Friday, June 29, 2012

Cover Reveal: Caressed By A Crimson Moon By Amanda J. Greene




Coming This Winter...



Consumed by madness and tormented by dark memories of blood and death, Hadrian Lucretius, King of the Validus Clan, has returned after living in self-imposed exile for nearly three hundred and fifty years.
 To maintain peace with the vampires, Eva Maldonado is offered as a sacrifice to the crazed vampire king by her father, the alpha of the Silveria Shifter Pack. Hadrian’s reputation is both legendary and lethal; he is ruthless, bloodthirsty, lusty, and soulless. When Eva arrives at the ancient fortress high in the Carpathian Mountains, she is shocked to find a ravaged man with dark burning eyes filled with loneliness and dangerous desire.
 Would she be his lover…or his prey? His savior…or his victim? Would Hadrian lure her into madness or would their perilous passion be their redemption?





I personally cannot wait until this comes out! This series of books is amazing and I loved the second book so much. If you haven't heard of these books I would suggest giving them a go.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Avenger's Angel By Heather Killough-Walden

Avenger's Angel (Lost Angels #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

When four female angels were created for the archangels Michael, Gabriel, Uriel and Azrael, a chaos spurned by jealousy erupted, and the archesses were secreted to Earth. The four favored archangels followed, prompting a search that has lasted millennia. But for Uriel, the former Archangel of vengeance, the search ends the moment he lays eyes on Eleanor Granger, his one true archess. Can he protect her from the danger lying in wait for her - and win her heart?





Review 

The read was low to start and I was getting worried that this was going to be one of those book that I had to force myself to endure and finish, which at times I did have to do. I found all the characters a little hard to keep up with and remember their real names and roles which affected my enjoyment of the read and the ability to get truly enveloped by the story. At about half-way through I was almost prepared to give up, but I stuck with it. I finally started to find the story interesting at about chapter eight when things started to pick up and I started enjoying it. Samuel was the most irritating character in existence! He kept getting in the way and just wouldn’t stay away and let Uriel have his Archess. The steamy scene between Uriel and Eleanore was very well written, it wasn't cheesy or just there for the sake of it which is a plus.

I am so torn. I really wanted to love this, one look at the cover and how pretty it was and I had such high hopes but as it turned out, it was a case of you can’t judge a book by its cover. I would attempt to read the next in the series, but I won’t be rushing out to buy it anytime soon.






Rating: «««

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Comfort Food By Kitty Thomas

Comfort Food

Genre: Dark Erotica

Description:

Emily Vargas has been taken captive. As part of his conditioning methods, her captor refuses to speak to her, knowing how much she craves human contact. He's far too beautiful to be a monster. Combined with his lack of violence toward her, this has her walking a fine line at the edge of sanity. Told in the first person from Emily's perspective, Comfort Food explores what happens when all expectations of pleasure and pain are turned upside down, as whips become comfort and chicken soup becomes punishment.

DISCLAIMER:
This is not a story about consensual BDSM. This is a story about "actual" slavery. If reading an erotic story without safewords makes you uncomfortable, this is not the book for you. This is a work of fiction, and the author does not endorse or condone any behavior done to another human being without their consent.





Review
 

I don’t really know where to start off with this, probably with the fact that this isn’t a read for the light-hearted; it is quite disturbing and dark. The “Master” character was sadistic and the bond that forms between him and Emily I found difficult to understand on a general level at first but after some reflection it became easier to comprehend what the two shared. It is challenging to wrap your head around a victim needing their captor, especially to the extent of going back even after being released and having freedom. The part I just can’t get over is the manipulation aspect or the breaking of Emily, though I didn’t enjoy reading it and found it hard to take in, it was well written and the story itself is outlined perfectly.

I don’t really know how to rate this, the subject matter made it a bit rough for me to read but it was very well done. I think if you like a hardcore read or one that challenges you, then this might just be a read for you to take a chance on.






Rating: «««

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Caressed By Night By Amanda J. Greene

Caressed by Night (Rulers of Darkness #2)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance


Description:

Dimitri Arsov, the last remaining pure vampire, was thought to be dead for the past four hundreds years. Now, he is back and has a score to settle with the traitor that had tried to kill him centuries ago. But as he waits for his prey to blindly step into his carefully laid trap, his overwhelming hunger for blood is triggered when he saves a beautiful art historian.

Kerstyn Ingmar’s life was normal and straight up boring until the night she is rescued by the dangerously sexy, powerfully mesmerizing, Dimitri. Unable to resist his diamond blue eyes and intense kisses, she is drawn into his world of darkness and closer to her impending doom.

While their desire consumes them, Dimitri is haunted by images of a bloody and deadly future. As his enemies draw near, he must find a way to save his mate from her destiny before fate destroys them both.







Review

 If you haven’t read the first in this series all I have to say is get reading! This second installment in the Rulers Of Darkness series was fantastic, even better than the first. Though you could read these books out of order, similarly to the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, it doesn’t detrimentally effect the enjoyment of the series if you read it out of order but you would understand the other characters that get mentioned more if you did.

I couldn’t beleive that Kerstyn’s so called best friend Denise would take the word of her scum-bag boyfriend over her, that was low but it led Kerstyn to Dimitri so it’s not all bad. I wish when she called up Kerstyn because she finally had the guts to break-up with Bobby and he left her stranded at a bar that she had hung-up the phone and left Denise to sort out her own way home, she didn’t think twice about kicking Kerstyn out with no place to live but she expected sympathy when her poor judgement left her hard-up? Please.

I loved Dimitri, he’s alpha male without being over the top or crazy possessive. To sum it all up Dimitri is one sexy vampire and he and Kerstyn shared some real steamy moments together. I felt so much for Gabriel in this, I want him to find his happy ending so much, he deserves it especially after what he did for Kerstyn. I can always tell when I really enjoyed a book when I start rambling in my review, which I started to do a bit here. What can I say? This book is everything that I love about paranormal romance reads in one, loved every moment.





Rating: «««««

Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Promo Post & Giveaway: Don't Call Me Angel By Alicia Wright Brewster

DON'T CALL ME ANGEL
by Alicia Wright Brewster


After crawling her way out of Hell, Six is ready to cast aside her angel wings and all the responsibilities that come with them. But Earth is not as peaceful as she imagined it. Demons, dark angels, and other hell-beasties escaped before her, and they're not as content as she is to live a quiet life on Earth.
A fellow angel who escaped Hell with her commits a series of soul-murders, destroying human souls so they can't go to the afterlife. Although Six has conflicting feelings about humans, she goes after the other angel to keep their escape a secret from the one she fears most.
Available on Paperback, Kindle, Nook, and Smashwords.
Read an excerpt now!
The Author

Alicia Wright Brewster is a mild-mannered lady of average height and above average paranormal obsession. By day, she works in an office. At night, she's an author, an electronics junkie, and a secret superhero. (Please don't ask what her superpower is. That's not very polite.)
In her virtually non-existent free time, she loves to read, watch movies, and eat food. She is particularly fond of the food-eating and makes a point to perform this task at least three times per day, usually more.
Visit her at: www.aliciawb.com, Goodreads, Twitter





CHECK OUT THE BOOK TRAILER






`~Giveaway~`


Thanks to Dragonfairy Press, I have one copy of "Don't Call Me Angel" by Alicia Wright Brewster to give away! Either an e-copy (INT) or paperback (US only)
Ends on the 26th!
Just fill out the rafflecopter :)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, June 16, 2012

Don't Call Me Angel By Alicia Wright Brewster

Don't Call Me Angel ( Forsaken #1)

*Submitted for review by Dragonfairy Press*

Genre:
Urban Fantasy


Description:

After crawling her way out of Hell, Six is ready to cast aside her angel wings and all the responsibilities that come with them. But Earth is not as peaceful as she imagined it. Demons, dark angels, and other hell-beasties escaped before her, and they're not as content as she is to live a quiet life on Earth.

A fellow angel who escaped Hell with her commits a series of soul-murders, destroying human souls so they can't go to the afterlife. Although Six has conflicting feelings about humans, she goes after the other angel to keep their escape a secret from the one she fears most.






Review

What a great read. I loved that there were illustrations included throughout, it really added that extra bit of something and made it special, not to mention unique. Each of the characters were so well done, I liked Six and how she managed to escape from Hell with Alden, who I despised from start to finish, and how she was an angel but one with attitude. The take on angels was something that I found intriguing and different, how there were angels even in Hell who had done wrong, I liked that a lot. Reading about the classic characterisation of angels in books over and over again gets tiresome so a fresh take is always a welcomed change of pace.

The ending left me wanting more, when her husband Luke came for her and who he was, and why Six is named so; I wanted to read more and find out what Six was going to do. I’m hoping she finds another angel man pr maybe even human man, someone bad-ass to get her free of Luke; he is all kinds of bad news. I wish it had been longer, it seemed like we didn’t really get into the story until half-way through but I still enjoyed the read regardless, I think you just have to keep in mind that this is a novella. This has the potential to be a really fantastic series and I can’t wait to see where it goes. I would give this one three and a half stars bordering on four stars.





Rating: «««

Monday, June 11, 2012

Guest Post & Giveaway with Cinsearae S.





Guest Post:
 Vampires and Macabre Men of the Movies


A creepy girl has to have creepy tastes in men, right? *grin* For me, I think my first love was Frank Langella, when I saw him in Dracula (1979). This movie came out when I was just 5 years old, so when it happened to come on television several years later, I was totally enraptured by him. Frank gave Dracula an entirely romantic and passionate persona that I couldn’t help but fall in love with, and this movie remains in my personal archive to this day. Frank had such class, refinement, and a debonair style that I can’t find in today’s versions of the same.

My next crush happened to be well-renowned horror actor, Vincent Price, another handsome devil of a man, whose flair for dark humor had me love horror even more—or at least helped me ease into it, as I had a terrible vivid imagination as a kid—watching horror movies for me always led me to leaving the lights on at night! I first saw him on a special creepy episode of The Muppet Show, and his witty candor made him another on my ‘crush’ list.  I have a ton of his movies in my personal collection, a few of them particular favorites of mine, as he starred in many Poe-based movies by Roger Corman, like Masque of The Red Death and The Pit and The Pendulum—and I love Poe’s works!

There are other actors that draw my eye because of something that seems creepy, quirky or unusual about them, or they just ‘stand out’ from the norm. Udo Kier is a stunning actor that gives me the shivers just by looking at him. (And who could forget him as Dragonetti in Blade?) Christopher Walken is another. (Ever see him as the Hessian soldier/Headless Horseman in Tim Burton’s Sleepy Hollow? Yikes…  And he gave Archangel Gabriel the most unusual, dark and creepy persona I’ve ever seen in The Prophecy trilogy. ) And although I wouldn’t consider him macabre in the least, the first time I saw Sam Neill as a vampire in Daybreakers, my jaw dropped. I had always thought he was a handsome man, but the whole vampire aspect made him even more handsome. I’d love to see him in more roles like that. Also (not too surprisingly, since I love this man too) I think I’d love to see Alan Rickman in a Dracula-type role. I think he’d be able to play that character with the same kind of finesse that Frank Langella did *grin*.

Why such an interest in vampires? After Hollywood removed them from their horrific origins and turned them into the romantic creatures that they are perceived as today, vampires have enraptured us with their mysteriousness for dedcades. Some look at the inundation of vampires (along with zombies) as annoying these days, but despite the public’s teeth-grinding, both of them aren’t going anywhere.

In light of their creepy beginnings, “Diary of a Vampire Stripper” takes a modern urban spin on both vamps and those ‘other’ dead guys. A young woman named Audra in need of fast cash tries her hand at auditioning as a stripper, and lands a job, much to her surprise. Preparing herself to run into unsavory people during her stint there, she encounters a gentleman, who, unbeknown to her, is a vampire. After getting to know each other for a while, He invites her back to his beach house, where it all goes downhill from there. She awakens to finding herself craving blood, marks on her neck, and her lover nowhere in sight. Trying to adjust to this new predicament, plus continue her job while keeping her situation a secret isn’t an easy feat, not to mention the other problems that lie ahead for her. Her only friend at the club seems to have some secrets of her own, plus a group of radical cops who happen to know about ‘her kind’ are out for blood themselves by destroying any of ‘them’ that they come across. Audra’s misadventures are both hilarious and disturbing, a chick-lit ‘Thelma and Louise’ with a paranormal slant.


Diary of a Vampire Stripper is available on Amazon.com for Kindle, and in print at www.createspace.com/3778782.





`~DOAVS Giveaway~`



I’m giving away an e-copy of Diary of a Vampire Stripper and some cool related swag to one lucky reader of this post. Just give me Audra’s  friend’s name and tell me *what* she is, and send your answers to me at cinsearae.s(at)gmail(dot) com, and put ‘Book Devotee Giveaway’ in the subject line! The answers can be found on the book’s webpage. Good luck!

Ending date: Saturday the 16th EST
So what are you waiting for!

Monday, June 4, 2012

Blog Tour: The Unsacred Gift By C.S. Dorsey



Author Bio:

C. S. Dorsey currently lives in Northern California. She graduated from the University of Phoenix with an Associate’s Degree in Financial Services, and is currently working for a financial institution. She never thought about writing until one day this girl started talking to her in her head and never stop.
Website: http://csdorsey.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/candicedorsey
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/csdorsey
Twitter: @cs_dorsey






 Book Blurb:

 Have you ever had a dream that came to life? How about losing the one you love and not being able to save them? What about a gift that you were cursed with? Well image having all three like Sicily "Sissy" Monroe.

"Some might say what I have is a gift. I say, I want to return it." Sissy declares.

Sicily "Sissy" Monroe has all the qualities of a perfect young lady. She is almost where she wants to be in life. But lying deep in the pupil of her eyes hold something that she cannot get rid of which interferes with her plans. She fights everyday with no one but herself. After having her first vision at age six of her sister's (Misty) disappearance and the dreams of failing to save her, Sissy wants no part in another person's fate. For years Sissy tried hard to avoid contact with people because she feared foreseeing their death. In keeping with this, she tries to stay away from her family. Little did Sissy know she could not run from her past, or her gift. She hopes someone will put her out of her misery, but she will soon discover that her visions and dreams were just a mere image of herself.






Review 

This read was quite eerie. I couldn’t imagine seeing the way someone would die, family members, random strangers, but that is just what Sicily has to deal with. Ever since her sister Misty drowned she has visions, she believes it to be her sister trying to communicate with her, when the truth is revealed it turns out to be something else entirely.

There are plenty of twists and turns and just when you think you have it figured out, everything turns upside down. The only issue I really had with the book was the way it was written, it just didn’t flow to me but that is only a small issue that I had with it over all which is good. I have to say the ending to this read it was just strange...and very unexpected, I don’t really know how to feel about it. I think the best way to describe the ending is mind blowing.

I wasn’t sure how to rate this one, it was one of the more original things I have read but I did have a couple of little issues with it but nothing major. I will give this one three and a half stars.




Rating: «««

Friday, June 1, 2012

Beg For It By Stacey Kennedy

Beg For It (Pact of Seduction #2)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Erotic Romance


Description:

The Pact of Seduction has one rule—fulfill your ultimate fantasy. Bella’s problem, she can’t live up to her vow. But her failure spins events that lead her into unknown territory. Kole, a Dom at the sex club Castle Dolce Vita, wasn’t part of her fantasy, but he’s about to show her he should have been.

Kole is more than willing to introduce Bella to BDSM since he’s held an interest in her for some time. But the feisty woman isn’t easily tamed and her strong personality proves to be difficult. While she might be determined to keep him at a distance, Kole has other ideas. He won’t allow her to shut him out.

A pact between best friends brought them together, emotional barriers tear them apart. Kole skillfully reminds Bella through pleasure and punishment that she is now his submissive, and her place is under his command.






Review


A steamy read that puts the capitol H in hot. Even though it was a quick read, it doesn’t leave you feeling cheated or like you have missed out on anything, it has everything you would want in an erotic read without any unimportant parts or filler getting in the way. The start of it was unexpected, when I was reading about Bella and Raven together I was wondering if I had started reading the wrong book my mistake, but it just turned out to be an experimental fantasy that doesn’t go so well.

The only issue I really had with the read was with the character Kole. I kind of ran hot and cold with Kole, his arrogance put me offside during one or two parts in this, but he did redeem himself towards the end and he was able to get Bella out of her protective shell. I think he is just one of those characters you learn to love, but once you do there is no going back. If you like your BDSM hot and dirty then this might just be a read for you.




Rating: ««««