Sunday, January 29, 2012

Storm Born Vol. 1 (Comic) By Richelle Mead, Grant Alter, Dave Hamann

Storm Born (Storm Born comic #1)

*Submitted for review from publisher*

Genre: Comic/Graphic Novel

Description:

Eugenie Markham never asked for any of this. Until now, she's been content with her job as a freelance shaman, battling and banishing Otherworldly creatures. When a prophecy suddenly makes her the Otherworld's most popular bachelorette, Eugenie finds herself fighting off unwanted supernatural suitors, as well as the evils that begin emerging from her past...






Review:

 I read the book and loved it and reading the comic/graphic novel just adds that little bit of extra fun. The Dark Swan first volume really exceeded my expectations; I wasn’t sure if it would do the book justice or be a poor portrayal of a book I loved.

It’s great seeing the characters on pages in illustrated form, it’s just brilliant. Each character was captures so perfectly and I loved seeing Eugenie’s attitude leap off the page, seeing her kick-ass in comic form was something I really enjoyed.  Seeing Kiyo and Eugenie’s first encounter was great, exactly how I pictured it, though the following steamy loving faces were a little odd to me but that’s just me being nitpicky and thinking with the smutty side of my brain. The Gentry world was so beautifully done however Dorian in my mind was a little more masculine looking in comparison to the comic illustration but he was still done fairly well in this.

If you are a real Dark Swan fan then I think you would love this and even if you haven't read the books then it would still be a great read. A prime example of how a book can be done well translated into comic form. Any issues I found were very minor and mostly due to my own imagining of certain things, nothing to do with the comic itself. I need to get my hands on a hard copy because this something I need to have to go with my Dark Swan books and add to my collection. Can’t wait to see how the rest of the volumes turn out, if they end up being anything like this, I will be one happy reader.




Rating:
«««««

Friday, January 27, 2012

Adam By Jacquelyn Frank

Adam (Nightwalkers #6)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Hunted by magic, beset by evil, the Nightwalkers face their darkest hour yet. And when the unthinkable happens, only one legendary male has the power, the will, to save them: Adam. . .
For 400 Years He Was Lost To Her, But He Is Hers Tonight. . .
From their first tantalizing touch, Jasmine knows he is different. What other lover could unlock her tight control, flood vampire senses jaded by a lifetime of decadent self indulgence? Centuries ago, when he disappeared without a trace, she had given up hope of ever fulfilling the promise of incomparable passion. But here he is, against the very laws of nature, ready to bring down their most vicious enemy, ready to bring her blood to the boiling point. . .if she will only let him.





Review


 Adam is a water demon with the handy ability to turn into mist and get carried through the wind. He lives in a world where demons and vampires are at war, it is his job to battle against the vampires. When Adam comes across a gypsy who is predicting the downfall of his brother, and asks him if he would do anything to save him he agrees without hesitation, this leads to him being transported hundreds of years into the future. What Adam didn’t know was that the gypsy was actually his future niece who travelled back in time to bring him to the future to save her father and family but this had consequences for Adam’s past, one being the vampire that tempted him back then;

"Sweet Destiny, he thought in stunned disbelief, I know she is a Vampire, and still she arouses me!

Now in the future the vampires and demons are no longer at war, so the possibility for them both to make something of their past forbidden feelings for each other isn’t such an impossibility. Now to get to the parts that just lost my interest, as I am not much of a historical romance fan, this book has a lot of back story set far back in time, which was a bit of a chore for me to read, though I understand that without those parts the book wouldn’t make very much sense and we wouldn’t know what was happening, but it just dragged on for so long. Unfortunately I couldn’t get into this book until halfway through, the style in which it was written didn’t appeal to me, though it wasn’t a bad read by any means and there were some parts that I enjoyed reading, it just overall wasn’t for me.




Rating: «««

Saturday, January 21, 2012

(ARC) Fire Baptized By Kenya Wright

Fire Baptized (Habitat #1)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Since the 1970s humans have forced supernaturals to live in caged cities. Silver brands embedded in their foreheads identify them by species: a full moon for Vampires, a crescent moon for Shifters, a pair of wings for Fairies, and the list goes on, for each supernatural species has been tagged and categorized by humans.
Lanore Vesta is marked with a silver X, the brand of Mixbreeds, second-class citizens shunned by society. She stays to herself, revealing her ability to create fire only during emergencies. All she wants to do is graduate college and stop having to steal to survive. But when she stumbles upon a murder in progress, she catches the attention of a supernatural killer. Now all she wants is to stop finding dead bodies in her apartment.

Enlisting help from her Were-cheetah ex-boyfriend Meshach and a new mysterious friend named Zulu, she is steered through the habitat’s raunchy nightlife. But their presence sometimes proves to be more burden than help, as they fight for her attention.

While the corpses pile up, and the scent of blood fills the air, Lanore is left wondering: will she find the psycho or die trying?






Review

 I’ll start off by saying this very much exceeded my expectations. Lanore is a mixbreed with the power to control fire, a pyromancer.  When she unknowingly stumbles upon a murder in progress, Lanore being the only witness to the murder and the killer seeing who she is, it puts her in real danger. Not only does Lanore have her own safety to worry about but she is also caught in the middle of two men, each wanting her for themselves, one who she had been with in the past and one who is new on the scene.  I have to say, I am very happy with who she ended up picking. There is plenty of action in the read and mystery; it really kept me guessing with who the killer would turn out to be. I also liked the elements of humour throughout this book, especially the moment with these lines;

“Quickly covering my eyes, I asked, “Are you going to calm down your beast or will I be using that as a seat during our flight?”
A rumble emitted from his chest. I peeked at him through my fingers as he flashed me a black-lipped smile.
“There are so many responses that I could give you to that question,” Zulu replied. “But I’m afraid all of them would probably get me slapped.”"

The story flowed really well and it was an ease to read. I like the shifter and fairy parts, there aren’t enough reads out there with fairy elements in them. The characters each had their own place and leapt off the page, I also liked how there weren’t too many characters involved in the story so it wasn’t overloaded. A really great read that surprised me on many levels, brilliantly written and it kept me guessing right till the very end. I can’t wait to see where the story goes and how Lanore's love life continues on in the next book.






Rating: ««««

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Bloodthirsty By Flynn Meaney

Bloodthirsty

Genre: Young Adult

Description:

Some vampires are good. Some are evil. Some are faking it to get girls.
Awkward and allergic to the sun, sixteen-year-old Finbar Frame never gets the girl. But when he notices that all the female students at his school are obsessed with a vampire romance novel called Bloodthirsty, Finbar decides to boldly go where no sane guy has gone before-he becomes a vampire, minus the whole blood sucking part.
With his brooding nature and weirdly pale skin, it's surprisingly easy for Finbar to pretend to be paranormal. But, when he meets the one girl who just might like him for who he really is, he discovers that his life as a pseudo-vampire is more complicated than he expected.
This hilarious debut novel is for anyone who believes that sometimes even nice guys-without sharp teeth or sparkly skin-- can get the girl.






Review
 
Let me start off by saying I liked the originality of this book. Finbar has gone his whole life living in his brother’s shadow and not being the popular one, but when an incident happens at the beach that leads to Finbar being diagnosed with an allergy to the sun things start to get interesting and uses his unfortunate circumstance to his advantage. When Finbar starts his new school rumours start of him being a vampire, which he doesn’t deny, he welcomes to rumours thinking that it will help him be accepted and give him more luck with girls. But one girl isn’t fooled and this happens to be the very girl who is new and also trying to change her own past image. There were some great one-liners and funny moments in this read, one that I really liked at the end is when Luke was trying to get his own angle to impress a girl by pretending to be a werewolf;

““I'm not copying you!" Luke said. "A werewolf is totally different than a vampire! You're creepy all the time. Mine is just, like, a monthly thing...."
"Like PMS?" I suggested."


This was a cute read with many references to other vampire books and such that many readers will be familiar with. The plot is easy to follow and it isn’t overly complicated or cheesy. It’s a light-hearted read and sort-of makes fun of the popularity of the vampire romance genre and how many girls are enthralled by it all. So if you are looking for something different to read, this one might just be the read for you.




Rating: «««

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Nauti Boy By Lora Leigh

Nauti Boy (Nauti #1)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Too weak to resist young Kelly Benton's attempts at seduction, Rowdy Mackay left home eight years ago. Duty as a U.S. Marine put a safe distance between temptation and the nubile Kentucky vixen. Now he's back home and ready to engage in the kind of erotic games that have earned him and his two cousins a Nauti-boy reputation in three counties.

Once it was Kelly's dream too-to feel the heat of the boy she desired. But an attack from a stalker still on the prowl has left Kelly terrified of a man's touch. Now as fear and desire converge, Rowdy fights to save her from the deadly threats of a stranger, to rid her of her demons, and to satisfy a hunger more powerful than either can imagine.




Review

Rowdy has been haunted by a girl from his past, a girl he wanted but could not have, so he joined the military to get away from the situation, but he decides that he can’t keep running from the past and it is time he returned home and faces the girl he holds in his heart. When Rowdy faces Kelly again for the first time in years, he sees that there is something different about her, the way he looks at him is why fear and when he finds out why she looks at him the way she does, he is infuriated and determined to help her;

“He wanted to kill the bastard who had hurt her. He wanted to wipe away the memory of her pain and fill it with pleasure...”

Kelly is still living with the trauma of what happened to her and even though she knows in her heart that she can trust Rowdy and how much she cares for him, she finds it hard at first to let her guard down around him, though in time it turns out that Rowdy was the best thing to help her heal from her horrific past experience. I think Kelly’s vulnerability was well written but at times she just seemed a little on the whiney side to me, I couldn’t really connect with her as a character. The whole sharing fiasco between Natches and Dawg was frustrating and it was a little unbelievable especially with what Kelly is dealing with that she would have went along with it. The plot was interesting enough and kept my attention though most parts, it wasn’t bogged down with too much information in one hit and it didn’t feel like a chore to read.

Lora Leigh writes steamy love scenes like no one else I have come across, one of the best out there. Even though I am only giving this three stars, I do hope to read the others in the series sometime in the future. So if you are after a dominant, protective male lead and romance with a naughty side, then this one is a read for you.




Rating: «««

Monday, January 16, 2012

Author Interview: D L Richardson

About the Author:
D L (Deborah Louise) Richardson was born in Ireland and came to Australia with her parents as a baby. She went to a public school in Sydney’s western suburbs and the books she read were given to her or borrowed from the library. However it was music that first captured her creative interest. She joined the school choir at age eight and got her first acoustic guitar at age ten, although she really wanted a piano. In high school she took up lead vocals after the girl she was to sing a duet with failed to show up. After that she told her stage fright to get lost and took up singing with the school band where she performed in many concerts. When she left school she helped form her own rock band where she sang lead vocals, played bass guitar, and wrote all the lyrics. At age 26 she realized she wanted to write novels for the rest of her life or die trying so she sold her equipment, quit pursuing a music career and began writing instead. Since then she has had four short stories published in Australia, the US and the UK. The Bird With The Broken Wing is her debut novel.
She currently lives in Australia on the NSW South Coast with her husband and dog. When she’s not writing or reading she can be found practicing her piano, playing the guitar or walking the dog.




Interview with D L Richardson

What first inspired you to start writing and what do you like most about it?

I have always wanted to write, just like I have always wanted a Palomino horse and a grand piano. I think I must be tapping in on a previous life because growing up I didn’t know anyone with a horse or a piano, and certainly there are no writers in my family. There are many things I like about writing. Getting the millions of ideas out of my head and onto paper is one of them. Imagination is a powerful tool and keeping it trapped inside can send a writer around the bend. Solitude is another. Yet I never feel alone when writing about imaginary people. I think the most important factor would be that nobody else can do the writing for me. I am an independent person who likes to be in control. Life rarely lets any of us be in total control. With a novel I can create dreams, or I can create nightmares, depending on my mood. And I can control them.


Was writing your own novel what you expected it to be? Was it harder then you anticipated?

This isn’t the first novel I’ve written. I’ve dabbled in writing chick-lit and adult horror before settling on Young Adult fiction. None of my earlier books were published, and rightly so. They were poorly written. Along the way I learned to write and edit, but I doubt I will ever stop learning.

There are times when I wish I could just sell my story ideas. Writing is fun but it takes a long time. Editing is harder but it takes even longer. I think it’s important for a writer to do much of their own editing, or they run the risk that the words on the finished page belong to someone else.

Another thing that is hard is finding the time to write because I also work full time. I feel stretched beyond safety limits trying to be a wife, a friend, a cook, an author, a cleaner, a family member, staying fit, maintaining a web and blog…. 


Your book is of the paranormal genre, has this genre always interested you?
I have always wanted to live in a castle. I love such things as candelabras, velvet dresses, black roses, chandeliers. I absolutely adore supernatural, spooky stuff, though too much of it gives me nightmares. When I was young I read fairy tales by the Brothers Grimm. As a teen my best friend and I used to watch horror movies such as Incubus, Evil Dead, and Amityville Horror. When I left school and began earning my own money I’d buy novels by Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Anne Rice. Now, as well as reading Stephen King and Dean Koontz, I’m reading Melissa Marr, Maggie Steifvater, Stephenie Meyer.


Who are some of the authors/books that you enjoy reading?

I’m really getting into the Harry Potter series. They’re brilliant. I’m only new to J K Rowling because when Harry Potter first came out I was an adult and reading Dean Koontz and Stephen King, both of whom I still love reading. I also love reading (and re-reading in some cases) classics such as The Hobbit, Black Beauty, The Secret Garden, One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest, The Onions Fields, Lord of the Flies. Basically I’ll read anything that has strong characters, good story line and is written well. The older I get, the less I like chick-lit and I hate reading non-fiction. Only while I’m doing research for my novels will I open a non-fiction book. Not much of a magazine reader either.



Why write young adult and do you think you would ever venture into more adult paranormal reads?

Well… I started writing Young Adult because the word count was less and I could write a book in six month as opposed to two years. But I fell in love with the genre. You know how you might say yes to a date and not realize till halfway through the date that the guy you’re with is the man you’ve been searching for. That’s what happened to me. I gave writing Young Adult a go and ended up falling in love with it. I’d have to think carefully about what sort of adult paranormal novel I’d write. I wouldn’t want to write an adult novel if the only difference was the age of the characters. That’d be like The Simpsons Movie if you know what I mean. There wasn’t anything you couldn’t get from watching the TV shows; it was just longer and not free.


Did a particular person/ picture/ image inspire the characters you created or the story itself?

Not really, but because I write teenager characters, I constantly delve back into my own childhood. I will freely admit to hating going through puberty and have never wished to go through it again. Hormones are horrible. I guess if I came out of my childhood feeling differently, I would not be able to create believable teenage characters that people can identify with. The funny thing about characters is that they take on personalities of their own. You can give characters similar experiences to your own, or experiences from people you know, but they tend to jump up and down and want to do things their way. So when you write, you start to question whether this character would do that, and would this character say that. When writing The Bird With The Broken Wing, to get an idea of how Ben would act, think and feel, I read books written by soldiers suffering from post traumatic stress disorder. For Rachael, I read accounts of people’s experiences with guardian angels. Jet is the only character who has a little bit of me in her. I didn’t have a great relationship with my father either. But that’s about where the similarity ends.


What advice would you give to aspiring writers out there?

Read lots, write lots, learn lots and be prepared to do all three for years. Also, be true to your heart and write what you love; it’ll be easier to hold onto the passion if you love your work. Lastly, there is no such thing as an aspiring writer. A writer writes. Imagine if someone said to you they were going to write a book “one day”. You wouldn’t call them a writer, you’d call them a dreamer. So if you catch yourself ever saying “one day”, get on with it.


Any last thoughts or comments?

New authors are eternally grateful for readers who take the risk by buying unknown works and reviewers who take the time to give honest feedback. I am one of those eternally grateful new authors. Thank you.


About the book
Title: The Bird With The Broken Wing
Author: D L Richardson
Publisher: Etopia Press
Genre: YA Fantasy
Released: Sept 2011 
Pages: 139 pages
Synopsis:
Angels may not reveal themselves to mortals... ...but when the mortal Rachael’s watching over is hurting, how can she stay hidden in the shadows? Guardian angel Rachael becomes trapped with the mortal she’s been assigned to watch over. Unable to watch him suffer, she decides the only way to free him of his inner demons is to break the rules about becoming involved, revealing her true identity, and applying divine intervention. But what choice does she have? Without her help, his soul will be trapped forever. Then a stranger appears, giving Rachael reason to wonder if his is the only soul in need of saving...

My review can be found here: The Bird With The Broken Wing

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Amaury's Hellion By Tina Folsom

Amaury's Hellion (Scanguards Vampires #2)

*Received for review from publisher*

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Vampire Amaury LeSang is cursed to feel everybody's emotions like a permanent migraine. The only way to alleviate the pain is through sex. When he meets the feisty human woman Nina, a cure for his ailment seems within reach: in her presence all pain vanishes.

Unfortunately, Nina is out to kill him because she believes he's involved in her brother's death. And she would succeed if only Amaury's bad boy charm didn't play havoc with her hormones and catapulted her into his arms and his bed every time she was near him.

As every kiss brings them physically closer, danger is lurking and threatens to destroy the little trust they have in each other.



Review
 

Amaury suffer from a curse that he was unfortunate enough to attain from his wife who killed herself after her son was killed by a newly turned vampire, by Amaury himself. Being a newly turned vampire back then, Amaury wasn’t in control of his thirst and this has haunted him ever since; especially with the curse of never being loved and the ability to sense emotions of all those around him which causes him pain. After a sting of Scanguards turning on the people they are charged with protecting and then themselves, Samson and the rest are uneasy and need to work fast to find out what is going on, the link being that the bodyguards happened to be humans. After Nina’s brother was killed, she is on the search for who took him from her, she assumes it to be one of the Scanguards, but she couldn’t be further from the truth. When Amaury encounters Nina, for the first time in his life since he was cursed he is able to get relief with the sensing of emotions that hurt him so much;

“For a moment, he closed his eyes and blocked out everything else. With joy, he realized that no emotions bombarded him. His mind was clear. Peace.
When he opened his eyes, his gaze collided with hers.
“What’s wrong?”
He sensed a twinge of alarm in her voice and shook his head, smiling. “Nothing! Absolutely nothing.” For the first time in centuries. No pain. No foreign emotions. It was just him, all by himself.”

As time passes Nina unknowingly Blood-Bonds to Amaury which she isn’t all that happy about at first and it causes him to totally lose his ability, but instead of missing his "gift" of being able to sense emotions, which was helpful on Scanguard missions, Amaury feels happy and free. When we find out about Nina’s past it is so heartbreaking, all that happened to her and why it had an impact with her being able to be vulnerable with Amaury at the start and the twist with her brother was unexpected but I am glad at the way it turned out. I really loved Amaury, even though due to his curse it made him a bit of a man-whore before he met Nina, his caring and protective nature I swooned over. I liked this one more than the first and the reads just keep getting better and better from here.





Rating:
««««

Friday, January 6, 2012

Samson's Lovely Mortal By Tina Folsom

Samson's Lovely Mortal (Scanguards Vampires #1)

*Received for review from publisher*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance

Description:

Vampire bachelor Samson can't get it up anymore. Not even his shrink can help him. That changes when the lovely mortal auditor Delilah tumbles into his arms after a seemingly random attack. Suddenly there's nothing wrong with his hydraulics - that is, as long as Delilah is the woman in his arms.

His scruples about taking Delilah to bed vanish when his shrink suggests it's the only way to cure his problem. Thinking all he needs is one night with her, Samson indulges in a night of pleasure and passion.

However, another attack on Delilah and a dead body later, and Samson has his hands full: not only with trying to hide the fact he's a vampire, but also with finding out what secrets Delilah harbors for somebody to want her harm.




Review
 
Ever since a bad experience with a lover in the past, Samson has a delicate issue that he has not been able to overcome due to the residual anger he is holding onto, he seeks the help if a therapist to try to help him get his mojo back, but little does he know that the very thing that will be his cure will come walking, or running as it were, right into his world. Delilah is attacked walking home from her work as an Auditor at one of the Scanguards offices, she managed to escape and run, finding safety knocking on a door that turns out to be Samson’s, but Samson mistakes her for someone else;

"What the hell are you doing, Samson?” Ricky asked.
“What do you think I’m doing? I’m having fun with the stripper you got me for my birthday.” Since when was Ricky all prim and proper? After all, this was his idiotic idea.
“Stripper?” the woman yelled. “I’m not a stripper!”

The heat between Samson and Delilah is immediate and after he does some apologising and mending for mistaking Delilah for a stripper, things between the two progresses. Samson realises how special Delilah is to him and how he cannot live without her, but his past situation with a woman comes back to haunt him and his insecurity with trust comes to the forefront leading to tension between them both. When Delilah finds out about what Samson is, she doesn’t handle it all that well, she is shocked and feels betrayed that he wasn’t upfront with her, but thankfully it works itself out in time. The connection between the woman in Samson’s past, Ilona and the reasoning behind Delilah’s attack was interesting to read about, I was glad when the woman got what she deserved in the end. I really loved Delilah’s character; she was strong and tough but also had a caring nature about her. Over all this was a great read, perhaps not quite as good as some of the others in the series to come, so if you were a little iffy about this one, don’t let it keep you from trying the others in the series, they are well worth the read and keep getting better as they go on. This swings between three and a half stars and four stars for me.




Rating:
««««

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Yvette's Haven By Tina Folsom

Yvette's Haven (Scanguards Vampires #4)

*Received for review from publisher*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance

Description:

After being kidnapped by a vampire hunter, vampire bodyguard Yvette's first instinct is to kill the bastard. But before she gets the chance, she realizes that he was double-crossed by the witch he was working for and now is in as much danger as she is.

To get his brother out of trouble, bounty hunter / vampire slayer Haven has to deliver the young actress Kimberly to a witch. Unfortunately, she's protected by the very creature he hates most: a vampire.

As Yvette and Haven try to escape their prison and rescue the actress and Haven's brother, will their natural hatred for each other keep them apart or is the passion that bubbles up between them strong enough for them to dare risk their lives to defeat the witch from harnessing the greatest power of all?





Review

Haven continues to suffer for what happened to him in his past, his mother killed by a vampire, his little sister Katie taken, he vows to find her and get her back with his brother by his side and kill as many vampires as they can along the way. Though Haven’s brother turns out to be more trouble than he is worth, a witch holds him hostage in exchange for him kidnapping an actress that is guarded by Yvette, a Scanguard vampire, unknown to Haven. When Haven lays eyes upon Yvette, he is instantly attracted to her, but when he finds out what she is, he is disgusted, he sees all vampires with hatred because of the killing of his mother. As it turns out, the witch he trusted to release his bother in return for the favour lied to him and has no intention of completing the deal, she wants all three of them, Haven, his brother and the actress for her own gain. Due to the facet of Haven’s unwillingness to kill Yvette when he kidnaps the actress, Kimberly, she gets held hostage along with the others, where Haven is forced to face to attraction he feels for her which comes to a head when the witch tried to destroy Yvette by exposing her to sunlight;

“He’d never moved that quickly in his entire life. He’d acted on pure instinct when he’d grabbed her and practically slammed her into the tiny bathroom to get her out of the way before Bess had pried a corner of the plywood away from the window. He still felt his knees tremble at the thought. But he was in no mood to examine his reaction to the threat that was solely aimed at Yvette. He didn’t want to dig too deeply into his reasons of why he was protecting her. He didn’t want to think right now. He only wanted to feel. Her.”

I have to admit, I had Kimberly’s connection to the whole situation pegged from the start, but it didn’t bother me in the slightest, I still loved reading about it and seeing it all unfolding before my eyes. What Haven did to make sure that the power wouldn't harm anyone and would not corrupt or cause any danger, sacrificing himself, was so heartbreaking but I am glad that it works out. There are quite a few twists and turns throughout the read and some things that are revealed that are unexpected, like with Haven’s father and what really went on with his mother. The plot is so easy to follow and the story keeps your attention right from beginning to end. I didn’t quite love this one as much as the last one, but it was still a great read.





Rating:
««««

Gabriel's Mate By Tina Folsom

Gabriel's Mate (Scanguards Vampires #3)

*Received for review from publisher*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance

Description:

After Maya is turned into a vampire against her will, vampire and Scanguards bodyguard Gabriel is charged with protecting her and finding her attacker.

Gabriel has never guarded a body as perfect as Maya’s. But while the sexual tension between them rises and the rogue vampire closes in on them, Gabriel can’t allow himself to give into the desire he feels for Maya. He fears to fully show himself to her despite the intimacies they share - afraid she will react like all other women when she discovers the horror he hides.

Will she run from him when she discovers his secret, calling him a monster, a freak, a creature not worthy of her love?

Caution: graphic and explicit sex scenes - not for the faint of heart.





Review

Gabriel is a second in-command Scanguard who is haunted by his past, not only emotionally but physically with a scar down one side of his face. Gabriel is different from others and has a sensitive private issue that doesn’t allow him to get close to women due to him feeling unworthy and a freak. All Gabriel wants is to be accepted and to be loved for who he is;

“At night, he could pretend to be an ordinary man with ordinary desires and dreams: for a loving wife, a family, a welcoming home. He knew he would be a good husband, gentle and loving, if only he was given a chance. But in all the years since his transformation he’d never met a woman who hadn’t looked at him with horror. He’d never even tried to make advances on any of them for fear of rejection.”

When Maya, who is a doctor, is attacked by a Rogue vampire and half turned she is sheltered under the protection of the Scanguard and Gabriel has an instant attraction toward her. When it comes to light that Maya’s turning isn’t taking effect, her human side is fighting back against the change and her vampire side isn’t strong enough; that she is dying because the rogue who tried to make her a vampire only half completed the job and she needs more blood, it’s Gabriel who offers to step up and save Maya. When Maya first awakens and seeing Gabriel’s scarred face, she is shocked and frightened but as she is around him more, she sees him for who he really is and isn’t effected by his facial scars. The first kiss that Maya and Gabriel share gives him hope that he has found someone who accepts him and as it turns out the pair share a very deep connection that makes them the prefect pair.

I loved the steamy scenes in this read, I couldn’t get enough of Gabriel and Maya and when Gabriel develops his certain...Talent, holy hotness. I could have read more and more about this couple, it was great how Maya finally found someone who could satisfy her and complete her just as Gabriel found someone who loved him for everything that he is. This read hooked me in right from the start, I couldn’t stop reading. For all those paranormal romance lovers out there, this series is one you have to try.



Rating:
«««««