Saturday, September 29, 2012

Blood Of Luna By Maya DeLeina

Blood of Luna (My Naughty Vampire Series #1)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Description:

When is it real? When is it fantasy?

For Luna Kalen, the line between reality and a dream is hard to recognize.

Recovering from a car accident, the solitude at the coast is meant to be therapeutic. But Luna soon finds it more than her idle mind can handle.

After exploring a dangerous stretch of shoreline, Luna returns home with a mysterious man she discovers in a cave. Little does Luna know that this man is about to fill her world with sinful pleasures…and blood-thirsty vampires.

When reality and fantasy collide, unimaginable dangers lurk, revelations are revealed, and darkest desires are fulfilled.

But if you think the happily ever after is the sign of the ending, it’s really only the beginning.

Should Luna have listened to the warning?

Do not go into the cave.







Review


This was a romance with plenty of twists and turns, a bit of a spooky edge and not to mention lots of steamy scenes that make you want a man like Trevor in your life. The scene with the “rubber” men was quite freaky, I don’t think I have ever found a read that actually unnerved me a little bit as this one did in that scene and to find out what they actually were was quite sad.

I wasn’t quite sure where the read was going at the start with the Prologue, starting off with Luna and Renny, then the entire read being about Trevor and Luna, but once you reach the very end you get enlightened to the whole situation. I did not see the ending panning out the way it did; the truth unravelling and everything being revealed as to the story behind Trevor and Luna’s connection, then the whole story got turned on its head yet again in the Epilogue!
 
The way this author writes is so smooth and enthralling; the whole story flows so perfectly and always keeps you guessing. It was a tough decision trying to rate this one, but I have decided on three and a half stars bordering very close to four stars.
 
 
 
 
Rating: «««

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Guest Post: J. Bridger

Why We Love Supernatural Romances



I think that it's no secret paranormal romances are hot and not just as in "spicy and steamy." I meant more that it's become a popular topic. You can see that since Twiilght really reinvigorated that genre, that it's become all the rage in young adult literature. I know that it was a definite constant also in more adult fair. I think that there is a lot to be said for Laurel K. Hamilton and Anita Blake for that also staying popular in Urban Fantasy/Paranormal there as well.

I also think that there's a very specific type of romance that can appeal to readers: the will they/won't they ever share in the Big Secret.

Twilight has a bit of that element. It does take Bella confronting Edward before he confesses. She has to notice a stopped and dented truck to get that. I think it's a trope that comes up over and over. Moonlight, Charmed, the first few episode of Buffy, the first season of Teen Wolf and of Big Wolf on Campus, most of Smallville, and on and on it goes. The new incarnation of Beauty and the Beast about to air on CW even plays that tried and true "What's going on with them, really?" question.

I think we should get tired of it by now, the "So what he or she has a mystical, paranormal, earth-shattering secret, why can't they just tell the person he or she loves?"
Honestly, I think that most examples I can think of or name, that the bulk of them didn't have the significant other in the dark freak out or permanently reject the other for being different. It should be something people can share and we don't have to deal with that trope any longer.

Except...

It is because, deep down, we all have a secret self, something about us we hate and try to keep from others. Of course, it's usually not that we drink blood or sprout fur and fangs during the full moon, but, to us, it's just as big and overwhelming. There will always be that chance we'll share that secret side of ourselves and be rejected, left alone. So we want to see it play out over and over; we want to hope for that happy ending. If monsters and other beings can be loved even for their differences, maybe, just maybe we can too.



Shifted Perspective by J. Bridger

Caleb Byrne is a bright high school senior who has enough to deal with between college choices, taking care of his single dad, and dealing with his headstrong girlfriend Joanna and an eccentric set of cousins in California. He was managing to get by until the day he woke up a Cocker Spaniel. Even if it only happens monthly and is more embarrassing than painful, the so-called ability is something that he's anxious to be rid of.

He didn't realize his transformations would drag him into a hidden society of canine and lupine shape shifters as well as a family legacy he hates. To make matters worse, after moving to Los Angeles to learn more about his heritage from his Aunt Moira and his cousin Kalista, Caleb now struggles through life-and-death matters. He keeps angering the werewolves in charge of the shifter world, especially Kalista's boyfriend Peter, the Southern California alpha's son, who also happens to be grade-A sociopath. Worse, Caleb's floundering to keep his secret from Joanna.

While his family offers him some support, they may not be enough as Caleb realizes that the rules in shifter society---number one is supposed to be don't kill humans---are not so ironclad. Some werewolf out there is leaving a blood-soaked trail across the Midwest and it might just be with the alpha's blessing...
 
 
 
 
 

Saturday, September 22, 2012

18+ Book Blogger Follow

 
 
Question of the Week?
 
 
"What book are you currently in the middle of? Not 'just finished', I want to hear about what you're currently deep into and your thoughts on it right now. Loving it, not so much, or mixed feelings, maybe? Get it all out, sometimes how we feel about a book in the middle is totally different then how we feel at the end. It will be interesting to hear about it now and then go back to check out everyone's reviews later!"
 
 
 
At the moment I have two books on the go, firstly is the second in the "Kowalski Family" series by Shannon Stacey which I am loving! As soon as I finished the first in the series ( my review for the first, Exclusively Yours can be found here ) I ordered this one and so far I have not been disappointed! I just love the way this author writes and the characters just leap off the page. There are not enough words to describe how much I am enjoying these books.
 
 
 
 
The second book I am reading is Angel's Blood by Nalini Singh. I am liking it so far, but it hasn't really captured me just yet. I am hoping it will pick up soon and be one of those "I can't put it down" type reads. Will just have to wait and see how this one pans out for me as I have heard great things about the series.

 



 

Thursday, September 20, 2012

Exclusively Yours By Shannon Stacey

Exclusively Yours (Kowalski Family #1)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

When Keri Daniels' editor finds out she has previous carnal knowledge of reclusive bestselling author Joe Kowalski, she gives Keri a choice: get an interview or get a new job.

Joe's never forgotten the first girl to break his heart, so he's intrigued to hear Keri's back in town--and looking for him. Despite his intense need for privacy, he'll grant Keri an interview if it means a chance to finish what they started in high school.

He proposes an outrageous plan--for every day she survives with his family on their annual camping and four-wheeling trip, Keri can ask one question. Keri agrees; she's worked too hard to walk away from her career.

But the chemistry between them is still as potent as the bug spray, Joe's sister is out to avenge his broken heart and Keri hasn't ridden an ATV since she was ten. Who knew a little blackmail, a whole lot of family and some sizzling romantic interludes could make Keri reconsider the old dream of Keri & Joe 2gether 4ever.







Review 

Wow, this book is so close to perfection. Not only do you get the complex rekindling of a past relationship between the main characters Keri and Joe, but you also get snippets of the other members of the Kowalski clan and their relationship highs and lows. I fell in love with all of the characters and I enjoyed reading this so much from start to finish, this read blew me away.

I loved Keri and it really spoke to the strength of her morals that she didn’t sell Joe out to her boss even when her career depended on it. Joe was just making me swoon at every turn, not to mention the steamy scene before him and Keri parted ways was something to behold. Even though I usually like a romance read with a bit more smut, in this read I didn’t mind the minimal amount at all, I didn’t miss the smut one bit. The storylines and characters were more than enough to keep me interested and into the read.

Lisa and Mike’s troubles were so heartbreaking, always questioning if the other really did love them or not because of the circumstances that they came to be married, it was such a touching moment when Mike gave Lisa her birthday gift, they make such a lovely pair. Terry was so harsh when it came to Joe wanting to be with Keri, I just wanted her to butt out of it and mind her own business! But seeing her suffer with what she was going through with her own marriage, having it slip through her fingers and her feeling so helpless, it just made me feel for her and look past all her bad behaviour.

There is some great humour in this read as well, which is great for when things get emotional and intense in the read, a break with a bit of humour is just what you need. I have to say little Bobby just had me smiling at so many points in the read, bless his heart, say cheese! I couldn’t get enough of this book, as soon as I finished it I went and ordered the second and I am confident that I will love it just as much as I did this one.







Rating:«««««

Monday, September 17, 2012

Blood Spirit Blitz

 
 
Title:  Blood Spirit (Sons of Navarus #3)
Author:  Gabrielle Bisset
Sub-Genres: Paranormal, Erotic, Vampire
 

BLURB:
I am everything you seek. I am vampire.  Blessed with the gift of telepathy, Terek always knows what a woman wants. His gift has afforded him nightly sensual pleasures and exotic treats for centuries, but beneath the surface he yearns for much more.  Ilona can give him what his soul craves, but only if he trusts his heart. One fateful choice made out of desire puts all he cares for in danger. With a civil war and the threat of Archon hunters at every turn, this Son may lose everything if he can't find the balance between heart and mind. 
 
 
 
EXCERPT:
 
Ilona sighed. "Terek, I don't seem to be like any of your other vampires."
She was right. 
"I have thousands of vampires, Ilona. You've just seen the ones who live here."
"Are they all women?"
Shaking his head, he laughed. "No. Not all of them. Does that matter?"
He saw it did matter by the way her bottom lip quivered ever so slightly. "Ilona, what's wrong?"
She closed her eyes and turned away so he couldn't see her face. "I've never been like this. I don't know what's wrong with me. I barely know you and my head tells me I have every reason to hate you. I know this. But I'm consumed by jealousy at the thought of you with these women and thousands I haven't even met."
Terek stared silently at her, unsure of what to say. It was perfectly natural she would be attracted to him. Vampires were sensual beings, and the pull of a sire to a vampire was common. Everything she was experiencing was exactly as it should be. 
Before he could tell her this, she turned toward him. "I don't want to feel this way toward someone who doesn't feel anything for me."
The shame in her voice bothered him. Why did she think he felt nothing for her?
"I care about you as I care for all my vampires."
That wasn't exactly the truth. In fact, he cared much more for her after only such a short time. 
"Chattel. Or worse, as a plaything. Somehow you've made me care for you, and I'm simply the latest addition to your collection."
"Ilona, you're not a plaything or part of a collection. I didn't choose to sire you. You were dying because of another vampire's choice and begged me to save you."
"Even worse then. I'm a mistake you're saddled with."
Terek winced at the pain of her words. Mistake. She believed she was unwanted and unloved. She had no idea the effect she had on him and how much he struggled against the growing feelings for her inside him. 
He let his desire control him and leaned toward her, taking her in his arms. A need to feel her mouth yielding to his overtook him, and he kissed her hard, needing her to understand how much he wanted her. 
But she didn't yield. Instead, she met his desire with her own, snaking her tongue past his lips to tease the tip of his tongue. Such a common act he'd experienced countless times before with women now excited him more than he could believe, and his cock sprang to life, pressing hard against his hipbone. 
She tasted like some exotic fruit Jasmine seldom found at the market—a treat he rarely got to enjoy but relished so much more when he could. She clung to him by the neck as she pressed her body to his, leaving him in no doubt as to what she wanted. 
He wanted it too. 
"Ilona..." He stopped, unsure what he'd wanted to say as she slid her hand down the front of his pants. 
Looking at him, her eyes wide, she said, "No, don't say anything. I need this. I don't want to think about who you are with the others. Even if you have to pretend, then pretend. Just let me have something about being a vampire that brings me happiness."
Her hand felt like silk as she slid it up and down his stiff cock, grazing the tip just enough to make his hips come up off the bed. His mind was nowhere else but right there with her. 
Groaning his desire for more, he tugged a fistful of hair, pulling her head so she looked into his eyes. "No pretending."
 
 
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
 
An avid reader of all types of books, I read my first romance even before I was a teenager. I must have been a very precocious young lady! I still remember the book, if not the title. It was about a Southern man during the years before the Civil War and his illicit affair with one of the slaves of a woman he "frequented". I remember vividly reading the word "manhood" often in the book, and the slave's name was Sukie. Isn't it amazing what the mind can remember?  Fast forward a couple dozen years and I'm a college history instructor. I still love history as much as that romantic young woman did, so I teach it to college students, and the romantic streak has never gone away. Now I get to do things that have to do with my other favorite love: romance novels. 
 
The idea for my first book came to me in a dream. I know that seems almost cliched, but it did. I woke up one morning after having an extremely vivid dream and began to jot things down that I was able to remember. Days later, I had the first pages written and the ideas that I had dreamed about had become the characters in my first book. Those characters are the basis for the first series I've written, The Destined Ones Series, about a people called Aeveren who have lived side by side with humans since almost the beginning of recorded time. The first book in that series, Stolen Destiny, was published in June 2011. 
 
I'm still working on The Destined Ones books, and I look forward to what my imagination has waiting for me next. The second book about Aeveren, Destiny Redeemed, was released in October 2011. I've finished the Victorian Erotic Romance Trilogy, three erotic novellas set in Victorian England. The first one, Vampire Dreams, is a paranormal erotic romance. The second novella, another erotic romance but an historical, Love's Master, involves some light BDSM. The third novella, Masquerade, is a straight historical, no kink or paranormal but still a great story. 
 
And now I've begun a new paranormal romance series called The Sons of Navarus series that begins with Blood Avenged. Anyone who read Vampire Dreams will remember Vasilije, Brandon's sire. Blood Avenged is his story. The second book in the series, Blood Betrayed, was released in May 2012, and this fall 2012 the third book, Blood Spirit, will be released. Since there are eight men in the Sons, I've got a good number of delicious heroes to write before it's all over. 
 
After that? Well, I'm in the planning stages of another trilogy, this time maybe novel length. But one thing's for sure: no matter what the story is, it will involve gorgeous, Alpha male heroes, strong heroines, and steamy romance!
 

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Tour Guest Post/Giveaway: Hybrid's Love By Seraphina Donavan

 
 
Guest Post
 
 
Torturing your characters for the greater good.....
 
What do you do when everything you know turns out to be a lie?  Most of us can relate to this in a small way--a lover who turned out to be not who he said he was, that job that sounded so great in the interview and on paper that turned out to be a total drudge!  It happens.  What you see is not always what you get. 
 
In “Hybrid’s Love”, Wren Marlowe faces this on a grand scale.  Not only were her parents not her parents, the hot guy in front of her isn’t really a guy, and the psychosis and delusions she’d been diagnosed with were, in fact, real memories... and oh, by the way, she’s not human either.  As an author, we torture our characters, but I might have put Wren through the ringer a little more than necessary.  My apologies!
 
To be fair, yes, I made her not human.  But I gave her awesome psychic powers to make up for it.  And her life on this planet might have been pretty sucky, but when she winds up on a space ship with two hot “guys” who have genetically enhanced equipment and sex drives... Well, let’s just say I made up for a lot of things! 
 
Hybrid’s Love was a labor of love for me.  I love SciFi and the traditional hero on a quest model of most SciFi movies and books.  I also love Erotica, and this was the perfect opportunity for me to marry the two.  I hope you all enjoy Wren’s story and her erotic journey with Kyr. 
 
 
 
 
 

Kyr Nivarre has devoted his life to the Core 7 Alliance despite the fact that the genetically engineered mate who had been destined solely for him had been taken from him. When he finds Wren, he knows instantly that she is the one he has been searching for, and he will do whatever is necessary to protect her and make her his.

Wren Marlow is suddenly thrust into the unusual situation of not being the crazy one. Her whole life she's seen and known things that she shouldn't have and all it had ever done was get her slapped with a bunch of labels by shrinks. Now, a gorgeous alien, calling himself a hybrid, tells her that not only is she not crazy, she's like him... that they were genetically engineered to be perfect for one another.

The threats are coming from all sides and all they can do is cling to one another. But can Wren really accept this life that seems so foreign to her and this man who claims to be her destiny? What will happen when Wren discovers that Kyr's former lovers are not women, but the very men he serves with?

 
 
 
 
 
 `~Giveaway~`
 
 
 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, September 12, 2012

The Immortal Rules By Julie Kagawa

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)

Genre: Young Adult

Description:

"In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity."Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of "them." The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked--and given the ultimate choice. Die...or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend--a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn't easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what--and who--is worth dying for.







Review 

This read far exceeded my expectations. It started off a little slow, but once the story started to get going and kick into gear, it was near impossible to put this book down, I needed to keep reading to find out how this all ended. The story flowed so well and I thought it was perfect how the book was divided into sections as Allison’s life took different turns and her situations changed.

I loved Allison right from the start, she is strong and fierce, she is a fighter. Allison faced so much heartache, with her friends being killed and then someone she had protected and cared for turning their back on her, she just kept getting bad things happening to her time after time. Kanin is still a bit of a mystery to me, I think we still have so much more to learn about him and we are really left hanging at the end of the read with wondering if Allison will ever find him.

Zeke was another of my favourite characters in this, he may have doubted Allison when he found out what she was but once he learned about her true nature and trusted his instincts they made a great pair. I am hoping so badly that in the next book they get reunited, they are too good a match to be lost to each other forever. A fantastic start to the series and I have such high expectations for the next installment, I can just tell that I won’t be let down. I would give this read four and a half stars, I really enjoyed it.







Rating: ««««

Monday, September 10, 2012

Double Vision By Cassandra Carr

Double Vision (Buffalo Intimidators #3) 

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Everything Red knew about relationships is called into question when he stumbles upon his roommate Fredrik and his girlfriend Liz going at it hot and heavy and Liz invites him to join them. Struggling with recovering from a knee injury, the young defenseman doesn't know what to make of his attraction to Liz--after all, she's his teammate's woman, right?

As an older player, Fredrik's been around the rink a time or ten, and he knows he has an awesome thing going with Liz. He envisions a future with her, but isn't sure how their interludes with Red fit into the long-term picture.

Liz thinks Fredrik's her forever-guy, but her sudden attraction to Red is causing doubts. The more they play together in the bedroom, the more their outside lives--and emotions-- become entangled. When the unthinkable happens, all three must take a hard look at what they want and make some surprising decisions in the process.








Review

 This may just be my favourite Buffalo Intimidators installment yet. Each of the characters appealed to me, especially Red, he is such a sweetheart. I couldn’t blame Liz for the feeling she had for him, when Red acted so genuinely adorable with the lost dog he had me swooning. Red may be the more immature out of the three in the ménage but he more than makes up for it in heart. I liked how Liz was the initiator of sorts for a ménage relationship and how Fredrik was willing to do whatever he could to help fulfil Liz’s fantasies.

Fredrick is like the glue holding all three of them together, helping Red find the confidence to be comfortable as part of a ménage, while keeping Liz strong and feeling loved. Though I do have to say, I would have liked to see some Red and Fredrik action.

I could have read more and more from these three, the pages just flew by, and it ended a bit too soon for my liking. I would have liked to have read about Red going back to see his family and how they would have taken the relationship. A ménage can be written badly, it can be written well or it can be done the Cassandra Carr way, which is just the way I like it. I would give this read four and a half stars.




  Rating: ««««

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Promo Post: The Last Degree By Dina Rae



The Last Degree

Title: The Last Degree
Series: Book #1
Author: Dina Rae
Genre: Action, Adventure, Crime, Paranormal, Political, Suspense, Thriller, Christian.
Publisher: Dina Rae
Ebook
93,000 words.


Purchase link: Amazon $1.99

Description:

The Last Degree is a fictionalized account of how Freemasons and other secret societies set up the world for takeover. Ancient writings foretell a ‘Shining One’ who emerges as the world’s prophet. A murder of a Most Worshipful mason resembles a secret oath. A cop gets too close to solving the crime. Paranoid preppers go underground, preparing for war.


Headlines such as the Norway massacre, meltdown of the European Union, unscrupulous media, animal die-offs, Middle Eastern unrest, and U.S. shrinking power make the plot relevant to present day. This book is an ode to Christians, Birthers, 2012ers, Truthers, preppers, and/or other conspiracy junkies who enjoy Dan Brown, Jesse Ventura, Brad Meltzer, Alex Jones, Jerry Jenkins and Tim LaHaye.


Excerpt:

Dwight took off his crown, signifying he was no longer playing King Solomon.
“Sacrifice is expected for ones that you love.  Do you love me?” Dwight shouted.  “Then bow down before me and offer praise!”
Everyone knelt and laid their head down to the floor, chanting 'Most Worshipful,
Most Worshipful' several times before Dwight commanded them to get up.
In a manic energetic state, Dwight vociferated, “Et vitam impendere vero!”  All repeated, with the three new pledges joining in.  Minutes later, he began to calm down.  “To sacrifice life for truth - that is what we must always do!  You must trust me as your Most Worshipful and sacrifice at my command!  Are you prepared to do this?”  All three pledges nodded.
Dwight pulled the content baby out of Arthur's arms and threw it high into the air.  As the baby began to descend, Dwight took his sword and hacked through its neck, decapitating it before it hit the floor.  Only the three pledges shrieked in horror.  He sinisterly smiled as he picked up the head and body, revealing it was only a doll.
“Don't believe with your eyes, but believe with your knowledge.  We are his chosen and will soon be exalted.”
The three men looked down at their hands and tried not to scream.  They were covered in blood.
“Sacrifice, my brothers, sacrifice.  I will teach you well.  You are all Chiefs of the Tabernacle!  Let us go and celebrate!” Dwight gleamed.



Check out The Last Desgree prequel: Be Paranoid Be Prepared

About The Author:


Dina Rae is a new author here to stay.  As a former teacher, she brings an academic element to her work.  Her two novels, Halo of the Damned and The Last Degree, weave research and suspense throughout the plots.  Her short story, Be Paranoid Be Prepared, is a prequel of sorts to The Last Degree, focusing on the James Martin character.  Dina also freelances for various entertainment blogs. Dina lives with her husband, two daughters, and two dogs outside of Chicago.  She is a Christian, an avid tennis player, movie buff, and self-proclaimed expert on several conspiracy theories.  When she is not writing, she is reading novels from her favorite authors Dan Brown, Anne Rice, Stephen King, Brad Thor, George R.R. Martin, and Preston & Childs. 
 
 
 
For Full Tour Shedule: Here
 
 


 

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Night Walker By Lisa Kessler

Night Walker (The Night Series #1)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

He gave up his soul for a second chance to love her…

Two and a half centuries ago, Calisto Terana lost everything when a zealous priest murdered the woman he loved. Now, desperate for another chance to love her, he wants redemption for the mistake that cost her life.

She’s haunted by dreams of her own death…

After catching her fiance with another woman, Kate Bradley returns to San Diego to clear her head. The last thing she needs is romance, but after meeting Calisto she’s drawn to him in ways she doesn’t understand.

They’ve waited in the shadows for centuries…

Calisto has no doubt Kate is the reincarnation of his lost love, but the Fraternidad Del Fuego Santo has a new watcher with dark ambitions of his own. As old enemies reemerge and a new threat arises, the betrayal that enslaved Calisto to the night might destroy the only woman he’s ever loved again.





Review 

It started off slow and I didn’t get fully interested in the read until Calisto really came into the picture with Kate, around the time he gave her ex Tom a well deserved beating. I loved the story of the read, how Calisto/Gregorio gave up his soul to become immortal and wait for his lost love to return again after she was brutally taken from him by someone he thought he could trust, waiting for as long as it took for her to return. The twist of Kate having dreams of her past and her death was a brilliant angle as well and how everything fell into place in time and nothing felt rushed as Kate figured out the truth of her past and the life she once had. 

I wanted to smack Calisto upside the head with what he did after Kate revealed to him why she had been sick, even though he did it to try and prevent the past repeating itself and for her to live a long happy life, but come on man! That was beyond harsh. I am excited to see where this series goes from here and it has the potential to be something very intriguing. I would give this read three and a half stars.





Rating: «««

Monday, September 3, 2012

Veil Of Midnight By Lara Adrian

Veil of Midnight (Midnight Breed #5)

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Bound by blood, addicted to danger, they'll enter the darkest--and most erotic--place of all.
A warrior trained in bullets and blades, Renata cannot be bested by any man--vampire or mortal. But her most powerful weapon is her extraordinary psychic ability--a gift both rare and deadly. Now a stranger threatens her hard-won independence--a golden-haired vampire who lures her into a realm of darkness...and pleasure beyond imagining.
A combat-loving adrenaline junkie, Nikolai dispenses his own justice to enemies of the Breed--and his latest quarry is a ruthless assassin. One woman stands in his way: the seductive, cool-as-ice bodyguard, Renata. But Renata's powers are put to the test when a loved one, a child, is threatened and she's forced to turn to Niko for help. As the two join forces, as desire fans the flames of a deeper hunger, Renata's life is under siege by a man who offers the exquisite pleasure of a blood bond--and a passion that could save or doom them both forever....







Review

I adore these books, packed full of action from start to finished, with plenty of story and characters to keep you interested. I really enjoyed Renata as a character, she was so strong and she knew how to hold her own in a fight and kicked some butt! I loved how much she cared for Mira and did all she could to make sure she was safe and happy. The only part when I disliked Renata was when she found out about Nikolai knowing the whereabouts of Mira and not telling her straight away, she overreacted and put herself in real danger, though she did only do it because of her love for Mira.

I loved Nikolai, my heart just melted for him and he made me swoon on many an occasion, he and Renata make such a perfect pair. Sergi Yakut was a sick, evil guy and I was so glad when he finally met his end and the same goes for his son Alexi, what a twisted pair. I was left very interested to learn more about Hunter, an assassin that the master of evil himself Dragos created, I am glad that further on in the series he gets his own book, I can see him fitting the shape of the kind of male lead that I like to read about.






Rating: ««««

Saturday, September 1, 2012

Guest Post/Giveaway: Jessie Lane, The Burning Star


 
 
Guest Post
Jessie Lane: When The Going Gets Tough
 
 

Remember that phrase? When the going gets tough, the tough get going. But what is the measure of being tough? Who do you see and think, “Wow, they’ve got a will made of granite. Unbreakable.”
Do you assume it’s the guy who looks like he’s spent half of his life dedicated to the gym and has muscles on top of his muscles? Or do you look at the quiet, slight slip of a teenage girl sitting in the Oncologist office, and realize beneath her pain she holds more determination than a whole gym full of muscle bound tough guys?
 
When Kay, the main character from The Burning Star, is diagnosed with a fast moving terminal cancer, her world stops. Being only seventeen years old, Kay is devastated when the Oncologists tell her that she will not live long past her eighteenth birthday, which is just months away. She watches as her Mom refuses to accept the doctor’s diagnosis and starts making plans to find a miracle cure. Kay battles with her emotions as she does her best to comfort her mom. She regrets not living her life to its fullest and the missed opportunities she had to be more of the person she always wanted to be. She never planned on being the quiet girl in the corner reading a book. She wanted to live the adventure. Experience that once in a lifetime love. Not just imagine what it was like through her favorite characters. Now she has to plan the best way to say goodbye to her mother.
 
Out of the blue she meets Ryan. An inhumanly hot guy who saves her from an animal that suspiciously looks anything but normal. But after Ryan assures her it’s just a rabid dog and then blows her away by asking her, Ms.-Completely-Awkward-Around-All-Hot-Guys, out on a date, she sees her opportunity to live a little before she dies. Maybe even experience her first kiss. Then the insane happens. Her cute satellite installer guy, Nick, also asks for her phone number. Suddenly the girl who had her life before her but didn’t live at all is now the girl who has a timestamp on her future but is cramming all that she can into that life.
 
When her first date with Ryan goes horribly wrong, and a chain of unbelievable events unfolds, Kay finds out that there is more going on in her life than her cancer. Now she’s surrounded by the fact that things she believed were only fairytales or myths in books are real. Ryan is trying to convince her that she’s something that she’s not, and her mother has secrets so big, that it could blow her whole world apart. And when the going gets tough, Kay gets going.
 
Kay takes on all of her new obstacles head on. She never lets the protective, but pushy, Ryan and Nick tell her what she should do, or how to do it. This is her adventure and she’s going to live it. But halfway through her journey to everything she never dreamed would be possible; she finds out that there might be a miracle cure for her after all. With new hope on the horizon, Kay will do anything to find a cure. But will she live long enough to find it?
Now who’s tough?
 
 
Check out my review for "The Burning Star" here: Click Me!
 
 
 
Exciting News!
In honor of the birthday of one of the fabulous ladies behind "The Burning Star" they are offering up free eBook copies of the read at Smashwords and All Romance ( B&N seem to be having an issue will allowing it to be free so it is 99c. Still a great deal!)
From the 1st of September until the 9th you have the chance to grab yourself a copy and see what all the fuss is about!
So what are you waiting for?
 
 Smashwords  |  All Romance  | B&N  (99c) |
 

Can she reach her destiny before tragedy strikes?

The doctors have told Kay that she will die before she reaches her eighteenth birthday. Her mother’s determination to save her life leads them to a move outside of Asheville, NC to a new set of cancer specialists in the hopes to help her. But it’s not what Kay and her Mom find in the doctor’s offices in Asheville that lead them on the journey to save her before time runs out. It’s what Kay finds in the woods outside of Asheville, and an inhumanly gorgeous guy named Ryan, instead.

Myths and fairy tales come to life before Kay’s eyes, bringing her closer to the ultimate cure if she can stay alive long enough to get there. And if the cancer doesn’t kill her before she finds the cure the secrets her mother has hidden from her may be the beginning of the end.