Sunday, October 30, 2011

Marked By Elisabeth Naughton

Marked (Eternal Guardians #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

THERON—Dark haired, duty bound and deceptively deadly. He’s the leader of the Argonauts, an elite group of guardians that defends the immortal realm from threats of the Underworld.

From the moment he walked into the club, Casey knew this guy was different. Men like that just didn’t exist in real life—silky shoulder-length hair, chest impossibly broad, and a predatory manner that just screamed dark and dangerous. He was looking for something. Her.
She was the one. She had the mark. Casey had to die so his kind could live, and it was Theron’s duty to bring her in. But even as a 200-year-old descendent of Hercules, he wasn’t strong enough to resist the pull in her fathomless eyes, to tear himself away from the heat of her body.

As war with the Underworld nears, someone will have to make the ultimate sacrifice.




Review

When Casey gets bumped by a tall drool worthy stranger where she works at a strip club; she doesn’t know that it is going to lead to her saving him from a pack of animals tearing him apart and her bringing him back to her house or the danger it puts her in. Casey doesn’t know that she is half Argolean, Theron who is an Argonaut, is ordered by the King of Argolea to bring Casey back to help heal his daughter, Isodora, who is dying just as Casey is due to a prophecy;

“This human-whom he hadn’t been able to stop thinking about for three long days-was the woman he’d been sent to find.
The king’s long-lost daughter.
The lone woman who would save his race.
The one he would lead into certain death.”

The prophecy states that the two of them must be reunited and that one of them will die; only the stronger of the two will survive. Theron and Casey’s connection grows and he believes her to be his One, he refuses to hand her over to the king to her death. I have to say, I was a little underwhelmed by this read, I was expecting so much more from this book. Theron took a little time to warm up to as a character, I find myself more interested in Nick and what he might have to offer in the future. Over all it was an okay read, a bit average but I will continue on with the series in future.



Rating:  «««

Friday, October 28, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

28.10.2011


 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"If you could dress-up a favourite book character for Halloween, who would it be and what would they wear?"
 
 
I would dress-up Anita Blake from the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K. Hamilton. I would dress her up as Wonder Woman! ( I also think dressing her up as Xena would be pretty neat as well)



For a male choice, I would have to pick Tohrment from The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. I would dress him up as Superman!


*Drool* I love me some Superman.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

27.10.2011





Question of the Week


"If you could shape shift into anything, what would it be?"



There are so many good choices, wolf, jaguar, tiger but I love the idea of being able to fly in the sky and also be something mythical like a dragon! Being able to breathe fire would come in handy also.



Look! I'm shifting...hehehehe



Graffiti Moon By Cath Crowley

Graffiti Moon


Genre: Young Adult

Description:

"Let me make it in time. Let me meet Shadow. The guy who paints in the dark. Paints birds trapped on brick walls and people lost in ghost forests. Paints guys with grass growing from their hearts and girls with buzzing lawn mowers."

It’s the end of Year 12. Lucy’s looking for Shadow, the graffiti artist everyone talks about.

His work is all over the city, but he is nowhere.

Ed, the last guy she wants to see at the moment, says he knows where to find him. He takes Lucy on an all-night search to places where Shadow’s thoughts about heartbreak and escape echo around the city walls.

But the one thing Lucy can’t see is the one thing that’s right before her eyes.







Review

Lucy is on the hunt for Shadow, a street spray painter who inspires her with his artwork, she knows in her heart that she has to meet him, she is determined to do so but little does she know that the infamous Shadow is someone she already knows, someone she had broke the nose of in the past. I like the breaks of poetry by “Poet” in the book and the writing throughout has some beautiful words and imagery, I just wish I could have liked this more; it didn’t have the magic that makes you get lost in a book. I liked the ending how everything came together;

“I know who I am. I don’t know exactly who we are together, yet. Ed takes out a can and paints a little yellow bird. It’s not like that sleeping bird, belly up to the sky.
It’s awake.”

I had read Chasing Charlie Duskin by this author years and years ago and I really enjoyed that book, the personality of the characters, with this one it just didn’t have the same edge to me. I liked Lucy however, she has spunk and I loved when she punched Malcolm, she is a unique character. Over all it wasn’t a bad read, it was just average to me.





Rating: «««

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Vampire Mine By Kerrelyn Sparks

Vampire Mine (Love at Stake #10)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:


Nothing on earth can make this vampire fall in love . . .

After 499 years of existence, Connor Buchanan has arrived at an inescapable conclusion: he is a cold-hearted SOB. He's been watching his friends—those poor romantic fools—plummet off the cliff into love like a dazed herd of sheep. But not Connor. He knows that love leads to nothing but heartache.
Until Marielle . . .

She is an angel cast down from heaven for disobedience. Trapped in mortal form, she finds a protector in Connor, a Scottish vampire haunted by a dark past. Marielle hopes to heal his broken heart and earn her way back home, but suddenly she has these . . . feelings. This strange yet pleasant physical yearning—for a vampire! Is this the work of a demon luring her into hell, or has this angel found heavenly bliss?





Review

Connor is on the hunt for Casmir when he stumbles onto Marielle being banished by who he thinks is a member of Casimir’s followers, malcontents. She is hurt and he decided to get her to safety, in information she may have could be of use to him and the others. As it turns out Marielle is an angel, banished by Zackriel, or so it seems, sent to earth in a human body without her wings, a body that if anyone touches they die, unless of course they are already dead. Marielle’s revelation of using the bathroom and her new state to Connor was hilarious;

“I believe I did it correctly,” she announced proudly.

“That’s good.” He guzzled down some blood.
Doona think about making love.

“And I discovered something amazing. I have an entire set of female private parts.”

He spewed blood into the sink.”

I loved Marielle’s innocent nature through-out the story and I loved the way Connor spoke and his desperate attempts to not think of Marielle in a sexual way at the start, made for some real funny and cute moments. There are quite a few twists in this book that keep you guessing. One of the things that is great about a Kerrelyn Sparks read is that once you get into the story before you know it you have read it all and find yourself wanting more.




Rating: «««««

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Sexy Snippets

25.10.2011







Vampire Mine by Kerrelyn Sparks (Love at Stake #10)

With a moan, she wrapped her arms around his neck. She wanted him to know how much she cared, too. When he deepened the kiss, she melted into it. When he ran the tip of his tongue against her lips, she opened and let him inside.
Her intent had been to give, but with a small shock, she realized she was receiving, too. With each invasion of his tongue, she felt a spark sizzle down her body. It made her tremble. It made her want more.

She dug her fingers into his shoulders and pressed against him.
"Marielle," he whispered, and trailed kisses down her neck.

More sparks tingled down her body. With another small shock, she realized all the sizzles were gathering between her legs, and a desperate need was building inside her. An empty ache that begged to be filled.
His hands cupped her rear end, and he pulled her against him.
She gasped. His groin was hard. And large.

Sunday, October 23, 2011

YouTube Spotlight




I saw these videos a while back but I had to share them with you, they are some of the best Black Dagger Brotherhood character themed vids I have come across.


Channel: Dhanger80



Vishous




 
 
 
 
 
Zsadist




 
 
 
 
Butch



 


 

Friday, October 21, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

21.10.2011






Question of the Week


"What authors do you stalk reguarly?"



It's a healthy kind of stalking I assure you...hehe

  • Jaci Burton

  • J.R. Ward (YAY! The new official cover of Lover Reborn was updated on her facebook today, super excited!)

  • Delilah Devlin

  • Lisa Kessler

I'm not that big of a stalker of authors, I'm more of a fellow blogger stalker, so watch out ;P

Thursday, October 20, 2011

All These Things I've Done By Gabrielle Zevin

All These Things I've Done (Birthright #1)

Genre: Young Adult

Description:

Sixteen year-old Anya becomes the head of a mafia family after her parents are both murdered by rival gangs. Although Anya is embrolied in the criminal world, she is determined to keep her brother and sister out of the mafia family, but her father's relatives aren't so keen to let them go. When Anya's violent ex-boyfriend is poisoned with contaminated chocolate – chocolate that is produced illegally by Anya's mafia family – she is arrested for attempted murder and sent to the notorious jail on Manhattan Island.

Eventually she is freed by the new D.A. in town, who believs she has been framed. But this D.A. is the father of Win, a boy at school to whom Anya feels irresistibly drawn, and her freedom comes with conditions. Win's father wants to be mayor, and he can't risk having his ambition jeopardised by rumours spreading that his son is seeing a member of a notorious crime family. Anya knows she risks the safety of her family by seeing Win again, but the feeling between them may be too strong to resist...






Review

I should start off by saying that I am very picky with what young adult books I read, this one is one of the books that you have to read. Anya lives in a world where chocolate among a few other things is illegal, did you just scream in horror inwardly? I sure did. With her parents dead she is left under the guardianship of her gravely ill grandmother which leads to Anya having to step up and look after her younger sister and her older challenged brother. Anya is haunted by her family name and legacy and gets in some real trouble when her ex-boyfriend Gable gets poisoned off a chocolate bar she receives from her cousin Jack, the question is who is poisoning the chocolate supply.

This book was amazing. I was glad Gable got what he deserved but also pleased that it allowed him to see the light of sorts. I loved Anya and the way she puts herself at risk to protect her family and her brother. I hated Win’s father for the bargains he had forced Anya to take. I loved Win for at the end for not giving up on Anya and I was happy when Anya took a chance;

“For that moment, I was a person without a last name and so was he. We did not have fathers, mothers, sisters, brothers, grandparents, uncles or cousins to remind us of what we owed or were owed. Obligation, consequence, tomorrow- the words did not exist, or perhaps I had temporarily forgotten their meanings.”

The way this was written was smooth and like nothing I have come across before. The story itself is brilliant, I could not stop reading once I started, I didn’t want to stop, I didn’t want the book to end. There was emotion and heartbreak mixed in with family corruption. One of the best young adult reads I have read.





Rating:««««« 

Dirty Little Secret

20.10.2011




 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"You have been viciously attacked, but then saved by the tall, dark vampire of your dreams; however, he has had to change you into one of the blood sucking denziens of the night to save your life. After realizing that your favourite snack is now to be a sip of O negative, what food do you begin to think you will lose your immortality for?"
 
 
 
This question made me so hungry thinking about it. I could have said so many things, lollies, chips, pasta it was real hard to just pick one thing. I finally came to the conclusion that I would lose my immortality for cheesecake, I loooove cheesecake. Continental cheesecake, baked cheesecake, it's all good!
 



Look at that marble cheesecake! Chocolate swirls, how can you pass a slice or two of that up!
Maybe science could find a way so I could enjoy my man with the immortality and my cheesecake too, a blood-infused one perhaps?



 

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Give Him The Slip By Geralyn Dawson

Give Him the Slip (Callahan Brothers #1)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:


Maddie Kincaid thought she finally found the simple life when she moved to Brazos Bend and started her own business. She never dreamed that helping a gentle old man would force her to run for her life, right into the arms of the infamous Luke "Sin" Callahan. He has just settled into a fishing vacation, and the last thing he needs on his line is a long-legged redhead stowaway with secrets in her heart and killers on her trail.

Lucky for her, he's deadlier than the guys who are chasing her. Unfortunately for him, she's gorgeous, smart and determined to make it on her own. When the secrets start spilling and the nights heat up, Luke realizes he faces a new sort of danger-losing the woman he loves. Can he win the battle for her heart? Or will she give him the slip?






Review

Maddie has gotten herself into a real jam, stuck with a minivan full of millions of dollars worth of an illegal drug and on the run from people trying to kill her to get to it, all this trouble leads her to a man who would make any girl weak at the knees. Luke is damn reluctant to get involved with whatever mess Maddie has gotten herself into, but he can’t seem to help himself when it comes to the fiery red head. Things only get more and more complicated for Maddie and after a few unfortunate incidents; she ends up in the care of Luke at his childhood home and Luke’s father, Branch, the very man Luke cannot stand. Maddie and Luke agree to be friends, with benefits of course, the heat between the two is fierce. I love how Maddie manages to tame “the beast” so to speak, getting past Luke’s defences, though Luke has a much tougher time getting Maddie to let her guard down after what men had done to her in the past. But she does start to believe in him;

“He stroked his knuckles down her cheek. “You’re important to me, Red. You’re special. I need you to believe that.”
She looked at him long and hard, her gaze searching his. When the last vestiges of doubt melted from her eyes, Luke felt like he’d won the lottery.
He bent his head and kissed her, taking the last step to move his body against hers. His kiss was tender, loving, conveying his emotions in a wordless poem. It was a kiss like none other he’d given before.
He loved her. He did, and he didn’t have the faintest idea what he was going to do about it”.

When Luke finally confronted his father about everything I had tears in my eyes, and how Maddie was there to support him in his moment of need. This book was much for then I expected it to me, judging by the cover I thought it was going to be some cheesy “catch me if you can” girl running from a guy or something of the like, but it was much better, it had emotion, action, twists and turns and steamy hot moments. The ending was just perfect; this book exceeded my expectations with brilliance.




Rating: ««««

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Sexy Snippets

18.10.2011


 
 
 
Give Him the Slip by Geralyn Dawson (Callahan Brothers #1)
 
Then she started to tease him. She shifted ideways in her seat so that she faced him. She kicked off one shoe and folded her leg up under her. Her dress rode up on her thigh.
Luke's smile went grim and he promised himself he'd keep his eye on the road as he pressed the gas pedal harder.
"So, where are you taking me Sin?" she asked, her tone full of innocence.
He shook his head at her play on words, then answered.
"There's a bed-and-breakfast up at the lake. We've got a reservation."
"I don't have any reservations," she said, leaning toward him, trailing her finger down his arm. "I'm high on life and ready to live."
She unbuckled her seat belt, leaned across the console, and licked his neck. Luke shuddered. "Stop that. Put your seat belt on. It's against the law not to wear your seat belt."
"So handcuff me."
Luke inadvertently jerked the wheel. Hell, if she keeps this up I'll kill us both. She pouted playfully and he let loose a meaningful growl. Maddie laughed at it, laughed at him, then settled back into her seat, thank God.
"Oh, Luke," she sighed in her normal-Maddie tone when they passed the edge of town and hit the open road. "I've been so on edge. I don't think I realized how bad it was until now. Life's been a roller coaster and I needed to get off."
Luke knew all about needing to get off.
"Of course," she continued, the teasing note back in her voice, "now, I'm ready for another hard ride."
His foot slipped off the gas pedal.
 
 

Head Games By Cassandra Carr

Head Games (Buffalo Intimidators #1)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:


Leo Laporte and Scott Schaeffer are teammates on the ice and roommates off it who also share women. They’ve been coming into Kelly Chase’s bistro after games for months, and they know they want her. As the attraction grows, the men realize they want more than a one-night stand - they want forever.

Kelly’s not so sure. Yes, she wants both men. But a permanent ménage relationship? That’s taking giving her heart away to a whole new level, and a chance she’s hesitant to take. Then Leo is injured and Scott’s on the trading block, and she realizes this may be her only shot at true, everlasting love.

There are so many questions swirling around inside Kelly’s head. Can she believe in Leo and Scott’s love? And will her business and her reputation survive once people find out she’s with two men?





Review


Scott and Leo are ice-hockey players, both who happen have to hots for luscious, curvy, apple pie making Kelly;

“―All right. Can‘t hurt. We need to present a united front if we‘re gonna do this.”
”Exactly. So both of us want her.”They‘d been attracted to Kelly since the moment they‘d laid eyes on her, but had come to the realization a few months ago that their feelings ran deeper than simple lust.”
They both team up in an effort to win Kelly over to their side, so called operation seduction. Kelly shares the desire for both Scott and Leo but is reluctant to share that fact, she believes her wanted to be wrong and with them both being known heartbreakers, she didn’t want to be another casualty but when Scott and Leo finally make their move, she is powerless to resist. The three have many bumps in the road on their way to finding happiness and working out how the relationship will work between the three, Kelly freaks out on a few occasions but her feelings always lead her back to the men she loves.
This is a prime example of how a ménage should be written. It isn’t overdone or cheesy. The characters each have a personality all of their own which leaps off the page. The way Kelly reacted after her first steamy encounter with Scott and Leo was realistic which is what I liked; she didn’t just jump on board with the plan or be accustomed to it right from the start. I really liked the side character Bonnie, she is open-minded and supportive of her friend and co-worker Kelly.  This is my first Cassandra Carr read and I loved it. I devoured this in one sitting, unable to tear myself away from the story even if my life depended on it, the steamy romps between the three were written perfectly and the plot flowed and was easy to keep up with. If someone hasn’t been introduced to the ménage genre before, this would be a good starting off point.



Rating:««««

Saturday, October 15, 2011

The Dragon Who Loved Me By G.A. Aiken

The Dragon Who Loved Me (The Dragon Kin #5)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:
I was raised for battle. And as the first daughter of a warrior family, I’ve earned my reputation the hard way. Yet now I fight alongside uncivilized male Northland dragons who think a female is only good for breeding and waiting back home in the cave. But it’s the foolish and foolhardy who would try to stop me, Rhona the Fearless, from doing what I do best—destroying the enemies of my kind.

So the smartest thing wily barbarian Vigholf the Abhorrent can do for me is stay out of my way as we risk all on a deadly mission in enemy territory. I don’t care if he’s fascinated by me, even though he is as attractive as he is resourceful. He’s having far too much fun putting me in difficult situations and testing my sense of duty to the limit. And I’m going to enjoy challenging his insufferable confidence, outwitting his schemes, and making him surrender in the wildest ways…






Review

Rhona is a warrior dragon from the Southlands with a reputation of being born to kill and let me tell you, she is one bad-ass fighter. Vigholf, a Northlander Dragon likes Rhona’s fire, her sparky nature though Rhonda cannot stand him, he has a bit of a battle on his hands to try and win her over, this part made me laugh;

“She stepped around him and he turned to follow, but her tail suddenly lashed out, aiming for his eye. Vigholf stumbled back and Rhonda, glaring over her shoulder at him, snapped, "And stop following me around.”

“I wasn’t. Just...Keeping an eye on you. These caves can be dangerous.”

“The day a She-dragon can’t move around a cave as she likes is the day she should climb onto the funeral pyre.”

“Or you could just have an escort.”

Her brown eyes nearly rolled to the back of her head, but before she could say another word, they both heard her name.”

When Rhona’s cousin Keita asked her to accompany her on a mission of sorts, Vigholf decided to tag along, much to her dismay. That is where the two really connect with each other and grow to love each other. I really enjoyed the banter between Vigholf and Rhona, but that was pretty much all I really liked about the book, that and the steam of course, I just couldn’t get into it in any other means. I’m not much for reads set in different times so I think that is what effected my enjoyment of the book, though for those who like a paranormal edge to their historical romances this would be a good pick. I wouldn’t read it again as it wasn’t for my taste, but it wasn’t a bad book by any stretch, on the lower end of three stars bordering on two and a half stars for me.





Rating: «««

Friday, October 14, 2011

Working Stiff By Rachel Caine

Working Stiff (Revivalist #1)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Bryn Davis knows working at Fairview Mortuary isn't the most glamorous career choice, but at least it offers stable employment--until she discovers her bosses using a drug that resurrects the clientele as part of an extortion racket. Now, Bryn faces being terminated--literally, and with extreme prejudice.

Wit the help of corporate double-agent Patrick McCallister, Bryn has a chance to take down the bigger problem--pharmaceutical company Pharmadene, which treats death as the ultimate corporate loyalty program. She'd better do it fast, before she becomes a zombie slave--a real working stiff. She'd be better off dead...






Review

This book was a bit of a surprise, not really what I was expecting, in a good way. One of the more original storylines I have come across in a while. What I really loved about this book was the way Bryn the female lead character was written, she has spunk and is tough. I really liked the sassy way she handled sleazy jerk Freddy coming onto her;

“Bryn was shaken, not that she’d let him see it. “Take no for an answer. Freddy. You ought to know the word by now. I’m sure you hear it enough.”

“Ouch.” He seemed more amused than hurt. “Look, I don’t really want to be seen in public with you either; you’re not exactly up to my usual standards. So how about a quickie down here? Nobody here but Mr. Granberry; I don’t think he’d mind. I could break out the wine coolers.”

“If you come near me with a wine cooler, I hope you go both ways, because I will shove it up your ass,” Bryn walked for the door, half expecting him to grab her and throw her to the floor, but when she looked back Freddy was still standing there, smiling at her.”

Unfortunately for Bryn, she gets mixed up in some mess with Freddy and her boss, they are running a drug out of the funeral home where she works, using it to bring people back to life, once they discover Bryn knows their secret they kill her but the company that made the drug has other ideas for Bryn, they have a leak within their facility funnelling out money and the drug, they need Bryn to help them find out who it is. Bryn being under the thump of Pharmadene and Harte turns out to be worse than death, but meeting Patrick though the situation turns out to be the bright side. This was a really great read that has so many twists and turns. It leaves you begging for the next in the series to find out what will happen with Bryn’s sister and how the relationship will progress between her and Patrick.





Rating: ««««

18+ Book Blogger Follow

14.10.2011









Question of the Week

"What kind of book covers are you drawn to? (i.e. Full body, guy, chic, half naked, headless man, couple, place, ect.) And what kind of covers turn you off of a book?"




I do love a strong shirt-less man on a cover, especially when he is embracing a woman. The two covers that come into my mind that really represent what I love in a cover are the first two Jaguar Warriors books by Juliana Stone.



Covers I didn't like that turned me off... I have to say I love the books like craazy, real CRAAAAAZY but the U.K/Australian paperback covers to J.R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood books... I mean really? Way to suck. If I didn't know how brilliant the stories are and I saw those covers on a bookstore shelf I would walk past and not even pick them up to try.

For comparison purposes:







Thursday, October 13, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

13.10.2011







Question of the Week

"Who is the villain you love to hate?"


I really had to think about this one. I never really go for the villain in any books; the closest I could think of is Olaf from the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton. The reason being his criminal habit of butchering women and his enjoyment of killing people, he has teamed up of sorts with Edward and Anita to fight on the good side on many occasions which is why I don't really classify him in totality as a "villain" of the books.





 






Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Over Hexed By Vicki Lewis Thompson

Over Hexed (Hex #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Dorcas and Ambrose are matchmaking sex therapists for witches and warlocks. Now they're doing it for mere mortals-although the handsome Sean Madigan is kind of an Adonis. Until Dorcas and Ambrose strip him of his sex appeal and introduce him to his destiny, Maggie Grady. This time winning a girl's heart won't be so easy for Sean. It means rediscovering the charms buried beneath the surface. But what a surface!





Review

Sean has a problem, every female he comes across wants him but he is sick of being used and groped, he wants something more. When he meets Dorcas and Ambrose they offer him a solution to his problem, turning off his sex appeal and making his appearance low-key;

“Sean thought about the women that mobbed him at every turn, his lack of freedom to move around town without being pinched or whistled at, his complete disinterest in sex. He lifted his glass and candlelight bounced off the cut crystal. The Lowells wouldn’t be able to do what he wanted, but what the hell, he’d ask.
“Turn off my sex appeal,” he said. Then he laughed because that sounded so impossible.”

Little does he know that Dorcas and Ambrose have the power to do just that very thing. When Sean runs into Maggie he is astonished that she isn’t fawning all over him but now is the time when his previous looks and desirable nature would have come in handy, he wants Maggie not only in his bed but also he needed her on his side to protect his family home from development. I didn’t really get the inclusion of George the dragon in the story, if that had been left out I wouldn’t have felt it was missing anything at all plot wise, though I did like the moment it created between Maggie and Sean;

“She nestled her head against his shoulder. “You were really brave.”
“I was really scared shitless”
“That’s what bravery is- being scared shitless and doing it, anyway”
He thought about that and felt sort of proud of himself. “Thanks. So were you scared shitless, too?”
“At first I was. But when he threatened to kill you, I just got mad”.
“Huh”. He liked thinking of her going into a rage on his behalf. He also liked standing here with his arm around her. There was nothing sexual or suggestive going on, just two people holding each other.”

Overall it wasn’t a bad read; it just didn’t particularly excite me or capture me. However if you are looking for something out the ordinary then it is worth thinking about reading.




Rating: «««

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Sexy Snippets

11.10.2011








 
 
Over Hexed by Vicki Lewis Thompson (Hex #1)
 
 

Sean discovered something in the moment that he decided to take action and kiss Maggie. Being in control of the situation got him hot, hotter than he'd ever been in his life. She tasted like the wine he loved so much, and when he'd indulged himself thoroughly there, he moved on, kissing her cheeks, her chin, her throat.
Her glasses got in the way and he took them off with one hand while he continued kissing every inch of freckled skin available to him. There wasn't nearly enough of that. He dropped her glasses to the floor of the balcany and reached under the hem of her sweater.
His goal was the back clasp of her bra. He'd never had to take one off before- women generally came to him braless- but he thought he could handle it. Her skin was so soft, and the clasp was so...so damn hard to unfasten!
 
 
 
*This isn't a particularly sexy snippet, I just thought it was cute.

Sunday, October 9, 2011

Eat Prey Love By Kerrelyn Sparks

Eat Prey Love (Love at Stake #9)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Wanted: Bride. Must love children. Mortals need not apply.

Carlos Panterra is looking for a mate, a woman who will love and care for the young orphans he's recently taken under his wing (or paw, as the case may be). When the shape shifter spies the beautiful Caitlyn, it's like sunshine amidst the darkness. At last, he's found the perfect woman, except . . .

Caitlyn Whelan is mortal. Worse, her father is the head of a CIA agency bent on hunting the undead. Still, Caitlyn knows that Carlos is the man for her, shape shifter or not. So she jumps at the chance when her sister offers her a job to work with him, determined to show Carlos their attraction is more than just animal magnetism. But danger lurks in the night, and their unleashed, untamed passion might just get them both killed . . .






Review

Caitlyn hasn’t seen her sister in years and her father is against her seeing her, but when she is invited to her sister Shanna’s child’s birthday she has the need to go, to see her sister again. When she arrives to see her sister, she witnesses Constantine, her sisters son “fly” and when her sister offers Caitlyn a job with the security company owned by a friend of Shanna, Caitlyn is interested as her psychic ability with languages would be a valuable asset to the company but first Shanna must tell her the truth about the people Caitlyn has met and will be working with. When Shanna has revealed the existence of vampires Caitlyn is a tad overwhelmed and she is told about what her father really does for a living and the threat he poses to Shanna’s children, husband and friends, not to mention the lies he has told comes to light through out the book. While at the party Caitlyn finds herself attracted to man, Carlos who also desires her but her sister warns her to stay away from him because of what he is;

““You have to understand, we shouldn’t anger Dad more than necessary. He’s going to be pissed if you take the job with Emma. He’s already furious that I’m married to a vampire. If he finds out that you’re involved with a shape shifter-“
“I know,” Caitlyn muttered. “He’ll have kittens.”
Shanna snorted, “No, Cait. You would have kittens. Carlos is a were-panther.””

When Caitlyn returns back home her father tried to recruit her into his business, killing vampires but she refuses to go along with it, she doesn’t want to be a part of the hate so she returns to Romatech Industries to see her sister and accept the security job. The more Carlos and Caitlyn find themselves in situations together, the more the heat grows between them, but nothing can come of it, due to were-panthers being rare Carlos needs to find a were-panther mate to save his species, he has no choice. But Caitlyn refuses to give up on Carlos, and it’s a good thing that she doesn’t. There are some great steamy scenes in this book and lots of action and emotion, I had been putting off reading this and I regret doing so, this book took turns I truly wasn't expecting. I really loved the ending, it was perfect and satisfying. I would give this more of a four and a half stars, at some points I found myself skipping a little so it lost a half star for that but other than that it couldn't have been any better. Kerrelyn Sparks knows how to write paranormal romance just right.





Rating: ««««

Friday, October 7, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

07.10.2011









Question of the Week

"What book were you reading when you read your first sex scene?"



Technically the first sex scene I read was in the Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer in the book Breaking Dawn, very PG and non-descriptive due to its young-adult target audience. However the first true, hot and steamy, adult book with a real sex scene was in the book Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris, the first book of her Sookie Stackhouse series.




This series is really what got me off the young-adult novels and into the more adult reads. This series is to blame for my discovery of my favourite series of all time, The Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward, and my obsession with it that if you have been following me you would be well aware of by now hehe The Sookie Stackhouse series really changed my point of few of sex in books, before the series when I thought of sex scenes in books I would think of Mills & Boon or "heaving chests" and "I cannot lay with you for my father will disown me" *cue dramatic sigh and swoon* type situations, the series really opened my eyes and mind to different possibilities in books that are more my style.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

06.10.2011



 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"If you could jump into a time travel machine and it takes you back to when you were a kid, what would your tv be playing then?"
 
 
 
Much like my taste in the books I read now, back when I was a kid I always liked watching shows that had a female lead kicking butt!
Such as Xena.
 

I mean, she's a warrior princess who fights evil, how cool is that! She's strong and has that awesome outfit. I wasn't much of a girly-girl as a kid, nor am I now, so Xena was the perfect show for me. I have watched a few episodes of it recently with re-runs on and it isn't as great as I quite remember it but that is always the way isn't it.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Seduced By The Moon By Morgan Fox

Seduced by the Moon (Moonlight Shifters #1)

Genre: Erotic Paranormal Romance

Description:

Brie Ferguson, an attorney with a prestigious legal firm in Dallas, quickly finds herself in the protective custody of the gorgeous and possessive McCarthy brothers after a convicted murderer threatens to kill her.

Coming to terms with her sexual attraction for both Sebastian and Jonah McCarthy, she’s unable to resist sating the desires burning inside her. The fierce men weaken her resistance and steal her breath as they set fire to her body in ways she’d only fantasized about.

Now, Sebastian and Jonah must find a way to put an end to a murderer’s threat and uncover the secrets of Brie’s past. Secrets she herself hadn’t even known existed.

Can the McCarthy brothers keep Brie safe from the clutches of the monster stalking after her and convince her that the wild wolves they harbor inside themselves are meant to be her mates—forever?






Review

Brie is a hard-hitting attorney, working on a case to see a man guilty of the horrible crimes he committed, making him face death for the lives he had taken. Jonah and Sebastian are brothers who work at the same firm, they both harbour feelings for Brie, they both feel the mating-heat for her, the tell-tale sign that she is theirs, however Jonah, the more upfront brother cannot make a move on her until Sebastian does;

“Kissing her was forbidden until Sebastian finally made his move, and that alone had him questioning his brother’s Alpha status. “

Brie has desire for Jonah and when he suggests she go to Sebastian, she can hardly believe what he is saying, good thing she also has the same desires for him. When Sebastian and Brie finally get together they are interrupted with the news that the murderer who Brie got convicted has escaped, he had threatened to kill her in the past, and luckily she has Sebastian and Jonah on her side to protect her. As it turns out Brie has wolf DNA in her, and when she finds out about what Sebastian and Jonah are, she takes it in her stride. There’s no lack of steam in this book or heat but also some humour and flirting to balance it out. The story is a little unbelievable and the dirty talk got a tad over the top at times but it was still a good read, I would definitely read the next book in the series without a second thought. I would give this three and a half stars if I could, it deserves more than just a standard three. I would have just liked more story to it, perhaps a little more background insight into Brie's past.




Rating: «««

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

The Flame By Jean Johnson

The Flame (Sons of Destiny #7)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Eight brothers, born in four sets of twins, two years apart to the day-they fulfill the Curse of Eight Prophecy. Though no longer trapped in exile, their growing family faces new problems. Now that it's his turn to look for a bride, Koranen, the seventh-born brother, cursed with a flame that courses beneath his flesh, must find a woman able to endure the literal heat of his passion. Then Danau the Aquamancer arrives, and as everyone knows, fire and water create steam.





Review

Koranen suffers alone due to his ability to harness flame as a Pyromancer which he cannot control at times, he distances himself from others just as they do him. When Aquamancers come to Nightfall to help with the water issues the community faces Koranen is excited, it is prophesied that his only hope at love and at finding a bride is destined to be with an Aquamancer, water to quench his fire.;

They’re coming today they’re coming today they’re coming today they’re coming today...
Koranen couldn’t get that refrain out of his head. From the moment he woke up, all through his morning chores, breakfast, sword practice, and even spending the rest of the morning kilning yet more of the blue faience roof tiles they were using for the new buildings in the city, he couldn’t stop thing about the fact that the Aquamancers were due in port today”.

One of the Aquamancer women who arrive at the attempt to match make with Koranen throws herself at him, which he doesn’t mind at first, but when they start crossing the line into the public domain he finds it unsettling and she does nothing to help with his fire, neither does Reuen, one of the other which just leaves two options left, Ama-ti and Danau. Because of what happened to Danau’s past lover, she is hesitant to give in to the desire she feels for Koranen, but he is persistent and with Ama-ti’s husband revelation, Danau is his only hope at love.  I couldn’t really get into this book until half way through, it just seemed to just a little too much and the ending didn’t really cut it for me either. The steamy romps were well written, they are probably what made the book for me, and the characters were relatable enough. The connection between Danau and Koranen and how their abilities though they be a curse to them both, they are the very things that allow them to be together was beautiful. I can’t stand Kelly the ruler, she is too harsh and just rubs me the wrong way with the way she is. Overall it wasn't a bad read and I would read it again, it was just missing the bit of magic that sucks you into a book.




Rating: «««

Sexy Snippets

04.10.2011







The Flame (Sons of Destiny #7) by Jean Johnson

She teased her ribs for a few moments, then splayed her hands across her abdomen and slid them slowly down. The bathwater grew warmer around her ankles as she bent over, palms caressing her thighs.
Just knowing she had to power to excite him, to arouse him, without either of them harming each other, made Danau feel both confident and nervous. Confident, in that she was desirable and could act on that desire. Nervous, in that she was sorely out of practice in the art of acting on her desires.
Except he's asked me to show him what I like. What I know of pleasuring myself. Glancing at the water-covered waist between her feet, she could just see the head of his arousal breaching the surface of the bath. And he's very much interested in my answer...
This I can do.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

Rapture Untamed By Pamela Palmer

Rapture Untamed (Ferral Warriors #4)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

They are called Feral Warriors—an elite band of immortals who can change shape at will. Sworn to rid the world of evil, consumed by sorcery and seduction, their wild natures are primed for release . . .

The most combative - and tormented - of all the Ferals, Jag is a predator who hunts alone - until daemons terrorize the human population. To stop them, he partners with Olivia, a flame-haired Therian temptress as strong as she is beautiful. But Olivia is no ordinary immortal. The survivor of a vicious supernatural attack, she possesses a deadly and forbidden skill - one that must remain hidden, especially from the powerful Feral Warriors.

As Jag and Olivia's sensual dance of dominance and seduction gets wilder and hotter, a dark force sets its sights on Olivia, threatening to destroy everything she has vowed to protect. And the only one who can save her soul is the arrogant jaguar shifter she lusts for but dares not love.







Review

Olivia is called upon by the feral warriors to help stop the daemon threat as a member of the Therian Guard. Jag and Olivia have a bit of a rough start, with jag making a disrespectful pass at Olivia who always demands respect and will not settle for anything less, though that does not stop her from desiring him. Jag cannot help but desire Olivia; he loves a strong woman, the more he resists him, the more he wants her;

“Those eyes flickered over him now. Her gaze tried to dismiss him, yet couldn’t keep from returning over and over again. Any more than his could stay away from her”.

Olivia has Jag all figured out, why he acts the way he does because she herself acted the same way in the past and she has a deep secret, she has the ability of the draden-kiss, she can feed off the energy of others and this poses a detrimental threat to her life, those who are draden-kissed have a bad habit of disappearing. Somehow Jag is able to sense Olivia when she starts to feed off the energy of some of the others due to her declining stores which makes her stop, now she is energy deprived and needs to find a way to feed. Eventually Olivia has no choice but to expose her secret to Jag to prevent him from being killed, he uses this information about her to his advantage which allows them both to give in to the desire and temptation they feel for each other. The harsh nature of Jag was hard to get used to in this book and to read at times but why he was like that was understandable. When Olivia’s secret is revealed to everyone Jag swears to protect her with his life, he loves her and when she is captured by a mage, he has to do just that. This book is filled with lots of deamon fighting action, steamy and some darkness but the ending was bright and perfect.

""Do you know how much I love you?"

"A shitload." He grinned at her, but damn if he didn't feel his own eyes water. "Maybe even as much as I love you". He blinked back the moisture and gave her a quick kiss, then cleared his throat."






Rating: ««««