Sunday, April 29, 2012

Cover Reveal: Beg For It By Stacey Kennedy





Book Info:

Beg For It

Pact Of Seduction Book Two


Publisher: Loose Id

Release Date: May 29, 2012

Website: www.staceykennedy.com



The Pact of Seduction has one rule—fulfill your ultimate fantasy. Bella’s problem, she can’t live up to her vow. But her failure spins events that lead her into unknown territory. Kole, a Dom at the sex club Castle Dolce Vita, wasn’t part of her fantasy, but he’s about to show her he should have been.


Kole is more than willing to introduce Bella to BDSM since he’s held an interest in her for some time. But the feisty woman isn’t easily tamed and her strong personality proves to be difficult. While she might be determined to keep him at a distance, Kole has other ideas. He won’t allow her to shut him out.

A pact between best friends brought them together, emotional barriers tear them apart. Kole skillfully reminds Bella through pleasure and punishment that she is now his submissive, and her place is under his command.



I for one am really loving that cover! Hot! Sure makes me want to grab that book in a hurry, can bet on some steamy action in that read, that is for sure. May 29 can't come soon enough.

Monday, April 23, 2012

Lover Reborn By J.R. Ward

Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood #10)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

In the darkest corners of the night in Caldwell, New York, a conflict like no other rages. The city is home to a band of brothers born to defend their race: the warrior vampires of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Now back in the Brotherhood – and unrecognisable as the vampire leader he once was – Tohrment is physically emaciated and heartbroken beyond despair. When he begins to see his beloved in his dreams – trapped in a cold, isolating netherworld – Tohr turns to a self-serving fallen angel in hopes of saving the one he has lost.

When he’s told he must learn to love another to free his former mate, Tohr knows they are all doomed…Except then a female with a shadowed history begins to get through to him. Against the backdrop of the raging war with the lessers, and with a new clan of vampires vying for the Blind King’s throne, Tohr struggles between the buried past, and a very hot, passion-filled future… but can his heart let go and set all of them free?







Review

Tohrment has always been my favourite brother and I was so excited to read his book, I was not disappointed. There were so many challenges faced by the brothers and associates in this installment, but none more than Tohrment, him finally having to face the fact that Wellsie is gone and that she isn’t going to come back; finally seeing that by doing what he was doing and taking the path that he was, he was hurting himself and everyone around him. When I first heard about who Tohrment’s HEA round two would be, I wasn’t all on board with the plan, I was happy that Tohrment would find someone to be with and help him cope with the loss off Wellsie but I wasn’t sure that No’One was the right choice; but as the story progressed and her nature was revealed, I was glad that they got together. I also found myself really loving Lassiter in this! He may be jerky sometimes but you can see that he means well;

“My name’s Lassiter, and I’ll tell you all you need to know about me. I’m an angel first and a sinner second, and I’m not here for long. I’ll never hurt you, but I’m prepared to make you pretty goddamn uncomfortable if I have to, to get my job done. I like sunsets and long walks on the beach, but my perfect female no longer exists. Oh, and my favorite hobby is annoying the shit out of people. Guess I’m just bred to want to get a rise out of folks—probably the whole resurrection thing.”

I hope Lassiter gets his own book; he deserves to find someone to be with. The whole John and Xhex situation was a total mess, both of them seemed to get caught up in the drama of getting what they wanted instead of coming together and compromising to find a solution, would have saved a lot of heartache, but luckily it all worked out in the end. Holy smokes Qhuinn and Layla! That is all I have to say about that, well...Maybe not all I have to say, even though I hate that it happened, I can see it really being a turning point for both Qhuinn and Blay, I can’t wait to read more about these two when they get their own book, they might just end up being my favourite gay book couple ever when they finally do wake up to themselves. I just loved this book, I love everything J.R. Ward, it is impossible not to, an emotional rollercoaster that I didn’t want to get off.





Rating:
«««««

Saturday, April 21, 2012

(ARC) Diary Of A Vampire Stripper By Cinsearae S.

Diary of A Vampire Stripper

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre
: Urban Fantasy


Description:

Her best friend is a werewolf. Her boyfriend is a ghoul. And she really, REALLY can’t stand her vampire husband.

Trying to juggle college tuition and rent, young Audra Perez seeks a fast fix to her financial woes by auditioning as a stripper for the Hoochie Coochie Club. What she didn’t expect was to actually be chosen! Barely a few months into her new job, she becomes acquainted with a mysterious, distinguished gentleman by the name of Darren Von Eldon, and they secretly begin dating against club rules. Then one passionate night at his beach house changes Audra’s life forever.

Now as a newly-awakened vampire, this only adds to her day-to-day mundane burdens. Refusing to drain humans, she hunts birds for nourishment, and finagles a way to avoid going to classes during the day. But bigger problems loom ahead. Radical cops that know about her kind roam the night, seeking to destroy any and all ‘monsters’, and her best friend’s family has a bone to pick with Audra’s. Headless bodies are turning up on vamp and were turf, each side blaming the other for the murders. It’s up to Audra and her friend Lu to figure out who’s doing the killings, and their search leads them beneath the city streets to encounter an abomination neither one of them will ever forget.

And the relationship issues? Well, it’s not easy dealing with a boyfriend and a vampire husband, so let’s not even go there…







Review

All I can say is...Wow. This was a really amazing read, exceeded my expectations twice over. The originality of this is just brilliant and it sucked me in right from the start, I couldn’t stop reading and I didn’t want to stop! I loved the way it was written; it flowed so well and there wasn’t any useless scenes or unwanted information being thrown at you. There is some great humour right from the start with this book and throughout the read itself. The “Crotch-Tarantula” moment made me laugh so much;

"She’d put Sasquatch to shame with that matted muff. Hello, ever heard of a razor? Nair? Electrolysis? Something?! Naturally, the guys whooped and hollered again. How guys could love a crotch-tarantula was beyond my comprehension."

This had the perfect amount of steamy scenes in it; nothing can ruin a book faster than too much steam and not enough story. The Audra and Paul situation I was both expecting at all, how they came together and it worked out, even though at the end now things are rather complicated and I am interested to see what happens in the nest installment between the two of them. Darren started off so seemingly nice and gentlemanly but his true colours certainly showed through by the end, I hope Audra finds a way out of her ties with him, he is nothing but bad news. I just really enjoyed reading this book, it’s one of those reads that instantly captures you and leaves you wanting more, at least that is what it did for me. I can’t wait to see what happens next!





Rating: «««««

Friday, April 20, 2012

(ARC) Better Off Dead By Danielle Blanchard Benson

Better off Dead (The Vamp Saga #2)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Welcome to Western Europe in 2020.

The International Vampire Council are in the middle of intense negotiations with the Global Six when a mysterious plot is revealed to end Manon's life and thinly veiled lies Mikkel has told his wife will be exposed once and for all.

Manon is sent into hiding with Emmerik as her protector while a deal can be negotiated to spare her life.

As the clock ticks toward a catastrophic outbreak of new virus which seeks to destroy not only the Lycan population but millions of humans along with it, two ancient vampires return prematurely from their time in the ground, and their mood is less than receptive.

What will happen? Who will live? Who will face betrayal? Who will die? Sometimes, the most devastating secrets are better off dead and buried.

This novel is not YA friendly, contains plenty of snark, supernatural creatures included, but not limited to, vampires and Lycans, not to mention a few choice scenes of sex and death. It is not for the faint of heart.





Review

Much like the first in the series, Better off Dead is packed full of action and details. It started off a little slow at the start but once you hit the middle everything started to pick up and get really intriguing. Manon’s mother, I hated her guts! She is just horrible, couldn’t stand her and Mikkel, he never did deserve Manon, and that becomes ever so apparent in this. He is such a manipulative jerk and I hope there comes a time where Manon kicks his butt! There are so many twists and turns in this book that are unpredictable; just when you think you know what is going to happen next, the whole story gets turned on its head and it goes in a totally different direction, which I liked, there is nothing worse than reading a book that is predictable.

Manon seems to have lost total control of her life and everyone around her is plotting her life on her behalf and making her decisions behind her back for her, I just hope that in future Manon finds her strength and shows them all that she is not to be messed with. I do have to say I enjoyed this one much more than I did the first, however it was just as gritty and information dense in some parts as the first. A great second installment to the series. 




Rating: ««««

Friday, April 13, 2012

Demonically Tempted By Stacey Kennedy

Demonically Tempted (Frostbite #2)

*Submitted by Author for review*

Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy

Description:

Tess Jennings, now a member of the Memphis Police Department, is on her first cold case. The suspected suicide of Lizbeth Knapp ten years ago isn’t a theory her family accepts—they believe she was murdered.

But the case is only one of Tess’s worries. Ghosts are talking, and word of her abilities rapidly spreads. A dark ghost is terrifying the spirits of Memphis, and she must force the entity to cross over.

Tess doesn’t have to do this alone. Not only does she have her ghost-lover, Kipp McGowen, but the department has brought in a medium. Dane Wolfe might answer all her questions, but he also brings a world of trouble. Will Tess finally have all she’s ever wanted, or will everything she’s vowed to protect be ripped away?






Review
 
I haven’t read the first in the series “Supernaturally” which did effect my enjoyment of the story a little as I didn’t quite understand the whole background of Kipp and Tess, as well as the Hannah situation being mentioned which I don’t know about due to the lack of reading of the first one, but over all I still got into the story. However I would suggest reading the first one beforehand to help understand what is going on and the characters, not a series you can really read out of order.

I quite enjoy books with a psychic edge; characters with extra abilities just do it for me. I don’t believe I have never come across a book where a ghost is someone’s boyfriend before, but I sure loved it, great idea and the steamy scenes were something to behold, whew! That is one thing you can count on with a Stacey Kennedy read, great steamy scenes. I really hated Dane’s character, Tess really should have listened to Kipp’s warnings more, he knew all along, right from the get go, that Dane was bad news, he is such a sneaky know-it-all, just couldn’t stand Dane one bit, I was half hoping the Demon would get him and teach him a lesson. I tell you, this book has one hell of an ending! A real cliff-hanger! You have been warned.





Rating: ««««

Saturday, April 7, 2012

Edge Of Passion By Tina Folsom

Edge of Passion ( Cloak Warriors #1)

*Submitted for review by Publisher*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance

Description:

Able to render themselves invisible, immortal Cloak Warriors like Aiden have been protecting humans from the dark power of the Demons of Fear for centuries. But the demons might soon have a powerful tool in their hands to seduce humans to the dark side. And the person to provide them with this elixir is the human scientist Leila. Unbeknownst to her, the drug she’s developing to cure Alzheimer’s has the unexpected side effect of weakening the mind’s resistance to the influence of demons.

The Council of Cloak Warriors is divided, some of them believing the only safe way to eradicate this threat is to eliminate its inventor, others are bent on protecting the human scientist. Aiden is a loyal Cloak Warrior who accepts the assignment to protect her despite his own beliefs that humans can't be trusted. However, when her life is endangered, his beliefs shift, and he’s drawn into a battle whose participants are unknown: is he fighting the demons or his fellow Cloak Warriors?

Forbidden desire flares between Aiden and Leila as they are forced to rely on the only people they can trust: each other. And even if he can save her and defeat their enemies, a union between them might be the most dangerous undertaking of all.






Review
 
Tina Folsom is one of those authors that you have to read, no question about it. She is up there with the likes of J.R. Ward and Lara Adrian for me. A seriously great read, though I would expect nothing less. I could not stop reading this; I just loved it from start to finish. Aiden has a disliking for humans, his latest charge getting lured over by the Demons of Fear and killing an innocent in the process did nothing to heal it, it just made him more certain that at whatever the cost, he wouldn’t let another innocent die. He is put on a mission to keep a doctor safer, Leila, to get rid of her research so the demons don’t get their hands on it and use it against the humans to lure them to their side. As you can well imagine, things don’t go smoothly and there are plenty of twists and turns, not to mention sabotage.

Leila and Aiden are just perfect together, they make each other strong and not to mention the sizzling steamy scenes between the two are something to behold, hot! The way it flows is testament to how well it is written and how well the plot has been thought out. There is nothing out of place in the story, no boring bits or any needless scenes or characters. I cannot speak any more highly of Tina Folsom’s writing and books; they are just works of pure genius and brilliance. I cannot wait for the second book to come out so I can get some more hot Cloak Warriors action!




Rating:
«««««

Friday, April 6, 2012

Death Wish By Danielle Blanchard Benson

Death Wish (The Vamp Saga #1)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Welcome to Las Vegas in the year 2020.

The cold war between mortals and vampires has ended ... the vampires won and now they control the most powerful organizations in the world which include the Global Six, the pharmaceutical industry, the gaming industry and banking.

Manon Mourey is a half-breed (too bad she doesn't know it) and one of the most powerful vamps in the world, Mikkel Damgaard, has eyes only for her. She holds the key to a dream most vampires have had since they were turned... yet her secret to changing the undead into Day Walkers could spark a war on the International Vampire Council... and soon ensnare the whole entire world.

This book is not YA friendly, contains a lot of profanity, a bit of snark, and has a few choice scenes of sex and death. It is not for the faint of heart.







Review

This read is full of bad-ass vampire action, no wussy vampires in sight. It was a little slow at the start, you have a rather large chunk of information thrust upon you and it is a little taxing to get through it but once you do, you get quite caught up in the story. There were some twists and turns throughout the read that I didn’t see coming, I don’t think I have ever come across a vampire read quite like this one, which was refreshing. The characters were easy to keep up with and even though at times information was thrown at you, it wasn’t detrimental to the flow of the read.

I have to say at the start, I liked Mikkel, but towards the end, I didn’t like him, I found him frustrating, he seems to be full of secrets that he is unwilling to share with Manon, though he does have his moments that are caring, I guess I just wish he was more forthcoming with information to Manon. It was fantastic when Manon kicked Zahara‘s butt! Manon is powerful and strong and I think if she really wanted to, she could become the leader over all the vampires, she is my kind of woman. This is one for the true vampire read lovers, who don’t want a light-hearted, romancey, light read, but want something more. I would give this 3 and a half stars if I could.





Rating: «««

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Sexiest Vampire Alive By Kerrelyn Sparks

Sexiest Vampire Alive (Love at Stake #11)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

 The secret is out ...Vampires do exist!

When a video reveals to the world that vampires live among us, it's up to "young" vamp Gregori Holstein, VP of Marketing, to persuade the U.S. government to declare the video a hoax. But first the president wants a favor, one that requires Gregori to spend forty-eight hours in very close contact with the First Daughter.

Abby Tucker would rather spend her nights in a lab than attend her father's state dinners. She's dedicated her life to finding a cure that will save her dying mother and needs only two more ingredients. To find them, she'll have to venture into the most dangerous region of the world—with a vampire. Her Armani-clad escort may be Undead, but he still makes her heart race. And the greatest danger won't be the predatory hordes lying in wait for them; it will be her undying desire for the Sexiest Vampire Alive.





Review
 
I am fairly certain that it is impossible not to like a Kerrelyn Sparks “Love at Stake” novel. I think the way these books are light-hearted and are fun to read are what makes them so addictive and enjoyable for me. You can go through the books one after the other, or as I did, read them out of order and still understand what is happening and not feel lost. I really loved Gregori, I swoon for him! Much like all the other ladies he has encountered it seems, but he only has eyes for Abby, the President’s daughter. I loved the sexual tension between these two and they were just so perfectly matched together. Gregori’s mother was so funny with her alluding to them being a perfect match and her talk of wanting grandchildren and how Gregori slipped a stress ball into Abby’s pocket before she sat down to chat with her. 

The only issue I really had with this was the whole situation with Master Han, I got quite confused with what was happening through most of that but luckily I managed to find my way back to the storyline toward to end. I just wish there had been more of an ending though, expanded a little more, I am hoping that in future books we will get snippets of Abby and Gregori and how there life is now. Over all this read was everything I was hoping for and expecting, I can’t wait to see what is in store next for the series.




Rating: ««««