Saturday, December 29, 2012

Velvet Tour: Excerpt/Giveaway




Velvet By Xavier Axelson
 
 
 
Title: Velvet
Author: Xavier Axelson
Genre: Erotica, Historical, Gay Romance,
Publisher: Seventh Window Publications
Ebook 
Words: 50,471
Purchase: 
Seventh Window Publications

Book Description:
The first novel from Xavier Axelson is set against a backdrop of decadence, privilege and intrigue. Virago, the royal tailor, makes a discovery that will test the bonds of brotherhood, unravel the forbidden secrets of his heart and threaten the very fabric of his existence. 
In a land where cruelty is disguised as allegiance, loyalty is masked by obligation and the laws of sumptuary govern the people, nothing is more dangerous than Velvet.
 
 
Excerpt:
 
I’d been staring at the vast body of water surrounding the ship when I was startled to find a woman, heavy with child standing by my side. She wore a red gown that gathered beneath her ample breasts. The gown fell freely, billowing against her in the brisk sea air. Her red hair hung in two braids threaded with crimson leather. Upon turning her head, small red jewels, woven throughout her hair, caught the light.
 
“The sea is dark as the grave, and as good at keeping secrets.”
 
“Who are you?” I asked. Since I’d boarded the ship the day before, I’d conversed only with Seton and my brother, Sylvain. I’d yet to earn my sea legs and everything seemed strange.
 
“I am Adis, wife of Doremme, the man whose ship you stand upon.” She came closer. “Secrets are only as powerful as those who carry them and the sea is a perfect place to bury what haunts you.”
 
“You talk as though you know me, and as I am a stranger on this ship, I know this cannot be.” I was about to bow and take my leave when she laughed.
 
“Fear is not your way, tailor. You were the royal tailor of the king whose land we left, were you not?”
Were the royal tailor… Her words struck at my heart. I felt this truth so keenly that I gripped the ship railings to steady myself.
 
“I fear only those who know more of me than I wish, and while I am indebted to your husband for granting us passage, I am in no mood for games.”
 
Though her laughter died, a smile lingered on her lips. “I mean you no harm, but you seem to have caught the interest of my child.”
 
I looked at her swollen belly. “Your child?”
 
“This is my third and final.” Her hands caressed her stomach. “She will be a visionary, and in her birth, I will know death. Not unlike your mother. She bore your brother, who I am told is also a visionary. And blind. How fortunate. Those who are physically afflicted see further than those who aren’t. Nature seldom curses without blessing at the same time.”
 
This time I laughed. “Perhaps you should ask my brother if he thinks himself fortunate. Or better, summon my father from the grave. Ask if he wished his wife lived and his son had sight!”
 
After this outburst, we grew silent, but the woman did not leave my side.
 
I closed my eyes and swallowing hard, felt the pull of the stiff fabric scrap tied around my throat. The raucous shrieks of hungry gulls overhead made me look up into the sky. I watched as the birds swooped and mercilessly chased each other. I envied their flight, but cringed beneath their cries.
 
Behind my eyes, I saw white peacocks, heard their shrieks, and felt the crawl of disease. I shuddered, shook my head of further memory, and let my eyes fall upon the distant horizon. Would I never know peace? Or would memories chase me like the gulls chase one another, endlessly hungry and insistent?
 
When Adis eventually spoke, these questions and memories faded away. “True, your father suffered, but his gifts as a tailor delivered him from the grief of losing his wife and gave him the strength to care for a blind son.”
 
The truth in her words, stirred long buried pain. While Sylvain’s blind, tumultuous, and bloody welcoming into the world killed our mother, it also strengthened my father’s resolve to care for us at any cost.
 
I know not what would have become of us without King Killian’s demand for my meager abilities as a tailor. We would have been lost, we owe our king a great debt and service.

My father told this to me one day when I found him bleary eyed and exhausted at his work. I could remember the way his hands trembled, the nerves in his fingers twitching involuntarily as he struggled with buttonholes on a vest meant for Killian’s nephew.

When his voice vanished, a bitter sadness rose in me as the sea’s waves crashed against the ship.

“Say no more to me. If you were not mistress of this vessel I would think unkindly of you!”

Before she could reply, music, soft and familiar reached us. I knew the player of the tune, knew it because my heart leapt at its playing as it did the first time I’d heard it.

“Someone has leant Seton a lyre. How beautifully he plays, and how lucky his hands are healing. He is a man of passion and strength. It is no wonder you found love with him, as he with you.” Adis placed a hand on my wrist. “I am no witch or visionary. My daughter beckons from my womb. I am but a vessel as is this ship. She is my most precious cargo, and anxious to know life. You must forgive me if I have angered you. Her voice comes from my lips, so I am often unaware of what I say.”

The music rose, fell away only to start again, and as it did, I examined the woman, and seeing her kind face, put a tired hand over hers. “There is nothing to forgive. I am the one speaking from another place.”

“Your voice comes from the shores we have left behind. It would be wise to find a new sound to carry with you.”

Beyond her I saw my brother sitting cross-legged, his fox playing in his lap. He seemed peaceful. “I keep staring into the sea hoping it will take the past from me, but it seems I may never know peace.”

“In time, you shall. Nothing is forever, except the sea.” Adis cast her eyes from my face to the expanse of water surrounding us. “She is our eternal mother and will listen to you forever.”

Behind Adis’s rather mystical analogy, I had a sobering thought. “There is so much uncertainty in the world. I wonder if I have done right. Perhaps I could have done better.”

“You left a land soon to be riddled with illness. This alone made it the wisest decision for you all.”

Her knowing so much of my life discomforted me. “Must everything be told in portents and omens? What of reality? What of truth?”

“Ahh truth. It is a funny thing and varied as the sunlight on the waves. I am a merchant’s wife and have seen much in this world. Men who love men, women who love women, even a man who loved a woman he believed to have been transformed into a goat by the tree witches in the north! The world is wide and there are many lands with many kinds of people. You will see soon enough.”

“I have not heard talk of the tree witches since I played at my mother’s feet. Surely they no longer exist!” I replied, incredulously.

“I cannot say. Who can say if they exist or ever really did?” Adis said.

I sighed resignedly. “I have lived a small life in the court of a small king, and I carry the wounds of that life as sure as I carry the clothes on my back.”

“It is not for me to say what you carry with you, but I can give you a piece of advice not from my daughter, but from my own lips: Stop trying to escape what haunts you, instead think long and hard about it. Every detail, every nightmare, dream and transgression. Leave nothing out. Do this until you have expelled the poison, and when there is no more, you will find yourself exactly where you are supposed to be.”

With these words, Adis left me. I stood alone, listening to the sea, the sound of Seton’s music, the distant cries of the squabbling gulls, and my eyes focused on the unknown horizon.

What led me to find myself on the water, destination unknown? The life I knew was gone, broken, and mercurial as the swirling foam frothing in the ships crushing wake.

I would tell myself the story, if only to steal a glimpse at the unknown ending.

How would my tale end? Beginnings are for children; fairy stories begin with “Once upon a time.”
Once upon a time there was a tailor. He knew string, scissor, and pin. He did not know his heart.
My breath caught. Oh, my heart. Once upon a time, there was a heart and it was not free… I was a tailor. Once…

No, it cannot begin this way. My heart knew dangerous things, but now it was free and in it’s new freedom I allowed it to teach me the way my story should begin and knew by wild instinct, if I followed it, I would know the ending, a true, and dare I hope, happy ending.

With no one to listen but the dark sea and the wheeling, crying gulls, I closed my eyes and let my thoughts move with the undulating water, its gentle rocking seeming to urge the release of my torment.

The castle, dark and glorious, loomed up in my memory… 


About the Author:

Xavier Axelson is a writer and columnist living in Los Angeles.


Website | Twitter | Facebook |








Giveaway

To win a chance at one of the 6 copies of "Velvet" up for grabs thanks to the generous Xavier Axelson, enter the rafflecopter below!!






Friday, December 21, 2012

Birthday Boy By Cassandra Carr

Birthday Boy
 
*Submitted for review by Publisher/Author*

Genre: Erotica

Description:

Johnny Quinn's not thrilled about creeping ever closer to forty, and the loud, thumping bass in the dance club his girlfriend Steffi has dragged him to on his birthday isn't helping. Then she makes a bold suggestion. She wants to have sex in the middle of the club.
After picking his jaw up from the floor, Johnny agrees. But that's not all--Steffi's got more sexy surprises in store. Johnny's not sure any birthday could top this year’s, and he's left wondering what Steffi will do to make him an even happier birthday boy next year.






Review

What a sexy little story! This may be an Ellora’s Cave for men read but I sure enjoyed it, steamy and enticing.  I like how Johnny cared so much for Steffi, thinking of her needs and making sure she would find the experience pleasurable compared to her past bad experience with an ex. The public scene was rather hot, and I liked the contrast between Steffi’s confidence here and her hesitation when she tries something she is unsure of later back at home with Johnny.

I have read other books from Carr but I didn’t know she also wrote stories that catered to the men out there, after all they need some spicey stories too. So if you are a man out there who likes to read a bit of erotica I’d suggest giving Cassandra Carr a go, or even if you are female and looking for a hot quickie this would be one to try.





Rating: ««««

Monday, December 17, 2012

I Want That One Tour Review/Giveaway

I Want That One

Author:  Paige E. Roberts
Publisher: Wild Child Publishing    
Length:
   Novella
Sub-Genres:  BDSM/Erotica


Description:

Lady Jane wants Will for her slave, and she'll pay a high price to get him. Will dreams of a life under her spike heels, but in the future city-state of New York, it's illegal to enslave a free man. Jane, once a notorious hacker, now a network security consultant, isn't used to letting a little thing like the law keep her from getting what she wants. When a bound and naked Will is delivered to her kitchen door, she takes great pleasure in using leather cat and cuffs and cruel penetrating sex games to tame him. But Will must prove his loyalty to her before he can take his rightful place forever kneeling at her perfect feet.






Review

There is nothing I love more than a story where the lead female had the power! Lady Jane was one hell of a woman, not just with the way she uses her power but she is also has the smarts to back up the way she acts, she walks the walk and talks the talk. She knows what she wants, and she will make sure that she gets it or there is hell to pay....Mainly for Will, who is what lady Jane desires most.

I wish this had been longer, but even though it was on the short side, I still quite enjoyed it. I could only just imagine what kind of steamy sexual exploits Lady Jane and Rain would have gotten up to after the auction, the ending was a bit of a tease and I hope there is more to come! I would give this three and a half stars.

 
Rating: «««



Buy Links:

Wild Child: http://www.freyasbower.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=5&products_id=280

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/I-Want-That-One-ebook/dp/B009OUE26K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1351820464&sr=8-1&keywords=%22i+want+that+one%22


 About The Author:

Paige E. Roberts has published a variety of sexy stories in the US and UK on the fringes of reality and beyond: fantasy, science fiction, superhero, vampire, and shape-shifter stories, with D/s, SM, GLBT, BDSM, and other alphabet soup elements. She lives in Round Rock with her husband and two kids and is active in the local kink community, co-founder of the Voyagers group. Her futuristic femdom story “I Want That One” just came out from www.freyasbower.com “Bare Throat, Naked Hunger,” her anthology of erotic vampire stories is available in e-book or print from www.midnightshowcase.com , Amazon, or Fictionwise. Her sci fi interrogation scene story, “Caught,” is in the new “Best Erotic Fantasy and Science Fiction” anthology from Circlet Press.





`~ Giveaway ~`

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Santa's Little Helper Scavenger Hunt

 

BTS Tours and Freya’s Bower are proud to present the Santa’s Little Helper Scavenger Hunt. 32 blogs have linked together to allow you to hunt for 32 different words that will be hidden in each post, so at the end of the hunt you will have 32 answers to plug into the rafflecopter. Please DO NOT leave your answers in the comment section. We want this to be fun for everyone, and not take the challenge out of the game. So this is how it works.
 
All the blogs listed below will post their game piece on their allotted date. You are looking for one word (related to Christmas or Sex) to plug into the rafflecopter as your answer. For Example:'
If you are on Close Encounters with the Night Kind, and find your word (clues will be provided for you in the banner) you log into the rafflecopter form and place your answer in the box marked Close Encounters of the Night Kind. Follow along the entire Scavenger Hunt and collect all 32 clues. We will be drawing for 4 $25 dollar Gift Certificates to Freya’s Bower. Happy Hunting!!!
 
 
 
 
 
The Forge: Discoveries

Title: The Forge: Discoveries
Author: Shaunna Wolf
Publisher: Wild Child Publishing
Length: Novella
Sub-Genres: Science Fiction/Interracial

Blurb:

Jezren Darksky left Earth behind for the lure of the stars, and to escape her life on the streets. Accepted into the renowned Night Bird Warrior's Guild she never expects to find the love of her life in the form of an alien man and then lose him. After chasing three fugitives across ten worlds, and nearly losing her life in the process, Jezren returns to the Guild Home world to mark her husband's death. Lonely and guilt-ridden, Jezren makes a discovery in the arms of another non-human man that will change her life forever.

Excerpts:

"You shouldn't have tried to touch my sword. If my hand hadn't been on it..." She poured another shot of whiskey and tossed it into the fire. The flames flared brightly, lapping up the alcohol in a quick burst.
He reached with a serpent's speed and caught her hand. "I didn't want to touch your sword..." He cleared his throat and grasped her hand tighter. "I have to touch you," he whispered.
Jezren made to pull her hand out of his. He touched his lips to the back of her hand. Very slowly, his tongue slid over her flesh, long, thin at the tip getting thicker near his lips. Like his lips, it was a lighter shade of blue than the rest of him and cat rough. Jezrensucked in a breath, quick, hard-she made a small attempt to take her hand away.

He continued to stare at her, his gaze locked with hers. His ice-blue eyes now looked tinged with purple. Whiskey fire burned through her insides and streaked into her loins when he wound his tongue around one of her fingers, not just once, but in two blue swirls. He slowly pulled it back into his mouth-sliding it off one finger before circling the next one.

Jezren shivered, sure her sudden desire would be soaking the chair seat soon. Using her free hand, she took a sip of the costly amber liquid in the small bottle. She'd already had too much, not so much she couldn't think for herself, but enough that he, with his seductive tongue, had won her will.

"Perhaps," she whispered, "I should know your name." He continued to wrap and unwrap his tongue around her fingers. He turned her arm and pushed her sleeve up so he could lick the inside of her arm.

"Names, what does a name really matter?" he asked without stopping his attention to her arm.

She gasped, aware of others in the room staring at them even though she'd closed her eyes, the heat growing between her legs hotter already than the fire in the hearth. When he stroked his nails down the now sensitive flesh of her arm, she sat up straight and stared directly at him. She reached to touch his braid-her fingers meeting with smooth strands of silkiness. He laughed in a soft way that sung on her nerves and made her squeeze her legs together in self-pleasure. She could no longer sit still.

Shifting positions, she pushed the bottle to the side and leaned toward him. "I have a room," she whispered.

Catching her by surprise, he pushed his mouth against hers. His tongue rasped across her lips, probing, but waiting for her permission. She parted her lips and let her tongue touch his. His mouth tasted sweet, overlain with the smooth touch of the whiskey. Only by pushing against his chest with her palm could she make herself move back from him.

A flash of laughter came to her, Din'arik's. Jezren had repeated an oft said thing among the humans at the academy-Din'arik resembled a demon-who knew what he might expect from a human woman or what his "thing" might be like. So many of the human women who came to the academy were such proper prudes. Among the students, there had been two groups-those who stayed with their own kind, and those who deliberately sought out other races for both friendship and partnership. Jezren had almost learned the hard way that not all races were compatible with each other-barbs being the least of it.

His musical laughter came again, and at last his deep voice, shaking, almost unsure. "Lady, you will enjoy me-I have been with human women before," he told her. His tongue went around her fingers again, promising pleasure in other places.

Buy Links:
Freya's Bower Site


`~Giveaway~` 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Gabriel's Inferno By Sylvain Reynard

Gabriel's Inferno (Gabriel's Inferno #1)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

Enigmatic and sexy, Professor Gabriel Emerson is a well-respected Dante specialist by day, but by night he devotes himself to an uninhibited life of pleasure. He uses his notorious good looks and sophisticated charm to gratify his every whim, but is secretly tortured by his dark past and consumed by the profound belief that he is beyond all hope of redemption.

When the sweet and innocent Julia Mitchell enrolls as his graduate student, his attraction and mysterious connection to her not only jeopardizes his career, but sends him on a journey in which his past and his present collide.








Review

I’m not even sure where to start with how I feel about Gabriel’s Inferno, there is so much I want to say yet I can’t seem to find the right words to do it justice. This book may be one of the most emotionally charged books I have read in a while and it sucked me right in, I felt for the characters, I felt for Gabriel and for Julia.

I must admit, when I started the reading I was expecting this steamy, smutty read that would leave me breathless, and the read did leave me breathless in some moments but for a completely different reason. The reason being the emotion, the turmoil and the crushing moments between Gabriel and Julia, they were like nothing I have read before, they were intense and they were raw.

As the story started to be revealed and the characters scarring, wounding pasts were unravelling I found myself becoming more and more enthralled in the read, I needed to see what would happen in the end, if Gabriel and Julia could help heal each other and be happy. Gabriel was such a tortured soul, feeling nothing but hatred for himself, like he was a curse. Julia was lost inside herself, trapped behind her own defences and afraid to trust anyone. Together they were each other’s saviours.

I feel like I have been on a rollercoaster ride, there were so many highs and so many deep, deep lows. I was tossing up between giving this read a solid four and a half stars and five, I wasn’t sure where to go but with how much this read affected me and touched me, I knew that this read deserved the full five stars. I cannot wait to see where the story leads in the second book.






Rating: «««««

Sunday, December 2, 2012

Stroke The Fire Tour: Guest Post/Giveaway

 
 
Guest Post
 
M.Christian DAY 1 – Intelligence Is Imagination With An Erection 

I didn't always want to be a writer.  Sure, I was one of those kids: the ones who are too bright, too creative, too curious – and, yes, in case you're interested, I was bullied ... a lot – but actually doing anything with that brightness, creativity, curiosity didn't pop into mind until high school.

But, boy, did it POP.  In retrospect it's more than a bit ... odd (to be polite) how enthusiastic and disciplined I became about writing.  In hindsight a lot of it probably had to do with trying to find an escape from a less-than-perfect family dynamic – but another big motivator was that I'd always been the kid who didn't just talk about doing things: I did them.  Perfect example: I remember, in early elementary school, discovering that the science classroom had a darkroom ... so I went home and over the weekend read every book I could on photography so when I came back on Monday I developed my first roll of film and did my first few test prints.  

Alas, discipline and enthusiasm are fine and good – actually they are absolutely essential in a writer – but my discipline and enthusiasm was focused on Mount Everest: selling a story to the likes of Fantasy & Science Fiction.   Early rejections didn't stop me – in fact nothing stopped me – and I kept trying, kept writing, kept submitting: my goal was a short story a week and/or three pages of writing or three pages of just story ideas.

And, you know, it worked -- sort of.  I've never sold a story to Fantasy & Science Fiction but all that work, all that passion, paid off ... abet in a very unusual and totally unexpected way.

Eventually I made my way to the Bay Area, got married, and – on a total whim – took a class from Lisa Palac who, at the time, was editing a magazine called FutureSex.  When I discovered ... well, sex, my stories got a little more (ahem) mature.  It was one of those stories I was brave enough to hand to Lisa.

What happened next is, to resort to cliché – and hyperbole – is the stuff of legends: Lisa not just liked the story but bought it.  A year later Susie Bright also liked the story and bought it for Best American Erotica 1994.

Sure, it took me ten years of trying (and, yes, you may whistle at that) but that wasn't important.  People often ask me why I write what I write --
lesbian erotica, gay erotica, bisexual erotica, kink after fetish after stroke after stroke – and the answer couldn't be simpler.

I am a writer ... and for someone who lives to tell stories, who worked so hard to hang onto that brightness, creativity, curiosity, discipline, and enthusiasm, finding a way to do what I love to do and be recognized for it, in demand for it, and even paid for it there is simply nothing better.

My name is Chris, my main pseudonym is M.Christian, and I am a pornographer ... and I couldn't be happier.

(by the way, the quote that starts this is by Victor Hugo ... and is a kind of personal philosophy)
 
 
 
Stroke The Fire
 

Sizzling tales of bad boys, bruised hearts, and sweaty encounters. Lambda Award finalist M. Christian’s stories of men-who-love-men have been selected for Best Gay Erotica, Best American Erotica, and Best of the Best Gay Erotica. Evesdrop on what hot men who are doing hot things with other hot men say to each other between the sheets ... and up against the wall. Start reading the firey ManLove fiction of M. Christian with this personally selected collection of his best. "A wonderful book … just the thing if you are in the mood for an enjoyable quickie (or twenty)." -Mathilde Madden, author Reflection's Edge. [Don't miss the other books in "M. Christian's ManLove Collection from Sizzler Editions.] And don't miss his Lambda Finalist book, Dirty Words. "Fairy tales whispered to one another by dark angels whose hearts and mouths are brimming with lust." -Michael Thomas Ford, Lambda Award winning author Looking for It.

 

 

Excerpt: FROM THE STORY “STROKE THE FIRE”

“Man’s got a home, then that’s where he sleeps.  Can’t, myself, see how you can stand the god-derned quiet out there in the flats,” Lew had said, listening to the music of the man’s voice.

The man shrugged, the tip of his cigar bobbing in the soft night.  ”That it be.  Name’s Last.  Jeff Last.”

Lew wiped the grime off his hands (and hopefully the fool’s grin off his face) and offered his own.  ”Lew.  Just Lew around here.”

The handshake lasted a bit too long, long enough for the two men to size each other up.  Lew in his Stinkhole clothes was a burly barrel of a man, all beard and round blue eyes.  He looked fat from aways, but if you’re ever seen him haul cornmeal or lumber you’d know that it was iron, fella, strong, strong, iron and not just insulation against Craggy’s winds.

Last was long and lanky, and while the light was none too good in that narrow little ways between the public corral and Miller’s Fine Feeds, you could tell that he was a beanpole: Six feet easy, in buckskin and serape.  In the dark beneath his wide brimmed hat, his shaved face was carved and as Craggy as Lew’s mountain home.  The handshake had lasted way too long.  Now, he thought, how to get this fine feller up the mountain…

“Gotta hit the trail if I’m ta make Ridgewood by dawn,” Jeff had said, and Lew’s heart had sunk down to his Stinkhole boots.

“Knows how it is–” he had said, starting to turn, maybe extend a hand, and an invitation for another time.

“But you is one fine figure of a man.  Might temptin’–”

Lew stared, unsure of how exactly to respond.

“You think the same, Lew of the Mountain?” Jeff had said.

Even in the low light cast from the lanterns of Sal’s Lew could see Jeff’s fine figure, out in all it’s glory there in the “street” of Stinkhole.

 

 Buy Links:
 




About The Author:

M.Christian has become an acknowledged master of erotica, with more than 400 stories in such anthologies as Best Gay Erotica, Best Best Bisexual Erotica, Best American Erotica, and Best Fetish Erotica. He has had three collections of stories about men who love men published, Body Work, Filthy Boys, and Dirty Words, which was a Lambda Award finalist. And he is the author of two man-love novels, the vampire classic, and Me2, a gay thriller. M. Christian is also a veteran anthologist, and with more than 25 to his credit, including the Best S/M Erotica series; Pirate Booty; My Love For All That Is Bizarre: Sherlock Holmes Erotica; The Burning Pen; Garden of Perverse, and others. Sizzler Editions/Attraction, a glbt imprint, recently issued his personal selection of his best gay erotica in the ebook, Stroke the Fire. A genre-busting author, M. Christian has also written non-fiction (Welcome to Weirdsville, How To Write and Sell Erotica), as well as lesbian, straight, futuristic, fantasy and horror erotica. All three of his gay male collections, both novels, and Stroke the Fire have all recently been released as M. Christian’s The ManLove Collection .

 Author's Page / Google+ / Facebook / Flickr

 

 

 

 

 Blog Giveaway
 
At every stop the author wants to giveaway a copy of Stroke the Fire and his other book The Bloody Marys! Just rafflecopter to enter.
 
 

 
 

Tour Wide Giveaway

 


Saturday, November 24, 2012

The Angel By Tiffany Reisz

The Angel (The Original Sinners #2)

Genre: Erotica

Description:

No safe word can protect the heart
Infamous erotica author and accomplished dominatrix Nora Sutherlin is doing something utterly out of character: hiding. While her longtime lover, Søren—whose fetishes, if exposed, would be his ruin—is under scrutiny pending a major promotion, Nora's lying low and away from temptation in the lap of luxury.

Her host, the wealthy and uninhibited Griffin Fiske, is thrilled to have Nora stay at his country estate, especially once he meets her traveling companion. Young, inexperienced and angelically beautiful, Michael has become Nora's protégé, and this summer with Griffin is going to be his training, where the hazing never ends.

But while her flesh is willing, Nora's mind is wandering. To thoughts of Søren, her master, under investigation by a journalist with an ax to grind. And to another man from Nora's past, whose hold on her is less bruising, but whose secrets are no less painful. It's a summer that will prove the old adage: love hurts.








Review

There are not enough words to describe how much I enjoyed this book, just as much as I did the first, maybe even more. You get so much more insight into the characters from the first book, so many heartbreaking moments and some that were heart-warming and perfect.

In the first book, I didn’t care for Soren much at all, I didn’t like his demeanour and I didn’t want him back with Nora. However, in this second installment you get to see the soul behind the hard surface of Soren which is a real turning point. All that he has overcome in the past is revealed, all he has done for Nora. He truly does love her, enough to sacrifice his own heart to help her face what Nora needs to in order to move forward. I never thought I would be hoping for Soren to win Nora, yet here I am hoping that she comes back to him again.

Michael, I think his storyline was one that I enjoyed most throughout this book. The way his father treated him and his mother was disgusting and I was overjoyed that he finally got what he deserved and that Michael was able to find his voice with the help of Griffin. The two of them together are magic and they are definitely one of my new favourite m/m couples.

Wesley’s story unravelling was a surprise, I should have known from reading the first book that this author knows how to blind-side you with twists and turns that you didn’t see coming or even imagine. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book and see what happens between him and Nora, how they will sort out their feelings and if Nora will stay with Wesley or find her way back to the man she has never been able to truly leave behind.

I could ramble on for ages about how much I loved this book and how amazing it is. The ending left me on the edge of my seat and my mind buzzing with the possibilities of what could happen next. I have a feeling that The Prince is going to be even more of an emotional minefield than this one was and I can’t wait to get enthralled into more of the life of Nora Sutherlin.






Rating:«««««

Thursday, November 22, 2012

The Siren By Tiffany Reisz

The Siren (The Original Sinners #1)

Genre: Erotica

Description:

Notorious Nora Sutherlin is famous for her delicious works of erotica, each one more popular with readers than the last. But her latest manuscript is different—more serious, more personal—and she's sure it'll be her breakout book...if it ever sees the light of day.

Zachary Easton holds Nora's fate in his well-manicured hands. The demanding British editor agrees to handle the book on one condition: he wants complete control. Nora must rewrite the entire novel to his exacting standards—in six weeks—or it's no deal.

Nora's grueling writing sessions with Zach are draining…and shockingly arousing. And a dangerous former lover has her wondering which is more torturous—staying away from him...or returning to his bed?

Nora thought she knew everything about being pushed to your limits. But in a world where passion is pain, nothing is ever that simple.







Review

*Warning! There will be plenty of spoilers in my review, so if you haven’t read the book yet, you might want to stop reading now!*

Wow, what a book. I have heard so many great things about The Siren, and after reading gushing positive reviews from many others, I decided that I had to get myself a copy and I am so glad that I did. The story drew me in as soon as I started reading and I could barely stop myself from putting it down until I finished. The read flowed so perfectly and the characters each were so well written, their personalities leapt off the page.

Soren! The guy frustrated me, I didn’t like him on any level for most of the read but there were moments, small moments when you could see how much he did care for Nora and got enlighten to the man behind the arrogance and ego. I am not so keen on how Nora went back to him however, but he might just be one of those characters just needs to grow on you, especially when you had your heart set on the female lead ending up with someone else.

Wesley, he is such a sweetheart. All he wanted was to see Nora truly happy and not having her go back to the life that he knew was no good for her. I felt bad at times the way Nora teased him and flirted with him seeing as how much he cared for her as more than just a friend, but he understood her and tried to do whatever he could to be what she needed. I really hope that we finds his happy ending with someone, he truly deserves it.

Zach was a great male lead to follow. He had a lot to deal with; finding the strength to accept what happened with Grace and what part he played in his marriage breakdown, being enlightened into the BSDM lifestyle, having to defend against the flirtations of Nora. It was great when he finally found what he needed in Nora but I was a little bit sad that it led him back to Grace in a way, I was hoping for him and Nora to have a happy ending together.

Even though I may not have agreed with the way the book ended and it made me want to throw the book against a wall, I sure didn’t see it panning out the way it did so bravo to the author for that. This was an amazing read, a definite highlight for my year, I cannot wait to pick up the next in the series and see what is in store for Nora.






Rating: «««««

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Tour Review: Claimed By Dragons By Amber Skyze & Katalina Leon


Claimed By Dragons (Bag of Tricks #2)

Genre: Erotic Paranormal

Description:

In an odd Wiccan shop in Salem, Jael pulls an unusual stone from a witch’s wish bag. Little does she know her wildest dreams of adventure and a torrid affair with two gorgeous co-workers are about to come true—in spades.

Jael’s dreamy boss, Roarke offers her the assignment of a lifetime: a photo safari to Mount Kilimanjaro. The African scenery is stunning but the unexpected arrival of her two office crushes, Roarke and Kypton ignites her passion. Just as the trio is getting steamy at a beautiful waterfall, danger intervenes forcing the men to reveal their secret. They're dragons. And now, to save her life, they have no choice but to abduct a startled Jael to their mountain lair on Kilimanjaro.

In the dragons' love nest, Jael learns the truth about their origins and explores all the erotic possibilities two eager lovers can offer. Love awakens, but the guys are being stalked by a covert group of dragon hunters and withholding a life or death secret that will push Jael’s courageous heart and commitment to the limits.


Warning: Story contains gorgeous male shape shifters eager to mate, lots of hot male action between two loving men, scorching ménage with one lucky woman, anal play for all, and polyandry with a happy ending. What more do you want?

 
 
 
 
Review
 
 
There aren’t many dragon themed reads out there which is just one element that makes this read unique and interesting.  Sometimes I find with books that are written by two authors the read can be jumbled and a little mismatched in places, but this was done brilliantly. The characters were so well written and the story flowed in a way that you didn’t feel overwhelmed with what was happening and allowed you to enjoy the storyline.
 
I loved Roarke and Kypton, they balance each other out so perfectly. Roarke the alpha, protective and stubborn one, with Kypton being the more sensitive and gentle soul, together they are dynamite. Jael is a strong and determined character which I quite liked, her willingness to follow her heart and not willing to give up or settle for anything but when she feels deep down is right for her, which worked out perfectly, her indecisive ways leading her to happiness in the end.
 
I would have liked to see the moment Roarke and his mother reunite, it would have been such a special moment to read but other than that I greatly enjoyed this book. If you are looking for a read that is both steamy and a little adventurous then this jus might be a read for you, especially if you are looking to expand your reading into something with dragons. I will definitely be looking into more works from these authors.
 
 
 
 
Rating: ««««

Sunday, November 11, 2012

Master Class By Cassandra Carr

Master Class

*ARC submitted for review by author*

Genre:
BDSM Contemporary


Description:

Ryan Tomasi feels like a failure. His marriage is officially over; the ink dried on the divorce decree. His friend Jack introduces him to BDSM and he agrees to attend a Halloween party at a club. A submissive approaches him, offering herself, and how can he refuse the kneeling beauty? They do a whirlwind scene and Ryan is addicted—both to dominance and to her.

Lisette Rinaldo is returning to the BDSM club for the first time since ending a bad relationship with her former master. She spots Ryan and is taken by the combination of self-assurance and nervousness the man displays as he takes in his surroundings. And after he gives her an incredible re-introduction to the lifestyle, she knows she needs to see the man again.

Ryan and Lisette explore each other and the lifestyle, but what started out as playtime quickly evolves into something more. The problem? Ryan isn’t ready to get serious again and Lisette doesn’t want to fall in love with a guy who can’t give all of himself to her. Both of them are going to have to break out of the bonds holding them back from happiness.








Review
 

Another brilliant read from the genius of Cassandra Carr. If you like BDSM, but nothing too hardcore, then I would say with confidence that this might just be what you are looking for.  I couldn’t stop reading this book once I started, it flowed so perfectly and I sure didn’t want it to end!  It left me feeling greedy for wanting to read more hot exploits between the leading couple.

I loved the connection between Lisette and Ryan, their chemistry was instant and heated. All the steamy scenes between the two were so well done, and how each of them got gratification and satisfied, it wasn’t all for Ryan who was the Dominant in the relationship. It was wonderful seeing Lisette find happiness with Ryan after her last BDSM relationship left her feeling tortured and her being mistreated. He helped her feel safe and loved but also gave her what she needed, in return Lisette helped Ryan to trust again after what happened with his ex-wife and find fulfilment in being a Dom.

This was truly more then I could have hoped for, it really surpassed my expectations as sometimes I find BDSM reads can be a bit of a hit and miss. I very much enjoyed Master Class and I hope to read more books of the BDSM nature from Carr in the future. If you haven’t read a book from this author before, I would suggest fixing that, as you are missing out!




Rating: «««««

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Secrets Exposed By Lisa Renee Jones

Secrets Exposed (Tall, Dark & Deadly #0.5)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

Her enemy is her passion, her passion is her enemy.

Lindsey Paxton was once the number one defense attorney in New York. She fought for those who were innocent, but charged. Her instincts were her lifeline, never failing her, as they guided her in her choices of who to defend. Or so she thought. Until she won a case she would forever wish to have lost. Her client, an accused rapist, kills and rapes a woman only a day after being set free. Destroyed by her role in the woman's death, Lindsey blames her father's controlling ways for what she has become, and runs from her career and life.


Years later - the past becomes the present . . . Her father has cancer, and Lindsey is forced to leave her career with the Washington branch of the FBI. She finds herself facing the responsibility of running her father's law firm with the reluctant help of hotshot attorney Mark Reeves, a man who sparks her temper while also managing to tempt her body, her mind, maybe even her heart. With his help she finds herself fighting the emotional battles of the past, tempted to trust both him and her instincts. Now, faced with a case inherited from her father so similar to her career-ending one, she now must decide if her instincts will lead her down the path to saving an innocent man or setting free another killer. But while she fights her own battles, someone watches, wanting from the past what he had failed to get the first time . . . Lindsey.






Review 

Usually I am all for a Lisa Renee Jones read, but this one fell a little short for me. The plotline itself I really enjoyed, but the characters took a while to warm up to and I never got emotionally attached to them which made the read a little uninteresting. I didn’t much care for Lindsey’s father at all, he seemed rather selfish and hot-headed, determined to do what he wanted even if it would make his daughter unhappy or at the destruction of the company he worked so hard to build.

Lindsey’s ex was a real jerk, for a while there I thought that he was the killer and slightly hoped he would be so Lindsey could get rid of this guy from her life for good. The climax scene where the killer comes to light and everything comes to a front felt a bit rushed, I would have liked a bit more expansion of why the killer did what he did or something along those lines.

Over all this was not a bad read at all but it didn’t live up to my expectations. I found the first in the series to be more enthralling, so if you don’t like this prequel don’t give up on the series without reading the first book. 






Rating: «««

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Board Resolution By Joey W. Hill

Board Resolution (Knights of the Board Room #1)

Genre: Erotica

Description:

Savannah was groomed from birth to take the reins of her father’s manufacturing empire. Her emotional armor is as tough as the steel used in her factories, and nobody is allowed past it. Business partner Matt realizes that the key to entry is to command her submission. Calling on the unique sensual talents of his four-man management team, he engineers an aggressive and erotic takeover, determined to rescue the woman he loves from the steel cage she’s manufactured around her heart. Masked and lost to the sensations the team arouses in her, Savannah is theirs, at least for this one night.





Review 

 

What a book! Joey W. Hill certainly made one hell of a sexy read with this one; if this book was any hotter I think it may have caused me to spontaneously combust. I have to say, the idea of multiple men where the only goal is to please a woman out of her wits did appeal to me a lot, though the situation in which it happened was just a little off-putting, but once I got into the read it didn’t bother me in the slightest.

Savannah as a character I quite enjoyed, her strength and using her assets to get where she wants to be, though reading about how lonely and constricted she was living her life due to her father’s rules and upbringing was rather sad, but Matt and his men certainly took care of that. Savannah was one lucky woman!

I haven’t found many reads with the kind of set-up where it is focused all about the female leads satisfaction, but there should definitely be more of them like that out there. If you like a hot read with a bit of bondage/bdsm and where the female lead is pleasured until she can’t think straight, then this may just be a read that you will enjoy. A well deserved four and a half star rating for this book, Joey W. Hill, you rocked my world.





Rating: ««««

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Yours To Keep By Shannon Stacey

Yours to Keep (Kowalski Family #3)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

Emma Shaw needs a husband, and fast! Not because she's interested in romance—after all, she's too busy with her landscaping company—but because Grandma Shaw is coming to town, and she will have nonstop questions about Emma's (stagnant) love life.

Sean Kowalski no sooner leaves the army than he's recruited by Emma to be her fake fiance. Sean doesn't like the deception, but he can't help his attraction to the feisty brunette. A little pretend kissing won't hurt anyone—especially when there's no chance he'll fall for a woman with deep roots in a town he's not planning to call home. But when fake, innocent kisses lead to very real, explosive sparks, Emma and Sean discover that their big ruse might just lead to happily-ever-after….







Review 


Another great addition to the Kowalski series, these books have become like some kind of drug to me, I cannot get enough. I love the humour in these reads and this installment was no different, the “magic penis” comments had me giggling on many occasions. It was also great to get snippets from the lives of the couples from previous books and how their lives are progressing.

I really enjoyed reading about Emma’s grandmother, Cat. She was a crafty woman and she caught on right away to something fishy going on between Sean and Emma, teaming up with Sean’s Aunt Mary to try and get the pair to see how perfect they are for each other was brilliant. Not to mention Aunt Mary was a bit of a character herself, I could help but laugh when she knocked Sean on the head with her spoon and it was very sweet to see Cat find a new unexpected love throughout the read as well.

Emma was a riot and rather quirky; her sarcastic lines created some very memorable scenes. I wasn’t sure whether I would like Sean so I was a little hesitant when I started the read, but my hesitation was unwarranted; he was everything I had hoped he would be as a Kowalski. I loved the little sticky notes he would put on Emma’s mirror and it was heartbreaking when he left the blank one.

This was almost a five star book for me but it just was missing a little bit of something that I can’t quite put my finger on, however this is definitely deserving of a high four and a half star rating. If you are looking for a new romance series that is as enjoyable to read as it is enthralling, then this may just be a series for you.
 
 
 
 
Rating: ««««

Saturday, October 6, 2012

Wild and Wicked Halloween Scavenger Hunt


BTS Tours and Wild Child Publishing are proud to present the Wicked and Wild Halloween Scavenger Hunt. 37 blogs have linked together to allow you to hunt for 37 different words that will be hidden in each post, so at the end of the hunt you will have 37 answers to plug into the rafflecopter. Please DO NOT leave your answers in the comment section. We want this to be fun for everyone, and not take the challenge out of the game. So this is how it works.

All the blogs listed below will post their game piece on their allotted date. You are looking for one word (related to Halloween) to plug into the rafflecopter as your answer. For Example:'

If you are on Close Encounters with the Night Kind, and find your word (clues will be provided for you in the banner) you log into the rafflecopter form and place your answer in the box marked Close Encounters of the Night Kind. Follow along the entire Scavenger Hunt and collect all 37 clues. We will be drawing for 4 $25 dollar Gift Certificates to Wild Child Publishing. Happy Hunting!!!




 
Book Spotlight


Title: The Curse of King Ramesses II
Author:  Victoria Roder
Publisher: Wild Child Publishing    .
Length:   Novel
Sub-Genres:  Paranormal, Suspense

BLURB:
The Curse of King Ramesses II, dinosaurs, a wall of skulls and mummies, oh my!
One fateful night, Mia and her best friend Jody stow away in the Bradford Museum to investigate the mysterious mummy exhibit from the Cairo Museum. Rumors of the Curse of King Ramesses II have surfaced. It's believed, that
due to the king's tyranny the Egyptian people vowed to rise up against him. In revenge, Ramesses II vowed he would never rest until all of the perpetrators against him and their ancestors were brought to justice. Now, spend the night in the dark, deserted museum. Experience the roar of the dinosaurs, the cold blast of the arctic, and always run past the wall of skulls. Be prepared for a night of heart-racing action as the girls dare to solve the ancient Egyptian curse of King Ramesses II. Will Mia and Jody survive the investigation or will the mummified king's revenge be fulfilled?




EXCERPT:


From the corridor entrance of the temple, we stepped into a spacious, round room with seven mummies spaced around the outskirts in a circle and one
roped-off sarcophagus smack dab in the center. It was the mummy everyone had been talking about, King Ramesses II, on loan from the Egyptian museum in Cairo, the one haunting the Bradford Museum. Standing in front of the
sarcophagus, my irrational fear that this mummy could spring to life at any moment made my pulse pound so hard against my temples that I wondered if the sound might wake the king. I squeezed Mr. Wister’s hand in a death grip that a
professional wrestler would be proud of, but he didn’t complain.
“Are you okay, Mia?” He pushed his round glasses farther up his thin nose.
Too afraid to speak, I nodded. It seemed Mr. Wister didn’t believe the stories of the curse. Hovering in the display with the hair on the back of my neck standing at attention, I knew the rumors must be true.
“Just like the other mummies in this display, King Ramesses II has been deceased for a long time. His body has been preserved with resin-soaked linen bandages,” Mr. Wister said.
“Of course he’s been dead for a long time, otherwise he wouldn’t be mummified.” I whispered.
“No need to whisper, Mia. There is nothing to be afraid of here.” Mr. Wister stepped toward the roped-off area of the king’s sarcophagus. It was made up of two separate pieces and shaped like a body. It appeared to be made of stone, and the top half of the sarcophagus had the impression of the king’s face painted gold, and his eyes and eyebrows were outlined in black. The king’s headdress was decorated with alternating stripes of blue and gold. The mummified king rested in the bottom half, which was carved with hieroglyphics. The top half of the sarcophagus was placed above him, and the halves were separated by glass.
“The hieroglyphics carved into the sarcophagus are prayers from the Book of The Dead, engraved over and over,” Mr. Wister said.
The farther away I moved from the mummy, the safer I felt. I stepped backward, backward, backward until the heel of my shoe bumped something, and I stumbled. Flailing my arms, I tried to stabilize myself.
No luck.
Toppling, toppling… An unearthly howl that belonged in the horror movie hall of fame escaped my throat. My arms waved as I tried to catch myself, but I crashed to the cold floor. I didn’t stumble over something, but someone!


BUY LINKS:
http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info
http://www.wildchildpublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=7

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Victoria Roder lives in Central Wisconsin with her husband and house full of pets. Her original goal in writing was to get something published that mentioned each of her fur babies to honor them for all eternity. When you check out Victoria's murder mystery novels and other children's books, you'll come across her beloved pets. Her short stories have appeared in several anthologies and her puzzles have appeared in magazines and activity books. Appearing in a cookbook is the most fun Victoria has ever had in publishing, because she admits she is domestically challenged, but loves to brag to her husband that she's in a cookbook!
Please visit Victoria at: www.victoriaroder.com
http://www.victoriaroder.com/



a Rafflecopter giveaway



Schedule:

October 1 - Awesomesauce Book Club , Guilty Indulgence 
October 2 - Reading Between the Lines , Beauty In Ruins 
October 3 - Riverina Romantics
October 4 - Book Swagger 
October 5- Reading and Writing Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance 
October 6 - Book Devotee Reviews 
October 7 - BookSpark 
October 8 - Love is a Many Flavored Thing 
October 9 - House Millar , Read 2 Review 
October 10 - Literal Addiction 
October 11 - S.J. Maylee
October 12 - Fictional Candy 
October 13 - Sweet Southern Home 
October 14 - Laurie's Non-Paranormal Thoughts and Reviews 
October 15 - Salacious Reads 
October 16 - For the Love of Reading Reviews , Novelly Nice 
October 17 - Pink Skulls Book Reviews 
October 18 - Full Moon Bites 
October 19 - The Bunny's Review 
October 20 - Romance Book Club . Com 
October 21- The Jeep Diva 
October 22 - Nette's Bookshelf Reviews 
October 23 - Beagle Book Space , Pippa Jay…
October 24 - All She Wants and More 
October 25 - Ex Libris 
October 26 - Close Encounters with the Night Kind 
October 27 - Herding Cats and Burning Soup 
October 28 - Noracast 
October 29 - TBR 
October 30 - Reader's Confession , Naughty Editions 
October 31 - Speculative Friction 

 
 

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Undeniably Yours By Shannon Stacey

Undeniably Yours (Kowalski Family #2)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

One-night stand + two percent condom failure rate = happily ever after?

Bar owner Kevin Kowalski is used to women throwing their phone numbers at him, but lately he's more interested in finding a woman to settle down with. A woman like Beth Hansen. If only their first meeting hadn't gone so badly....

Beth's tending bar at a wedding when she comes face-to-face with a tuxedo-clad man she never thought she'd see again. She tries to keep her distance from Kevin but, by last call, she can't say no to his too-blue eyes or the invitation back to his room. Then she slips out before breakfast without leaving a note and, despite their precautions, pregnant.

Kevin quickly warms to the idea of being a dad and to seeing where things go with Beth. After all, he's not the player she thinks he is. But she's not ready for a relationship and, given his reputation, it's going to take a lot to convince her to go on a second date with the father of her child.






Review

 



Really loving this series, if you are on the lookout for a new romance to get addicted to then I would suggest making a start on these books. Right from the very beginning Kevin stole my heart, he made me swoon at so many moments in this read with the way he thought, his actions and the kind of man that he is. It is impossible not to completely adore him, must be the Kowalski gene.

I love how the story all started with Beth getting pregnant, usually with romances somewhere in the middle or toward the end of the story the main female will find herself in that situation and you get a watered down version of how everything works out and the two main couple finding happily ever after easily. In this read you get all the turmoil, the heartbreak, the confusion of what to do and how to make things work, it was perfect and refreshing.

The only character I didn’t much care for was Sam. He didn’t quite cut it for me with the blackmail to get Paulie to go out with him, even though it all turned out for the best in the end, he screamed of jerk to me. He sure didn’t measure up to the Kowalski men, not even close. I like Paulie, her breaking free of her past identity for find her true self and live the life she wanted for herself was brave.

It was nice that adorable Bobby made a couple of appearances and being his cute self and that we got an update on how Keri and Joe are going from the first book. I could not speak more highly of this series so far, even though this wasn’t quite as good as the first it was still brilliant and worthy of four and a half stars. I can't wait until the next book arrives in the mail, I know I am going to love it; I cannot get enough of these Kowalski men!
 
 
 
 
 
Rating: ««««