Friday, September 30, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

30.09.2011


 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"Which paranormal creature would you like to see more of  in paranormal romances?"
 
 
 
I would like to see more dragons/dragon shifters! I have only read a couple of books with dragons in them (Dark Embers by Tessa Adams, Lover Eternal by J.R. Ward, Kiss of Fire by Deborah Cooke is in my to-read pile along with Shadow of the Vampire by Meagan Hatfield and Heart of the Dragon by Gena Showalter ) I would like to read more books like those.
 
If anyone has any recommendations I would appreciate it.


 

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

29.09.2011






Question of the Week

"Who is your author crush? And  if you were to write a fan letter to them, what would you say?"



Without question my author crush is J.R. Ward. Not only is her writing amazing, she seems like a really awesome person in real life, I just know she is one of those people that when you are around them you are going to have fun and laugh until your sides hurt. 

If I were to write a fan letter to her I don't know what I would say... I would probably ask her if she could set me up with Tohrment. Sure he is a fictional character but at the very least she could write me in a story with him, that would be enough...Must include as many steamy scenes as possible of course ;)


Breaking Point By Pamela Clare

Breaking Point (I-Team #5)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

While investigating border violence in Ciudad Juárez, Mexico, Denver journalist Natalie Benoit is caught in a bloody ambush and taken captive. Alone in the hands of ruthless killers, she will need every ounce of courage she possesses to survive.

Betrayed by another operative, Deputy U.S. Marshal Zach McBride has endured a week of torture and interrogation at the hands of a bloodthirsty Mexican drug cartel. Ready to give his life if he must, he remains unbroken - until he hears the cries of an American woman.

Although Natalie is only a voice in the darkness of their shared prison, her plight brings renewed strength to Zach's battered body. With her help, he overpowers their captors, and they flee through the desert toward the border, the attraction between them flaring hotter than the Sonoran sun.

But past loss and tragedy leave both of them reluctant to follow their hearts, even when the passion between them reaches its breaking point. Faced with feelings neither expected, they fight to stay ahead of the danger that hunts them as forces more powerful than they can imagine conspire to destroy them both…






Review

Natalie has experienced so much pain in her past with the loss of her fiancé Beau and her parents in a car crash on the way to get her from the hospital, stuck in the grief, unable to move on. She is a journalist and while in Mexico she is captured and held prisoner by the Zetas, notorious for their brutality which is where she comes in contact with a fellow prisoner Zach, who had been betrayed which led to him being there. Together they help each other deal with the situation they find themselves in, Zach helping Natalie with her claustrophobia and Natalie helping Zach find the strength to get through the pain he faces from being stuck there for six days. After her spilling her heart about her past and the things she has experienced Zach gives her some sound advice;

“Unable to do anything else to help her, Zach gave her the only advice he could. “I know it’s hard, but you need to stay focused on what’s happening now. Do whatever it takes to survive. Do you hear me, Natalie? Just survive”.

I love Natalie’s initiative, she isn’t just about to sit back and wait for death to come her way, and she has courage, she is strong within herself. I like how Zach is heroic and despite the trauma he faces, he just wants to see Natalie safe, the trust they both develop for each other keeps them alive, though it is tested on a few occasions. They both finally manage to escape from the Zetas thanks to Natalie, now they are on the run together and the sexual tension between them heats up. When they are both finally safe, it is time for them both to return home to their separate lives, which is especially heartbreaking for Natalie after all Zach had done for her;

“How strange it was that a week ago she hadn’t even known this man. She’d been a ghost then, drifting, hollow, numb. Then Zach had spoken to her out of the darkness, saving her, making her feel again, bringing her back to life. And now he was going to leave her world as abruptly as he’d entered it.”

They are finally reunited again after a car bomb was planted in Natalie’s car, Zach rushes to make sure she is alive and unharmed. This book sucked me in right from the get go. The characters, the plot, the way it was written, everything about it captured me.




Rating: «««««

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Burning Darkness By Jaime Rush

Burning Darkness (Offspring #4)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

They live ordinary lives, but they are extraordinary. They are the Offspring, children of a mysterious experiment gone awry—and they are in terrible danger.

A government-trained assassin, Fonda Raine has her sights locked on her latest target: Eric Aruda, one of the rogue Offspring—a pyrokenetic who can create fires with just a thought. But Fonda has awesome powers of her own—and her ability to astral project and be in two places at one time enables her to put herself exactly where she wants to be . . . in Eric's bed.

Eric is stunned and pleased by the inexplicable appearance of the mysterious enchantress, unaware that Fonda plans to seduce him, throw him off his guard, and then eliminate him. But the game changes radically with the arrival of an assassin from hell with orders to destroy them both. And suddenly Fonda and Eric have only two choices: to join forces or go down in flames.





Review

Fonda is on a mission, a mission of death. Fonda is tough and strong but she also has a softer side, which is what you see right from the start with her interactions with George. When Fonda goes into a meditation ethereal state, Fonda can astral project, she cases out Eric who is the target of her mission, she finds herself attracted to him, desiring him as he desires her; she decides to use it to her advantage. Fonda arranges to meet Eric at a bar which is where Fonda makes her move, luring him back to her motel room and drugging him;

“The girl... what was her name again? She leaned close again. “Eric Aruda...welcome to the last day of your life.”
Then he lost the battle and his eyes crashed shut.”

Eric awakes tied to a bed and at the mercy of Fonda, the lover of the enemy he had killed, he manages to break free from the ropes that he is tied with and now is the time he must face Fonda. Then something unexpected happens, an FBI agent turns up outside the motel room door, and he is out to kill them both. Eric and Fonda team up and Eric helps Fonda see that she is fighting on the wrong side that she has trusted the wrong people, and why he did what he did in the past, though Fonda remains wary. Fonda’s world is blow wide open when the truth about the lover she is avenging comes to light and why he was killed;

“Her eyes widened, and it felt as though someone had thumped her hard in the chest. Jerryl hadn’t loved her. What he had loved was killing. And not only killing in general, but killing Eric Aruda. “

This realisation by Fonda allows for her to have faith in Eric and to open herself up more, to not be so hesitant to embrace the feelings she has for him, her desire for him. I loved the way Eric stood up for Fonda against Connie when they went to stay at her father’s place for the night, it just makes you swoon. All in all, this was better than I expected it to be as must first experience with a Jamie Rush novel, it was a nice surprise, it was easy to keep up with what was happening and you were able to develop a relationship with the characters themselves which is a tell-tale sign of a good read. I was having a hard time deciding what to rate this, if I could I would give it four and a half stars but I will round it up to five, the steam and the emotion in the book really made it for me.



Rating:«««««

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Sexy Snippets

27.09.2011









 
 
 
 
Burning Darkness (Offspring #4) by Jaime Rush
 

No one had told her about this possibilty. Hot, cold, but not amorous.
The room was dark, which meant it was nighttime.
She couldn't see the clock from her angle.
He felt so good, wrapping her in his arms, kissing her neck and the place beneath her ear. He let out a soft groan and slung his leg over her, pinning her within the bounds of his body. His hands slid down her back, all the way down beneath her pants, each hand nearly covering the whole cheek, and he squeezed. She let out a soft moan. Touch me. They slid back up, and one hand threaded up into her hair, anchoring there. The other wrapped around her waist. She was surrounded by his heat, his skin, his scent. Earth, fresh air, and Eric.





 

Sunday, September 25, 2011

His Darkest Embrace By Juliana Stone

His Darkest Embrace (Jaguar Warriors #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

A solitary hunter with no regard for the human world, Jagger Castille is a shifter living on the edge. A woman who calls him enemy will give him reason to live . . .

Jagger is a creature of the night—Skye Knightly soars in the sun. Natural adversaries, they are now joined in a mission entrusted to Skye's family centuries ago: nothing less than the salvation of the Earth.

Wounded and bitter, Jagger sought escape in the solitude of the jungle, driven by a need to disappear forever . . . until a mysterious shifter who calls to his soul and feeds a yearning long forgotten pulls him from his dark path. A courageous warrior, Skye's passion is equal to Jagger's—but can she trust a man whose secrets are as devastating as her own?

Each is the other's sole hope for survival. But a dark and twisted truth is leading them toward the ultimate sacrifice for a love they may never live to claim.




Review

Let me just start by saying how much I love the cover of this book! It is just gorgeous!

Skye is enamoured by a cave that she was sent to by a mission she needs to complete of behalf of her dead father, needing to close and seal a portal to the demon underworld, she stayed there exploring far too long past dark and now needs to find her way back to base camp, traipsing through the jungle alone, which she soon discovers was a mistake on her part. Skye is an eagle shifter and in the past had been held captive by Jaguar warriors after an ancient Aztec artefact, she had survived but being in the jungle alone she has put herself in danger if being captured by them again and ends up in fact being hunted by some, but before any real harm comes to her another jaguar comes to help her and kill the other jaguars for invading his domain but she refuses to let her guard down;

“If Skye didn’t know better, she’d say it felt as if the animal were warning her of danger. She shook her head. All jaguars were evil. They lived to hut and kill.”

When the jaguar, who just happens to be Jagger comes forward near her she makes the decision to make a dangerous jump to what she believes to be her only chance at survival, right over a waterfall. Jagger goes after her, she is hurt and unconscious, he brings her back to his cave. He has been living for months in Jaguar form, tired of losing the people he cared about in self imposed exile, tprtured by the images from his past in Iraq and Afghanistan. When Skye awakens, she runs for her life and now Jagger has to find her before a group of dangerous Jaguars get to her first. When he finally does find her again, he isn’t too much happy with her and expresses his distaste at her actions back at the cave;

“You’re the shifter from last night.” Her eyes narrowed and while ringed with fear, they seemed confused.
Jagger paused and then nodded. “Yeah, and uh, you’re welcome for saving your ass”. His face darkened slightly as he continued. “And thanks for the knock in the nuts this morning, nothing like a shot to the balls to really wake you up.””

And Skye has ultimately resigned herself to the fact that he is there to finish the job and finally kill her, but he manages to convince her otherwise and they head to Jagger’s hideout. Everyone comes to a head when Jagger’s brother turns up with help, they have been looking for him and they team up to help Skye find the portal and seal it, but not all goes t plan. I really like the cross-over with characters from the first book in this; it really sucks you into the story. There is no lack of heat in this book, the desire between Jagger and Skye sizzles. I liked this one more than I did the first in the series, it left me eager to read the third, a series for the shifter lovers.





Rating: «««««

Friday, September 23, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

23.09.2011



 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"We all love our hunky heroes, but what heroine do you have a girl-crush on?"
 
 
Oh the options! I would say my first, top girl-crush would be on Georgina Kincaid from the Georgina Kincaid series by Richelle Mead. I just love her spunk. I lover her fight and the choices she makes come from her heart.
 
 
 
 
 
My second choice would be Anita Blake from the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K. Hamilton. She's so kick-ass and she is a strong character which I like. Even though she now has many men in her life, she sticks with what is right for her.
 




 

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Out Of Sight By Cherry Adair

Out of Sight (T-FLAC #5)

Genre:Romantic Suspense

Description:

Sometimes chemistry is a matter of life and death. . . .

Though her confidence is badly shaken by a training accident, A. J. Cooper vows to become an excellent T-FLAC operative. She is everything the antiterrorist agency looks for—she’s smart, resourceful, and a crack shot.

Eager to prove herself to her instructor, the highly regarded Kane Wright, A. J. takes on a difficult and potentially deadly assignment. A success in the field could be just the thing she needs to make her career with the agency—and working so closely with the extraordinary and irresistibly sexy Kane is a fantasy come to life.

Kane Wright is a master of disguise, hiding his powerful attraction for A. J. in the name of professionalism. But when she doesn’t bounce back quickly after her accident, Kane’s desire becomes concern. In the field, even a moment’s hesitation can turn a routine operation into a deadly one. With A. J. taking a lead position in this mission, Kane knows he won’t be able to take his eyes off his gorgeous tomboy trainee. Under the hot desert sun, even as they struggle to unravel a madman’s devious plot, their long denied passion will finally boil over. . . .






Review

I didn’t care for this T-FLAC instalment as much as I did the previous ones, but it is still quite a good read, it just didn’t really do it for me. A.J Cooper is trying her best to keep up with what is expected of her as a trainee under the guidance of Kane, who isn’t handling the pressure too well of being responsible for another person’s life;

“He was good at a number of things. But keeping his teammates alive wasn’t one of them.
Which is why he’d worked alone for the past two years.
He swore viciously under his breath. Angry at himself for giving in to the order to bring her. Angry at Cooper for being the rookie that she was...Hell, angry at God for putting another roadblock to his sanity.”

The more memorable and rather unconventional scenes in this was one with a camel...That poor camel witnessed and was a part of something rather hot and steamy, but not in a twisted bestiality kind of way so no cringes. I wish I could have related to the characters more and felt for them as a couple, then I probably would have rated this higher.




Rating:«««

Dirty Little Secret

22.09.2011



 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"If you could have wings, what would they look like?"
 
 
My wings would be bad-ass. They would be angelically shaped like normal feathered angel wings but made of fire and fierce like a phoenix.
 
 
 


 

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

In Too Deep By Cherry Adair

In Too Deep (T-FLAC #4)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

Beauty can be deceiving. . . .
Tally Cruise has come to Paradise Island for a long-awaited reunion with the father she never knew. But when she arrives, he is nowhere to be found. Still, she is so thrilled by the seductive beauty of the island that she doesn’t see the danger boiling right below the surface–until a mysterious explosion nearly kills her. She is rescued by an enigmatic man whose intensity is as undeniable as his sex appeal . . . a mysterious stranger who is not what he seems.

Michael Wright is on Paradise Island to settle an old score with Tally’s father, the man responsible for the accident that ended his Navy SEAL career . . . and killed his best friend. But even though he hopes to use Tally to reach his target, Michael cannot deny the deep feelings she inspires within him, or the fact that her life is in serious danger. Paradise Island is a place full of hidden intrigue and peril, as deadly as it is beautiful, and Michael will need every skill he learned as a SEAL to ensure that he and Tally escape alive. . .





Review

Michael is keeping an eye on the daughter and the right-hand man of his archenemy on a boat when an explosion of the boat of the people he is watching sends Tally into the water; he has no choice but to help her. The attraction between them is obvious right from the start especially for Tally;

"His lips twitched. “Okay, little bear; take off the shirt so I can check your arm.”

“I don’t need to remove my top-my arms stick out the sides, in case you haven’t noticed.”

“Honey, I’ve noticed everything about you, up to, and including, this little mole right here.” He brushed a finger under her right ear, and the small hairs all over her body stood to attention.

Tally discovered there were other ways to drown. And she was going under for a second time."

When they finally get back to shore to a hotel things get complicated with bodies washing up and intruders, though Tally knew how to handle one particular intruder, holding hostage his favourite package then pushing him over a balcony. There is no lack of steam in this read and the scene with the pearls was hotter than hell. The twist with Leli’a was unexpected, I really don’t like that girl and Tally’s father is just despicable. One of my favourite T-FLAC books that I have read so far.




Rating: ««««

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Sexy Snippets

20.09.2011





 
 
 
In Too Deep (T-FLAC #4) by Cherry Adair
 

 
He used one large hand to expertly position her head at just the right angle for the most powerful impact. Tally almost sobbed with anticipation. His tongue explored the inside of her mouth, and she engaged it in a war for supremecy. She needed him to match her own hunger. Instead, he was taking his own sweet time, and in the process, torturing her.

Slow-oh, so slow. Nothing she did seemed to rush him. Her tongue challenged his to combat. She felt his laughter as a deep vibration against her chest. She clamped her arms more tightly around his neck. Using both hands, she positioned his head where she wanted him. But Michael realigned their bodies to his own liking.

Tally almost shot out of her already too tight skin. God. The man knew how to kiss.




*One of the more tame scenes I was able to find, the rest would have steamed up the screen far too much ;)

Monday, September 19, 2011

Hide And Seek By Cherry Adair

Hide and Seek (T-FLAC #3)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

A steamy, heart-stopping thrill ride through the jungle as a woman living a lie is forced to trust the one man who can expose her secrets. . . .
Posing as the spoiled girlfriend of an international crimelord, Delanie Eastman braves a remote mountain in South America to find her missing sister. The last person she expects to see is Kyle Wright, the man she had a torrid affair with four years ago. What is he doing so far from home? Though frightened and suspicious of this man who is not what he seems, Delanie cannot resist the dangerous attraction that draws her ever closer to him like a moth to flame.

Kyle is in the middle of his own secret mission and he’s not about to let the gorgeous, unpredictable Delanie ruin his carefully laid plans. He will guide Delanie out of the jungle by any means necessary–including seduction. But just one touch is all it takes to rekindle the intoxicating flame that still burns between them, igniting an arsenal of desire that could cost them their lives. For soon both are on the run, playing a lethal game of . . .

HIDE AND SEEK






Review

Delanie sacrifices her own safety in order to find her missing sister Lauren, but when an ex-lover Kyle shows up unexpectedly into the mix, it makes things very complicated. Kyle is undercover on assignment to discover Montero’s secrets involving manufacturing the smallpox virus and he isn’t all too pleased when he realises who’s living with the crime lord;

“What in God’s name was Delanie, with her soft, pouty, lying mouth and those deceptively innocent baby browns- which did a piss poor job of hiding secrets- doing here? Her presence complicated everything.”

The attraction between Delanie and Kyle is undeniable and it soon gets them into trouble and things heat up when Montero offers Delanie to Kyle as a “gift”. The moment when Delaine was in a drugged haze was hilarious, “Don’t bite!”, “That’s not a rubber hose”. There’s plenty of action in this book, of the hot and steamy variety as well as the ass-kicking, and some sad moments added to the mix. The moment when Delanie tells Kyle about the baby and how she aches to hold her was so heart breaking. The ending was perfect and I like how they both don’t immediately go and run off into the sun-set together instead parting ways and meeting up again four months on.



Rating: ««««

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Kiss And Tell By Cherry Adair

Kiss and Tell (T-FLAC #2)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

She was looking for adventure.

Marnie Wright has seen more than her fair share of testosterone. Growing up with four overly protective brothers was one thing. Now a mountain man named Jake Dolan has invaded a peaceful day of soul-searching at her grandmother's secluded cabin. Sure, she was trespassing on his private property, but did he have to pull a gun on her? There's more to this longhaired soldier of fortune who calls himself the Tin Man, but she's not sure she wants to stick around to find out what. Then he stashes her in his secret lair--an underground techno-fantasy complete with security monitors and an arsenal--and Marnie realizes the guy is military, top secret military.
He's also got the most beautiful mouth she's ever seen.


He could get her killed.




Review

Marnie decides to go to her grandmother’s cabin to rethink her life, which is where she runs into Jake, who starts off as quite hostile, and life really does take a turn. It was hilarious how Marnie’s dog Duchess wouldn’t leave Jake alone;

“And her dog leaned against a very large masculine thigh, and heaved a sigh.

“What the hell is this animal doing?”

Marnie’s feet scuffed up damp leaves as she strolled away without looking back. “She likes you.” She had to raise her voice to be heard as she put some distance between them.

“Damn it, I told you to-stop that, dog!- take your dog.”

“Oh, Duchess goes exactly where she wants. Never have been able to make her come when she wants to stay.” She glanced over her shoulder. Duchess was looking up at him as if he were God’s gift.”

When a tree destroys the cabin she is staying in, Duchess runs off and Marnie runs after her, evidently Duchess had run to Jake for help which leads to Marnie staying in Jakes cabin until the rain passes and the bridge is clear to cross.  Jake is very much attracted to Marnie but denies it but Marnie doesn’t believe his denials anyway and is set on pursuing him, which is refreshing to read, the woman pursuing the man. When the rain lets up the next morning, it is time for her to leave, unsatisfied and gets caught in Jake’s mess, assassins with guns who are after him. Jake who is in face a black ops worker under T-FLAC, manages to save Marnie and get her back to his hideout in an old mine, now he is stuck with her again, he is unable to resist his feelings any longer. Jake send for help to get them both to safety but when the chopper finally arrives Jake sends Marnie to get on it and it explodes, little does he know one of the baddies pushed her out of it and she is safe, which was a blessing in more ways than one when Jake is captured and she has to rescue him herself.  This book was a great read, I loved the military angle and there was some hot steamy-ness to balance out the action just right.




Rating: ««««

Whispers Of Evil By Stacey Kennedy

Whispers of Evil (The Watchers #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Nayeli has been locked away, hidden from the world in a mental institution, all due to the whispers of evil which have corrupted her mind. Unbeknownst to her, the voices that have plagued her are a gift given to only one kind―Watchers.

Griffin, her Seeker, is about to break this cage of imprisonment woven around her and give her a new chance at life. But when a demon leaves the confines of Hell to create havoc in Louisiana, will his love for Nayeli free her wounded heart, or will she succumb to the whispers which threaten to steal her soul?

*WARNING: Explicit sex between a timid Watcher and a gorgeous Seeker, and a ceremony that will certainly raise eyebrows!







Review

Griffin is envious of his brother bound by friendship Knox with his watcher Paxtyn, who is a riot by the way, he sees how much happiness she had brought him and he wants one for himself, his chosen one, but it isn’t so easy, he must rescue her from a mental hospital. I really like in this how the men are all submissive to their women, it’s a nice change. This moment between Paxtyn and Knox when rescuing Nayeli made me laugh and it was only just the start of the read;

“She gave him a hard punch to the shoulder. “If you ever man-handle me like that again, I will castrate you.”
Knox frowned. “I needed to—”
Her glare deepened, her eyes narrowing. “You needed to what?”
Knox’s lips tightened into a firm thin line, then he sighed deeply and grumbled. “I apologize.””

Nayeli was kept restrained and drugged into a stupor in that hospital, telling of demons killing people and hearing voices, she wakes up with a hot man standing about her, thinking it to be a dream but then coming to realisation that it is in fact reality. I really love Griffin and how sweet he is with Nayeli, how careful he is. He wants nothing more than to protect her and ease what had been done to her in the past, how badly she had been treated in that mental hospital all alone;

“His only concern was her; nothing else mattered except that. “I will be there to protect you. That is my promise to you.””

Nayeli slowly starts to open up and trust where she is and trust that Griffin isn’t going to put her in harms way or send her back to the hospital. When a demon is after Nayeli because of her ability to know their language and the threat it is to them, Knox wants to use her as bait to draw him out but Griffin won’t stand for it, he will not put Nayeli in danger. Nayeli can’t stand the thought of Griifin and the others being in danger because of her, they gave her life back and meaning so she decides to confront Dagon herself, leaving griffin a note;

”Dagon wants me and only me. You’ve given me a life that I’m not sure I ever really deserved. You’ve given me love, and I’ll always be grateful for that. And I failed you all. Now, I’m going to fix it. Forgive me, Nayeli”.

Thankfully Griffin and the troops show up in time to save her and Griffin is as pissed as can be. He punishes her, and what a hot steamy punishment it was. This was a freaking great read, I couldn’t stop once I started, it flowed so well and was just perfect.





Rating: «««««

Friday, September 16, 2011

Ashes Of Midnight By Lara Adrian

Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed #6)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

A woman driven by blood. A man thirsting for vengeance.
A place where darkness and desire meet...

As night falls, Claire Roth flees, driven from her home by a fiery threat that seems to come from hell itself. Then, from out of the flames and ash, a vampire warrior emerges. He is Andreas Reichen, her onetime lover, now a stranger consumed by vengeance. Caught in the cross fire, Claire cannot escape his savage fury—or the hunger that plunges her into his world of eternal darkness and unending pleasure.

Nothing will stop Andreas from destroying the vampire responsible for slaughtering his Breed brethren . . . even if he must use his former lover as a pawn in his deadly mission. Blood-bonded to his treacherous adversary, Claire can lead Andreas to the enemy he seeks, but it is a journey fraught with danger—and deep, unbidden desires. For Claire is the one woman Andreas should not crave, and the only one he’s ever loved. A dangerous seduction begins—one that blurs the lines between predator and prey, and stokes the flames of a white-hot passion that may consume all in its path. . . .




Review

Reichen is out for vengeance, he wants Wilhelm Roth’s head on a platter for killing his kin but first he needs to know where he is, the information he needs Roth’s Breedmate for, Claire. Andreas Reichen and Claire share a past, the past of lovers, when fire destroyed the Darkhaven Claire believed him to be dead, she was wrong. Claire contacts Roth through his dreams with her psychic abilities to warn him of Reichen’s intent to kill him. The longer Reichen is stuck in Claire’s home with her the more he hungers for her, the more old feelings return and it becomes more apparent that Roth isn’t in a hurry to come to his Breedmate’s rescue from him;

“If you were mine,” he murmured low under his breath, “I would walk through the fires of hell itself to keep you away from a man like me.”

When Roth’s agents arrive to kill Reichen Claire does the unexpected and tries to get him out of harms way, she doesn’t want him killed. Claire now wants answers from Roth himself about the whole situation, so she decides that they should team up and go in search of Roth together. Andreas finds himself unable to resist Claire and does the unthinkable, he feeds from her, from his enemies Breedmate. Eventually Roth’s lies come to light to Claire and he knows of Andreas drinking from her, now neither Andreas nor her are safe;

“Andreas’s mouth compressed tightly. Something dark flashed  in his eyes. Remorse, perhaps? Was it regret?
“I don’t think either one of us is safe from him now.” She said.
He stared at her for a long moment, an intense, searching look. Then he gave a curt nod. “You’re coming with me, Claire. No matter what happens, I will keep you safe.””

Reichen takes Claire back to the compound of the Breeds/the Order and carries with him the suspicion that Roth is working with top evil baddie, Dragos. Their feeling for each other come to a head and they admit that they love each other, that they always have but Claire can’t bare to see Andreas killed by Roth and makes a deal with him that if she goes back to him, he will not kill Andreas, but Reichen won’t stand for it, letting Claire do this when he loves her so.  The ending was epic, Andreas‘s flame taking him over but him defeating his own inner demons to come back to Claire, a happy ending.





Rating: ««««

18+ Book Blogger Follow

16.09.2011









Question of the Week

"What are you currently reading?"



I am in the middle of reading Ashes of Midnight by Lara Adrian, which I should finish today:



It is the sixth book in the Midnight Breed series and I am enjoying it so far, if there are any Black Dagger Brotherhood fans or paranormal romance fans that haven't read any of the books from this series, I would recommend giving them a try!
Lots of action, steamy scenes and hot tattooed guys fighting baddies and protecting the woman they love even if it means getting hurt themselves. What is there not to like?


Thursday, September 15, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

15.09.2011









Question of the Week


"An evil fairy sneaks into your bedroom one night when the full moon is out and magicks you to wake up in the world you would like to live in the least. Where do you wake up?"


Ooo this week's question is a tough one. I would have to say the world of Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake series I would like to live in the least, though they have some hot guys in there that make you drool, the world itself is complicated, rough and a lot of the time the human gets the bad end of the deal with all those vampires/shifters running around trying to get the better of each other, not to mention the zombies!


SSIT Reports on the Different Breeds of Werewolf, Separate Species of Vampire and Human/Animal Shape Shifters By Elisha Worthall and Dr. Xavier Bell (By K.R. Smith)

SSIT Reports on the Different Breeds of Werewolf, Separate Species of Vampire and Human/Animal Shape Shifters By Elisha Worthall and Dr. Xavier Bell

*Submitted for review by the author*

Genre: Fantasy

Description:

How was the North American Vampire created? What is the mating habit of the Lokoti Werewolf? What connects Human/Animal Shape Shifters to psychics? What do South American Vampires have to do with the Aztec culture, or Human/Animal Shape Shifters to the Inca? Which supernatural creature is drawn to Leylines? Why do the species of Vampire hunt humans with auras?

These are the classified reports made by the Circulator Elisha Worthall and the human Dr. Xavier Bell, who run the Supernatural Scientific Investigative Team (SSIT). Read about the physical appearances, abilities, history and methods of reproduction of the subjects in the reports. Travel around the world and through time as they explore fact vs fable, or truth vs myth
.               




Review

Ever wanted to know the science behind werewolves? Perhaps proof of origin? Maybe the link between vampire, werewolf and shape shifter? Them this little read is for you. I would suggest at least reading K.R Smith’s novel Scent or some of the other parts to her Circulate series before reading this otherwise it won’t hold as much value to you and it has a bit of a cross-over, though is you perhaps are a paranormal fanatic like myself it would also be worth a bit of a look through as it is interesting. Here’s a little snippet of what you can expect from this read;

“What is interesting, as much as the members of the Shape Shifter family are similar; each will refute it vehemently. All three have fought over territory, when protecting their own, or to feed off the other. Cannibalism is rife, particularly in the Vampire species whose parasitic natures rely on absorbing another creature's life force. But instead of making allowances, they try to cancel the other out and claim dominance. Although Human/Animal Shape Shifters do not lust after flesh or blood of the living, the bloodlust is inherent in their absolute abhorrence for their supernatural cousins. This is a shame, considering how similar Werewolves and Human/Animal Shape Shifters really are."

The different types of werewolf and the differences really fascinated me, the amount of information and the in-depth nature of the work I really appreciated. When I started on the section about vampires I found myself getting sucked into the little details, why vampires can’t tolerate garlic or sunlight, it might have something to do with my vampire obsession. The shape shifter section didn’t have as much information but it was still fun to read, what I appreciated most about this was the ease of the read. A really interesting written piece that sucked me into the science behind the paranormal we love so much. Take it for what it is and I think you'll enjoy it. This isn't a "book" but more of a little side piece to enhance the circulate series that the Author has written.




Rating:««««

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Midnight Rising By Lara Adrian

Midnight Rising (Midnight Breed #4)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

In a world of shadows and dark, consuming hungers, desire is the deadliest weapon...

For journalist Dylan Alexander, it began with the discovery of a hidden tomb, thrusting her into the center of a gathering storm of violence and secrets. But nothing is as dangerous as the scarred, lethally seductive man who rises from the shadows to draw her into his world of dark desire and endless night.
Fueled by pain and rage over a shattering betrayal, the warrior Rio has pledged his life to the war against the Rogues. He will let nothing stand in his way, least of all a mortal woman with the power to expose the entire vampire race. For an ancient evil has been awakened, and a stunning darkness is on the rise. Suddenly Dylan is powerless to resist Rio's touch, even as she uncovers a shocking link to her own past. And now she must choose: Leave Rio's midnight realm, or risk it all for the man who has shown her true passion and the infinite pleasures of the heart. . . .




Review

Dylan has the ability to see the dead, which she is not all that comfortable with and unable to control it. Rio is haunted by the memory of his dead Breedmate Eva, invading his dreams, the woman who betrayed him. When Dylan stumbles upon a cave/crypt where Rio has been staying, content on his own death and when he smells her he finds her hard to resist, when she leaves after taking his picture with her camera he is determined to track her down again to save the secrecy of what he is;

“He wanted her.
After the months of exile in that godforsaken cave, after Eva’s deception that had left him dead in so many ways, Rio looked at this woman and felt...alive.”

Rio has to keep Dylan under watch until he can figure out how many others have seen the pictures or know about them but when he realises that she is a Breedmate due to her birthmark, things get even more complicated and he has to tell her about everything. Rio takes Dylan back to the Breed compound to keep her safe and now that she knows of what she is, she must decide whether to stay with the Breeds, or go back to her old life. Dylan’s mother is sick and in hospital and while she is there visiting her she sees the host of a Breedmate, warning her of Breedmates being murdered and she fears for her safety, she is scared and turns to Rio for help. This book reminds me of the trouble Zsadist from J.R Ward’s Lover Awakened had with trust and afraid to love, being ashamed of the way he looked, not thinking he is good enough. I am so happy Rio and Dylan found happiness together, a tortured hero with a strong female to match, they make a great pair. Some hot as heck steamy scenes in this book, I really enjoyed the shower scene.





Rating:«««««

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Midnight Awakening By Lara Adrian

Midnight Awakening (Midnight Breed #3)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

With a dagger in her hand and vengeance on her mind, Darkhaven beauty Elise Chase prowls Boston’s streets in search of retribution against the Rogue vampires who took from her everything she cherished. Using an extraordinary psychic gift, she tracks her prey, well aware that the power she possesses is destroying her. She must learn to harness this gift, and for that she can turn to only one man—the deadliest of the Breed warriors, Tegan.

No stranger to loss, Tegan knows Elise’s pain. He knows fury, but when he slays his enemies it is with ice in his veins. He is perfect in his self-control, until Elise seeks his aid in her personal war. An unholy alliance is forged—a bond that will link them by blood and vow—and plunge them into a tempest of danger, desire, and the darkest passions of the heart. . .






Review

Elise has a lot to deal with, her psychic powers and the death of her son who turned Rogue; she searches the night for the Rogues and Minions, the ones responsible for her son’s death that had cut her so deep. Tegan runs into Elise out hunting for Rogues himself, coming to her rescue, he knows her from the Darkhaven sanctuaries in the past, but he hasn’t forgotten her, not by a long shot, he knows too well the grief that consumes her to the point of feeling numb, his Breedmate was badly hurt by Rogues when he was out on patrol one night, eventually being put out of her suffering by one of the other Breed members;

“Hell, when was the last time he’d felt anything at all?
He remembered pain.
He remembered loss, the anger that had consumed him... long, long ago.
He remembered Sorcha and how much he’d loved her. How sweetly innocent she was and how completely she had trusted him to keep her safe and protected.
God, how he’d failed her. He would never forget what had been done to her, how savagely she’d been abused. To survive the blow of her death, he had learned to detach from his grief, from his raw fury. But he would never forget. Would never forgive.”

When Tegan decides to pay Elise another visit, he find her in pain from her ability, her nose bleeding, using a psychic gift of his own, he calms her, puts her in a trance to allow her to sleep, her gift muted while he is at her side. Elise manages to get her hands on a book that the Rogue’s need, now they are after her and Tegan is hell bent on protecting her. Nothing comes easy between the two, even when they both know they love each other, they pasts get in the way and I was glad when they finally let their barriers down and found home in each other. It was also nice to read about Tess from the last book in this one and how she is using her talent which she saw as a curse to help others and Rio.  Packed full of action, suspense and hot steamy lovin’.



Rating: «««««

Sexy Snippets

13.09.2011





Midnight Awakening (Midnight Breed #3) by Lara Adrian


Elise’s legs flexed and scissored as he continued his tactile exploration of her body. He traced his fingers along the dip of her flat stomach, then up the graceful flare of her hip. She was liquid in her movements, undulating and arching as her sucking at his wrist became more urgent. With a low, breathy moan, she opened her legs for him and moved his hand down where she wanted him. She clamped her thighs together, holding him to her and grinding when he hesitated to touch her on his own.

It was too much to resist even for him.

He brushed his fingers along her moist cleft shielded by her panties and she jerked as if he touched her with an open flame. He stroked her again, with more purpose, feeling her need ratchet tighter with every slide of his fingers.

"Tegan,” she gasped,, turning her head aside to look at him with dazed, brilliant eyes, “Tegan...please...do something."

Monday, September 12, 2011

Kiss Of Crimson By Lara Adrian

Kiss of Crimson (Midnight Breed #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

He comes to her more dead than alive, a towering black-clad stranger riddled with bullets and rapidly losing blood. As she struggles to save him, veterinarian Tess Culver is unaware that the man calling himself Dante is no man at all, but one of the Breed, vampire warriors engaged in a desperate battle. In a single erotically charged moment Tess is plunged into his world—a shifting, shadowed place where bands of Rogue vampires stalk the night, cutting a swath of terror.

Haunted by visions of a dark future, Dante lives and fights like there is no tomorrow. Tess is a complication he does not need—but now, with his brethren under attack, he must shield Tess from a growing threat that includes Dante himself. For with one reckless, irresistible kiss, she has become an inextricable part of his underworld realm…and his touch awakens her to hidden gifts, desires, and hungers she never knew she possessed. Bonded by blood, Dante and Tess must work together to thwart deadly enemies, even as they discover a passion that transcends the boundaries of life itself….






Review

Dante is cursed to have visions of his own death and is badly injured by some Rogues with a grenade, finds himself taking shelter in the veterinarian office of Tess Culver. He is in desperate need of blood to heal and Tess is the only one around, too late did he realise she had drugged him and she was in fact a Breedmate.

“Deep scarlet, smaller then a dime, the image of a teardrop falling into the bowl of a crescent moon seared into Dante’s brain.
It was a rare mark, a genetic stamp that proclaimed the female sacred to those if Dante’s kind.
She was a Breedmate.
And with her blood now pulsing within him, Dante had just completed one half of a solemn bond.
By vampire law, she was his.
Irrevocably.
Eternally.
The very last thing he wanted or needed.”

When he reveals all this to Tess she is less than impressed and pretty much writes him off as nuts. Dante makes a getaway when police show up, wiping Tess’s memory but vowing to return and when he sees her on a stakeout with a human man, his blood boils, little does he know the human Ben is the very person they had been looking for, the Crimson dealer. Dante gets closer to Tess and they share a steamy moment in the clinic, eventually Tess shares with him her gift which she sees as a curse, her ability to heal. When Tess is captured by a Rogue she is hurt and Dante takes her back to the compound, but not before having no choice but to give her some of his blood to keep her alive, effectively bonding them for life. Ben ends up nabbing Tessa, Dante comes to her rescue, to save the woman he loves and it is revealed that the death visions he had been having for so long, were not that of his, but of Tess’s death which Dante will not let happen and ends up with him being injured, Tess saving him with her ability. I have to say I enjoyed this one more than I did the first, it had a little more spark to it.



Rating: «««««

Friday, September 9, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

09.09.2011






Question of the Week


"What is the first book you ever reviewed?"




The first book I ever reviewed was Twilight by Stephenie Meyer however the first book I reviewed on my blog was Scent by K.R. Smith.


Thursday, September 8, 2011

Kiss Of Midnight By Lara Adrian

Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

He watches her from across the crowded dance club, a sensual black-haired stranger who stirs Gabrielle Maxwell’s deepest fantasies. But nothing about this night—or this man—is what it seems. For when Gabrielle witnesses a murder outside the club, reality shifts into something dark and deadly. In that shattering instant she is thrust into a realm she never knew existed—a realm where vampires stalk the shadows and a blood war is set to ignite.

Lucan Thorne despises the violence carried out by his lawless brethren. A vampire himself, Lucan is a Breed warrior, sworn to protect his kind—and the unwitting humans existing alongside them—from the mounting threat of the Rogues. Lucan cannot risk binding himself to a mortal woman, but when Gabrielle is targeted by his enemies, he has no choice but to bring her into the dark underworld he commands.

Here, in the arms of the Breed’s formidable leader, Gabrielle will confront an extraordinary destiny of danger, seduction, and the darkest pleasures of all. . . .






Review

If you’re a J.R Ward Black Dagger Brother hood fan, or perhaps a Larissa Ione Demonica fan, you’ll enjoy this series. On a reluctant night out with her friend Gabrielle witnesses a murder outside the club in an alley, what she doesn’t know is that the gang of bikers committing the crime, are in fact rogue vampires. Lucan, a member of the Breed hunts vampires and was about to take care of the gang of vamps when Gabrielle appeared, now he must find her and wipe her memory. Lucan knew from the moment he was saw he had to have her, even though it was wrong, he visits Gabrielle with the intention of getting just a taste when he sees she has a birthmark, one identifying her as a Breedmate. When he tells the others they all agree that with the Rogue’s also after her, it would be best for her to be brought back to the Breed’s compound, but Lucan is resistant to the idea, he hungers for her too much but when she discovers what he is and with her life getting more in danger, he has to keep her safe by keeping her with him. Lucan keeps resisting his feelings for Gabrielle but eventually he gives in;

“I love you.” The words were low and earnest, a caress she felt deep inside her. “Gabrielle Maxwell, I love you more than life itself. I’ve been alone for so long, I didn’t know enough to recognise that until it was nearly too late.”

I love in this how Gabrielle isn't a "help me, help me" damsel in distress and Lucan is just hot as hell. Gabrielle had felt out of place for so long and now she had found her destiny and her place in the world with Lucan; the vampire who tried to save her mother when she was an infant, the man she loves.




Rating: ««««

Dirty Little Secret

08.09.2011

 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
 
"Complete the following sentences with fictional character names:
 
I would have a one night stand with...
I would marry...
I would like to be sandwiched between...
I would turn bi for..."
 
 
 
I would have a one night stand with... Dylan (Tessa Adams, Dark Embers- Dragon's Heat #1)
 
I would marry... Tohrment (J.R. Ward, Black Dagger Brotherhood series)
 
I would like to be sandwiched between... Jason and Jean-Claude (Laurell. K. Hamilton, Anita Blake series)
 
I would turn bi for... Georgina Kincaid (Richelle Mead, Georgina Kincaid series)

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

At Grave's End By Jeaniene Frost

At Grave's End (Night Huntress #3)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

SOME THINGS WON'T STAY BURIED...AT GRAVE'S END

It should be the best time of half-vampire Cat Crawfield's life. With her undead lover Bones at her side, she's successfully protected mortals from the rogue undead. But though Cat's worn disguise after disguise to keep her true identity a secret from the brazen bloodsuckers, her cover's finally been blown, placing her in terrible danger.

As if that wasn't enough, a woman from Bones's past is determined to bury him once and for all. Caught in the crosshairs of a vengeful vamp, yet determined to help Bones stop a lethal magic from being unleashed, Cat's about to learn the true meaning of bad blood. And the tricks she's learned as a special agent won't help her. She will need to fully embrace her vampire instincts in order to save herself - and Bones - from a fate worse than the grave.






Review

Tate, who has been crushing on Cat from the moment he met her, volunteers to be turned into a vampire which worries both Bones and Cat, they both believe he is only doing it to earn favour with her but he goes through will it anyway. When Cat goes to visit her mother and talk about her and Bones getting married, yes married *squee*, Max is there waiting for her. He and another vampire hold Cat and her mother hostage, making her mother watch as Max hurts Cat, he eventually tears out Cat’s throat, thankfully Bones arriving in time for her to drink his blood and save her. With a vampire family feud going on, Mencheres unites with Bones and shares his powers with him, allowing him to read thoughts. I’m a little irritated with Tate, he’s a loose cannon, Bones needs to take care of him though on the other hand I also feel remorse for him, he is struggling to comes to terms with his new life. When Patra “kills” Bones, Cat is destroyed, Tate of course sees this as his chance, he was wrong;

“The knife I’d pulled from my coat and jammed into him was less than an inch from his heart. I smiled, feeling my face crack like pottery that dried too quickly.
“That was a warning. The next one won’t be. Did you think you could just slide into Bones’s place and I wouldn’t miss a beat? You lay your hands on me again and I’ll finish you Tate.”
I meant every bitter word. If there was one person happier than Patra right now, kit was Tate. He’d hated Bones from the moment he’d met him, and that wasn’t even counting when he shot him at first glance. I’d be damned if I was going to let Tate dishonour Bone’s memory by petting me like a lapdog. Whatever chance he thought he’d gained by Bones’s death, he was wrong.”

Cat comes to terms with who she is in this, accepting her vampire side and she swears vengeance to those who killed Bones. When Bones comes back alive, my eyed brimmed with tears, how Cat ran to him and thought it was a dream and didn’t want to get woken up. I don’t think this one was as enthralling as the previous books, but it is still a great read.



Rating: ««««

One Foot In The Grave By Jeaniene Frost

One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress #2)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

You can run from the grave, but you can't hide . . .

Half-vampire Cat Crawfield is now Special Agent Cat Crawfield, working for the government to rid the world of the rogue undead. She's still using everything Bones, her sexy and dangerous ex, taught her, but when Cat is targeted for assassination, the only man who can help her is the vampire she left behind.


Being around him awakens all her emotions, from the adrenaline kick of slaying vamps side by side to the reckless passion that consumed them. But a price on her head—wanted: dead or half-alive—means her survival depends on teaming up with Bones. And no matter how hard she tries to keep things professional between them, she'll find that desire lasts forever . . . and that Bones won't let her get away again.






Review

On a mission for the FBI, Cat is sent to slay a vampire for killing humans, little does she know the vampire who is to be her victim is the very vamp who turned her past lover Bones, therefore she cannot go through with killing him. Writing on a wall and body parts are found in her old grandparents house the note reading, here kitty kitty. It leads Cat to a cave back in her own home town of Virginia, where her old jerky ex-boyfriend is being held captive by Lazarus and some vampires. After taking care of that mess and losing a team member, Dave, after trying to feed him blood to heal his wounds, everything goes downhill for Cat, things aren’t working out too well with Noah and she is still haunted by the memory of Bones and at her friend Denise’s wedding, she happens to bump into him again. The flame still burned between them and even though Cat denies to Bones that she still loves him, he knows better and still loves her;

“He closed his eyes for a second. Then they opened with a blaze of intensity. “I know you left me because you thought you had to protect me, that I couldn’t handle the obstacles before us. So you tried to get on with your life because you believed it would never work between us. But you see, I couldn’t get on with my life because I knew we could work. I’ve been looking for you every day since you left me, Kitten, and I’m sick of being without you. You’ve had your shot at things, now let me have mine.””

Of course Cat puts up a fuss, which irritated me, you love the man, and he loves you, stop running! But when she finally came around I was happy. Then someone puts a hit on Cat, trying to kill her while on a date with Bones, they need to find out whom. Bones teams up with the bureau, under the condition that he works for Cat, by his own choice. Cat finally gets to confront her “father” in this book and swears she will get her revenge on him and Dave also comes back from the dead. These books just get better and better and the steamy romp when Bones tied Cat’s arms, whew!




Rating:«««««

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Halfway To The Grave By Jeaniene Frost

Halfway to the Grave (Night Huntress #1)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Half-vampire Catherine Crawfield is going after the undead with a vengeance, hoping that one of these deadbeats is her father—the one responsible for ruining her mother's life. Then she's captured by Bones, a vampire bounty hunter, and is forced into an unholy partnership.

In exchange for finding her father, Cat agrees to train with the sexy night stalker until her battle reflexes are as sharp as his fangs. She's amazed she doesn't end up as his dinner—are there actually good vampires? Pretty soon Bones will have her convinced that being half-dead doesn't have to be all bad. But before she can enjoy her newfound status as kick-ass demon hunter, Cat and Bones are pursued by a group of killers. Now Cat will have to choose a side . . . and Bones is turning out to be as tempting as any man with a heartbeat.






Review

Bones is a character you can’t help but fall for and Cat is one of those female leads you would love to be friends with...and secretly envy. Cat is on the war-path against vamps, her herself being a half-bred produced by her mother being used by a vampire unwillingly, is able to detect their presence, but when she targets Bones, she get more then she bargains for.  Bones who happens to be a vampire also hunts vampires himself, however vampires can sense when he is near whereas they can’t detect her and with discovering what Cat is, he sees the perfect opportunity to take her under his wing and team up. Cat is oblivious to how much Bones wants her until he finally makes it clear;

“”Kitten look at me,” he said flatly.

I blinked. “I am,”

“No, you’re not.” He slid closer, his eyes all green now.”You stare straight through me as if I’m not even there. You look at me...and you don’t see a man. You see a vampire, and therefore accord me less substance, One of the few exceptions was last weekend. I held you and kissed you, watched your eyes light up with desire, and knew for once you were truly seeing me for all I was. Not just a non-beating heat with a shell around it. I dare you to look at me that way again, now, with no excuse of chemicals to fall back on. I want you.””

A steamy romp follows and about time to. Things get complicated when Hennessey nabs Cats mother and they need to get her back, a very dangerous task. Though everything works out, Cat is torn, she needs to keep Bones safe from the danger she has signed up for with the U.S government, unwillingly might I add, and in order to do that she makes the heart breaking decision to leave, a new life, a new name. However this isn’t the end of Cat and Bones, the last line in the book, spoken by Bones earlier on in the piece and reflected upon by Cat says it all;

If you run from me, I’ll chase you. And I’ll find you...





Rating: «««««

Beg For Mercy By Jami Alden

Beg for Mercy (Trilogy #1)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

He lurks in the shadows, waiting and watching . . . And once he has you, all you can do is. . .

BEG FOR MERCY

Megan Flynn thought she was falling in love. Cole Williams wasn't just handsome and passionate, he was one of the good guys. Or so she thought, until he arrested her brother - the only family she has left - for a murder she knows he couldn't have possibly committed. Now, with her heart broken and her brother's life hanging in the balance, Megan will risk everything to prove his innocence. Even if that means throwing herself into the path of a sadistic killer with a hauntingly familiar MO.

Seattle Detective Cole Williams had given up on making Megan see reason where her brother is concerned. But when she insinuates herself into the most shockingly brutal case Cole has ever worked, he can't stand idly by. Plunged into a secret world where the city's elite indulge their darkest desires, Cole will do whatever it takes to bring down a madman who has made Megan his most coveted prey.





Review

This is gritty and dark, if you’re looking for fluffy and fun; this isn’t a read for you. Megan is head over heels for Detective Cole Williams and just when things were about to get steamy he gets a phone call that would shock Megan to her core and leads Cole to arresting her Brother Sean for killing a woman and he eventually gets sentenced to death. This puts a strain on Cole and Megan’s relationship and they end up going their separate ways. Sean has accepted his fate of death even though he pleads his innocence, he doesn’t want to go through any more appeal processes just to end up back where he started, he wants Megan to move on with her life and stop fighting for him, he doesn’t want her to visit him in prison anymore, he has had enough.Megan will not take Sean giving up; she is determined to save him even if he won’t.

When one of the girl’s Megan is advocate for sees a video in a trailer of a girl being mutilated, she calls Megan in a panic, not knowing what to do, Megan tells her to calls the police and rushed over there to keep her calm, of course when the cops show up, one of them is Cole. When Cole lays his eyes upon Megan against, his feelings for her return to the surface, feels he thought he had put behind him. The murder the girl sees is one of the notorious Seattle Slasher, one Megan believes in her soul has some connection to her brother’s case. Unfortunately for Megan the Seattle Slasher sees Megan from afar at the scene, he has seen Megan from the papers protesting her brother’s innocence, and he wants her for himself. Megan follows her hunch on the common factors in her brother’s case and the Seattle Slashers, even though Cole doesn’t believe her nor does anyone else, which leads Megan into a dangerous situation and Cole demanding she stay with him to keep her safe. Hot steamy romps ensue with Cole letting his guard down after Megan being attacked and almost killed. Cole and Megan team up to find clues on Sean’s case, when Cole and Megan visit Sean in prison, Cole begins to believe that he was wrong and that Sean possibly was innocent, he had made a mistake  in not fighting for Sean and for not hearing Megan out.  This story has lots of twists and turns, just when you think you know who the Slasher is, a spanner is thrown in the works. The ending was satisfying and perfect. I really loved this book.




Rating:«««««

Monday, September 5, 2011

Lover Unleashed By J.R. Ward

Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood #9)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Payne, twin sister of Vishous, is cut from the same dark, warrior cloth as her brother: A fighter by nature, and a maverick when it comes to the traditional role of Chosen females, there is no place for her on the Far Side… and no role for her on the front lines of the war, either.

When she suffers a paralyzing injury, human surgeon Dr. Manuel Manello is called in to treat her as only he can- and he soon gets sucked into her dangerous, secret world. Although he never before believed in things that go bump in the night- like vampires- he finds himself more than willing to be seduced by the powerful female who marks both his body and his soul.

As the two find so much more than an erotic connection, the human and vampire worlds collide … just as a centuries old score catches up with Payne and puts both her love and her life in deadly jeopardy.






Review

I don't understand the mixed reviews with this one. Questions left idle from the last book were answered and challenges were faced. Payne is strong and decisive by nature but is left badly broken, her world in crumbing around her and the news that her mother, The Scribe Virgin kept the truth that her twin brother is in fact alive angers her. Vishous isn’t handling the news well, in truth he is flipping out, Jane doesn’t know what to do to reach him, so she turns to Butch for help. Jane isn’t specialised enough to try and fix Payne spinal injury but she’s knows someone from her past who can, Dr. Manny Manello. When Jane, who Manny expects to be dead, which in fact is half true, turns up to get him, Manny gets the shock of his life;

“Under any other circumstances, the response would have been a laugh riot. He wheeled around, then shouted out, tripped over her headstone, and landed flat on his ass.
“What the...hell...are you doing here?” he gasped. The expression on his face started as horror, but shifted quickly to utter disbelief.”

When Manny gets back to the clinic and sets his eyes on his patient, Payne, the urge that she is his overpowers him, Payne herself is also intrigued by him which turned out to be the cure and healing that Payne needs to overcome her injuries. The issues between Vishous and Jane come to crisis point, both knowing they love each other but having trouble trusting each other and Vishous past coming between them, Butch helps Vishous let go in the style V is accustom to and needs;

“He screamed for all he had lost...screamed for the half male he was...screamed for Jane...screamed for who his parents were and what he wished for his sister...screamed for what he had forced his best friend to do...he screamed and screamed until there was no breath, no consciousness, no nothing,
No past or present.
Not even himself anymore.
And in the midst of the chaos, in the strangest way, he became free.”

When the connection between Manny and Butch as revealed, that was a shocker and good news for Payne. Qhuinn finally admits to himself that he is in love with Blay in this book and that he is the one he wants, but he still hasn’t manned up and spoken to Blaylock about it, only confiding in Layla. I’m relieved that V and Jane sorted out their problems; I was really worried there in a few parts that they weren’t going to make it.




Rating: «««««

Lover Mine By J.R. Ward

Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood #8)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Darius, a fallen Brother, has returned to the fold with a new identity and a very different destiny. Now, John Matthew, plunged into the heart of war, must face off against evil incarnate-and rescue his one true love---

John Matthew has come a long way since he was found living among humans, his vampire nature unknown. Taken in by The Brotherhood, no one could guess what his true history was-or his true identity.

Xhex has long steeled herself against the attraction to John Matthew. Until fate intervenes and she discovers that love, like destiny, is inevitable.






Review

This one picks up with Xhex still being held captive by Lash, being used and beaten, her strength and determination keeping her alive and the memories of John Matthew, the mistakes she wished she could go back and change;

“She also wished she could go back and tell John Matthew she was sorry. She still would have pushed him away, because that was the only construct under which he wouldn’t have repeated the mistakes of her other lover. But she would have let him know it wasn’t him. It was her.”

Since Xhex had disappeared John Matthew has been obsessed with her memory, he’s in love with her, even though he wrongly believes she doesn’t share his feelings, in honour of Xhex he gets her name tattooed on his back. John and the others finally manage to track down where Xhex is being held, but a barrier prevents them from being able to see her, they leave, John seeing the blood in the room where she is held drawing a painful conclusion that he was too late. Xhex eventually manages to free herself, needing time alone to heal and come to grips with everything in a safe place, she contacts Rehv to let everyone know that she is safe, John is determined to see her, he finds her and she agrees to go back to the compound, she lets her guard down to him and he is set on taking care of her, being there for her. John shares his past with Xhex and takes her to the places where he used to live, she reveals how Lash used her and John’s anger is explosive, quite literally;

“John’s mouth stretched wide as his head shot forward on his spine...and he let out a war cry-
Sound exploded all around her, so loud she had to cover her ears, so powerful she felt the blast against her face.
For a moment, she thought he’d found his voice-except it wasn’t vocal cords making that bellowing noise.
The glass in the sliders blew out behind him, the sheets shattering into thousands of shards that blasted free of the house, the fragments bouncing on the slate and catching the light like raindrops...
Or like tears.”

When John shares with Xhex the reasoning behind why it is that he is so torn over what happened to her, what Lash did to her, when she says to John really made my heart warm and you see the person that she really is behind the tough exterior;

“”No, you’ve got it all wrong, John.” Reading his emotions, she shook her head. “You’re not half the male you could be because of what was done to you. You’re twice what anyone else is because you survived.””

Lash finally got what he deserved in the end, and John helped Xhex get the closure she needed to heal. We get introduces to Xhex’s mother, No’one in this and Payne’s relationship to Vishous was finally revealed to Wrath and Jane, also to Vishous himself in unfortunate circumstances. Blay and Qhuinn’s circumstances make some progress in here, though it doesn’t look like anything will be resolved any time soon, I will definitely be hopeful for some Qhuinn and Blay action in the future though.




Rating:«««««

Sunday, September 4, 2011

Lover Avenged By J.R. Ward

Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood #7)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Now, as the vampire warriors defend their race against their slayers, one male's loyalty to the Brotherhood will be tested-and his dangerous mixed blood revealed...

Caldwell, New York, has long been the battleground for the vampires and their enemies, the Lessening Society. It's also where Rehvenge has staked out his turf as a drug lord and owner of a notorious night club that caters to the rich and heavily armed. His shadowy reputation is exactly why he's approached to kill Wrath, the Blind King and leader of the Brotherhood.

Rehvenge has always kept his distance from the Brotherhood-even though his sister is married to a member, for he harbors a deadly secret that could make him a huge liability in their war against the lessers. As plots within and outside of the Brotherhood threaten to reveal the truth about Rehvenge, he turns to the only source of light in his darkening world, Ehlena, a vampire untouched by the corruption that has its hold on him-and the only thing standing between him and eternal destruction.






Review

I never really warmed up to Rehvenge until I read this book. Montrag has called on Rehv, who just happens to be a sympath, to plan a way to take out the king, Wrath, unfortunately for Montrag, Rehv has other ideas. Ehlena works as a nurse at Havers clinic, which is where she first meets Rehv. She can’t help but be attracted to him, even though he scares her, when he calls her sick; she decides to bring him medicine from the clinic herself, which ends up costing Ehlena her job there. When Ehlena delivers the meds to him, Rehv makes his move on her;

“”It’s simple. I don’t think you should date anyone.” Rehv moved in even closer, until he could see the flecks if gold in her eyes, “But I’m not just anyone.”"

Lots of steamy-ness follows from that point on and some hot phone fun with a pair of stockings. When Rehv is captured Ehlena and Xhex are set on saving him, which they end up doing however, Lash now a member of the lessers, sees this as the perfect opportunity to take Xhex for himself. The storyline that effected me the most in this was that if Wrath. He is struggling and it’s coming at the cost of his relationship with Beth, but their love for one another brings them back together, then a major shock happens with Wrath’s sight going to hell and when he totally loses his sight, it was heart breaking;

“I feel like I’ve died,” he choked. “If this is the way it’s going to be...I feel like the person I was... is dead.”

John Matthew giving up on Tohrment was sad but understandable. There is only so much you can do to try and help someone and have them throw it back in your face, they have to want it for themselves.





Rating: «««««