag with flowers on it and make me hold it.””

Nick has really come to his own in this book, embraced his power and who he is, but he still is bitter toward Acheron and doesn’t trust him, still angry at the world. Though Nick himself is still a question mark, he does good but he also straddles the bad. I just hope there comes a time where he teams back up with Acheron again and they both can go kick Daimon ass side by side.




Rating: ««««

Her Vampire Husband By Michele Hauf

Her Vampire Husband (Wicked Games #3)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

She may resist his bite, but she can't resist his charms...

Werewolf princess Blu won't allow her seductive husband to consummate their marriage with his bite, marking her forever. Blu curses the marriage arranged to bring their rival nations together, especially since Creed calls out to her darkest desires.

Yet when Blu uncovers her pack's secret plot to destroy the vampire nation - and Creed - she is forced to confront her growing
feelings for him. Will she choose the only life she's ever known or accept his sensuous bite?





Review

Blu a werewolf and a princess to boot is set up with a vampire in an arranged marriage to appease her father who happens to also be the pack-leader, which she is not happy about because she wants to be with her lover Ryan. Creed, a vampire elder who possesses witch magic, isn’t joyous over the situation himself, the vampire tribe deeming it the best thing to do to promote unity. To Creed’s credit he didn’t try to force Blu into bed after their marriage, he had honour and respect. I like Blu’s sassy nature and quick wit, the fact she is a female werewolf also makes her very rare. Though neither of them will admit it their innocent jabs and flirting lurks a heat and desire they both share for each other which would become an issue because in face the werewolves had no intention of keeping the peace between the vampire tribe and werewolf tribe, the marriage is all a decoy, just as she overhears that the vampires have no intention of keeping up their end of the bargain. The more time Blu spends with Creed and the respect he shows her the more she questions her past back in the tribe, Ryan and they way she was treated by him and her father, used for his own gai, tossed around like she didn’t mean anything. When the farce of the marriage and plots come out in the open both are shocked to learn of each other’s tribes intentions, and the fact that Blu and Creed have both fallen in love with each other, so they team up to try and prevent the coup from happening.  Everything works out in the end, but not without lots of bloodshed and agony. This book surprised me and I found myself completely enthralled, I couldn’t stop reading.



Rating: «««««

Friday, August 26, 2011

Bad Moon Rising By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Bad Moon Rising (Dark-Hunter #18)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Prepare to enter an endless battle.
Prepare to lose yourself...

Fang Kattalakis isn't just a wolf. He is the brother of two of the most powerful members of the Omegrion: the ruling council that enforces the laws of the Were-Hunters. And when war erupts among the lycanthropes, sides must be chosen. Enemies are forced into shaky alliances.

When Aimee, the woman Fang loves, is accused of betraying her people, her only hope is that Fang believes in her. Yet in order to save her, Fang must break the law of his people and the faith of his brothers. The breech could very well spell the end of both their races and change their world for ever.


The war is one and time is running out..




Review

Fang and Aimee are very much opposite, one a wolf, one a bear but they can’t help the instant attraction they feel for each other, forbidden love. Aimee is a strong, bold female lead which is what I like. She is also powerful, I laughed when she zapped Fang on the butt. Vane and Fang find themselves in danger when getting caught by Daimons, Aimee feeling Fang in harms way comes to the rescue with help, though the Daimons sucked too much of Fang’s soul and he finds himself between living and dead. Fang contacts Aimee in her sleep, telling her that in order to save him she needs to kill the Daimons that have his soul. Though once Fang is back things don’t get any less complicated. I was so happy when Fang and Aimee finally were mated. This line was funny:

“Bride’s gaze dipped to Fang’s hand. She gasped and almost dropped the salads bowl she was holding. Setting it on the table, she snatched his palm up to look at it. “Oh, gods, you’re mated!” Then her eyes really widened.”I really hope it’s to Aimee.”
Aimee laughed before she held her palm up to show her. “Thankfully so. Otherwise I’d have had to kill me some ho and then beat Fang senseless”.”

Damn right Aimee! This one focuses fully on were-hunters, I got a little confused at times but it was a good read regardless. It's full of action, humour and steam which is to be expected from a Dark-Hunter novel.



Rating:««««

18+ Book Blogger Follow

26.08.2011


 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"Who is your favourite romance book couple?"
 
 
 
I cannot pick just one couple! It's impossible, so here is just a select few:
 
Zsadist & Bella from J.R. Ward's Lover Awakened
 Acheron & Tory (Soteria) from Sherrilyn Kenyon's Acheron
Eric & Sookie from Charlaine Harris's Sookie Stackhouse Series.

I have to say, though I only listed Zsadist & Bella, all the BDB couples hold a special place in my heart.

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Dream Warrior By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Dream Warrior (Dark-Hunter #17)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

We are the Dolophoni. Diligent. Vigilant. Fierce and inescapable. Servants of the Furies, we are the right hand of justice and no one stands before us.

The son of Warcraft and Hate, Cratus spent eternity battling for the ancient gods who birthed him. He was death to any who crossed him. Until the day he laid down his arms and was banished into exile.

Now an ancient enemy has been unleashed and our dreams are his chosen battlefield. The only hope we have is the one god who swears he will never fight again.

As a Dream-Hunter, Delphine has spent eternity protecting mankind from the predators who prey on our unconscious state. But now that her allies have been turned, she knows in order to survive, the Dream-Hunters need a new leader. Someone who can train them to fight their new enemies. Cratus is her only hope. But she is a bitter reminder of why he chose to lay down his arms.

Time is running out and if she can't win him to her cause, mankind will be slaughtered and the world we know will soon cease to exist.




Review


A step-up from the last book. Delphine a dream-warrior is sent to bring Cratus, who also goes by the name Jericho, to Zeus but things don’t go to plan when one of the deadliest of all creatures, Azura persuades him to join her in vengeance, to kill Zeus and the Olympians. In an effort to get Cratus away from Azura and to go with her, Cratus’s brother Nike suggests Delphine seduce him. Unfortunately Delphine is captured by Noir, brother of Azura and offered to Jericho as a gift, a slave, her powers bound, naked and at his mercy, but Delphine is not helpless by any sense of the word, she is fierce and strong. Jericho starts off harsh, broken and cruel but he begins to trust Delphine and with that he lets his guard down slowly and we can see what his true nature is. Of course Azura and Noir end up turning on Cratus and it’s up to Delphine to try to save him until she is captured by Azura again, girl can’t get a break! Eventually Jericho saves her and they are together at last followed by a steamy romp, they make such a perfect pair. It was also nice to read about Nick and Ash getting on again and Nick not having so much hatred towards Acheron, back to their sarcastic selves:

“Jericho choked in surprise. “This is the Malachai?”
Ash grinned wickedly. “In all his pain in the ass glory.”
Nick glowered at Ash. “Are we through now, Dad? Can I go play with my friends if I promise to be a good boy? I’ll even try and make it home by curfew.””

Rating: ««««

Dirty Little Secret

25.08.2011





Question of the Week

"Who is your secret celebrity girl crush?"



Choosing just one is so hard... But I would have to say at the moment my girl crush is Ruby Rose. She's unique and has so many different looks.






One Silent Night By Sherrilyn Kenyon

One Silent Night (Dark-Hunter #16)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

In the world of the Dark-Hunters, all hell's breaking loose...

Stryker has sent word and is gathering his forces.

While the world carries on unawares, Stryker, who leads an army of demons and vampires, is plotting an all out onslaught against his enemies—which, unfortunately for us, includes the entire human race.

To avenge his sister, Stryker prepares to annihilate the Dark-Hunters. But things go awry when his oldest enemy returns. Enter his ex-wife. Zephyra. Just when he thought nothing could stop him, he’s now embroiled in a centuries old war with a shrew who gives new meaning to pain.

New battle lines are being drawn as the Dark-Hunters rally for a final showdown on ONE SILENT NIGHT
Review

Stryker, the son of Apollo is out to kill Acheron but Artemis will not allow that to happen, she enlists the help of Zephyra who she sends to take out Stryker. The shocker is that Zephyra and Stryker share a common link, a daughter the he had no clue about named Medea. The main story between Zephyra and Stryker didn’t really capture my attention as much as reading more about Nick Gautier, he was the highlight of this book. Learning he was Malachai and he had unlocked his power, he is the last of the breed, much to Acheron’s surprise and is determined to protect Nick from those out to kill him, however Nick now possess the power to destroy Ash and intends to do just that. I was glad when Nick and Ash teamed up, there’s hope for them to reunite again. Acheron always has some of the best one liners:

So are we going to continue glaring angrily at each other while we pose in our tough stances? Or use our time to work out a plan that hopefully doesn’t end with our mutual deaths?”

Over all it was a pretty average read, not as good as the previous Dark-Hunter novels.


Rating: «««

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Dream Chaser By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Dream Chaser (Dark-Hunter #14)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Hades doesn’t often give second chances...

Xypher has one month on Earth to redeem himself through one good deed or be condemned to eternal torture in Tartarus. But redemption means little to a demigod who only wants vengeance on the one who caused his downfall.

Until one day in a cemetery...

Simone Dubois is a medical examiner with a real knack for the job. Those who are wrongfully killed appear to her and help her find the evidence the police need to convict their killers. But when a man appears and tells her that she’s more than just a psychic, she’s convinced he’s insane.

Now the fate of the world hangs in her hands...

It was bad enough when just the dead relied on her. Now’s there’s the seductive Dream-Hunter Xypher who needs Simone’s help in opening a portal to the Atlantean hell realm to fight insatiable demons. The future of mankind is at stake—and so is her life. The only question now is: Who is the bigger threat: the demons out to kill her, or the man who has left her forever changed?




Review

Simone is a psychic who can see the dead, Xypher is a fallen dream god who was led astray by Satara and killed, doomed to be tortured fir eternity, but Hades lets him out for one month. Now Satara must find a way to get Xypher before he comes to seek his revenge, she binds him to a human, Simone to be exact, if Simone dies, Xypher dies and if she gets more than twenty feet away from him they both die. He needs to find a way to get the bracelets off before he gets sent back to hell in twenty-two days. Xypher started off as a real ass and abrasive, but the more he connected with Simone he softened up. The ghost that follows Simone around, Jesse, is a riot:

“She smiled at him.”Not you. Jesse. He’s using his ghost voice on me. It’s extremely unnerving.”
“Yes, but you still love me.” Jesse winked at her.
“Of course I do. But save the voice for a haunting.”
“I would if anyone else could hear me. Have you any idea how annoying that is? No, ‘cause everyone hears you when you talk.” He stood up and danced in the corner. “Hey, people!” he shouted. “See the freaky ghost dance.” He flapped his arms around and shook his booty.”I’m bab, I’m bad, I’m bad.” He stopped and looked around at the people who went on about their business, oblivious to his offbeat antics.”See. Sucks.””

The twist with Simone being half demon was pretty unexpected, her father a demon, her mother a human. After a demon attack she gets sick and starts to unlock her true power which allows her for the first time to touch Jesse, who had comforted her through the toughest time in her life. When it is time for Xypher to return to hell it leaves Simone broken, thankfully the deal to allow him to be human for one month hinged on the contingency that he finds his humanity he be free. A pretty good read overall, a nice balance of humour, action and steam.



Rating: «««« 

Monday, August 22, 2011

Devil May Cry By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Devil May Cry (Dark-Hunter #13)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

For millennia, the ex-god turned Dark-Hunter Sin has sought to regain his powers and take revenge on Artemis. But now he has bigger fish - or in this case, demons - to fry. The lethal gallu that were buried by his pantheon are stirring, and they are hungry for human flesh. Their goal: To destroy mankind. Sin is the only one who can stop them... if a certain woman doesn t kill him first.
Enemies have always made strange bedfellows, but never more so than when the fate of the world hangs in the balance. Now a man who only knows betrayal must trust the one person most likely to hand him to the demons. Artemis may have stolen his godhood, but this one has stolen his heart. The only question is: Will she keep it... or feed it to those who want him dead?



Review

Artemis is out to see Sin destroyed because he is out to kill her, she send Katra to do the deed. Unfortunately for Katra she bears a striking resemblance to Artemis herself because brace yourself, she’s Artemis’s daughter *gasp* but who is her father, well none other than Acheron! The father she has never known and doesn’t know she exists. Sin captures Katra, wanting vengeance and his powers back. When Artemis comes to get her daughter she is set on killing Sin, but Katra saves him. They pair up to help Sin find him brother. I loved when Ash finally got to meet his daughter:

“Have you had a good life?” he asked in a gentle tone.
The single question only made her cry harder as she nodded.”I only wanted for one thing”.
“And that was?”
“You”.
Ash couldn’t breathe as his own tears fell from his eyes. It infuriated him. He didn’t cry. Ever.
Yet the thought of having missed do much of her life, the knowledge that he was a complete stranger to his own daughter, tore him apart”.

While fighting gallu demons Kat is bit and begins converting into one of them. Not wanting to have to kill her, Sin takes her to Apollymi, but she cannot heal her, so in desperation he takes her to Olympus to Ash. The Nick situation still haunts Acheron, for someone who had been treated so horribly in the past, he cares so much for others and the people in his life all excluding Artemis that is. I am so happy Ash found his daughter, it was the best part about this book.



Rating: «««« 

Sunday, August 21, 2011

The Dream-Hunter By Sherrilyn Kenyon

The Dream-Hunter (Dark-Hunter #10)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

In the ethereal world of dreams there are champions who fight to protect the dreamer and there are demons who prey on them. Arik is such a predator. Condemned by the gods to live for eternity without emotions, Arik can only feel when he's in the dreams of others. Now, after thousands of years, he's finally found a dreamer whose vivid mind can fill his emptiness. Dr Megeara Kafieri made a reluctant promise to her dying father that she would salvage his reputation by proving his life-long belief that Atlantis is real. But frustration and bad luck dog her every step. Especially the day they find a stranger floating in the sea. His is a face she's seen many times...in her dreams.



Review

This Dark-Hunter book was a pretty average read; the characters just weren’t particularly relatable. Arik is a sleep god, using his power to infiltrate Geary’s dreams and have shared pleasures, Megeara is on the hunt to prove Atlantis is real, a promise made to her dead father. Arik makes a deal with Hades to become human, to be able to be with Geary, to truly feel emotions, to see the world through her eyes., he craves emotions and dream-hunters who crave emotions are called Skoti. Arik grants him humanity for two weeks, at the cost of one human soul, the soul of the very woman he wants to be human for. As it turned out, bedding Geary is more of a challenge then Arik anticipated. I liked how Mageara has sass and this moment made me laugh:

“Geary took a step back and pointed with both index fingers over her right shoulder.”And I'm thinking I should take myself home". She pointed her finger at the men, winked, and made a small clicking noise by sucking her breath between her teeth. "You guys have a great night... with whatever it is you people do. See you later". She turned and took a step away, then swung back to face them. "On second thought, no offense, I never want to see any of you again. Good night".”

As you can well predict they grew to love each other and when it was time for Hades payment, things got a little complicated. The thing I like most about these books are the endings, they aren’t abrupt and they are full-filling. It was a little slow to read and a little tough to get into but it was a good book none the less.



Rating: ««««

Saturday, August 20, 2011

Dark Side Of The Moon By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Dark Side of the Moon (Dark-Hunter #9)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Susan Michaels was the hottest reporter on the Beltway Beat until she walked into a setup that ruined her reputation. Now she's working for a small Seattle paper, penning stories about killer moths and alien babies, convinced that her life couldn't get any worse.

That was before an idea for a breaking news piece brought her to a local animal shelter where she ends up listening to her source rant about vampires and gets coerced into adopting a cat despite her allergies. But when her new pet suddenly reveals himself to be a gorgeous—and lethal—shapeshifter, Susan realizes that there’s far more at stake than a career-saving by-line.

Born into a world of predators, Were-Hunter Ravyn Kontis was betrayed by those he loved best. Soulless, pitiless, he has spent three hundred years battling the Daimons who seek to subjugate humankind. Against all odds, Susan evokes in Ravyn feelings of tenderness. Desire. Love. And with the ultimate battle about to begin, this one very human woman holds the power to shatter both their worlds...





Review

After following some tail Ravyn finds himself in a rather precarious position, trapped in a cage in cat form by daimons. Susan is called up by one of her friends and meets him at an animal shelter for safety where he starts raving about a cover-up of vampires, he’s leaving town and to keep up appearances, her urges her to take a cat with her when she leaves, which she happens to be allergic to, though this cat is no ordinary cat. When she gets the cat back to her place and removes its collar it turns in a leopard, then a naked man lying still on her carpet. This part made me laugh:

"With her heart lodged firmly in her throat, she unscrewed the lamp shade and crept closer to him. "Hey?" she said sharply. "You alive?"
He didn't respond.
Preparing to run in case he was faking, she poked him with the tip of the lamp. Okay I've seen this movie before, she thought. Hapless moron sticks head over unconscious body to check vital signs and the bad guy opens his eyes and grabs her."

I love the smart humour of these books and the pop culture references. It’s funny how Susan keeps referring to Ravyn as “Puss in boots”, she is also happens to be allergic to his hair. Artemis never fails to sicken me on the highest level and I feel so bad for Ash, having to slave himself out to her in order to help his Dark-Hunters find happiness and keep them safe. Nick has lost his mind with hate and is on the war path against Acheron, which is sad with how much Ash cares about him. Packed full of action and hot sexy romps, I can’t get enough.



Rating: ««««

Unleash The Night By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Unleash the Night (Dark-Hunter #8)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Marguerite, the daughter of a wealthy senator, has little interest in the socialite life her father wants for her. So when New Orleans friends decide to go to a bar called Sanctuary, curiosity prompts her to tag along. There she meets Wren, a shy busboy. The attraction is immediate on both sides--and dangerous. Wren is a hybrid were-animal, an outcast even in his own supernatural world, and he's been marked for death. Marguerite should leave, but their fates and hearts are now entwined, and she knows there is no turning back.





Review

One of my top and favourite Dark-Hunter books. I just love how it started, my favourite line from the first page:

“Life is a soul-sucking test that you either survive or fail. Personally I think failure blows, so I intend to survive and laugh my ass off at all the losers”.

Marguerite didn’t match her snooty lifestyle that she lived; she’s down to earth and makes her own mind-up based on her moral compass, she’s strong. Wren and Marguerite had an instant connection and when walking home from the bar, where Wren works, alone after her study group causing trouble some muggers try to get the best of her, Wren jumps in and saves her taking a bullet to the shoulder for her. Wren has had a tough life, his parents not wanting him and being an outsider, he also happens to have magic. With other were’s out to kill him, Wren gets injured and finds shelter at Maggie’s, shifting into his tiger form, which she handled pretty well everything considered, keeping him safe for four days. Wren and Maggie travel back in time to get proof that Wren didn’t kill his parents, where Wren’s father bites Marguerite in tiger form effectively giving her animal powers, making her a were-tiger. Lots of twists and turns in this book, the way everything turned out with Wren’s father was unexpected and I loved how Maggie loved Wren before she knew how much money he had, she loved him for who he was on the inside not what his standing was. A real page turner I couldn't put down.



Rating: «««««

Friday, August 19, 2011

Sins Of The Night By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Sins of the Night (Dark-Hunter #7)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

In the realm of the Dark-Hunters there is a code of honor that even immortal bad boys must follow:

Harm no human. Drink no blood. Never fall in love.


But every now and again a Dark-Hunter thinks himself above the Code. That's when I'm summoned. Who am I? I'm the one thing the fearless fear. Step over the line and it's my wrath you will face. Nothing can touch me. Nothing can sway me. I am relentless and unfeeling.

Or so I thought until I met a female Dark-Hunter who goes by the name of Danger-it's not just her name, it's how she lives her life. She doesn't trust me at all. And who could blame her? She alone knows that I'm here to be judge, jury and most likely executioner of her friends. Yet she is my key to saving some of them. Without her, they all will die.

Dangereuse St. Richard is a deadly distraction. Something about her is reawakening a heart I thought was long dead. But in a race against evil, the only hope mankind has is that I do my duty. And how can I do my duty when it means that I will have to sacrifice the only woman I've ever loved?





Review

I love Acheron, he can’t help but spoil Simi, it’s so sweet, a demon with a shopping addiction. I didn’t much care for the female lead in this one, Dangereuse, I just couldn’t get into the character and connect with her. Acheron is in the line-of fire in this with Stryker a daimon/god, out to turn the Dark-Hunter’s against him and destroy him. Alexion is a Shade sent to protect Danger with some pretty nifty tricks, like being able to warm up his body temperature just my thinking it and the ability to see into people’s past, the turning the television on and off at will is also pretty handy. Lots of hot steamy scenes and some emotional ones, like when Danger got stabbed and was dying and her hand fell away from Alexion’s face that was so heartbreaking.

"Alexion threw his head back and cried out as pain tore threw him. In that moment , he hated Acheron. He hated Kyros. He hated Stryker, but most of all he hated himself for not being able to protect her".

Danger seemed to bring the life back into Alexion, bring out his fun side, I am glad that they got their happy ending. This wasn’t as enthralling for me as the previous Dark-Hunter books, but it was still an enjoyable read.


Rating: ««««

18+ Book Blogger Follow

19.08.2011


 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"Have you ever read a book that just had too much sex in it?"
 
 
I have read a couple of books that have had a higher proportion of sex scenes to plot and storyline which did make the books suffer a little bit for me but I still enjoyed reading them. Though on the flip-side if I don't get at least two good sex scenes in an adult romance, I feel a little cheated.

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Seize The Night By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Seize the Night (Dark-Hunter #6)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Valerius isn't a popular Dark-Hunter-he's a Roman, which means that the largely Greek Hunters have a major grudge against him and his civilization for superceding them. To make things worse, he's very conscious of his aristocratic background and breeding. So it serves him right when he runs into Tabitha Devereaux. She's sassy, sexy, and completely unwilling to take him seriously. (Not to mention that she's the twin sister of the wife of former Dark-Hunter Kyrian-Val's mortal enemy.) What Tabitha does take seriously is hunting and killing vampires-and soon she and Val have to grapple with the deadliest of all Daimons-one who's managed to come back from the dead, and one who holds a serious grudge against both of them. To win against evil, Val will have to loosen up, learn to trust, and put everything on the line to protect a man he hates and a woman who drives him nuts.



Review

Tabitha kicks Daimon butt! Which is what causes her to accidently stab Valerius when he steps in to help her. She is also quick witted, laughed at this moment when Valerious wakes up in Tabitha’s house and realises he has no clothes and asks Tabitha where they are, which happens to be the laundry leaving him sitting in a bed naked:

“Beg all you want, you’re still going to be naked”, Tabitha paused at the wicked image in her mind,”Come to think of it, a gorgeous, begging, naked man...that’s the stuff of fantasies. Begging won’t get you your clothes, but it could get you something else.” She wiggled her eyebrows at him”.

Not to mention the “penironi”, that was genius. Valerious spent most of his life being hated and alone much like his brother Zarek (His story can be found back in Dark-Hunter #3) who also despises him, although Valerious tried to help Zarek in the past it often ended up harming him more which lead to the animosity between the brothers. The great thing about these books is that you don’t just get one story; it is enriched with side characters. It is so sad what happened with Nick and what he did with Simi! It was cute how Simi didn’t care for it and would rather have gone shopping, finding it more satisfying. Tabitha would have to be one of my favourite female leads in this series.



Rating: «««««

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Night Play By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Night Play (Dark-Hunter #5)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Bride McTierney has had it with men. They're cheap, self-centered, and never love her for who she is. But though she prides herself on being independent, deep down she still yearns for a knight in shining armor.

She just never expected her knight in shining armor to have a shiny coat of fur...

Deadly and tortured, Vane Kattalakis isn't what he seems. Most women lament that their boyfriends are dogs. In Bride's case, hers is a wolf. A Were-Hunter wolf. Wanted dead by his enemies, Vane isn't looking for a mate. But the Fates have marked Bride as his. Now he has three weeks to either convince Bride that the supernatural is real or he will spend the rest of his life neutered—something no self-respecting wolf can accept...

But how does a wolf convince a human to trust him with her life when his enemies are out to end his? In the world of the Were-Hunters, it really is dog-eat-dog. And only one alpha male can win.




Review


Definitely one of my favourite Dark-Hunter novels in the series. Bride’s ex-boyfriend is a total jack-ass, the way he treated her and the way her broke-up with her, writing that she didn’t meet up with his image standards. Vane is hotter than the sun and a wolf-shifter (Were-Hunter) to boot, he is so sweet to want to cheer Bride up when he sees her crying. A spare of the moment romp in the backroom of Bride’s shop leads to Vane developing a mating mark on his hand and Bride her own, which means that Vane has three weeks to claim his mate or live the rest of his life alone, without feeling the touch of a woman again. Vane has spent most of his life as an outcast, only finding comfort in his brother Fang (Fang’s story can be found in Dark-Hunter #18), his sister and the bear clan. The charm of the Dark-Hunter book humour continues in this book, it was cute when Vane stayed with Bride as a wolf and she decided to name him Vane Two unknowingly. When Vane showed that jerk Taylor who was boss I cheered! Arrogant fool got put in his place. I really loved Vane and as a couple Bride and him are perfect, it’s nice to see a leading lady who is more voluptuous to a stick-thin flat stomached twig.


Rating: «««««

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Kiss Of The Night By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Kiss of the Night (Dark-Hunter #4)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Wulf is an ancient Viking warrior with a useful but extremely aggravating power-amnesia. No one who meets him in person can remember him five minutes later. It makes it easy to have one-night stands, but hard to have a meaningful relationship, and without true love he can never regain his soul. When he finally meets Cassandra, the one woman who can remember him, she turns out to be the princess of the cursed race he's sworn to hunt-and forbidden to him. The two of them must face ancient curses, prophecies, and the direct meddling of the Greek gods to find true happiness at last.



Review

The books in this series really do not disappoint, the action, the laughs, the hot steamy scenes, perfect, though this one did have a little bit of a different feel about it. I loved when Wulf made the Buffy reference;

“Have you any idea how angry it makes me that I have to come out here in the freezing cold to slay you when I could be at home all toasty warm, watching Sarah Michelle Gellar kick ass in a halter top?”.

Wulf is a Dark-Hunter, previous Viking with psychic powers which leads to a few dream-y romps with Cassandra and leads to her getting pregnant, surprise! Cassandra is half Apollite, being bought up to fear and hate the Dark-hunters and the Daimons are after her, also being half Apollite, she is cursed to die at twenty-seven. The letter Wulf writes to his future son was beautiful; you really get to see what he is like behind all the tough exterior. The endings to these books leave you feeling satisfied and I love how to ends to this gave you insight into what the family dynamic ended up being like.


Rating: «««««

Monday, August 15, 2011

Dance With The Devil By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Dance with the Devil (Dark-Hunter #3)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Zarek's Point of View:

Dark-Hunter: A soulless guardian who stands between mankind and those who would see mankind destroyed. Yeah, right. The only part of that Code of Honor I got was eternity and solitude.

Insanity: A condition many say I suffer from after being alone for so long. But I don't suffer from my insanity-I enjoy every minute of it.

Trust: I can't trust anyone...not even myself. The only thing I trust in is my ability to do the wrong thing in any situation and to hurt anyone who gets in my way.

Truth: I endured a lifetime as a Roman slave, and 900 years as an exiled Dark-Hunter. Now I'm tired of enduring. I want the truth about what happened the night I was exiled-I have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Astrid (Greek, meaning star): An exceptional woman who can see straight to the truth. Brave and strong, she is a point of light in the darkness. She touches me and I tremble. She smiles and my cold heart shatters.

Zarek: They say even the most damned man can be forgiven. I never believed that until the night Astrid opened her door to me and made this feral beast want to be human again. Made me want to love and be loved. But how can an ex-slave whose soul is owned by a Greek goddess ever dream of touching, let alone holding, a fiery star?




Review

The thing I like about these Dark-Hunter books is that on the most part the men are the ones that need saving by the women not the other way around, it’s a nice change of pace. Astrid, a nymph of justice, is sent from Artemis to judge Dark-Hunter Zarek on whether he was innocent or guilty and if guilty having him executed and whenever Astrid was sent to judge someone she is rendered blind as to not interfere with her decision. The parts with Sasha are funny, like when Astrid connects with Sasha and he thinks that he doesn’t like the way Zarek is looking at her and asks if he can bite him. Zarek’s past is so gut-wrenching, treated like dirt by his family, used as slave and being abused by his siblings only Valerious stood up for him (His own story is found in Dark-Hunter book #6, Seize the Night) which Zarek hated him for because it often backfired and made everything worse on Zarek. I can’t get enough of Acheron, he sacrifices so much to help the love of others and Simi is hilarious. I loved reading this, I really enjoy how the story and the characters progress. Zarek started off harsh and hot-headed, but toward to the end he was softened and was caring. Another fantastic Dark-Hunter instalment.
 
 
 
 
Rating:«««««

Saturday, August 13, 2011

Night Embrace By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Night Embrace (Dark-Hunter #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

As an ancient Celtic warrior, Talon made one giant mistake— he killed the son of the war god Camulus. In anger and outrage, Camulus cursed him—Everyone Talon loved would die a horrible death in front of his eyes. But when Talon’s clan slaughters his young sister while he watches, powerless to stop them, he sells his soul for vengeance against them. Two thousand years later in modern-day New Orleans, as part of the bargain he made, he’s now an immortal protector who keeps mankind safe from the creatures who would prey on them. A life he’s happy with until he meets Sunshine—an offbeat artist who reminds him what it’s like to really live. Unfortunately for both of them, it’s Mardi Gras, and New Orleans is teeming with a complex plot of ancient gods, including Camulus, who are now out to re-conquer the world. The gloves are off and it’s time for a rematch with Talon out to save everyone, including the artist who makes him insane.



Review

Some real humorous parts in this book like when Talon wakes up naked and Starla starts calling him Steve because he looks like a Steve and how Sunshine shrunk his leather pants in the ash but managed to keep his Snoopy Pez dispenser safe, then Starla and Sunshine start debating whether Talon is a vampire or a werewolf, hilarious. Not to mention that Mr. Tough tattooed Dark-Hunter happens to be a collector of Pez dispensers and his pet crocodiles. The witty banter is one of the thing I enjoyed the most, also the hot steamy scenes of course, that’s a given. Sunshine is adorable, her forgetfulness and her unique nature are fantastic, she is one of the more original characters I have come across in a book. Sunny being Nynia re-incarnate was a surprise and a half, the woman Talon loved, his wife, who died in his arms. I love the way the books flow in this series, packed full of action and story but it isn’t too much to handle. The characters leap off the page and you can’t help but get total enveloped by the situations they find themselves in.


Rating: «««««

Friday, August 12, 2011

Night Pleasures By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Night Pleasures (Dark-Hunter #1)


Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

The Dark-Hunters are ancient warriors who have sworn to protect mankind and the fate of the world is in their hands. . .

He is solitude. He is darkness. He is the ruler of the night. Yet Kyrian of Thrace has just woken up handcuffed to his worst nightmare: An accountant. Worse, she's being hunted by one of the most lethal vampires out there. And if Amanda Devereaux goes down, then he does too. But it's not just their lives that are hanging in the balance. Kyrian and Amanda are all that stands between humanity and oblivion. Let's hope they win.



Review

This is the real start to the series, a real Dark-Hunter feel book, a reflection of what to expect from the series. So many cute funny moments, the mentions of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel made me feel right at home while reading this. I loved the female lead, she’s strong willed and brave, she’s just such a fun character to read about, not whiney or helpless she also happen to have power all of her own. Kyrian is such a tease and is pretty damn hot! The Kyrian and Cliff moment was perfect, you snooze you lose jerk and I can’t believe who he was in league with, fool. I adore the relationship that forms between Kyrian (Hunter) and Amanda, how she helps him overcome the betrayal of his past love and helping him to trust again. A balanced mix of steamy romps, action and story, you get completely sucked in. If you didn’t like Fantasy Lover, give this one a try before dismissing the whole series, it may take you by surprise.


Rating: «««««       

18+ Book Blogger Follow

12.08.2011






Question of the Week

"What pre-release book are you most anticipating?"


Without hesitation I would have to say to next book in my favourite series of all time The Black Dagger Brotherhood, Lover Reborn. Tohrment is my favourite brother even though we don't know that much about him. With his heart being so badly broken, I am looking forward to him finally being able to find some happiness.

I don't know how I am going to survive the wait!

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Fantasy Lover By Sherrilyn Kenyon

Fantasy Lover (Dark-Hunter #0)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Dear Reader,

Being trapped in a bedroom with a woman is a grand thing. Being trapped in hundreds of bedrooms over two thousand years isn't. And being cursed into a book as a love-slave for eternity can ruin even a Spartan warrior's day.

As a love slave, I know everything about women. How to touch them, how to savor them, and most of all, how to pleasure them. But when I was summoned to fulfill Grace Alexander's sexual fantasies, I found the first woman in history who saw me as a man with a tormented past. She alone bothered to take me out of the bedroom and into the world. She taught me to love again.

But I was not born to know love. I was cursed to walk eternity alone. As a general, I had long ago accepted my sentence. Yet now I have found Grace - the one thing my wounded heart cannot survive without. Sure, love can heal all wounds, but can it break a two-thousand-year-old curse?

Julian of Macedon




Review

This book is different to the other Dark-Hunter books in the series so If you don’t like this one it would still be worth reading the next one, it is more of an introductory novel then an actual start to the series.  It has some nice humour to the story like Cupid being a biker and flowing sexual tension. Grace is a loveable character and a relatable one at that. I admire her moral code and her unwillingness to just into the sack with Julian and use him for her own pleasure; much to Julian’s dismay might I add.  As it turns out Grace is the woman who is able to help set him free from being trapped in the book and be a sex-slave for eternity. Though who could blame Grace for being the way she if after the way Paul had treated her, used her for his own games and as just another lay, it was great when Julian showed him what a real man was like and made him cry like the cowardly piece of rubbish he is. I loved the way Julian cared for Grace, protected her and made her see how beautiful and precious she was. The ending was perfect, ending with the teasing humour that made this novel so enjoyable to read.



Rating: ««««

Acheron By Sherrilyn Kenyon

  Acheron (Dark-Hunter #15)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron spent a lifetime of shame. However, his human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Then, brought back against his will, Acheron became the sole defender of mankind.

Only it was never that simple. For centuries, he has fought for our survival and hidden a past he’ll do anything to keep concealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence.

Now his survival, and ours, hinges on hers and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both.  War has never been more deadly... or more fun.



Review

I now understand why this novel has gotten such great reviews. When I saw how the first part was written from Ryssa’s point of view I was thinking that I wasn’t going to enjoy having to read through this, I wanted to read about Acheron and his views, but it in fact added valuable insight that would have been missed otherwise. Acheron's harsh past and his trust for those he loved being broken so many times, to finally find someone who he can trust without having them break it and now have it thrown back in his face is touching. I hate Artemis, she really is the most conceiving woman, and I don’t think I have ever hated a character so much before, if I could pick any book character in the world to die a slow painful death, she’d be my choice. I can just see Acheron now in all his goth-punk-rocker gear, and what is there to say about quirky Tory. I really loved Tory, she’s smart, determined, and confident and she actually wants to make Acheron happy instead of just taking and taking from him like the people from his past. The “How to Tickle His Pickle” moment made me laugh and it was such a sweet moment, Acheron getting drunk on sprite also was funny. When Ash shed a tear, gosh I felt it, the emotion in this book is amazingly written, you feel everything, and you care for the characters. This book blew my mind. My favourite line in this book is now something I think about though the tough moments in life:
"Life isn't finding shelter in the storm. It's about learning to dance in the rain"



Rating:«««««

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Shadowfae By Erica Hayes

Shadowfae (The Shadowfae Chronicles #1)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Steal souls.

Live in hell.

Never die.

In a city infested with psychotic fairies and run by sadistic vampire mafiosi, life as a soul-sucking succubus rarely involves lacy lingerie, hot guys or great sex. Instead, Jade must spend her nights seducing gangsters and murderers, or simpering as a trophy girl for hell's minions.

So when she discovers a forbidden ritual that promises to break hell's thrall and set her free, she's got nothing to lose, even if it involves seducing the four most repellent souls in town. But when you're cheating hell, there's always a catch...



Review

Whew, is it hot in here or what? A very hot and steamy read which I guess is what you hope to expect from a story about a succubus. It was not at all what I expected it to be like, it was a pleasant surprise.  I liked Rajah, he actually cared about Jade, he himself being an incubus, a bi-sexual incubus in fact. Unlike many paranormal novels, the vampires are the bad guys in this particular read. The scene where they had the destroy Luna was a little...Harsh for my liking but the way Rajah cared for Je in the aftermath was proof of the kind of man he is. The only issue I really have with the book is that I could have liked a little more storyline and plot to balance out the numberous sex scenes, I am all for the steam but I would have liked a little more depth. It is a rather dark paranormal read, and full of grit. It reminds me of Richelle Mead’s Georgina Kincaid succubus series only darker. I will be looking into the second book in the series for sure. However, if you are looking for a fairy-tale story, this isn't a book for you.



Rating:««««

Dark Embers By Tessa Adams

Dark Embers (Dragon's Heat #1)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Prince Dylan MacLeod is one of the last pure-blood dragon shape-shifters and ruler of a dying race, the Dragonstar clan. It falls to him to protect his people and their ancient magic. But he has one important duty: to provide an heir...

Like all dragons, Dylan, who has a dark, rampant sexual appetite, can only procreate with his destined mate-for whom he's searched for the last five hundred years. But his quest is delayed when a disease sweeps through the Dragonstars, and Dylan must venture to the human world to find a cure. He tracks down bio-chemist Phoebe Quillum, never imagining the beautiful scientist would be the mate he's been seeking. But even with the fate of the clan on their shoulders, Phoebe and Dylan are overcome by their sexual desire.

Their passion turns to something truer, but when Phoebe is kidnapped by Dylan's oldest enemy, he must risk everything for his love and his clan...



Review

Let me just start by saying this cover is hot as all hell! This book had everything, hot steamy scenes, action, a dreamy dragon shifter for a male lead and a smart scientist for a female lead; I love a female lead that is smart and has her senses about her. I haven’t come across many dragon-shifter novels and this has me hooked, I want more! The scene where Dylan shifted into smoke, oh my good lord *fans self*. There was no boring filler in the book, or story that seemed out of place, everything had a purpose. I loved Dylan and Phoebe. I had a hint that she was a dragon and I was glad when it was revealed that she was, though it was pretty easy to pick that it was going to turn out that way. The part where Dylan shifts in front of Phoebe and she doesn't run but goes up to him and hugs him reminds me of J.R Ward’s Lover Eternal with Rhage and Mary. I really enjoyed reading this book and couldn't put it down once I started, this book sucked me right in. I cannot wait to get my hands on the second book.         



Rating:«««««