Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Shifted Perspective By J. Bridger

Shifted Perspective (Tails of Change)

*Submitted for review by Author*

Genre:
Young Adult/Paranormal


Description:

Caleb Byrne is a bright high school senior who has enough to deal with between college choices, taking care of his single dad, and dealing with his headstrong girlfriend Joanna and an eccentric set of cousins in California. He was managing to get by until the day he woke up a Cocker Spaniel. Even if it only happens monthly and is more embarrassing than painful, the so-called ability is something that he's anxious to be rid of.

He didn't realize his transformations would drag him into a hidden society of canine and lupine shape shifters as well as a family legacy he hates. To make matters worse, after moving to Los Angeles to learn more about his heritage from his Aunt Moira and his cousin Kalista, Caleb now struggles through life-and-death matters. He keeps angering the werewolves in charge of the shifter world, especially Kalista's boyfriend Peter, the Southern California alpha's son, who also happens to be grade-A sociopath. Worse, Caleb's floundering to keep his secret from Joanna.

While his family offers him some support, they may not be enough as Caleb realizes that the rules in shifter society---number one is supposed to be don't kill humans---are not so ironclad. Some werewolf out there is leaving a blood-soaked trail across the Midwest and it might just be with the alpha's blessing...







Review 

I like the idea of this read, I have never heard of a plot similar to this one before and it intrigued me right from the get go. The first thing that comes to your mind when you think of a shifter is something bad-ass like a werewolf, not so much a cute and cuddly dog. It was neat when Samson the family dog started communicating with Caleb, he had a bit of a sense of humour that dog as well, it added a fun element to the story.

I didn’t particularly care much for a few of the female characters, I didn’t like Joanna or Penny especially, I found them both quite irritating and self-serving. I am interested to know if Caleb will ever get to find his mother and get some more answers, and maybe he will find a girl along the way that isn’t Joanna or Penny who will support him and help him find himself. I feel a tad bad for Peter, even though he is a real jerk, with all he has had to put up with from his family you can understand his harsh behaviour.

Althea turned out to be a surprise, she may be nuts but she sure is crafty. I sense a lot of trouble ahead of Caleb.  I think as a starting off point this wasn't a bad read, it didn't enthral me however but I can see that as this series continues, which I hope it does, it has a lot of potential. If you like a read that is on the quirky side, or are looking for something different to read, then you might want to give this book a try.







Rating: «««

Friday, August 24, 2012

Embrace The Night Eternal By Joss Ware

Embrace the Night Eternal (Envy Chronicles #2)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Simon Japp's violent past will haunt him forever. But when he somehow travels through time to a dark future where civilization is all but destroyed, he sees an opportunity for redemption.

As he becomes familiar with this new, overgrown world of jungle-like cities and overgrown shopping malls, Simon is determined to help the Resistance movement against the immortal Strangers--the repressive, controlling race that has taken over civilization. He can't afford to be distracted, even by the beautiful, soft-spoken woman who haunts his thoughts.

Sage Corrigan is the product of a rigid cult that has militant initiatives to repopulate the world in order to rebuild civilization. She's learned not to trust, but there's something about Simon and his empty, haunted eyes that tug at her heart.

When they must pose as husband and wife to infiltrate the cult, they find that their staged affection is only hiding the real heat boiling beneath the facade....and when Simon must confront his past once again, he must make a decision between what's right...and what his heart desires.








Review

 I enjoyed this one much more than I did the first in the series, I think because the first one was mainly focused on building up information about the new world and how it came to be it was a bit harder to get into, where as with this second installment you get right into the story without having to learn anything to understand what is going on.

Sage as a great character and I found her an easy character to connect with. Simon is just brilliant, he had such deep feelings for Sage but he didn’t want to get in Theo’s way and he didn’t feel he was worthy of her so he kept his distance. The whole Falling Creek situation was messed up! That is one place I would never want to be and I was glad when Sage and Simon finally got out of that place. I felt so bad for Theo in the end, he cared so much for Sage, he loved her but she didn’t feel the same way, I am looking forward to when he does find his happily ever after he really deserves one.

Overall Embrace the Night Eternal exceeded my expectations and thrilled me. The first book left me a little disappointed and dubious about wanting to continue with this series, but after this read I have no hesitation about wanting to read the others sometime soon.







Rating: ««««

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Beyond The Night By Joss Ware

Beyond the Night (Envy Chronicles #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Everything they knew is gone...
From the remnants of devastation, five men emerge with extraordinary new powers. They are humankind's last hope, but they cannot survive this devastated world alone.

When Dr. Elliott Drake emerges from a cave after traveling fifty years through time, the world as he knew it is gone. Cities are overgrown jungles, and what's left of civilization has been repressed by crystal-wearing immortal beings. But even more unsettling: Elliott has acquired an extraordinary ability--the power to heal.

But even that gift, in a world that lacks the technology and infrastructure of his past, is a two-edged sword for Elliott.

Jade Kapiza, who'd been imprisoned by the immortal beings, has been in hiding for years. But now she's determined to help the human race fight back against the control of her captors. She can trust no one...but when Elliott comes into her life, he pushes at her defenses and begins to tear down the walls she's built so carefully.

Yet the mysterious doctor seems to have secrets of his own. Can Jade trust Elliott with her heart, even as they risk their lives to save a band of innocents?

And can Elliott find a new place for himself--a home--in this new, ravaged world?








Review 

This read too a lot of patience and persistence to get into. It started off slow and I eventually just couldn’t go on with it and took a break to read something else before I came back to it and gave it another shot. Thankfully nearing the half-way point into the book, things got more interesting as we found out about the “Strangers” and how the world got all screwed up.

Jade was a kick-ass strong woman which I loved, however I didn’t like how she did kind-of use Luke to try and get things that she needed from him. Using Luke’s want for her to her own advantage isn’t really an appealing character trait, though he turned out to be a major jerk in the end, well he was a jerk even at the start but even more so towards the end so he won’t be getting any sympathy from me.

It was an original read and I did like the apocalyptic aspect of the whole thing. I also enjoyed how some of the characters had a special power or ability. It didn’t meet my expectations and I was left just a little disappointed at how the read started but overall it was a good book and I am fascinated to see what happens in the next installment.






Rating: «««

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Tour Guest Post: Primal Song By Danica Avet



Guest Post: Casting Call
Casting Call for Primal Song

Hey y’all, I’m Danica Avet, author of Primal Song. When this topic came up, I nearly had a heart attack. Why don’t you ask an easy question? Like how to cure the common cold? I have a hard time deciding who should represent my characters when I’m filling out cover art questionnaires. Being given the chance to build my dream cast if my book ever became a movie is blowing my mind.
But I’ll give it a shot anyway.

Deputy Daisy Picou, bear shifter and closet metal-head, is the heroine of the story. If I had to pick someone to play her, it would probably be Jennifer Connelly.

Ramsey “Ram” Reinhardt, the lion shifting lead sing of the heavy metal band Saber, is one of my favorite heroes I’ve written. He doesn’t quit. He’s also sexy as all hell so I’d have to make Joe Mangeniello play Ram.

Monk Badeaux is Daisy’s nemesis. He’s a cougar shifter who broke her cousin’s heart years ago. He’s also responsible for bringing Ram into Daisy’s life, so she can’t hate him completely, right? I’d make sure he was played by Matthew McConaughey. It’s the dimples and blond hair. They both have it.

Nick Gamble, Saber’s lead guitarist and tiger shifter, would have to be played by Jake Glyllenhaal. I think he could pull off a Mohawk, what do you think?

Craig Gamble, Saber’s rhythm guitarist and Nick’s younger brother, could be played by Ryan Gosling. Craig’s not as hardcore as Nick is.

Trick Romero, Saber’s bass player and panther shifter, would have to be played by Vin Diesel. He’s the lady killer of the band with the bad luck to have those same ladies turn stalker on him. Poor panther.

Leland Smith, Saber’s drummer and lynx shifter, is a cocky little guy. I think Ethan Hawke would be  perfect fit for Leland.



Title: Primal Song
Author: Danica Avet
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Length: 139 pages
Sub-Genres: Paranormal, Shifter

Blurb:

Deputy Daisy Picou is not impressed when Ram Reinhardt prowls into town all rock star swagger and big cat ego. She’s been burned by a lion before and has no intention of playing the fool twice. But with one scorching glance the mating frenzy ignites and passion trumps reason. An intense first encounter levels Daisy’s reservations—and most of her living room. And she’s not so sure she minds.
Ram Reinhardt has burned through and brushed aside just about every adrenaline-inducing thrill life’s thrown at him. But Daisy sets the gold standard for a premium rush. Her combative personality should turn him off, but every time they fight they end up in bed, or on the floor, or against a wall—and the sex is always more combustible than the time before. And he’s not about to give that up. Ever.



EXCERPT


Something banged on the front porch of the house, rousing her from her self-pity. It wasn’t a stealthy sound, but more like someone was trying to figure out how to get inside and didn’t care if anyone heard them. Daisy pulled her service pistol out of the belt she’d left coiled on her nightstand. Some women kept lotions and sleeping masks or even books on their nightstands. Daisy left her gun and enough ammo to start a small war. She climbed out of bed and toyed with the idea of getting dressed before she went to check on the noise, but another scraping sound prodded her into moving. She did throw a robe over her naked body and loosely tied it, not wanting to wave her girl parts at a potential burglar. Slipping through her house on silent feet, she wondered if one of the strangers in town had decided to try their luck at burglarizing a few houses. It was rare, but it did happen. Adrenaline and a tinge of fear washed through her as she made her way in the direction of the sound. Those were definitely scraping, scratching sounds, as if someone was using a lock pick to open the door. Heart pounding in her chest, she eased to the window beside the front door and peeked out. And blinked. There was a lion on her porch. A huge friggin’ beast with a thick, dark mane and the kind of fangs that belonged on the Discovery Channel. He had one paw on her front door and she watched in stunned disbelief as he tried picking her lock with one carefully extended claw. The only lion shifter she was aware of in the area was the musician, but it made no sense for him to be here. What was he planning to do? Break in her house and sing at her? She bit back a snort. She wasn’t afraid of any big cat. Being a bear had its benefits, mainly that she outweighed most males in her animal form, but her bear wasn’t even fazed by this unexpected visit. In fact, it wanted to come out right now, not to attack, but to play. It thought the idea of a lion trying to break into their territory a great way to end the evening. Daisy sniffed deeply, drawing the scent of cat through the door and knew it was the musician. Beneath that wild, musky cat scent was a hint of the same male she’d been trying not to think about since she left the fairgrounds. Shit. What was he doing here? She breathed deep again, trying to figure out his frame of mind. Was he pissed that she left the performance? She almost snorted at the thought. That would take listener satisfaction a little too far. But he smelled hot and agitated. Her head swam as something else filtered through her senses, making her body feel sluggish again. Her lower body throbbed with want, her nipples tightened into near-painful points. She was getting turned-on. Seriously turned-on because she could feel dampness on her thighs as her moisture seeped from her channel. He growled. The low, deep rumble sent a bolt of excitement straight to her clit and she gasped. She reached for the door, not sure if she planned to tell him to get away, or invite him in. She wanted more than she ever had before, but he wasn’t what she needed, right? Only an idiot would open the door to a male who would use her and leave her. Apparently her horniness dropped her IQ by several points because she undid the lock and turned the knob. But she’d waited too long and the lion had gotten tired of trying to pick the lock. The instant Daisy swung open the door, two paws landed on her chest, taking her to the floor. The gun bounced out of her hand, sliding across the tile where it bumped up against the leg of a table. Five hundred pounds of big cat was a lot and it took a few minutes for Daisy to get her wind back. She wanted to curse when she did. If he was a serial stalker or something, she’d just lost her weapon and given him the dominant position. She was a fucking genius. Hot, panting breath that carried the unmistakable scent of alcohol wafted over her face. Squinting against the hurricane of air, she saw the lion staring down at her with serious, yet slightly unfocused amber eyes. “Get off of me,” she said calmly, even if part of her wanted to demand he shift and fuck her. Now. He didn’t go away. In fact, he put his big paws to either side of her shoulders, effectively caging her in between his limbs. Her heart thundered as he lowered his head. Just when she thought he was ready to shift and take care of the need burning through her, he licked from her chin to her forehead, his rough tongue abrading her skin. “Ew! That’s disgusting!” This was not what her pussy had hoped for when she opened the door. She tried to roll away from him, but he caught her shoulder with his paw and ran his velvety muzzle along her cheek. The rumbling purr that vibrated from his chest rattled her bones. The coarse hair of his mane tickled her face and neck as he continued rubbing against her like a giant kitten. His tongue snuck out, lapping at the side of her neck. It was one of her sensitive spots and she jumped with a giggle. Shit. She was supposed to be some badass cop and she was letting some strange cat tickle her. “Stop it,” she ordered in a quivery voice he paid no mind to. With his scent surrounding her, Daisy’s body heated until it felt as if she’d burst into flames. Her heart thumped. Oh God, she’d just spent hours talking herself out of doing something stupid like throwing herself at him and now he was in her house licking her. She panted as he went for the hypersensitive spot behind her ear. Instinct demanded she participate in this madness. She reached up to the warm body hovering over her. The instant she touched his velvety coat, his fur faded away leaving nothing but warm, golden skin behind. Paws became hands on either side of her and the mane disappeared, but the slightly rough texture of his tongue remained as he came down on top of her. “Oh God,” Daisy gasped when he tested her skin with his teeth. “Ram.” She shook her head as the light coating of hair on his chest abraded her nipples, sending electric shocks straight to her aching core. “Huh?” she mumbled when his tongue danced over her collarbone. “My name is Ram.” “Uh-huh, do that again.” His hot breath washed over her skin as he repeated the little love bite at the base of her throat. “I’d like to know your name in return,” he whispered against her skin. Shivering from his erotic bite, Daisy whimpered her name. If he didn’t get this show on the road, she’d come without him and then she’d do as bears did and hibernate the rest of the night. A big, hair-roughened knee slid between her thighs. Thighs that parted without any hesitation, making Daisy’s face burn with embarrassment. Was she so easy she’d just let some strange cat fuck her in the entryway of her home?




Buy Links:

Ellora's Cave: http://www.jasminejade.com/p-10237-primal-song.aspx

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Primal-Song-Cajun-Heat-ebook/dp/B008SEBBDK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1344464493&sr=8-1&keywords=primal+song

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/primal-song-danica-avet/1112392569?ean=9781419941085

All Romance E-Books: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-primalsong-906332-340.html


About The Author:

Danica Avet was born and raised in the wilds of South Louisiana where mosquitoes are big enough to carry off small children and there are only two seasons: hot and hotter. With a BA in History, she figured there were enough fry cooks in the world and decided to try her hand at writing.
Danica is the lucky pet of a compulsively needy dog and two cats. The pitter-patter of little feet has been known to make her break out into a cold sweat.
Writing is how she gives the voices in her head a way out. When she isn’t writing, working or contemplating the complexities of the universe, she spends time gathering inspiration from her insane family, reads far more than any sane person would want to, and watches hot burly men chase an oblong ball all over a field.

Author Links:

Email: danica.avet@gmail.com
Website: http://danicaavet.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DanicaAvet
Twitter: www.twitter.com/@danicaavet

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Stolen Fury By Elisabeth Naughton

Stolen Fury (Stolen Trilogy #1)

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Description:

To unearth a centuries-old secret, an archaeologist must team up with the rakish thief who’s stolen both an ancient relic and her heart…

Oh, is he handsome. And charming. And sexy as all get out. Dr. Lisa Maxwell isn’t the type to go home with a guy she barely knows. But, hey, this is Italy and the red-blooded Rafe Sullivan seems much more enticing than cataloging a bunch of dusty artifacts.

After being fully seduced, Lisa wakes to an empty bed and, worse yet, an empty safe. She’s staked her career as an archaeologist on collecting the three Furies, a priceless set of ancient Greek reliefs. Now the one she had is gone. But Lisa won’t just get mad. She’ll get even.

She tracks Rafe to Florida, and finds the sparks between them blaze hotter than the Miami sun. He may still have her relic, but he’ll never find all three without her. And they’re not the only ones on the hunt. To beat the other treasure seekers, they’ll have to partner up—because suddenly Lisa and Rafe are in a race just to stay alive.






Review


Plenty of adventure and twists and turns to keep you interested, not to mention a few steamy scenes to keep things perky. I liked Lisa, she was not one to be messed with and I loved how when she figured out what Rafe had done she didn’t just give up and go home, she was determined to get back what was hers and make him regret ever screwing with her. Rafe started off as such a jerk and a scum ball but throughout the read you learn more about him and why he does what he does, it makes you see him in a different light.

Although I did like the read, I was hoping for more and I couldn’t really get into the story, the finding the lost Furies and all. I was more interested in reading about the relationship between Lisa and Rafe developing. I am however looking forward to knowing if something will develop further in the series between Lisa’s brother Shane and Rafe’s ex-wife Hailey, she is a spit-fire and a character I really enjoyed in this read.


Rating: «««

Friday, August 10, 2012

Jacked By Raven Morris

Jacked (Tied With a Bow #1)

Genre: Erotica

Description:

Take, for instance, Jack and Debra. Happily married, everything is right in their world. They do it for each other and can’t imagine being happier. But Jack has a past. Oh, Debra knows about it—and she’s curious. So when a friend from Jack’s past blows into town, Jack decides to give both himself and his wife a gift.

This book contains content considered unsuitable for young readers 17 and under, and which may be offensive to some readers of all ages.





Review

I have three words for this little number, pure smutty goodness. This short read starts off with a bang from the get go, right into a sizzling hot scene between Jack and Debra. You get a little bit of story in between the steamy scenes but in the end this read is all about the heat. Things get even more heated when Jack’s friend David enters the picture, a present for Debra on her birthday, something she has always wanted and as a bonus, something Jack himself has also been keen on doing.

I had never read anything by this author beforehand but all I know is she sure knows how to write steam; it wasn’t overly cheesy or full of unbelievable situations. There’s not much more to say really, just that if you enjoy a short smutty read like myself, then this might just be one for you.






Rating: ««««


Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Crux By Moira Rogers

Crux (Southern Arcana #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

To find her destiny, she must trust him with her life…and her heart.
Jackson Holt makes a decent living as a private investigator in New Orleans, home of one of the largest underground supernatural populations in the United States. He and his partners have never met a case they couldn’t crack…until a local bar owner asks him to do a little digging on her newest hire.

New Orleans is the fourth destination in as many months for Mackenzie Brooks, a woman on the run from a deranged stalker. After all, any man who shows up on her doorstep claiming to be her destined lover has more than a few screws loose. But crazy doesn’t explain why he always finds her no matter how far she runs.

When her well-meaning boss puts a PI on her case, Mackenzie comes face to face with the incredible truth: magic is real, and whatever spell has kept her hidden and separate from the paranormal world is rapidly deteriorating.

With time running out, she has no choice but to trust Jackson as he struggles to uncover the truth of her past—and her destiny.

Warning: This book contains devious schemes, epic battles, forbidden love between a shapeshifter and a spellcaster, nosy secondary characters, furniture-endangering sex and a woman fighting to choose her own destiny.








Review

This read is the perfect blend of paranormal romance meets urban fantasy. I really enjoyed Mackenzie as a character, her vulnerability didn’t come across as helplessness which I liked and towards the end she came into her own and embraced what she was. I loved Jackson, he had a spark about him that I just couldn’t get enough of and he and Mackenzie together are dynamite. I wasn’t expecting to twist with Marcus to happen, I started off wanting this guy to get his butt-kicked and what was coming to him, but he turned out to be just a pawn in a sick plan of a man obsessed with want he wants.

The way this was written flowed so well and made it easy to keep up with the story, however with quite a handful of other characters popping up here and there, it was a little tricky to keep track of them all. I don’t really know how to rate this one, at the start it was pretty average but towards the end half things got really interesting and I couldn’t stop reading. I would give this book three and a half stars bordering very close to four stars.






Rating: «««

Monday, August 6, 2012

Changing The Game By Jaci Burton

Changing the Game (Play by Play #2)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Most people play by the rules. Gavin and Liz aren't most people....

Win at any cost. That's always been the mantra of sports agent Liz Darnell. When she carries things too far and risks losing her number-one client, baseball pro Gavin Riley, Liz realizes that she'll have to work extra innings to win him back. It might not be too much of a stretch. She's had a thing for this player's moves since she first laid eyes on him, and by the looks of it, he wants her just as bad.

Gavin's more than ready—especially when Liz is offering herself as part of the bargain. And as much of her as Gavin wants. For added thrills, he decides to throw a little curve ball Liz's way to see just how far she's truly willing to go to keep him as a client. But when love unexpectedly enters the playing field, neither Liz nor Gavin are ready for the biggest game-changer of them all.








Review

With everything that went down in the first book, I wasn’t a fan of Elizabeth, not one bit. I found her selfish and cold but in this read you get insight into why the way she is and I started to warm up to her. Who was the biggest jerk of all in this read? Mick. He was so harsh toward Elizabeth, fair enough she  hurt him and hurt the ones he loved, but she paid her dues and he still continued to attack her over it every chance he got, ignoring if it came at the detriment of Gavin and his feelings for her. I’m just glad that Mick finally saw past his anger and turned back into the Mick that I knew in the first read, not the spiteful one he started off as in here.  Granted, Mick wasn’t the only one who acted like a jerk in this; Gavin had his moments and filled his share of the jerk quota.

The steam in this read was some of the hottest I have read in a while and there was quite a lot of it, which I didn’t mind one bit of course.  We get more of an insight into Mick and Gavin’s sister Jenna in this one, she added a nice spark to the read in the few scenes she was in and I can’t wait to read about her in the next book.





Rating:««««

Friday, August 3, 2012

18+ Book Blogger Follow

03.08.2012
 
 
 
 
 
 
Question of the Week


"Please share three books that are in your review pile (and unread) right now"
 
 
 
I am really looking forward to getting to read these three from my review pile, which keeps growing. So many books I want to read and buy, not enough hours in the day. 
 
 


I finally managed to get my hands on a copy of Veil Of Midnight by Lara Adrian a couple of weeks ago and I love the cover. The Envy Chronicles books by Joss Ware have been on my to-buy list for a while so when I saw them I had to get them and add them to my ever growing pile of books that I need to read and review, so I am hoping they live up to my expectations!





 

Wednesday, August 1, 2012

The Good, The Bad And The Undead By Kim Harrison

The Good, The Bad and The Undead (The Hollows #2)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

It's a tough life for witch Rachel Morgan, sexy, independent bounty hunter, prowling the darkest shadows of downtown Cincinnati for criminal creatures of the night.

She can handle the leather-clad vamps and even tangle with a cunning demon or two. But a serial killer who feeds on the experts in the most dangerous kind of black magic is definitely pushing the limits.

Confronting an ancient, implacable evil is more than just child's play - and this time, Rachel will be lucky to escape with her very soul.







Review


 I was slightly disappointed when the book started off with Rachel and Nick already a couple, in the first book it as obvious they had a connection but I wish we had gotten to read about that connection develop further and them progressing into a relationship. Nick and Rachel make a great couple, though he really needs to stop messing with the demon, that is going to cause some kind of disaster in future without a doubt. I can’t help but find Ivy so infuriatingly annoying! Though she didn’t deserve what Piscary did to her and hopefully now that she is free of his influence over her, she will stop trying to screw over Rachel and trying to bite her, the whole biting thing was really getting old.

Learning about Rachel’s unknown connection to Trent was interesting and I am looking forward to see where the two will go from here, nothing good I would imagine and the deal Rachel made with Al the demon is bound to have some serious consequences. Over all this was an alright read, it didn’t enthral me and I did have to push myself to get it finished but I will continue on with the rest in the series but probably not anytime soon.





Rating: «««