Sunday, November 27, 2011

Kathleen Grieve "Dating 911" Excerpt & Giveaway!

Blurb

Emergency room nurse, Roxanne Carter is a loser-magnet wishing she could enjoy her single life. Commiserating with girlfriends over butterscotch martinis creates the idea of The Dating Manifesto--a not so scientific research project which promises to point the way to dating success. While gathering data to find the most suitable single men available, she wades through a series of unsavory, stale dates, which literally places her back at ground zero. Just when she is ready to give up, sin personified in the form of sexy firefighter Jett Avery, arrives tainting all of her previous data.

A traumatic warehouse fire, in which firefighter Jett Avery's closest friend dies, has him suffering from Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. Attempting to stave off the worst of his depression, he decides to use his brand of therapy...Sex. The remedy has lost luster until he encounters ER nurse Roxanne Carter.

The pursuit of Roxanne by Jett's twin brother, Doctor Cruz Avery, complicates her research and interferes with Jett's therapy. Does Roxanne choose the brother who by analysis is the perfect match? Or the broken, dark and irresistible one?


Excerpt

She held up her hands, palms facing toward him. “Stop. This is a hospital. Not some stupid television show where the medical staff is always making out in a closet. I work here. Don’t even think about it!”

Jett closed the distance between them until her hands pressed against his chest, searing their imprint through the thin cotton of his T-shirt. He grasped her fingers and lifted them to his mouth, licking the sensitive tips with his tongue one by one. Heat filled her eyes and she trembled.

“You feel the pull, too. Don’t you?” he asked, dropping her hand.

Jett slid his hands to her waist, and molded her against his erection. A perfect fit. Her sharp intake of breath as she shook her head told him all he needed to know. He smiled. Satisfaction filled him.

“Liar. Shake your head in denial all you want, but I can see the reflection mirrored in your eyes, and feel the powerful draw when I touch you,” he said in a husky tone. He rubbed his stiff cock against her stomach. The intensity of his desire eliminated all reason.

Jett buried his face in her neck and breathed in her sweetness. “Hmm. Today you smell like chocolate.” His tongue traced the delicate shell of her ear as his hands stroked her bare arms. “But you taste like honey.”

Her knees bent and he placed his leg between hers to support her. On the brink of total insanity, he continued his light exploration. His hand skimmed her torso, and skirted the side of her breast. With slow, deliberate care, he let his fingertips graze her collarbone on the way to grasp the back of her neck. Another tremor rippled through her.

God, she felt so damn good.

She tilted her chin and her head rested in his open palm. “Jett,” her sultry voice caused his penis to throb. “This is not a good idea. Anyone could come in here and….”

He pushed his thigh against her crotch. She inhaled sharply, desire deepening the blue of her eyes. “You were saying?”

Her brow furrowed. “And…”

“Intoxicating being a little naughty, isn’t it?” he rasped. He gently tugged her face closer to his.

“Hmm. I believe you mentioned the other night that your most recent sexual exploits have been lacking. Let’s add something of interest for your science venture.”







Buy Links

About The Author


A graduate of University of Nebraska Medical Center, Kathleen Grieve earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Science and Nursing in 1994. She has been a dedicated nurse for the past seventeen years, serving most of those years in intensive care. Always writing, Kathleen chose to pursue yet another career- that of a writer. An avid romance reader of all genres since age 13, she decided to try a hand at writing her own novel in the summer of 2006.

She draws a lot from the real-life medical drama she experiences as a RN for her novels. Writing romance is a creative outlet where she can effectively deal with the daily stress and sorrow, adding levity and humor to situations that provide a happily ever after when there isn't one. 
To find out more about Kathleen Grieve and her books, you can stop by her blog, Keeping A Pulse On Life & Romance at: http://kathleengrieve.blogspot.com

Her website: www.kathleengrieve.com

Follow her on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Kathleen-GrieveAuthor/251669291518939

Follow her on Twitter:
@KathleenGrieve




http://coffeebeanslovescenes.blogspot.com/2011/11/vbt-launch-party-end-of-tour-giveaway.html


*Giveaway* (ENDED)
Winner: Francesca 

 You're in luck, I have one eCopy of "Dating 911" to give away to one fortunate person.


How To Enter:

- Be a follower (GFC or via Email)

- Leave a comment with your email address so I will be able to contact you if you are lucky enough to win so I am able to confirm your win.


Optional Extra Entry +1

-Tweet about the Giveaway, please leave link of the tweet in the same comment as the mandatory entry above.


(This Giveaway will run from today the 27th of November until the 3rd of December at which point a winner will be drawn at random.)



There will also be an End of Tour Giveaway courtesy of Coffee Beans + Love Scenes of an ecopy of "Dating 911".
Click the link under the tour banner for more info.
Don't forget to check out the next tour stop at:
Sandra Cox



Friday, November 25, 2011

Night Bites By Nina Bangs

Night Bites (Mackenzie Vampires #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:


Cindy Harper has an ice-cream flavor for every emotion. Vanilla caramel fudge eases the stress of dealing with her weird and wacky guests at the Woo Woo Inn. But no sweet treat from her freezer is smooth, creamy, or tempting enough to cool down her dark fantasies about Thrain Davis.Thrain is a man to be enjoyed on a strictly primitive level. Every woman who-s ever seen him smile wonders about the pleasure his mouth could give her and recognizes the secrets in his hard blue gaze. Too late Cindy realizes the danger of inviting an ancient vampire into her inn. The concept of fanged creatures of the night scares her witless. Besides, he forces her to examine her past when she-s just fine with her present. He does have an upside, though. Who needs ice cream when you have a hot and yummy immortal in your bed?





Review

 Cindy runs a hotel specialising in an experience of the supernatural kind, but when Mr. Hot sexy vampire walks in and books a room, things start to get very interesting. Cindy has a secret, she may look twenty eight but she has lived for over seven centuries and has no idea why, little does she know that Thrain has the answers she seeks and has been sent to bring Cindy to her father Darach.


I have to say, I was expecting so much more from this book, it was such a chore for me to read. I found myself putting the book down for days at a time trying to get myself motivated to continue on and finish it but it was tough going, it just didn’t capture me, I was seriously considering just giving up on it. I probably enjoyed the interaction between Trojan the “cat” and Thrain more than anything else. I found the characters so bland and uninteresting, I found myself skimming through most of the book, it was just not suited to my tastes. I think it might have something to do with the way it was written, it just didn’t hold my attention. It did get better towards the end but if I hadn’t read this book, I wouldn’t have missed out on anything. Not even the steamy scenes could save this book for me.





Rating: ««

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

24.11.2011


 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"You are a kick ass chick, ready to face the night and kill some nasty vampires. You have your leathers on, your sidekick is ready...What is your weapon of choice?"
 
 
 
I'd have to take a leaf out of the books of my favourite series and bring out a couple of these fine pieces of vampire killing great-ness.
 
 

 
Yes, twin daggers, pretty bad-ass hey hehe

Monday, November 21, 2011

Revenge Is Sweet, A Kali Sweet Urban Fantasy Story By Misty Evans

Revenge is Sweet, a Kali Sweet Urban Fantasy Story (Kali Sweet Series)

*Provided by Author for review*

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Payback is a bitch and her name is Kali Sweet...

I’m Kali Sweet, the best damn vengeance demon on Earth. I work for the supernatural world’s Justice Department and protect innocent humans from otherworldly creatures like me. While I can’t take revenge for myself, I make sure justice is done for others.

But when my latest run-in with Chicago’s vampire king backfires, the fallout leaves me with three big problems: a powerful Undead enemy who wants my head, my boss looking over my shoulder, and three personal blood slaves jeopardizing my reputation.

One of those slaves happens to be sexy rock star Radison Beaumont – the half-human, half-chaos demon who left me at the altar three hundred years ago. Even if he does need my blood now to survive, Rad and I will always be enemies.

Especially since he’s joined an ancient society of demon killers—and I’m the number one demon on their most wanted list.






Review

Kali’s life is pretty straightforward, protect the innocent and kill the bad guys. She is a vengeance demon and a bad-ass one at that;

“While I looked like a male fantasy come to life in my short leather skirt, thigh-high boots and Red Riding Hood cape, they knew a true badass when they saw one.”

Things start to go to hell when her ex makes a reappearance, Rad, the man who stood her up at the altar a couple of hundred years ago, but not all is what it seems with Rad for he turns out to be a demon slayer. You would think that would be all the drama that could happen to one person, but Kali gets captured by Nudra and fed upon by a shifter and a witch wanting to be more powerful, which ends up putting Kali is some real trouble that seems to be never ending. There is heaps of stuff going on in this, lots of twists and turns and new plot thickening drama happening left right and center, which I found a tad hard to keep up with at times. I wanted so badly for Kali and Rad to sort everything out in this, the ending really left you hanging and begging for more to see what happens with them. I got hooked right from the start but I got a little uninterested in the middle, it seems like too much was happening all at once, it was hard to keep track of but I got back into it at the end. I’m not as big an urban fantasy lover as some, I like a bit more romance to my books but for those who are I think they will really enjoy reading this. I would give this one three and a half stars if I was able, three just doesn't do it justice.





Rating: «««

Friday, November 18, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

18.11.2011



 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"What is one series that has topped your TBR list forever but has never made it off?"
 
 
 
Gosh there are so many! I think one of the larger series that I have been needing to get cracking on is the Carpathian series by Christine Feehan.
 
 

                                                         
Excuse the low-quality image.


I have to say I am a little iffy about this series, but I will have to get around to giving it a go soon.


 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

17.11.11





Question of the Week

"Which paranormal creature do you wish would "come out of the closet" and reveal themselves to the real world?"



My first thought was vampires but now I think that angels should come out, not only would it be good for people everywere; angles going around doing good and giving people hope, but I know I would love me a hot sexy angel man... hehe


Monday, November 14, 2011

All She Wants For Christmas Is Her Dom By Stacey Kennedy

All She Wants for Christmas is her Dom

*ARC provided by Author*

Genre: Erotica

Description:

Madame Eve’s 1NightStand service has brought together Blake and Taryn on a cold Christmas Eve at the Castillo Lodge. The two will set out on an adventure of pain and pleasure surrounded by Alaskan snow-capped mountains and nestled in a warm country lodge. But as the night develops, Taryn discovers it’s not Christmas presents that will surprise her but instead the very man who mastered her through a night of intense BDSM.

WARNING — This book has intense BDSM that some might find objectionable. If you don’t enjoy some serious spanking, rough play, and the use of floggers, among other toys, this story is not for you
.






Review

Stacey Kennedy never fails to write a steamy hot read that has the ability to fog up the screen. In this short little BDSM story, Taryn is set up to meet with a Dom she has been matched to buy Madame Eve, but who she is matched with is not who Taryn expected but with a few unexpected surprises, it turns out that he, the man from her past Blake, is the perfect Dom for her;

“He knew all her deepest, darkest desires, and he didn’t run from her fantasies, but fulfilled them.”

Though it may be short, you don’t feel like you have been left hanging or have missed out on any part of the story but it does leave you wanting more! I would have loved to keep reading and reading about more sexy scenarios involving Taryn and Blake, Stacey Kennedy does not disappoint. If you haven't read anything by this author yet, you need to give her a shot!





Rating: ««««

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Texas Tangle By Leah Braemel

Texas Tangle (Tangled)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Thanks to her cheating ex-husband and her thieving brother, all horse breeder Nikki Kimball has left is a bruised heart, an overdrawn bank account and an empty home. When sex-on-legs Dillon Barnett and his brooding foster-brother Brett Anderson start showing more than just neighborly attention, Nikki is intrigued...and a little gun-shy.

Dillon and Brett have a history; back in high school, the two friends fought a bitter battle over Nikki. Now, ten years later, Brett still longs to be the man in Nikki's life, but he's determined to stand back and let Dillon win Nikki's heart.

Society says Nikki must choose between the two men she loves. Is Nikki strong enough to break all the rules in order to find happiness?





Review

Nikki is a divorcee who looks after her no-hoper brother that is the apple of their parents eye, no matter that he is on parole and unreliable. Nikki wasn't happy with her ex Wade who treated her horribly and her parents even worse when she divorced him but Dillon wants nothing but the best for her and now that she has had time to heal, he sees the opportunity to make his move. When Nikki’s place is broken into and her bank accounts drained it all points to Phil who has run off leaving her without money and having to rely on Dillon and his friend Brett for a place to stay which is where things get interesting between the three and Brett’s feelings for Nikki also come to for forefront;

“Why aren’t you good enough, Brett? You’ve got a good job. You’re as good a man as Dillon.”
No. I’m not.” His eyes opened, pain filling his eyes. And his voice was rough, betraying the struggle he was having with himself. “I’ve got a drunk for a father. My mom ran off when I was little. I’ve got nothing to offer anyone. Dillon’s got the whole Barnett family behind him. He owns a ranch, while I live in a rented apartment. He’s got his own business, with employees. Responsibilities. Don’t you see? That’s why I had to back off. He can offer you so much more than me.”
Her breath stuttered in her throat. She barely made it to the chair before her legs folded under her. “You did want to date me, didn’t you?”
“Yes.” The word was little more than a breath, barely making it past his lips.”

When all this comes to light, the three of them make the decision that Nikki will take the time to know them both before making a decision on whether she wants to be with Dillon or Brett. I love how this all came together at the end, how Nikki stood up for herself and followed her heart, how Brett finally felt loved and accepted after everything that happened to him in the past. There was no shortage of steamy hot romps and plenty of emotion, I didn’t want this to end.




Rating: ««««

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

10.11.2011






Question of the Week

"What supernatural power would you NOT want to have?"



I would not want the power that what you touch someone you can see how they will die in the future, sort of like premonitions.
I wouldn't be able to handle that, it was drive me crazy.


I really like this eye, thus I decided to include it! haha

The Bird With The Broken Wing By D L Richardson

The Bird with the Broken Wing

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre: Young Adult Paranormal

Description:

Angels may not reveal themselves to mortals…

...but when the mortal Rachael’s watching over is hurting, how can she stay hidden in the shadows?

Guardian angel Rachael becomes trapped with the mortal she’s been assigned to watch over. Unable to watch him suffer, she decides the only way to free him of his inner demons is to break the rules about becoming involved, revealing her true identity, and applying divine intervention. But what choice does she have? Without her help, his soul will be trapped forever. Then a stranger appears, giving Rachael reason to wonder if his is the only soul in need of saving...




Review
 

Jet finds herself waking up in what she thinks is a detox centre after having a mix of vodka and pills, making friends with Ben and Rachael who are also there with their own personal demons to face, but all is not as it seems. Ben is stuck in a bit of a trickly situation, infatuated with Jet, while his friend Rachael is falling for him unknown to him of course, but there is more to Rachael and the situation they all finds themselves in then meets the eye.  Ben is haunted by the thoughts of his past, most involving his mother and being in the war; Jet helps banish those memories when he is around her;

“Ben had lied when he’d said Jet was pretty. She was hot. And she had an awesome smile, the kind that could blindside you. Maybe it was or wasn’t love at first sight, but Jet’s smile filled the hole in his heart and for a brief moment he didn’t care that nothing could fill the deep well in his head.”

During a Group therapy session in which Rachael decided to head up, Jet walks out, not wanting to be involved, wanting to go swim and enjoy her time which is wear something strange happens and she is almost drowned and that is when things start to get real freaky. I really didn’t like the character Rachael in this; she got on my nerves so many times, she comes across as a bit of a know it all and controlling, especially when it comes to Ben though with who she is, I guess that is understandable and toward the end you like her and understand her more. This was a great read, nothing like I have read before. I loved the storyline and how it kept you guessing and the ending was perfect.





Rating: ««««

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Where Demons Fear To Tread By Stephanie Chong

Where Demons Fear to Tread (The Company of Angels #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Fledging guardian angel and yoga teacher Serena St. Clair dares enter Devil's Paradise nightclub on a mission—to retrieve the wayward Hollywood "It Boy" she's assigned to protect. But she's ambushed by the club's owner, arch demon Julian Ascher. The most powerful demonic entity in Los Angeles, Julian is handsome as sin, a master of temptation who loves nothing more than corrupting pleasure–seeking humans. He won't release the lost soul Serena is supposed to guard. Unless she accepts his dangerous wager…


After the disastrous way his human life ended, Julian vowed that no woman would get the better of him again. Yet this sexy–sweet angel, smelling of fresh ocean air and happiness, triggers centuries–old feelings. Now, their high–stakes game of seduction, where angels fall from grace and where demons fear to tread, will lead them either to an eternity in hell.or a deliciously hot heaven.



Review


Serena is the guardian angel sent to be protector of Nick, or so she is lead to believe is her sole task, to save him from the path he is leading himself down. It isn’t an easy task for Serena, due to an Archdemon named Julian wanting his soul for himself. As soon as Julian lays eyes upon Serena he knows he wants her, to corrupt her. His usual tricks don’t work on her so he uses her brother as leverage to get Serena to go to Vegas with him, which is where his lust for her turns to love;

“Somewhere along the line, although he didn’t know where or when, this had stopped being a game of seeing whether he could seduce an angel. She was no longer just another passing conquest, or a challenge to alleviate his boredom.
He was dangerously close to falling in love."


Things get more complicated with a fellow Archdemon Corbin wanting Julian destroyed and using Serena to get revenge against him as well as using Nick as a pawn in his plan. Not to mention an ex-lover of Julian’s added to the mix, teaming up with Corbin to really cause trouble. I really loved how Serena was able to crack through Julian’s defences and demonic bravado, saving him and fulfilling her own needs and finding happiness. It was great how you could really track the changes Julian was going through personally and that is testament to the way this book was written and how it flowed. There wasn’t anything I didn’t like about this book and if you are a lover of angels and demons you need to read this. I was in a but of a debate with myself as whether to give this four stars to five, but due to the fact I couldn't find anything bad to say about it, I settled on five.




Rating:
«««««

Friday, November 4, 2011

18+ Book Blogger Follow

04.11.2011



 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"What book shelf would you ask santa for?"
 
 
 
 
I would loooove this one!

 


I don't have anywhere to sit and read in my room due to space restrictions, this would be perfect and how it has a light so I could read in the dark comfortably on the top is great!

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Dirty Little Secret

03.11.2011



 
 
 
Question of the week
 
"Zombies are attacking your house! What do you grab first?"
 
 
I'd grab a hardcover book for protective purposes, knocking out zombies by hitting them over the head with my book is bound to give me enough time to think of an escape route. Of course I wouldn't use any of my favourite hardcovers, I do not want zombie goop on one of my favourites!
 
I would also refer to my zombie attack plan which everyone should have...
 

Remember the three steps people!

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Night Falls Darkly By Kim Lenox

Night Falls Darkly (Shadow Guard #1)

Genre:Paranormal Romance

Description:

A cunning immortal who's been called upon to reclaim a marked soul...

Ever since an accident took away her memory, Miss Elena Whitney can't recall the secrets of her own past. All she knows is that with her mysterious benefactor Archer, Lord Black, returning to London at the behest of Queen Victoria, she should seize the chance to get some answers.

A member of the immortal Shadow Guard, Archer has been summoned to London to eliminate the soul of an evil demon-Jack the Ripper. Archer feels not only bound to protect the women of the night, but also his beautiful young ward, Elena, whom he spared from death two years before. But with a wave of panic spreading across London, Archer fears that Elena is his weakness-a distraction he can't afford, especially since she's likely to become the Ripper's next target...






Review

Elena has little memory of her life in the past and now lives in a mansion under the guardianship of Lord Black, but when he comes for a visit, he is not what Elena was expecting. When she sees him the first time almost totally stark naked apart from some cloth I was green with envy!

“Elena turned. Her eyes widened.
Flickering lamplight revealed the outline of a man standing in a small alcove off the study. A tall, naked man, save for the small narrow swath of linen he clasped against a tightly corded hip. His skin glistened and golden, except for the defining shadows that clung to each tautened sinew. Behind him sat an enamelled hip tub.”

Sparks fly between Elena and Lord Black and the tension between them sizzles but he must remember why he has come back and not get distracted. Lord Black has returned back to London because he is on the hunt, after Jack the ripper who is killing women as he is a shadow guardian he needs to stop him and Reclaim his soul. I really wanted to love this book, mostly because of the cover I mean look at it! I am not much for the historical romance genre even with this books paranormal edge, but I picked up this book and decided to give it a shot anyway. The wording and accented speech was well done with the old cockney accents. I liked how Elena had a mind of her own and was determined to make a name for herself in the profession of her choosing and not willing to submit to being married off. I think those of you who are fans of the historical romance genre will love this, but for someone like me who only dabbles lightly in the genre, it just didn’t float my boat.




Rating: «««

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Sexy Snippets

01.11.2011





Night Falls Darkly by Kim Lenox (Shadow Guard #1)


Her heartbeat raced. Everything she'd been feeling-the irritation and impatience-went into a complete reversal at his touch. He gazed down at her with sensual, almost intimidating intensity. She still heard the voices of the museum visitors in the next room.
Lord Black kept his voice low and discreet. "I want to kiss you. To drag you off like the cretin you just vilified and ravish you behind that partition."
There was an earnest, raw, tone to his voice that thrilled her to the core. Gone was his emotionless facade. Her guidebook fell to the floor, forgotten, as she grasped his forearms and instinctively leaned into him, boldly matching her hips against his. The stiffening length of his arousal seared through the multiple layers of her undergarments and clothing.
She required no explanation to realize this as proof of his desire for her.
She gasped as he seized her by the waist, his thumbs curling possessively against her stomach.
He murmured, "Do you see why I have stayed away?"
So, you were avoiding me," she accused softly.
"What is the alternative?"
She peered up from beneath the curve of her bonnet. "Kiss me again."
"I can't stop at kisses."