Thursday, February 28, 2013

Promo Post: Corporate Temptress By Stacey Kennedy

 
Corporate Temptress
 
 
 

 
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
ISBN: 9781419941092
 Length: Novelette
 Heat Level: Sizzling (BDSM Elements)

Release date: January 30, 2013


Evan needs to finalize the details of an important merger. Problem is, the deal has come to a standstill because of the rival company’s drop-dead gorgeous CEO. Frustrated as he is with the woman, Evan can’t keep his mind off Brooke’s overt sexuality. He demands she sign the paperwork or the deal is dead. But Brooke has demands of her own. She’ll sign the contract…for one night of no-strings sex.
 
That’s a lusty merger Evan can’t possibly refuse.
 
 
 
 
Excerpt
 
Evan Marshall slowly stood from his seat, glaring down the long table of executives. “You accept now, or the deal is dead.”

Brooke Silverwood, CEO of Silverwood Bayes, a research and development investment company, leaned forward, giving him a full view of her cleavage. “I do believe we can do without the threats, Mr. Marshall.”

While this merger would bring together two powerful companies—his successful business, Marshall & Pasley, a research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare company, and Brooke’s multimillion dollar enterprise—the endless back and forth about the merger grated on his last nerve.

More to the point, each hour spent with her only increased his frustrations. He’d grown tired of being teased by her, whether she was aware of it or not. If something didn’t break soon, he’d bend her over that table, lift her skirt and bury himself deep into her cunt.

Too bad for him an ugly truth remained—business before pleasure, something he had to continually remind himself of. This deal would secure his company. His cock held no place in these discussions.

At his continuing silence, Brooke gave him a sassy smile then she glanced around the room, focusing on each of the men who made up her team. “Let me speak with Mr. Marshall alone for a minute.” Gesturing toward the door, she continued in her husky voice, “Leave us.”

Without hesitation, her team left the modern office and Evan snorted. Being a CEO of his own company, he could understand the power she held, but he wouldn’t have responded to her in that quick of a fashion.

Even over the past days, she held quite the presence and he admired that about her. But he wanted to teach the woman that not every man bent to her will. And he wanted to give her the lesson with her naked and beneath him.

Realizing his thoughts had once again traveled to a place he shouldn’t go, he stretched his neck, focusing his mind back into his brain instead of in his pants. He should never have offered to flesh out the details of the merger and should’ve sent his business partner Robert Pasley instead. Then he wouldn’t have suffered a 24/7 hard-on for days now, nor would he have spent every night and morning jerking off to ease the tension.

Robert had dealt with the merger up until this point, since he always managed the business end. Evan handled the employees and other in-office details. The partnership worked. This shit wasn’t anything he preferred.

As the thought raced through his mind, he also knew exactly why he’d come to New York City. His dick had led him there. That deep, sensual tone of Brooke’s on the telephone meetings had been the entire reason he came instead of Robert. He’d had to meet this woman.

Only problem?

The fantasy of her he’d built in his mind didn’t compare to the reality. He suspected that raspy voice wouldn’t belong to an attractive woman. Brooke, with her long, straight dark hair, womanly figure and pouty lips that he’d imagined sucking him off—a few times over—stunned him.

However, his marvel of her lasted a day. Now she merely frustrated him to no end, teasing him every day with her tight skirts, shirts that always fell open to show off her tits and her sexy legs.

Giving his head a shake to clear it, he watched her. Brooke remained at the head of the table, her baby blues lined with black makeup staying focused on him. “Mr. Marshall, I’m in agreement over the merger.”

“I’m glad to hear it, Ms. Silverwood.”

Her eyebrows rose at the obvious bite to his voice before her seductive grin slid back into place. “Before we close the deal, I believe there are some final details to work out.”

She stood from her seat then strode toward the door. His focus went straight to her heart-shaped ass clad in a black skirt, which hugged all her fine curves. Exactly how he liked his women; an ass that could take a pounding without fear he’d break her.

As he watched her strut, his dick twitched at the way her hips swayed. She might have moved with such grace without realizing it, but he didn’t much care. He’d love to see that body sliding so elegantly over his, drenched in sweat from a seriously good screw.

When she locked the office door, his semi-hard cock went rock-hard. What’s she up to? She turned back to him and her blue eyes had darkened, those sensual lips of hers parted. He straightened his back, tightening his fists at his sides as heat pooled into his groin.

“Now that we’re alone, we can agree on a few conditions.” Her voice had somehow grown throatier and his cock acknowledged the power her voice had over him by throbbing.

He followed her every step as she approached him. Those longs legs, perfect silky calves and fuck-me heels that brought his thoughts to X-rated places delighted him. “Conditions?”

She unbuttoned her suit jacket then tossed it onto one of the chairs. His mouth went dry. Her pink silk top hung delicately over her luscious frame. She had round and soft breasts that he could bury his face into and curves that no woman should possess, since they could be his undoing.

Once in front of him, she stared intently, angling her head up to meet his gaze, since she was a good bit shorter than he. “I’ll sign the deal. Merge the companies. But you have one condition to meet before I do.”

Am I imagining this?

The woman was a corporate temptress—not only did she succeed in business, but she succeeded in the art of seduction. He found himself captivated. From her husky voice to the confident twinkle in her gaze and even her choice of clothing appeared to tease a man. But was she coming on to him or was this wishful thinking?

He swallowed, refusing his instincts to grab on to her and see if her mouth tasted as good as it looked. “Again, what conditions?”

“The issue between us.”

He inhaled, catching a whiff of her sweet perfume, but beneath it, all he scented was aroused woman. “Issue?”

She slid her finger up his forearm in a slow, seductive caress and he tensed. “Now now, Evan. I never took you for a man who didn’t see things for how they are.” Her gaze followed the path her finger took and heat rushed through his veins. “You think I haven’t noticed how you fuck me with your eyes.”

Her blunt statement tightened his muscles. Women never spoke that like. Not unless he dreamed of it, then fantasized over it later. But what game was she playing? First she’d teased him for days and now she increased it? “Point being?”

“Well, you see,” her fingernail continued to trail up his arm, “for us to continue with this merger, we can’t have this distraction.”

That rich tone of hers drifted over him, making his desires rear up. The tickle from her nail awakened the part of him that wanted to bang her ruthlessly. Right now the merger happened to be the last thing on his mind.

“This deal will merge two top companies together and we need to focus to see it succeed.” Her gaze lifted and her tongue slid across her lip, drawing his focus to her luscious mouth. “How can we focus with this sexual tension between us?”

He paused, considering if he’d heard her correctly. Had the blood rushing to his cock somehow switched off his mind? “How do you want to fix that?”

She put her hand on his chest and as she slid it down his stomach, he gritted his teeth. That light touch of hers continued until she cupped his erection. “You get the merger.” She stroked him slowly. “I get this.”
 
 
 
 
My review coming soon!
 
 
 
 
Author Bio:
 

Stacey Kennedy’s novels are lighthearted fantasy with heart-squeezing, thigh-clenching romance, and even give a good chuckle every now and again. She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her husband and two children. If she’s not plugging away at a new story—which is rare because her muse is annoying—you’ll find her camping, curling up with the latest flick, or obsessing over Sons of Anarchy, Games of Thrones, Supernatural and Dexter.
 
Stacey welcomes comments from readers. You can find her at:
 
 

Sunday, February 24, 2013

Safeword Quinacridone By Candace Blevins

Safeword Quinacridone (Safeword #6)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Romance/BDSM

Description:

What happens when an introverted artist who only likes sex when it's a one-night stand meets a computer-geek-extraordinaire with his own sexy secrets? Objectification, romance, pain, adoration, lots of kinky toys, and oodles and oodles of wonderfully imaginative sex.

Join Cara and Travis on their journey to mesh their distinctive sexual tastes into a loving relationship with blow-your-mind kink.

Ob•jec•ti•fi•ca•tion:
1. Treating a person as an object for use, with no regard
for a person's personality or sentience.
2. Regarding someone as a commodity; considering them
merely an instrument towards one's sexual pleasure.

Safeword: Quinacridone is a stand-alone book. You do not need to have read the previous books in this series.

Warning: This title contains graphic language, consensual BDSM, extreme objectification, bondage, watersports (one scene), chemical play, fisting, temporary body modification with saline injections (one scene), and the use of toys including clamps, canes, plugs, paddles, whips, floggers, and zip-ties.







Review

A read that is not for the light-hearted, if you are looking for a fluffy romance then this is not for you. There are plenty of BDSM scenes, some that are intense and mention of some BDSM that is quite disturbing. The writing and plot are very well done and the character progression was great. With a topic such as this you need to have the right amount of emotional depth and show the true love that the two main characters have for each other in order for it to work and not come across as something monstrous, this book had the right balance for me.

It was nice to see Travis open up to Cara and tell her his feelings and easing her into his desires slowly to help her adjust but also willing in indulge Cara’s fantasies, often addressing hers before his own. Travis was a rock for Cara, helping her to realise that there isn’t anything wrong with them and that it is okay to feel the way she does, to crave the objectification but also made her feel loved and safe.

There weren’t many scenes that I found too much for me, I do dabble in some of the grittier or dark erotica and some have disturbed me but this one was a middle ground for me, definitely not a light BDSM but no overly cringe worthy. I am curious to read more from Candace Blevins and I would recommend this read to those who enjoy true BDSM reads.





Rating: ««««

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Mercy's Debt By Sloan Archer

Mercy's Debt (Montgomery's Vampires Series #1)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

After graduating from the prestigious Dewhurst University, Mercy Montgomery finds herself in a bit of financial trouble: over $108,000 worth of financial trouble, in fact. She can’t find a job to save her life, and with bill collectors constantly at her heels, she has no idea how she will ever come up with the money needed in order to keep her head above water.

Mercy’s monetary worries seem to be over after a chance meeting with mystifyingly pale Michael Graves, who offers her a high-paying job at his company, Dignitary. But there’s a catch; the seemingly harmless Dignitary is an underground organization that offers human chaperones to wealthy bloodsucking clients.

As if congregating with the undead doesn’t make life complicated enough for Mercy, there’s a savage killer on the loose who appears to have a craving for her blood. Soon Mercy is torn between a dark and dangerous underworld of supernatural desire and a simple life of practicality, and business magnate Robert Bramson is the man she blames for her confusion. If he just wasn’t so damn sexy… And dangerous. As the killer closes in, Mercy realizes that she must make a decision. But will she make her choice too late?






Review

A little up and down in parts but overall not a bad read, it wasn’t until Robert entered the picture that my interest peaked. The characters were intriguing and even though he wasn’t a main character, I liked Michael. I wish there had been more interaction with him; would have loved to see how Marlena would have reacted once she found out that he was still allowing Mercy to see Robert.

The interaction between Liz and Mercy was curious, the shower scene for example, until Robert came along I thought that they would end up being a couple. I liked how Mercy could stand on her own and she was a great female lead, she was easy to connect with.

In some parts it felt a little cliché with the vampire aspect but it didn’t stop me from enjoying the read. Towards the end it felt a bit rushed and everything seemed to happen all at once and was left open-ended with no real conclusion, I will be interested to see what happens in the next book. A good start to a series, I give the read three and a half stars.





Rating: «««

Monday, February 18, 2013

Guest Post: Sloan Archer

 
Sloan Archer
 
 
Hello readers! Thanks for having me on Book Devotee Reviews, Jet, and I hope that you enjoy my feature…

Since publishing my first novel, Mercy’s Debt, I’ve been asked all sorts of wacky things- especially because the book is from the paranormal romance genre. I thought I’d do something a little different for my feature today, and go over three of the funnier questions that I’ve been asked by friends, family, and readers… 

 
 
 
#1 Wow! You write romance/erotica? How on Earth did you get into that- you must be a complete sex freak!
 
Not really! I sort of got into writing romance/erotica inadvertently. I spent the majority of my twenties on the road while working at my job in marketing. In order to keep things spicy with my then-boyfriend, I’d write saucy emails late at night from my hotel room. I be like, “Oh, yah, baby! I’m thinking of you right now, and I’m wearing nothing but black lace and a smile.” Meanwhile, I’d really be sitting in my bed, watching reruns of Friends, cramming fistfuls of Cheetos into my mouth, clipping my toenails, and wearing holey sweatpants.  Très sexy! Haha I thought, “Hey, I’m actually quite good at penning smut. Maybe I should do it for a living.” Haha.
 
 
 

#2 Do you base your sex scenes on your past experiences?
 
I seriously cannot tell you how many times I’ve been asked this! Of course, it’s men who always, always ask this first! I can just see their eyes light up, and hear their pervy minds clicking away, imagining just how wild I am in bed! To clear up any misconceptions, I definitely have not ever used any of my past experiences as fodder for my love scenes, just as author Stephen King has never axe-murdered anyone, and Amanda Hocking has never battled zombies. It’s fiction, people! That’s not to say that I wouldn’t mind having some ‘private time’ with the main man in Mercy’s Debt, Robert Bramson!

 
 

#2 Writing love scenes must be easy! All you have to do is think about sex, right?
 
Wrong! Out of all the “types” of scenes that I write- murder, comedy, dialogue- the love scenes are, hands down, the most difficult because of the technical aspect. You can’t leave out a ‘step of seduction,’ or else the whole scene won’t make any sense. Like, I’ll write something like, “He rubbed his hands over her smooth, firm breasts…” Then I’ll think, “Aw, damn! He never took her bra off!” lol Then, I’ll have to go back and revise.
 
 

Hope that has shed some light on the wild and turbulent life of a paranormal romance writer!
Thanks so much for having me on, Jet. If you’d like to read more about the foxy Robert Bramson, Mercy’s Debt is available online on Amazon and Barnes & Noble. 
 

Follow me on: Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads
 
 
 
About the author:
 
Sloan Archer is a bona fide California native who works full-time as a writer, occasionally in the desert as an archaeologist, and has a ten-year employment history in marketing. She has been penning fiction since childhood; her first stories were spooky mysteries inspired by horror films and the howling coyotes on her family’s farm.
She is a seasoned world traveler whose journeys have taken her from Madagascar to Indonesia, and many countries in-between. In 2007 she founded a jewelry label, VIVI+VIVI, and received international recognition for her creations, her most coveted designs worn by celebrities and carried in trendy boutiques like Fred Segal in Los Angeles. In 2012, she closed her business to focus on her true love, writing.
 
When Sloan isn’t composing books, she enjoys traveling, running marathons, painting, reading, baking, and spending time at the beach. She is currently working on two novels: Mercy’s Doubt, the second installation of the Montgomery’s Vampires Series, and Lilac Coma.
 
 
 
 
 
MERCY’S DEBT
MONTGOMERY’S VAMPIRES BOOK ONE
 

 




Release Date: February 14, 2013
Category: Paranormal Romance Thriller;
light erotica elements, some explicit language,
contemporary, vampires
Series Name: Montgomery’s Vampires
Word Count: approximately 52,000 words





BLURB:
After graduating from the prestigious Dewhurst University, Mercy Montgomery finds herself in a bit of financial trouble: over $108,000 worth of financial trouble, in fact. She can’t find a job to
save her life, and with bill collectors constantly at her heels, she has no idea how she will ever come up with the money needed in order to keep her head above water.
 
Mercy’s monetary worries seem to be over after a chance meeting with mystifyingly pale Michael Graves, who offers her a high-paying job at his company, Dignitary. But there’s a catch; the seemingly harmless Dignitary is an underground organization that offers human chaperones to wealthy bloodsucking clients.
 
As if congregating with the undead doesn’t make life complicated enough for Mercy, there’s a savage killer on the loose who appears to have a craving for her blood. Soon Mercy is torn between a dark and dangerous underworld of supernatural desire and a simple life of practicality, and business magnate Robert Bramson is the man she blames for her confusion. If he just wasn’t so damn sexy… And dangerous. As the killer closes in, Mercy realizes that she must make a decision. But will she make her choice too late?
 
 

Friday, February 15, 2013

Tour Review: Caressed By A Crimson Moon By Amanda J. Greene



Caressed by a Crimson Moon (Rulers of Darkness #3)
 
 
Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Consumed by madness and tormented by dark memories of blood and death, Hadrian Lucretius, King of the Validus Clan, has returned after living in self-imposed exile for nearly three hundred and fifty years.

To maintain peace with the vampires, Eva Maldonado is offered as a sacrifice to the crazed vampire king by her father, the alpha of the Silveria Shifter Pack. Hadrian’s reputation is both legendary and lethal; he is ruthless, bloodthirsty, lusty, and soulless. When Eva arrives at the ancient fortress high in the Carpathian Mountains, she is shocked to find a ravaged man with dark burning eyes filled with loneliness and dangerous desire.

Would she be his lover…or his prey? His savior…or his victim? Would Hadrian lure her into madness or would their perilous passion be their redemption?




Excerpt

Dear God, what had her father done?

He sacrificed me. She snorted. He couldn’t send one of his precious purebred daughters off to what was surely her death.

Eva pushed away from the wall and began to pace. Falcon had been gone for nearly fifteen minutes and her nerves were making her restless. Glancing about, she decided to take a little tour. She would not go far and, with luck, she may find the knight. Besides, if she remained immobile, consumed by her thoughts, she would soon have herself worked up into another fit of hysteria.

Deciding to head in the direction Falcon had, she did not enter the main hall though the large arched entrance was directly in front of her. She turned left and headed down a long, dimly lit corridor. She paused outside each door she passed, she knocked and tried their knobs, but no one called from the other side and every door was locked.

After the fifth door, she gave up her search and allowed her curiosity to take over. The hall was lined with wood paneling decorated by sharply detailed paintings. Each featured a portrait of a man and was accompanied by a gold placard with his name. These were the kings of the Validus Clan.

The name of the last painting read Hadrian Lucretius, but the image had been savagely shredded. Stepping closer, Eva reach up, trying to place the pieces back together, wanting to get a look at the vampire—

A cool hand clamped over her mouth, stifling her scream as she was hauled back. Eva fought for freedom, twisting down, she jabbed her elbow in her attacker’s side then kicked back, connecting with his shin. He growled in response and spun her about, trapping her with his body. His hands slammed into the wall, cracking the wood, on either side of her head.

“Little girls should not wander alone in the dark.”

She closed her eyes and swallowed hard. His voice, it was dark, threatening—pure sex. He leaned his head down, his lips brushed her ear and, God help her, she shivered. Whether it was from fear or something entirely sexual, she did not know. Confusion, terror, and desire fought for control of her brain, as she remained pinned between the large, solid male and the wall.

“Bad things prowl in the dark,” he whispered against her ear and Eva’s knees went weak. His words were heavily accented, his voice deep. It echoed with evil and laced with lust. “Bad things, like me.”

Eva tried to speak, knowing she should demand he release her, or scream, but nothing came.

One of his hands dropped from the wall to encircle her wrist, the pad of his thumb gently brushed over her erratically beating pulse.

“Your scent,” he said, his voice rough, the sound sending waves of need crashing over her.

His fingers lightly traced up her arm to cup her nape, tickling her sensitive flesh.


Eva’s breathing grew shallow as her body began to burn.

Desire?

Yes. Oh, God, yes.

The menacing male drew closer, his second hand dropping to her shoulder, pressing her firmly against the wall. Danger, it radiated from him, yet desire flickered in his cold, black eyes. Instinct took hold of her. Eva wrapped her arms about his waist. Her hands pressed flat against his lower back, urging him closer. She arched her back trying in vain to close the space between them.

“Sweet…warm vanilla.” His cool breath caressed the tender flesh of her throat, sending chills all the way down to her toes.

Was he going to bite her?

God, what was she doing? She had no idea who this man was let alone what he was doing to her. She should shove him away. She should bring her knee up and hit him where it counts. But she could not move. Her heart beat frantically, her blood rushed like lava through her veins as her body responded to this aggressive male.

“My king!”

Eva’s sigh was a mix of relief and disappointment when she heard Falcon’s voice.

“Release her.”

The vampire’s mystifying obsidian gaze held her captive as he asked, “Do you want to be rescued?”

No, but her self-preservation cried yes.

He vampire gently brushed her bottom lip with his thumb and Eva shuttered.

“My king,” Falcon bellowed.

The stranger lifted his head and glared at Falcon for a long breathless moment. She could sense the tension that coiled in his body. Pure lethal power flowed from him like tidal waves.

Finally he turned his attention back to her. Framing her jaw with his large hands, he bent his head down. Was he going to kiss her? Another rush of heat coursed through her and pooled at her core.

She wished she could see his face. The shadows hid his features. All she could see were his dark as midnight eyes, which burned in the darkness, violence and lust.

He leaned into her, his solid chest brushing her breasts, causing them to ache, as he sank his lower body against her. Surrounded. Hot, aggressive male surrounded her and—wild, she was wild with need.

His cool lips brushed against hers as he whispered, “Until we meet again, little one.” He disappeared.

Eva sagged against the wall, her body feeling bereft without him. Shock pulsed through her body and she struggled to make sense of what just happened. Her initial reaction had been fear, but was quickly replaced by desire. She focused on her breathing, trying to calm herself as she gathered her scattered, confused thoughts.

He didn’t kiss her. Why did he not—

“Did I not ask you to remain in the foyer, because I distinctly remember doing so,” Falcon said.

“W-what?” she sputtered.

When she looked up at him, his expression was not what she had expected. His tone implied announces but his gaze was quizzical as he studied her, his brow furrowed in thought.

“Nothing,” he said with a shake of his head.

Falcon cursed a string of obscenities, some in English but most in an old form of…French?

“Come on, I’ll show you to your room so you can get settled.”

He turned and began back down the hall.

Eva shoved away from wall and jogged to catch up with him. Her legs were still weak and she feared they might give out. She caught his arm and Falcon stopped.

“Was that…I mean, he was—”

“Hadrian Lucretius, King of the Validus Clan of vampires,” he answered.

“I thought so,” she said, her voice a faint whisper.





Review

 Another great installment. If you have not read any of the books from this series yet you should get started! The plot flows nicely and it is easy to keep up with, keeps you interested from start to finish and eager to read about how everything turns out in the end.

The characters each leapt off the page and had their own personalities. It was heartbreaking the way Hadrian kept punishing himself for the death of his brother, even when the truth came to light he still didn’t feel like he was worthy of love or worthy of Eva.

It would have been great to see Eva return back to the pack and stick it to them, show them that she wasn’t simply a half-breed and what she had become. They truly did treat her so horribly, so it was great to see her find happiness.

As for one of my favourite sub-characters, Falcon, I am intrigued to see what is in store for him and how Silvie is involved and Sonya. I hope he and Sonya find a way to be together though, he deserves to be happy. I cannot wait to see what Amanda J. Greene has in store for us next!




Rating: ««««





About The Author:


When she is not writing, Amanda can found playing the role of a full time university student who works part time. She lives in Southern California with her very supportive husband and their sweet cocker spaniel. Doing all the above and being a military wife is not easy, but rewarding! Of course, she accomplishes everything with a strong cup of coffee in her hand.

Author Links:
Author's SiteBlogspot / Facebook / Twitter

Monday, February 11, 2013

The Secret Lives Of Emma: Distractions By Natasha Walker

The Secret Lives of Emma :Distractions (Book #2)

Genre: Erotic Fiction

Description:

After a steamy affair with her young neighbour, Emma Benson flees to her friend Sally’s beach house to recharge her emotional batteries. Her marriage to David has been going through a testing time, but now she’s determined to be the wife he would like her to be.

If only it was that easy.

How do you tame a woman who’s brimming with uninhibited sensual desires, a woman for whom pleasure is the ultimate goal in life?

Sally’s beach house is the perfect place to relax and reconnect with a secret relationship Emma had thought had ended years before.

But then the arrival of David at the beach house reignites her fantasies – and offers her a temptation she can’t help acting upon.






Review

I don’t know if it is the way it is written that is throwing me off with these books, but they still don’t meet up to my expectations however this one was slightly better than the first. I did find the storyline in some parts to drag but we did get more insight into the characters and somewhat deplorable that they are. It was nice to see Emma grow somewhat towards to end of the read, turning down Paul though David’s turn was shocking.

In the first book we didn’t get much of David or know much about him, but in this read we got introduced to him fully. Starting off me seemed to be so moral and upstanding, it made me dislike Emma so much for what she has been down behind his back but it all came tumbling down rather quickly and his true colours were shown. He and Emma are truly perfect for each other, each self-destructive and making bad choices.

I was sure that when this second installment was finished I wasn’t going to continue on with this series, but with such a cliff-hanger ending and all the lies and secrets stating to unravel, I am tempted to buy the next book. I am curious to know how this will all work out. I am torn was to whether to go a full three stars with this or a two and a half, so I will settle with a borderline three stars.





Rating: «««  

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

The Secret Lives Of Emma: Beginnings By Natasha Walker

The Secret Lives of Emma: Beginnings (Book #1)

Genre: Erotic Fiction

Description:

Incredibly hot and sensual, this new erotic series starring an older and experienced female lead taps into our deepest romantic fantasies.

Thirty-something Emma Benson is a free spirit. For her a good life means a life of sensuality. So it's a surprise to everyone when she marries David, a successful businessman, and settles down in the suburbs. One year on, and she's trying so hard to be loyal to her man. Not easy to do when you're passionate and uninhibited.

But then, while sunbathing in her garden, her neighbour's eighteen-year-old son appears. And Emma has found her new project. She will be his perfect teacher.







Review

 This book wasn’t exactly what I expected it to be and I was left feeling disappointment. It started off well enough but there wasn’t enough substance to keep me interested throughout the rest of the read. The plot was easy enough to follow but was quite bland and the characters didn’t have enough depth for my liking. I needed more emotion and more development from the characters.

I found Emma to be distasteful as main character; I didn’t find myself on her side or wanting a happy ending for her. Her games and using of Jason is leading him down a path of destructive behaviour and it isn’t looking like it is going to get any better, he is collateral damage for Emma all because of her trying to get back to her old self, which didn’t seem that flattering to begin with.

I like to keep an open mind when it comes to reads that may be a little controversial, but the read just didn’t cut it for me. I did purchase the second in the series at the same time as this one, hopefully it will be an improvement on this first book.





Rating: ««


Saturday, February 2, 2013

Return To Sender By Annabeth Albert

Return to Sender

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Romace

Description:

Jack Donovan and Bree Hendricks have been in hot competition since their school days, whether it’s tussling over the best apartment or bickering over local leash laws. Bree has never turned down a challenge, so when her new toy in its brown paper packaging is delivered to Jack’s doorstep by mistake, it’s the perfect opportunity for a game of truth or dare.

Bree is determined to set a good example for her teenage daughter, and that means no flirting, no flings and definitely no one night stands. But a bout of saucy cybersex demonstrating her new dildo…there’s no danger in that. Unless Bree allows her heart to become involved.







Review

A truly sexy little number. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this read as I haven’t read anything from the author before, I was pleasantly surprised once I started reading to find how much I was enjoying it, not to mention the rather shocking opening line that drew me right in:

“The red dildo fell into Jack Donovan’s lap with a friendly little plop.”

Now that is something you don’t read every day! Plenty of steam and situations to keep you entertained, and I have never come across a read that used Skype in such an...Interesting, yet satisfying way. It is always great to find something new in a read.

The characters were really well done and their chemistry sizzled and the touch of Bree having a kid was nice, you don’t come across that very often in the more erotic romances like this and it added realism to the read. It did seem a little rushed at the end but still the book is definitely deserving of a solid 4 and a half stars.



Rating: ««««