Friday, July 27, 2012

Sororate By K.R. Smith

Sororate 

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Urban Fantasy/Romance


Description:
Claws come out in a Werewolf marriage; B Sabre is called the Last Circulator and the first female Lokoti Werewolf, whereas Declan Sabre is the last European Werewolf. These two love to fight just as much as they love to make love. In between, the two also like to travel the world.

This results in meeting other supernatural beings, like Asian Werewolves, North American Werewolves, European Vampires, South American Vampires, Wiccans, Voodoo and even humans psychic’d up on Yaje.

However, B and Declan still butt heads over a problem some couples face… B can’t conceive. Whereas he's relieved not to create more of his kind; she's sensitive over her condition. But just as Circulators are ever-changing as the universe, is her condition permanent?
        








Review

 A little bit up and down in some parts, there is a lot going on throughout this read and quite a bit of detail gets thrown at you but I enjoyed it. Declan is still as big a frustrating jerk as ever on numerous occasions in this but I can’t help but love him for it. Declan is over-protective and stubborn, though Bianca has enough stubbornness to match and then some. When the voodoo crazies came into play it really freaked me out, I was worried for Declan and what they had planned for him and B. When Bianca kept running away from Declan and shutting herself off from him I wanted to shake some sense into her.

This was a long read, but it sure ended with a real bang! It is exactly what I had hoped would happen and I was over-joyed when I read it, it left me wanting to keep reading to see what happens next. There is so much more I could say about the ending and I could gush on and on about it, but I don’t want to give it all away and spoil it for other potential readers. The style in which this is written and the tense changes can make it a little iffy to keep up with but the story itself just enthrals you completely from the start.
        
Rating: ««««

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Dead Witch Walking By Kim Harrison

Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows #1)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

Forty years ago a genetically engineered virus killed half of the world's human population and exposed creatures of dreams and nightmares that had, until then, lived in secret alongside humanity.

Rachel Morgan is a runner with the Inderland Runner Services, apprehending criminals through out modern-day Cincinnati. She is also a witch.

Used to confronting criminal vampires, dark witches and homicidal werewolves, Rachel's latest assignments - apprehending cable-stealing magic students and tax-evading leprechauns - have prompted her to break her thirty-year contract with the I.S. and start her own runner agency.

But no one quits the I.S.

Marked for death, Rachel is a dead witch walking unless she can appease her former employers and pay off her contract by exposing the city's most prominent citizen as a drug lord. But making an enemy of the ambiguous Trent Kalamack proves even more deadly than leaving the I.S.







Review

 I didn’t start to really enjoy this read until the rat fights and Nick was introduced to the story, that's pretty much when the story started to get going and interesting. I did like the witch aspect of his read with Rachel; I haven’t read many Urban Fantasy reads with the lead female being a witch and I found it to be refreshing. The whole Ivy and Rachel situation was confusing in a few parts, a few times with their interactions I was wondering if there was some kind of lesbian undertone hidden in the story. I hope further on in the series Rachel does get a romantic interest of some description, I think that is what was missing for me in this read.

What did I like most about this book? Jenks. Even though he wasn’t the main character, his remarks and the humour he added to the read was great, if he wasn’t part of this book it wouldn’t have been the same at all, he really made it for me. I have heard that this series just gets better as they go along so I will be reading the second in the series, but for now I would give this read three and a half stars.







Rating: ««« 

Monday, July 16, 2012

In The Blood By Adrian Phoenix

In The Blood (The Maker's Song #2)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

DANTE LIVES

Vampire. Rock star. Begotten son of the fallen angel Lucien. Dante Baptiste still struggles with nightmares and seizures, searching for the truth about his past. It is a quest as seductive as his kiss, as uncontrollable as his thirst, and as unforgiving as his determination to protect one mortal woman at any cost.

KNOWLEDGE KILLS

FBI Special Agent Heather Wallace now knows the extent of the Bureau corruption that surrounds her, but worries that she is losing the battle. And when Dante and his band Inferno come to Seattle on tour, Heather can’t help but be drawn back to the beautiful, dangerous nightkind. But what Heather and Dante don’t know is that new enemies lurk in the shadows, closer than they think . . . and even deadlier than they fear.







Review

Just as action packed as the first, gritty and near impossible to put down once you have stated. The second installment to the series sure didn’t disappoint. Heather’s sister, what a mess. Right from her first introduction into the mix she was manipulative and destructive, though towards the end when disaster struck she was right there helping, fighting for her sister and Dante. On the topic of Dante, how much more can the poor guy handle! He just keeps getting pushed down, his past continuing to get the better of him. Dante always having to try and pull himself back up again; thankfully Heather is always there to keep him safe and to get him to move past his stubborn ways.

I have to say I was hoping for a significant relationship to develop between Silver and Annie, I think he would be good for her but I guess I will have to wait and see in future books if anything does happen with these two that is solid. This series is so rich with story and character development. I need to get my hands on the third in the series as soon as possible; I have to know what happens next.






Rating: ««««

Friday, July 13, 2012

A Rush Of Wings By Adrian Phoenix

A Rush of Wings (The Maker's Song #1)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

HIS NAME IS DANTE.

Dark. Talented. Beautiful. Star of the rock band Inferno. Rumored owner of the hot New Orleans nightspot Club Hell. Born of the Blood, then broken by an evil beyond imagination.HIS PAST IS A MYSTERY.

F.B.I. Special Agent Heather Wallace has been tracking a sadistic serial murderer known as the Cross Country Killer, and the trail has led her to New Orleans, Club Hell, and Dante. But the dangerously attractive musician not only resists her investigation, he claims to be "nightkind": in other words, a vampire. Digging into his past for answers reveals little. A juvenile record a mile long. No social security number. No known birth date. In and out of foster homes for most of his life before being taken in by a man named Lucien DeNoir, who appears to guard mysteries of his own.HIS FUTURE IS CHAOS.

What Heather does know about Dante is that "something" links him to the killer -- and she's pretty sure that link makes him the CCK's next target. Heather must unravel the truth about this sensual, complicated, vulnerable young man -- who, she begins to believe, may indeed be a vampire -- in order to finally bring a killer to justice. But Dante's past holds a shocking, dangerous secret, and once it is revealed not even Heather will be able to protect him from his destiny....






Review 

A book packed full with so much action, it is like two novels meshed into one and I loved every second of it. Heather was a great female lead, she is determined and strong, and she is everything I like in a character. I loved Dante’s stubborn ways and his pushing against authority attitude, not to mention he is one pretty fine vampire. Dante goes through so much in this read, learning about his past, the truth about his father, finding out who his mother was and what happened to her, he has to face a lot of heartbreak.

Though the story got a little confusing at times and hard to keep up with which is why this isn't five star rated, I didn’t want it to end, I wanted to keep reading and reading. This read really captured me right from the very start and I cannot wait to start to second book to the series; I need me some more Dante! And hopefully Heather gets herself some more Dante as well, because these two have some real chemistry. Just the way I like my Urban Fantasy reads.







Rating: ««««

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Eternal Craving By Nina Bangs

Eternal Craving (Gods of the Night #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

He's been promised a new life as the hunter he once was. But Al soon learns that all the rules have changed. Now he must control his most basic urges—the need to kill, to feed, to mate. And the woman he wants looks at him with both heat and fear in her eyes. Jenna Maloy doesn't buy this story that he's come to Philadelphia to save souls. She seems to see through the layers of deception to the primitive heart of him. With her beside him, Al stalks the dark forces that crouch in the city's night shadows. But the real battle rages in his heart. Love is a formidable opponent. How can he ask her to stay with him after she's seen the savagery of his beast? He only knows that if she turns from him he'll be cursed with an eternal craving.






Review 

This read was to say the least, peculiar. Paranormal is what I love, Otherkin beings with nonhuman souls in a human body, a read right up my alley. However, the non-human soul being the soul of a dinosaur? That is just a bit weird for my taste, though a very original idea I couldn't wrap my head around it and it didn't allow me to enjoy the read as much as I wanted to. Despite the whole dinosaur thing, I did like the characters themselves and it was an entertaining read. The leader Fin is a very mysterious character and I’m very interested to know if further on in the series we ever find out about what he is.

Overall this was an alright read it just wasn’t for me, the whole dinosaur soul angle was just a bit too left of centre. However I would say if you are looking for a change and are wanting to try something very different and strange, you might want to take a look at this series. I would pick up the next in the series out of curiosity but it won’t be anytime soon.






Rating: «««

Monday, July 9, 2012

Hot Secrets By Lisa Renee Jones

Hot Secrets (Tall, Dark & Deadly #1)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

The Walker Brothers…

Tall, dark, and deadly, these three brothers run Walker security. Each brother is unique in his methods and skills, but all share key similarities. They are passionate about those they love, relentless when fighting for a cause they believe in, and all believe that no case is too hard, no danger too dark. Dedication is what they deliver, results are their reward.


Royce Walker, a former FBI Agent, who’s opened a private security firm with his brothers, has always had the hots for the prim, proper Assistant District Attorney, but considered her hand’s off because of a family connection. However, when danger threatens Lauren, he isn’t willing to stand by and watch her get hurt. Now the passion for survival is only rivaled by the passion burning between them. And that passion, might just be the death of them both.







Review

I am a big fan of Lisa Renee Jones from her Zodius series and I had high hopes that this read would be just as great, I was not disappointed. I really enjoyed this book from start to finish, the story flowed so well and before I knew it I had devoured the whole book. I liked how Lauren wasn’t helpless, she stood on her own two feet though did take help from Royce when she knew she was out of her depth. Royce was one hot protector, even though he was all alpha-male with Lauren and on one or two occasions over-the-top alpha which usually bothers me, but I loved him for it. Not to mention that Royce and Lauren share some rather steamy scenes.

I was glad that in the end Lauren’s despicable stepmother got when she deserved, she was so irritating and very much out for herself and to satisfy her greed. In this read we were also introduced to Lauren’s friend Julie who develops the start of a relationship with Luke, I am very interested to see where their relationship goes from here. I am really looking forward to reading more books from this series and finding out about some of the other mighty fine Walker brothers.







Rating: ««««

Saturday, July 7, 2012

Mind Games By Carolyn Crane

Mind Games (The Disillusionists #1)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

JUSTINE KNOWS
SHE'S GOING TO DIE.
ANY SECOND NOW.

Justine Jones has a secret. A hardcore hypochondriac, she's convinced a blood vessel is about to burst in her brain. Then, out of the blue, a startlingly handsome man named Packard peers into Justine's soul and invites her to join his private crime-fighting team. It's a once-in-a-lifetime deal. With a little of Packard's hands-on training, Justine can weaponize her neurosis, turning it outward on Midcity's worst criminals, and finally get the freedom from fear she's always craved. End of problem.

Or is it?

In Midcity, a dashing police chief is fighting a unique breed of outlaw with more than human powers. And while Justine's first missions, including one against a nymphomaniac husband-killer, are thrilling successes, there is more to Packard than meets the eye. Soon, while battling her attraction to two very different men, Justine is plunging deeper into a world of wizardry, eroticism, and cosmic secrets. With Packard's help, Justine has freed herself
from her madness - only to discover a reality more frightening than anyone's worst fears.







Review

 I liked this read but I didn’t love it. I praise this book for the originality of it and the story is enjoyable to read but the characters just didn’t do it for me. Packard I found just plain irritating, not to mention how he tricked Justine into being part of his team and now her not being able to leave even if she wanted to. I couldn’t believe how everything went down with “Otto” and Justine, though it was a very interesting turn of events that I sure didn’t see coming. Even though I don’t like Packard, I dislike “Otto” even more so I look forward to when the hopefully inevitable happens and Justine hooks up with Packard where she belongs.

The whole idea of taking a person’s weakness and making it their strength I liked a lot and though this read didn’t impress me, I would still consider picking up the next in the series after all I did read this all in one sitting without taking a break, that has to say something positive about this read. Not a bad read by any means and I have hope that I will enjoy the second book more.






Rating: «««

Thursday, July 5, 2012

The Burning Star By Jessie Lane

The Burning Star

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Young Adult


Description:

Can she reach her destiny before tragedy strikes?

The doctors have told Kay that she will die before she reaches her eighteenth birthday. Her mother’s determination to save her life leads them to a move outside of Asheville, NC to a new set of cancer specialists in the hopes to help her. But it’s not what Kay and her Mom find in the doctor’s offices in Asheville that lead them on the journey to save her before time runs out. It’s what Kay finds in the woods outside of Asheville, and an inhumanly gorgeous guy named Ryan, instead.

Myths and fairy tales come to life before Kay’s eyes, bringing her closer to the ultimate cure if she can stay alive long enough to get there. And if the cancer doesn’t kill her before she finds the cure the secrets her mother has hidden from her may be the beginning of the end.









Review 

I’m not a big fan of young adult reads, and too keep my attention throughout it has to be rather brilliant, and I am happy to say this read was just that, brilliant. It surpassed my expectations and took me by surprise. I didn’t see the angle with Kay’s mother Carlie, I thought I had it pegged at Carlie stealing Kay when she as a baby or something along those lines, but I stood corrected. I loved how this story twisted and turned as the truth of Kay started to unfold, information and detail wasn’t thrown at you in large volume which really helped with keeping track of each of the characters and understanding their role in the book. 

I love a good love-triangle and I have to say even though Ryan and Kay have great chemistry I can’t help but be on Nick’s team, there is just something about that werewolf that I keep getting drawn back to. The only negative I have is about the parts of the read with the Kira character, which didn’t keep my interest until towards the end but with that being said, she is one kick-ass character. The ending, to put it mildly was a real cliff-hanger. I was left wanting more, needing more, I have to know what happens next!  All I can say is that the next installment of this series is going to be action packed and I can’t wait to see where this goes.






Rating: ««««

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Male Order By Lillian Grant

Male Order (Reigning Men #1)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Meg’s mother can’t even say the word sex. Her great aunt is a nymphomaniac. The few men she’s slept with left her frustrated. The closest she’s come to sex was as the unwitting visual aid for hot flatmate, Sam’s, cowboy style, wanking session. No wonder her libido went on permanent vacation and she substitutes ice-cream and chocolate for sex.

With so many hang ups, why does she agree to no strings sex with Sam? Why is hunky, strip club manager Michael bent on seducing her? And why the hell does she invest in a male escort business offering extra services?

Sam’s delighted when he convinces Meg to let him go looking for her missing G spot. A ride on his wild stallion shows her how good sex can be…with the right man. One encounter leads to a dozen. Sam is living every man’s dream, sex with no commitment, too bad it’s not his dream.

His new life turns nightmare when Michael enters the scene. Will the Irishman steal her away, or will his involvement in her Male Order business lead to a disaster that gives Sam a chance to prove to Meg their relationship is more than a sexual rodeo?








Review 

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this read but it was brilliant! From start to finish I couldn’t stop reading, I was completely enthralled in the story. I loved the humour throughout the read, you never expect much humour in a steamy erotic read but this had it and it was perfect, the kind of sarcastic humour that I enjoy. The characters we so done, it was great how Meg wasn’t some stick-thin blonde stereotype for hot as all hell Sam to fall for, she was a real woman. Sam and Meg are so perfect together, though Sam’s constant referencing of his favourite member as a “stallion” got a little tiresome, but it was only a small distraction from the read.

I didn’t much like Meg’s friend Laura; she just seemed to be all about herself and getting what she wanted. The whole Aunt Maid and Michael situation was hilarious, when Meg had to go rescue him from her aunt; he sure got what he deserved though. I really loved this; I didn’t want it to end. I could read about Meg and Sam for endless hours on end, not to mention the sizzling steamy scenes between the two. When I found out that there is a second book “Male Review” where the story continues it as a relief, bring it on!






Rating: «««««

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Coveted By Shawntelle Madison

Coveted (Coveted #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

SOMETIMES WHAT YOU COVET IS IMPOSSIBLE TO KEEP.

For werewolf Natalya Stravinsky, the supernatural is nothing extraordinary. What does seem strange is that she’s stuck in her hometown of South Toms River, New Jersey, the outcast of her pack, selling antiques to finicky magical creatures. Restless and recovering from her split with gorgeous ex-boyfriend, Thorn, Nat finds comfort in an unusual place: her obsessively collected stash of holiday trinkets. But complications pile up faster than her ornaments when Thorn returns home—and the two discover that the spark between them remains intense.

Before Nat can sort out their relationship, she must face a more immediate and dangerous problem. Her pack is under attack from the savage Long Island werewolves—and Nat is their first target in a turf war. Toss in a handsome wizard vying for her affection, a therapy group for the anxious and enchanted, and the South Toms River pack leader ready to throw her to the wolves, and it’s enough to give anybody a panic attack. With the stakes as high as the full moon, Nat must summon all of her strength to save her pack and, ultimately, herself.







Review

This book took me by surprise with just how much I loved it. Once I picked up this book and started reading, I didn’t want to put it down, I had to keep reading; I needed to find out how everything was going to unfold and what this book had in store for me and the characters. The main character Natalya I loved, I instantly developed a connection with her, right down to her quirky OCD and hoarding. I don’t recall ever coming across a read where a main character had either of these disorders and that made this read very appealing to me. Thorn bugged me a little with knowing that he wouldn’t be able to be with Natalya due to him being expected to be with Erica, yet he continues to tease Natalya with warm embraces and comforting touches.

Once I realised that I had devoured this read so fast and was down to only the last few pages, I was gutted, would Natalya and Thorn find a way to be together as a couple? Or maybe would Natalya pursue a relationship with Nick? Would Natalya find a way to get into the pack? So many questions, I need to know the answers to! I know one thing for sure though, when the next installment of this series comes out, I’ll be definitely getting a copy as soon as possible.








Rating: ««««

Monday, July 2, 2012

Mia's Cop Craving 2: Double Teamed By Malia Mallory

Mia's Cop Craving 2: Double Teamed (Police Officer Sex Fantasy #2)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Erotica


Description:

Mia is just your normal girl next store with a secret. She can't resist a man in blue! Join Mia as she continues her adventures with sexy police officer Rogan. This time he helps make her ménage à trois fantasy a reality.






Review

 Mia and her naughty fantasies becoming reality continues! I tell you this Mia, she has one dirty mind. Now with her first cop fantasy with Rogan is complete, she has another one that she wishes to be fulfilled, one that would include another man and Rogan is only happy to take it upon himself to see Mia’s wishes come true. Not just any man would be included in this little fantasy come to life though, but Jeff, someone Rogan worked with in the past and boy he is just what the doctor ordered.

I enjoyed this read just as much as I did the first, I think perhaps even just a tad more. It had a few more pages to it than the first which was a great bonus, though it is still a quick read. These little hot reads are just the way I like them, not too crazy, not too over-the top, just perfect. I am loving this author and her fabulously dirty mind, I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next for Mia!







Rating: ««««

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Mia's Cop Craving By Malia Mallory

Mia's Cop Craving (Police Officer Sex Fantasy #1)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Erotica


Description:

Mia is just your normal girl next store with a secret fantasy. She can't resist a man in blue. She's desperate to find a cop of her own and fulfill all her sexual dreams. When Mia finds sexy police officer Rogan, he takes her on a tour of her own sensuality.



Review 

Mia has a fantasy, one involving a sexy cop and all kinds of naughty happenings, but Mia is tired of it only being a fantasy and wants her dreams to become reality and boy does she get it. Rogan is sure one of the hottest cops I think I have ever come across and he and Mia have real chemistry in the bedroom, and out of it.

This book may be short at barely 18 pages, but whew! It sure gets the job done, though I do wish it was longer because it was so well written and satisfied the “smutty” part of my brain. Perfect for those wanting to read a quick steamy hot hit, and for those of us who may have a cop fantasy on the brain. Straight on to reading the second installment, can’t wait to see what Mia is up to in that one and judging by the title “Double Team”, I think I am going to enjoy it just as much as this one.





Rating: ««««