Thursday, May 31, 2012

Cover Reveal: Mystically Bound by Stacey Kennedy



Coming Fall 2012



Book Info:

Mystically Bound


Frostbite Book 3

Tess Jennings' life is in chaos. Not only has her ghost lover, Kipp McGowen, crossed into the Netherworld, but she’s the newest member of a secret society. And they want her to start work immediately. Upon arriving at the Temple in New Orleans, she is presented with an offer she cannot refuse. 

The Grand Master has been murdered and Tess must solve the crime by locating his ghost. The reward—a magical spell to save Kipp. But as Tess dives deeper into the case, the more danger surrounds her. Not everyone wants the murder solved, and she is caught in the crossfire.

Soon, Tess finds herself knee-deep in ancient magical rituals, a hunt for a spell, a race to locate a killer, and a journey to the beyond. Will Kipp finally take a living breath, or will Tess take her last?







Stacey Kennedy’s novels are lighthearted fantasy with heart-squeezing, thigh-clenching romance, and they even give you a good chuckle every now and again. But within the stories you’ll also find fast-paced action, life-threatening moments and a big bad villain who needs to be destroyed. Her urban fantasy/paranormal and erotic romance series have hit Amazon Kindle and All Romance eBooks bestseller lists.

Stacey welcomes comments from readers. You can find her at www.staceykennedy.com




I for one am really loving that cover! The moon with the trees and foggy-looking background, so cool. Can always depend on a Stacey Kennedy book cover to be amazing.





Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Moonlight Secrets: Werewolf Love Story by Lisa Tyler

Moonlight Secrets (Werewolf Love Story)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Erotic Short


Description:

Joan's boyfriend Carson has a secret. One night a month he turns into a werewolf. They have devised a system where they lock him in a room at their house for that one night, and she stays with him to distract the wolf from wanting to run free. What Carson doesn't know, doesn't remember, is that Joan distracts his werewolf side by sexing him in his wolf form. She likes the way he sexes her as a beast, longs for it each month, and will never tell him that.

Moonlight Secrets: Werewolf Love Story

Warning: This book is a werewolf short story. As such, it contains graphic and explicit depictions of hot sex, and is not suitable for minors.







Review

This little short story, and I mean very short at only 13 pages, is pretty much what I would call a pure smut read. I wish that it had been a full length book. I would have loved to read more about Carson and Joan, not to mention Carson’s werewolf side with the insatiable appetite to get down and dirty, not that Carson ever remembered when he went back to human. It’s like the little secret that Joan and the werewolf share and it would have been real interesting if somehow Carson ever found out about Joan’s playtime with his werewolf side.  Would be he jealous of it? Or would he welcome it?

I liked how Joan not only had a connection with Carson normally but how it carried over to when  it was time for him to transform, how his werewolf form recognised Joan and also trusted her. Three words fairly sum up how I feel after reading this little short...I want more! I actually had a bit of a hard time deciding what rating to give this, on one hand I liked it and it was written well and I loved the characters, but on the other I felt a little cheated that it wasn't longer. So with that said I am going to give this three and a half stars but very close to getting four.






Rating: «««

Monday, May 28, 2012

Blood Lust Rising By Fayth Devlin

Blood Lust Rising (The Vampire Queen Trilogy #1)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance/ Urban Fantasy


Description:

Vampire Queen and Demon son – Together they will wreak havoc and total destruction. Or at least, that’s what the prophecy says. When a sex-seething succubus focuses in on Ella Grey, a half-breed vampire and her Shadow Hunting partner, Micah McGregor, a power is released neither can control or comprehend.

A chain of events is triggered, forcing Ella and Micah down a shadowed path riddled with unrestrained passion, violence and betrayal. The truth of Micah’s demonic origins will reveal a heart-breaking conspiracy within the Shadow Agency that once swore to protect humanity from vampires and demons. Ella and Micah are proof that nothing is as it appears.







Review 

I think the best way to start off this review is to say hot damn! There is some steam in this, I loved Micah, what a man. This read has all the elements of a great urban fantasy mixed in with some romance and plenty of heat, my favourite combination. Right from the start it was filled with action and you got a taste of what you were in for. Micah and Ella, two kick-ass people who seemingly at first glance despise each other but deep down there is an attraction which comes to light after a thought to be succubus curses them, little do they know that it is all part of a prophecy.

The tension and chemistry between Micah and Ella was brilliant, the way they got together and the circumstances surrounding it all I found just perfect. There was no lack of twists and turns to keep you interested and enthralled in the read and even though it was rather short, at the end you felt satisfied and eager to read about what happens next in the second installment. I am really curious to find out who Micah’s father is and how he and Ella will cope with the deal they made with Julian. I am hoping that Julian gets what he deserves, a slow painful death of some description, he is one messed up and cruel vampire, I hope it’s Ella who shows him no mercy after all that he did her. I am also intrigued to see if a relationship blossoms between Eli and Hannah, they seem so cute together and if Eli will be able to handle his newfound form that he has been forced to live with.

Overall this read didn’t let me down one bit and met my expectations, I can’t think of any negatives except that I wish it had been longer, but that is just me being greedy for more steamy Micah and Ella action! I give this four and a half stars, bordering very close to five stars.





Rating:
««««

Friday, May 25, 2012

18+ Book Blogger Follow

25.05.2012









Question of the Week

"Do you feel the need to write a review for your personal reads, as oppose to requested reviews, or are there some books you read just for the joy of reading?"





I like to write reviews for my personal reads so I can share my thoughts on the book and maybe even inspire someone else to pick up the book if it was a particularly good one that isn't widely known or popular. I also find writing reviews for my personal reads helpful when deciding if I want to go back and read a book, or if it is time to clear out my piles of books and make room for more to decide which to get rid of and which to keep (Though it is very rarely that I get rid of any, it is just so hard to part with any of my precious books!)

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Cinder By Marissa Meyer

Cinder (Lunar Chronicles #1)

Genre: Young Adult

Description:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, the ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.







Review 

I really loved the cyborg angle in this; I haven’t come across a book like it before, especially in the young adult genre. I’m generally not big into reading fairy tales/fairy tale retellings but I enjoyed this from start to finish and it was a rather quick read for me, which I think was down to how well this was written. Sure, it was fairly predictable, but what do you expect from a re-telling of Cinderella? The story flowed really great and information wasn’t thrown at you in one hit but you gradually learnt more about Cinder, other characters and background information as the story progressed. Cinder’s character was brilliant; she was more than I expected her to be. The plague situation was a great addition as well, I was so sure Peony would survive, and I was hoping that she would get a cure in time.

When I realised the book was getting close to the end I was not happy, I needed more, I wanted more! The end was such a cliff-hanger. As soon as Cinder found out about her heritage and who she was I wanted her to run to Prince Kai and tell him about it and them to have their happy ever after! But I guess I will have to wait until the nest book in the series to see what happens and how the story will continue to unfold. I would give this read three and a half stars.





Rating: «««

Monday, May 21, 2012

Fifty Shades Freed By E.L. James

Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades #3)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

When unworldly student Ana Steele first encountered the driven, damaged young entrepreneur Christian Grey it sparked a sensual affair that changed both their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and ultimately repelled by Christian’s singular sexual tastes, Ana demanded a deeper commitment; determined to keep her, Christian agreed.

Now, together, they have more – love, passion, intimacy, and a world of infinite possibilities. But Ana always knew that loving her Fifty Shades would not be easy, and being together poses challenges neither of them ever anticipated. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own integrity, identity or independence; Christian must somehow overcome his compulsion to control, and lay to rest the horrors that blighted his past and haunt his present.

Just when it seems that together their love can conquer any obstacle, misfortune, malice and fate combine to make Ana’s worst nightmares come true. Alone and desperate, she must face down the poisoned legacy of Christian’s past.








Review 

I can’t believe that this is the last book, I didn’t want this to end, I need more Christian Grey!

This book was just as bumpy in the emotion department as the previous, when Christian went missing it had me worried even though I knew James wouldn’t kill off one of the main characters so soon, I just get so caught up in these books. I couldn’t believe the way Christian reacted to Ana’s news about her expecting, the way he accused her of planning it in some way, that was shocking and how he went back to Mrs. Robinson. However it turned out for the best; it making him see that what he had with her wasn’t right and it allowed him to finally really put her in his past and leave it behind.

I was shocked at what Ana did with the Jack situation all came to a head, even though it was really brave of her to try and fix the situation on her own, she should have told Christian what was happening, it was foolish of her. Though granted, when Ana was saying to Christian that she was leaving him he should have clued on instantly as she was always saying to him but once again his sense of low self-worth clouded his judgement, but thankfully he realised what was happening before it was too late. I loved the Christian snippets at the end from his past and what he thought when he first met Ana. They were just brilliant!

I just wish that it wasn’t over; I could read about Christian, Ana and their life together for endless hours. I think this will be the best books I will have read for quite a while, I don’t see a new series affecting me as much as Fifty Shades has, it really blew my mind. There is so much more I want to say, yet I find myself unable to find the words.






Rating: «««««

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Fifty Shades Darker By E.L. James

Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades #2)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Daunted by the dark secrets of the tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Ana Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a US publishing house.

But desire for Grey still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, she cannot resist. Soon she is learning more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades than she ever thought possible.

But while Grey wrestles with his inner demons, Ana must make the most important decision of her life. And it's a decision she can only make on her own ...








Review

The word to best describe this book, even this whole series...Intense.

We find out about why Christian is the way he is, why he finds it so hard to be touched and to be loved. It is so heartbreaking what he had to go through and shocking as to why he goes after a particular type of woman and why he first wanted Ana as his Submissive. Christian grows so much throughout this book from where he started; he is open to being vulnerable with Ana, letting his guard down, the scene where he falls to him knees in front of Ana, begging her to stay was such a touching moment, it was a real turning point. Ana also has so growth, finding a compromise of sorts with Christian, meeting him half-way with his likes, not just for him but also for herself. I teared up countless times while reading this, these books just effect me, the emotion is so well done, it’s raw and believable.

The situation with Leila, that was disturbing. She was so lost and broken, even though Christian had so feelings or interest in her, it showed the kind of man that he is deep down that he still got her the help she needed to stop her self-destructive behaviour. The whole Mrs. Robinson thing, I couldn’t believe it. I was so glad that Ana finally got Elena to reveal her true colours and Christian got to see what Ana was talking about and why she didn’t like her being around him. The cliff-hanger ending! Oh my gosh, there is some real trouble brewing. These books, right when they end they tease you and you can’t help but pick up the next. There was just so much I loved about this book, and loving about this trilogy, there isn’t enough words. I can’t believe I am about to start on the last book, I don’t know what I am going to do when I am finished, all I know is that I need more.





Rating: «««««

Thursday, May 17, 2012

Fifty Shades Of Grey By E.L. James

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades #1)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

When literature student Anastasia Steele is drafted to interview the successful young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, she finds him attractive, enigmatic and intimidating. Convinced their meeting went badly, she tries to put Grey out of her mind - until he happens to turn up at the out-of-town hardware store where she works part-time.

The unworldly, innocent Ana is shocked to realize she wants this man, and when he warns her to keep her distance it only makes her more desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her - but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey's singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success – his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving adoptive family – Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a passionate, physical and daring affair, Ana learns more about her own dark desires, as well as the Christian Grey hidden away from public scrutiny.

Can their relationship transcend physical passion? Will Ana find it in herself to submit to the self-indulgent Master? And if she does, will she still love what she finds?





Review 



Two words really sum up this book for me; Holy. Crap.

Where to start; I can see why everyone is swooning over Christian, wow! He may be messed up and seemingly that having a lot to do with his mysterious past and his scars; but he is a charmer and deep down very caring and vulnerable behind his steely demeanour. He needs so much healing and I really think Ana is the girl to help him do just that. Ana I really liked, I connected with her character right from the start and it swept me up into the read. I felt her sadness, especially at the end, I teared up, I felt her heartbreak, that is the mark of a great book.

There had been quite a bit of controversy surrounding this read, but if you put all of that aside, forget about the criticism and hype, just read the book and take it for what it is like I did, I think that you will love it. As soon as I finished this I started on the second in the series, I am hooked; so glad that I got all three of the books at once, I wouldn’t have been able to wait to see what happens next. There is something about the way that this book is written that I can only describe as, well, honest and I just can’t get enough of it, I have such high hopes for the rest in the series.






Rating: «««««


Monday, May 14, 2012

Loaded Question By Cassandra Carr

Loaded Question

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Short Story/Romance/Contemporary


Description:

Rob adores his girlfriend, Daisy. She’s a Southern belle girly-girl, which is perfect, except for one thing. As much as Daisy likes sex, she draws the line at oral. She’s not good at it, and Rob has resigned himself to doing without. That is, until Daisy offers to get a tutor. Is this a great idea or the worst mistake Rob has ever made?




Review 




This is one quick, hot little read. Daisy, a girly-girl wanting to learn the finer points to pleasing her man and making him lose control. I was really liking Master Tom the Dom, it rhymes, that can only be a good thing, would love to read a full length story about some of his escapades! Maybe even a girl who could even teach him a thing or two in the bedroom and be the boss, sounds good to me.

I liked how caring Rob was about Daisy, not pressuring her to do anything she didn’t want to, not wanting her to feel bad about herself in any way, all heart, though I’m not so sure I’d be all for my girl sucking on a random guy, even if in the end he would be benefitting from it. The short 35 pages left me wanting more, though I expected nothing less from a story written by Cassandra Carr.




Rating: ««««

Veil Of Seduction By Maya DeLeina

Veil of Seduction (Ambrose Heights Vampires #2)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Erotic Paranormal Romance


Description:

A newborn vampire. A powerful leader. An inconsolable woman. The shaping of their eternity all lies within the eyes.

Steffan Matthews is the devastatingly handsome vampire leader of Ambrose Heights. He cultivates social order and invents concoctions that allow vampires to feel human once again.

But Steffan also has a devouring obsession that brings him to his knees. Her name is Anya. Steffan sets out to claim Anya, a mortal ripe for the taking, as his mate. But the blackness in the eyes of his newborn should’ve served as a warning. Anya is off-limits according to the vampire creed.

It will take the strength of the kinship, the purity of love, a hint of magic, and a subterranean guardian to shield Steffan against the wrath of Ryan Evans, protect him from the fate of the Nemesis, and bridge a passage to his rightful destiny.





Review

I loved this one more than I did the first. It was seriously addictive, a little slow to start but once the story got going, it was hard to pace myself I couldn’t stop reading it, I had to find out how everything was going to turn out. This author is a woman who knows how to write a creative steamy-hot love scene, I mean whoa! The scene with the long strands of white material hanging from a mirror suspended from the ceiling that was something to read! A scene that I sure won’t be forgetting anytime soon. I really loved Anya, she was fierce and she could hold her own, when she attacked Ryan I was like, hell yeah! Kick his cheating lying ass! I was glad that by the end, he got what he deserved. There were also some nice elements of humour in the read which I really liked when Steffan had a "seizure" while watching Anya and being left with wet pants after said "seizure";

“Steffan leaned back to look at his crotch. “Eilian?” His arms and hands were frozen in front of him. He was stuck in a position as if he was preparing to catch something.
“Yes?”
“I believe I just came in my pants.”


The one thing about this read, much like the first in the series, is that there were many twists and turns, lots of unexpected surprises. With what happened with Madeline, how she deceived the council members causing Steffan to be in a deadly predicament, I had tears in my eyes the whole time, it isn’t very often that a book causes me to tear up but this one did it not only in that scene, but in another towards the end as well, but I won’t give that one away. A seriously great read that I enjoyed from start to finish.




Rating: «««««

Saturday, May 12, 2012

Guest Post & Giveaway with H.A. Caine




Stick around! Not only will there be a giveaway at the end of the post here, but also information about how to enter to have a chance at winning something at the Grand Giveaway!



29 year old Adrian ran away from an imprisoning and abusive household at the age of 19. For years he ran, living on the streets and in shelters, taking crappy jobs to save a little money. Ten years of struggling and now he is a successful partner of a security company. Under the guise of running the security company, Adrian and his best friend and the people who work for them help others who live unfortunately. Like Adrian, not one of his employees have a nice past. They're all running from something, never letting their guards down and they don't want others to suffer as they have. But Adrian makes the mistake of falling in love with a young man when he's 27. For a while, he gets to experience what it's like to be a normal man. He never thought he could be happy, but Jaxon makes him the happiest man in the world. Only it can't last and Adrian is forced to leave or risk Jaxon's life. But his demons caught up with him long before he realized and now no ones safe. Can Adrian save Jaxon before it's too late? And can Jaxon forgive him for walking away?

Goodreads        Smashwords



My Review 

This was a nice quick, short read that I really enjoyed. I wasn’t sure quite what to expect when I read the title and looked at the cover but I was pleasantly surprised once I started reading. Adrian has spent years running from an abusive past, it shaping his existence and when his past catches back up with him, it is time for Adrian to finally end it and save the only man he has ever loved from the clutches of a psycho.

The connection between Adrian and Jaxon was just wonderfully done and I was so happy that the author didn’t just end the read with Adrian rescuing Jaxon, but also continued on a bit so we could see their reunion and the progression of their relationship after all the trouble had past with Daniel. There is just something so special about m/m romance reads that I love and can’t get enough of. This isn’t overly graphic or over the top with steamy scenes so if you are interested in getting started in the m/m romance genre, this would be a good introductory piece. I’d give this three and a half stars bordering on four stars.

Rating: «««









Guest Post: H.A Caine 
Why I Write Gay Romance


I spend most of my days home writing, studying or reading. I'm young but unlike most people my age, I don't spend all day in the streets or hanging out. Since I was little, I've read books like it was going out of style. I still do, only difference is that now-a-days the majority of my books are located on my iPod and iPad.



Writing is something that came naturally for me. As a teenager, it was depressing poems that expressed how I felt. I don't mean "Die, the world hates me", kind of stuff. I just could never find anything happy that was worthwhile to write about. To me, it seemed like every time I took the time to look around, somebody or something was proving to me that the world wasn't all sunshine and rainbows. Sadly, this is the impression I'm left with of the world. As I grew out of middle school into highschool, I started writing stories. Believe it or not, I tried mainstream romance first. But it didn't click with me. I'm a bisexual woman, but oddly enough I just can't write a man and woman together romantically without falling into the world of Damsels in Distress and Alpha Males.

Like the majority of the population attracted to males, I find two men together to be hot. But that's Not why I write Gay Romance. When I was in school,(I'm just out) I'm proud to say that there was rarely any gay bashing happening in our school. Oh, sure, there was the usual jokes amongst the guys. But guess what? The Point Guard on our basketball team was bestfriends with the Gay male cheerleader. And my teachers? One was a married lesbian and another was my gay math teacher. We were never scared to be who we are in school. And that made me happy. But not everyone is as lucky as we were. It breaks my heart to hear about child suicide or escalating bullying. There's no point to it. It all leads to pain. And I can't stand that.

So I write Gay Romance. And in my stories, I'm always able to give them a happy ending.

Author Bio:

H. A. Caine lives in her hometown of Brooklyn, New York. She has hopes of becoming a great writer and one day opening her own bakery. She even has the name and layout already decided. Among other writing projects she's working on her very own first series, Boys in Love. The first book, Letting Go, will be available later this year. She enjoys reading and has a passion for writing. But more than anything, she loves hearing from her readers.






`~Giveaway~`

Now for the good stuff you have been waiting for! I have one eBook copy of "From Love & Pain" by H.A. Caine to give away to one lucky person! Just fill in the rafflecopter form (It might take a second for two for it to load)
Please read my policies page for any questions or issues, also feel free to contact me.



a Rafflecopter giveaway




The author will also be having a Grand Giveaway.
Grand Giveaway Entry Rules!
There will be THREE Grand Giveaways! First, Second and Third.
The grand prize(s) are…

First Prize: A paperback copy of From Love and Pain, Author Swag( From Love and Pain coffee mug, notebook, banner, and a pen) and one ebook copy of all future books that I write. These will be given before or the day of releases.

Second Prize: A paperback copy of From Love and Pain and one ebook copy of any e-book reviewed on my site. (at the the top of the author's page there is a box that reads “Reviews”. All reviews have been copied and pasted there.)

Third Prize: A paperback copy of From Love and Pain.

Grand Prize Entry Rules: The Grand Prize giveaways are open to theU.S ONLY. Please leave your name and email in a comment on any of the blog stops or on any tour posting, to be entered into the giveaway. Winners will be chosen using Random.com. Grand Prize winners will be announced on the author's blog and on the author's facebook page on May 22nd, 2012. Follow my the author's blog or like my her page to guarantee you won’t miss the announcements. This is not mandatory to be entered into the drawings. Winners will have 14 days (2 weeks) to contact the author and claim their prize. If prizes are not claimed in the allotted time period, the prize will go to the next person. And so on. To view the rules or contact the author visit HERE. 

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Dirty Little Secret

10.05.2012



 
 
Dirty Little Secret is a weekly meme hosted by us at Under the Covers. Every Thursday we get to know other bloggers and our readers more intimately by asking them a question hoping to reveal their dirty little secrets. We hope that you will all join us!

To participate in the meme all you need to do is:

1. Be a follower of Under the Covers.
2. Create a post in your blog taking the meme image (code above) and copy instructions.
3. Answer the question we propose! This can be done in any way you like, post a video, write a post etc.
4. Then add your link below.
 
 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"We've heard a rumor that Ryan Seacrest is using Fifty Shades of Grey as a manual in the bedroom. What book would you give a guy to study up on?"
 
 
 
What! Just one choice! That doesn't seem right hehe
But I guess If I only pick one... I would pick the Sinners on Tour series. Sure it isn't just one book, but I am greedy :P
 

The guys sure know how to work it in these reads. I can't wait for the third in the series, can bet on it being hot!

 
My oh my! Would you look at that cover!

 

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Flesh Fantasy By Maya DeLeina

Flesh Fantasy (Ambrose Heights Vampires #1)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:  Erotic Paranormal Romance

Description:

Tonight, Rain Calisto searches for her man, and Rhys Matthews comes into focus. He is well-built and sinisterly sexy. In the same Denver nightclub, Armand Anastasio searches for his woman—Rain. But the men are more than gorgeous. They are vampires, and they are unmated.

A chance encounter lands Rhys and Rain together. Their attraction remains undeniably powerful and they fall prey to lust. With each passionate tryst, Rhys senses a connection that goes beyond the flesh. Unbeknownst to Rhys, Rain is a diabetic. Her insulin alters her biological makeup, disguising a revelation he isn’t quite prepared for.

Rain is Rhys's fated mate.

As they struggle with this knowledge, another bombshell is dropped. Rain’s insulin-laced tissue creates a rare vampiric blood that can fetch a hefty profit, and Armand has always known this. Is his attraction to Rain genuine, or is he just out for her blood?

This is the diary of Rain and Rhys. Recorded here is their transformation from a flesh fantasy to eternal love.






Review

Before I knew it, it was over! The story just seemed to fly by; I was captured by the story right from the start. Character names for me in a read play a big influence in my enjoyment of it, I loved how the lead female character’s name was Rain, it was just perfect. I found the story at little up and down at times, but it still kept my interest throughout. The steamy scenes in this! Whew! Really well-written, they aren’t cheesy or generic, that is for certain. There is no denying the sexual chemistry between Rhys and Rain, even though it just started off as some fun between the two, they really make a great pair. The vampire elements were great in this and I liked how when a human changed into a vampire that their eye colour changed to their true personality trait, that was brilliant and I can’t recall ever coming across something like that before;

“When a human transforms to a vampire, their eyes do a color inversion. We like to equate it to the eyes being the window to the soul. Whatever was engrained in their moral fiber as a human reflects during the turning in the eyes.”

This read was full of surprises; just when I thought the story was nearing its end, bam! A plot twist comes out of nowhere and you are swept up in the thrill of it all. I couldn’t believe what Adriana had done, she was nuts! Genius you have to admit for how she went about her plan, but totally nuts and of course evil. I wanted Rhys to kick Armand from here to eternity for what he did to Rain, but I guess I will have to wait and see what the next installment in the series has in store and if Armand will get what he deserves. I have to say now that I have finished it, I have the urge to go back and read it again.





Rating: ««««

Friday, May 4, 2012

The Perfect Play By Jaci Burton

The Perfect Play (Play by Play #1)

Genre: Romance

Description:

Football pro Mick Riley is an all-star, both on the field and in the bedroom. But a sexy, determinedly single mom just might be the one to throw him off his game...

For years Mick has been taking full advantage of the life available to a pro athlete: fame, fortune, and a different girl in every city. But when he meets and beds confident, beautiful event planner Tara Lincoln, he wants much more than the typical one-night stand. Too bad Tara's not interested in getting to know football's most notorious playboy any better.

As the single mother of a teenage son, the last thing Tara needs is the jet-set lifestyle of Mick Riley; even though their steamy and passionate one-night stand was unforgettable. Tara's life is complicated enough without being thrust into the spotlight as Mick's latest girl du jour. Tara played the game of love once and lost big, and she doesn't intend to put herself out there again, especially with a heartbreaker like Mick.

But when Mick sets his mind to win, nothing will stop him. And he has the perfect play in mind.






Review

I really loved the set-up of this read, the famous football player and the event planner with a secret. I was a little worried that the leading man, Mick, would be all arrogant and selfish which really turns me off a book right away, but he was caring, soft and misunderstood at times, especially by Tara. Liz was a real pill! She was just horrible, letting her power go to her head and instead of focusing on what was best for Mick or what he wanted, she was going after what she thought was best for his career and hers. I was glad when Mick finally woke up to what she was doing and that keeping her around would only prevent him from finding any happiness. Tara was a little irritating at times, mainly with her not trusting Mick but that was understandable with her past and what she has had to overcome, with how much she had been let down by people in the past. The relationship Mick had with his brother and his family was wonderful and really added a nice element to the story.

When Tara and Mick went their separate ways I was shocked! But I was glad that it worked out in the end and it allowed Tara to let her guard down and see that she really could trust Mick and Nathan now has a male role model in his life to look up to. The way it was written let the story flow and develop; nothing felt forced or rushed. I loved this read from start to finish and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one in the series. I would give this four and a half stars if I could.




Rating: ««««

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Darkest At Dawn By Christine Feehan

Darkest at Dawn (Dark #14-15)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Darkest at Dawn contains two novellas: 'Dark Secret' (already published); and 'Dark Hunger' (already published in the US but this is the first time it's been published in the UK). Christine Feehan has thrilled legions of fans with her enthralling Carpathian tales. Now, together for the first time, are two of her most seductive tales of savage prey and sensual predators...

Christine Feehan has thrilled legions of fans with her enthralling Carpathian tales. Now, together for the first time, are two of her most seductive tales of savage prey and sensual predators . . . Dark Hunger Juliette is a beautiful activist devoted to the liberation of animals confined in a foul and humid jungle lab. But then she stumbles upon an unexpected prisoner unlike any she's ever seen. Or touched. Riordan De La Cruz, an immortal Carpathian male, is trapped and caged, his desire for revenge only beginning. She will release him from his bonds. He will release her from her inhibitions. Both have voracious appetites that must be sated. Dark Secret Rafael De La Cruz has spent centuries hunting vampires, but now he's following the scent of a human. Colby Jansen is a rancher and the sole guardian of her younger half siblings. She is prepared to protect them with her life against Rafael's blood claim. But the arrogant and fiercely sensual Rafael is after more than her family - he wants Colby. And there's nothing she can do to stop his raw desire to possess her.






Review 

Dark Hunger

I really couldn’t get into this novella. At the start I was enjoying it but as the story progressed I just wanted it to be over already, not that it didn’t have good moments, most of those being the steamy scenes which appealed to the smutty side of my mind. So I give this read two and a half stars.


Dark Secret

Much like the first, at the start I was sucked into the story, if Colby was going to be able to protect her family and keep her ranch safe, if she was going to be able to remain strong and stick to her morals. I was hoping that I was going to love this one and it would make up for my disinterest in the first novella, but it sadly didn’t. I found the characters irritating at times and sometimes rather repetitive. However there was no lack to steam and I did like moments shared between Rafael and Colby, though I did find Rafael arrogant which is an instant turn-off for me with any character in any read. This wasn’t a “bad” story by any means, it just didn’t grab me. I would give this novella the same as the first, two and a half stars.


Over all, this book wasn’t my cup of tea. I don’t know if it was the style in which it was written that didn’t allow me to get enthralled by the read, or how I couldn’t connect with the characters. I had such high hopes for this book, two novellas in one, twice the fun? But sadly I feel a bit let down; oh well, it happens, but I will definitely be checking out other books by Christine Feehan in future, I refuse to let these novellas stop me!        





Rating: ««