Tuesday, March 26, 2013

His Desire, Her Surrender By Malia Mallory

His Desire, Her Surrender (Dominating BDSM Billionaires Erotic Romance #2)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Romance/BDSM

Description:

When Marcus leaves Tabitha heartbroken in Hawaii, she doesn't suspect she'll ever see her new lover again. Back in New York, Marcus tracks her down, determined to pick up where they left off. He evokes a whirlwind of emotion and delivers physical satisfaction that leaves Tabitha craving more. But Marcus has enemies who threaten his company and perhaps even his life. Can Tabitha prove that she has what it takes to be both his partner and his submissive?




Review

I didn’t care much for Marcus in this second installment. The way he reacted when he found out about her meeting with his sister; he couldn’t even give Tabitha the benefit of the doubt or hear her out; he jumped right to accusing her. After coming across as such a gentleman and caring guy in the first book, I was left a little disappointed in him.

I would have liked to see Marcus confront his father as well on how he handled things with Monica and for not sharing the information about who she was dating with him. The BDSM element is still at a fairly low level which is good for those new to the genre, but I would have liked to take a more prominent place in the book, but as Tabitha is only starting on her journey into the BDSM world with Marcus I can understand why the author hasn’t made it more of a feature yet, though towards the end it does get more of a spotlight.

Tabitha is a strong woman in herself and I kind of would have liked to see the roles reversed, as Marcus the submissive in the relationship and she the dominant, I think it would have worked better for me. I hope there is another installment coming for this pair, it would be interesting to see what life is like now for the pair now that Tabitha has fully accepted Marcus’s collar. A strong three and a half stars.





Rating: «««

Friday, March 22, 2013

His Need, Her Desire By Malia Mallory

His Need, Her Desire (Dominating BDSM Billionaires Erotic Romance #1)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Tabitha Quinn didn't come to Hawaii to be spanked. But when vacationing businessman Marcus Granger saves her from drowning, they begin an affair that moves from the beach to the bedroom and straight into an experience Tabitha's never had before: dark-haired, blue-eyed Marcus is a dominant, and spanking is just the beginning. The sex is intense, the emotion even more so, until they both must decide if this is a holiday fling or the real thing.





Review

A quick read that left me wanting more and more. I didn’t know quite what to expect when I started this book except for some loving between some rich guy and a woman, but I knew that being a Malia Mallory read meant it was going to be good.

Marcus comes across as a classy, genuine guy, not a snobby rich guy or over the top dominant male which can really ruin a read and make it unenjoyable. He takes his time with Tabitha, making sure she knows what she is getting into beforehand and that she is comfortable. As for Tabitha, I liked her confidence within herself, and also her willingness to take a risk.

It was a big downer when Marcus had to get called away for business and the time between him and Tabitha had to come to an end. Things were just starting to get good and I wanted to keep reading! I am glad that there is a second installment of the pair; I cannot wait to read about what they get up to next.

In terms of the BDSM element, I would say it was a low level, so if you aren't into anything too intense in terms of BDSM then this may be a good one for you. I'd give this read a high three and a half stars, bordering on four stars.




Rating: «««

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

The Stillness Of You By Julie Bale

The Stillness of You (Beautifully Damaged #1)

*Submitted for review*

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

Georgia King is trying to survive after spiraling into a darkness that nearly took her life. In therapy with her college dreams on hold,she's trying to get healthy. Trying to still the craziness inside her. She has no room for someone like Ben Lancaster,and if he was smart he'd stay away. Because everyone knows Georgia is bad news--she ruins people--and if Ben isn't careful, he'll be next in line.

Ben Lancaster is a young, hot shot hockey player on his way to the top. Newly signed to the Philadelphia Flyers, he's living the dream. The girls. The money. The fame. He thought he had everything he wanted until he met Georgia. Suddenly he wants more--he wants her. He'll do whatever it takes to get her and Ben Lancaster always gets what he wants.

But the girl who's different from anyone he's ever known is hiding secrets. And as the dog days of summer pass, only time will tell if Georgia's secrets can be healed. Or if her bruised soul is strong enough to resist Ben Lancaster...


"Ben Lancaster had just tattooed himself onto my soul and the thing about tattoos? They’re painful to remove."--Georgia King






Review

Let me start off by saying that it’s nice to read a book with a lead character is flawed and real. You don’t often come across a lead that has bi-polar or any kind of disorder, it makes it so much more relatable and makes you want the character to pull through and succeed.

Being able to connect with Georgia, the lead character, also led to me tearing up in parts like when she divulged to Ben’s parents about her parents being dead. It was a turning point for her, but also sent her spiralling with everything she was hiding from Ben starting to unravel.

Her rock was her bother Matt was so protective over her but it led to him not allowing her to grow and figure out what she needed for herself to be able to live and strive to find her way out of the darkness of her illness, which in a way led him to hindering her rather than enabling her to succeed.

The ending, it left me wanting more but it also was such a perfect conclusion and not one that I expected. Usually you get the happy, boy and girl happily ever after ending and in a way you do with this but not fully. I really hope there is another instalment in the works soon; I want to see Ben and Georgia happy, I want to see her get control over her bi-polar and feel strong within herself. A fantastic read and a nice breath of fresh air to the romance genre.




Rating:««««

Saturday, March 16, 2013

Promo Post: Big Bad Bite By Jessie Lane



Announcement from Jessie Lane:

“We're excited to announce that Big Bad Bite had a makeover! Inside and out! We have a sexy new cover featuring our favorite Wolf, Adam, AND Big Bad Bite was sent off and edited by the amazing girls at C&D Editing.

Some might wonder, "Has the story changed?"

The answer to that would be yes and no. No, because the story line is still the same. Yes, because it no longer has those pesky grammatical errors, info dumps were cut down, inconsistencies were caught, and best of all, a tiny scene was added! Overall, it's a better story, but still has a kick ass, snarky heroine Jenna, and the snarly, but lovable, Adam who wants her.

So, if you haven't picked up your copy of Big Bad Bite yet, then go get it today!”



 
What would it be like to live in a world where you are considered abnormal to those who are above the norm?

Jenna O’ Conner has been taught her whole life to hide from everyone. Never to let anyone to close enough to know that she would prefer a shotgun for her birthday over of a bouquet of roses. She’s been smothered by her over protective family so that no one learns what she truly is. Which is not human. Nor, is she considered the norm for the supernatural Other community that is benevolent enough to share this world with the humans. 
 
In a desperate attempt to live her own life away from the small town she was raised in, Jenna obtains her dream job as the newest member on the Wilmington Police Department’s SWAT Team. What she didn’t predict was that she would run into trouble her first day on the job, in the form of a deadly, mouthwatering man named Adam McPhee. Who is also not human, but more like a wolf walking around in human skin. He’s determined to figure out exactly what Jenna is, which unbeknownst to him, could very well put her life in danger. He’s also determined to have her all to himself. 
 
As if that wasn’t enough for Jenna to deal with, bad news blows into town. A group of extremist Shifters who think humans are cattle and factions of Others worldwide should stay within their own species - never to intermingle. Chaos ensues. Jenna has to find a way to shut them down, but in the process of trying to do that, discovers things about herself that even she never thought was possible. 
 
Who said the wolf was what you had to worry about?
Welcome to the real world.



Big Bad Bite Info: GoodreadsWebsite
 
 
Excerpt
 
 
 
Everyone climbs into their respective vehicles to follow Jenna to her house. She should have been worried about Kent’s lack of intelligence at smarting off to the most powerful wolf shifter in the United States, but she isn’t. 
 
She should have been worried about whether her Uncle Owen would snap her partner’s neck for getting into a pissing match with him in a public place, but she isn’t. 
 
She should have been worried about whatever the reasons are for having members of a slightly psychotic wolf pack running amuck in the new city she calls home, but she isn’t.
 
No, suddenly Jenna is panicked about two things.
 
One, does she have enough food in her house to feed two overgrown shifter males and a large, sneaky demon? Because she knows demon appetites border on ridiculousness that can empty a small grocery store once a week and that is, in a word, scary. However, she also has no idea if shifters carry the same kind of appetite, and if they do, then she’s, in another word, screwed. Somehow she doesn’t think her meager stash of pepperoni slices, cheese and crackers will go real far.
 
Also, two, she really, really hopes that she has managed to pick up her dirty clothing from around the house. She has a terrible habit of stripping offending clothing off the moment she walks through the door. So it isn’t unusual to see her bra lying on the living room floor as she makes her way to the shower after getting off a shift from work. She also is not the tidiest person on the planet. In fact, her mama has repeatedly called her a hopeless slob of epic proportions if not kept in check. The absolute horror of her little brother—whom she didn’t even know existed until this morning—seeing her bras or panties is enough to terrify and humiliate her beyond words.
 
Because she’s quickly discovering that the possibility of little brothers, even if they appear to be over the age of eighteen, seeing your undergarments equals two words.
 
Total mortification.
 
 
 
Check out my review of Big Bad Bite here: Review

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Fondled And Gobbled By Danica Avet, Lea Barrymire, Cassandra Carr, Anya Richards, Piper Trace

Fondled and Gobbled (Someone Had To Do It #1)

*Submitted for review by publisher*

Genre: Anthology/Humor/Erotic

Description:

The perfect man—with the imperfect cock and oral skills. The Dom who isn’t a dom, and the man who proves it to him. The alien with dessert-flavored semen and three cocks. The older man (a kajillionaire with a penthouse in Seattle…) who has limitless ability to come all night with his naïve little virgin. A woman on a diet who craves a feast of meat and finds herself five Broadshaft Brothers who can deliver.

If you’re looking for the perfect romance with the perfect hero and heroine, this isn’t it! This is a series of spoofs, parodies, just-for-fun lighthearted take-offs. It’s for all us longtime, hard-core romance readers who can laugh at the clichés, purple prose and “suspend your disbelief” plot devices that haunt our beloved favorite genre.





Review

If you like a read that is quirky, steamy and funny then you will like this! Filled with short quick stories, each poking fun at erotic romances in such a great way. Starting off with a short from Cassandra Carr that turned out to be one of my particular favourites, inspired by a rather popular erotic romance that has caused quite a stir recently.

There is even an m/m story to keep things spicey called “Surprise Submissive”. I couldn’t help but laugh when Lucius was getting beaten across the head with Jace’s...Well, I’ll leave you guessing with that one.

This collection of authors know how to write, they keep you entertained from start to finish with memorable plots and characters, I wish there were more stories and that they were longer, they were hilarious. If you are looking for a break from the norm and after something different and humorous, then you might want to consider giving this anthology a go.





Rating: ««««

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Book Blitz&Giveaway: The Stillness Of You By Julie Bale


 
 

Series: Beautifully Damaged, #1
Author: Julie Bale
Format: ebook
Length: 250 pages
Publication: March 12th 2013 by Julie Bale
ISBN: 13 9780988138544
Genre: New Adult- Contains mature situations and sexual content (17+)
 

 
BLURB:
 
"Ben Lancaster had just tattooed himself onto my soul and the thing about tattoos? They’re painful to remove."--Georgia King.
 
Georgia King is trying to survive after spiraling into a darkness that nearly took her life. In therapy and with her college dreams on hold,she's trying to get healthy. Trying to still the craziness inside her. She has no room for someone like Ben Lancaster,and if he was smart he'd stay away. Because everyone knows Georgia is bad news. Everyone knows she ruins people. And if Ben isn't careful, he'll be next in line. Ben Lancaster is a young, hot shot hockey player on his way to the top. Newly signed to the Philadelphia Flyers, he's living the dream. The girls. The money. The
fame. He thought he had everything he wanted until he met her. Suddenly he wants more--he wants her. He'll do whatever it takes to get her and Ben Lancaster always gets what he wants.
 
But the girl who's different from anyone he's ever known is hiding secrets. And as the dog days of summer pass, only time will tell if Georgia's secrets can be healed. Or if her bruised soul is strong enough to resist Ben Lancaster...
 
 
 
 
Excerpt
 
“Do you feel this?” he whispered hoarsely.  “You have to feel this. It can’t just be me.  There’s no fucking way it can just be me.”
 
My mouth was open but nothing came out.  I felt all of it. Every. Single. Bit of it. 
 And then his hand slid behind my neck, cradling me just above my shoulders, his long fingers moving over my body with a hunger and an urgency that I matched. I might have moaned, in fact, I’m sure I did because his eyes widened, and his lips parted.
 
I felt…I felt crazy but without the crazy. 
 
It was the anticipation.  It was all the moments and seconds and minutes that had passed between us over the last few days.  It was that first time I’d glanced
over my shoulder and spied him in Matt’s loft.  It was his breath at my cheek the night before.  It was want.
 
It was all of that and so much more.
 
“I feel you,” I whispered.
 
And then his hot, demanding mouth was on mine, and that so much more, became suddenly clear.
 
It was everything.
 
 
AUTHOR BIO:
 
Julie Bale fell in love with book boyfriends when she was twelve.  She decided that when she was a grownup she would write her own book boyfriends. So that’s what she does.  
 
When Julie isn’t writing she’s busy looking after a family that includes a couple of kids, her husband and a dog who is prettier than some people she knows, and a cat who thinks he’s human. 
 
She loves The Walking Dead, Pretty Little Liars, The Foo Fighters, Vampire Diaries, The Fray, and The Gilmore Girls. And when she has time, she loves to kick back and read yummy romances with hot guys and girls who are cool enough to hang out with.

AUTHOR LINKS:
 
 
 
 
~` Giveaway`~
 
I have 1 digital copy of "The Stillness of You" By Julie Bale to give away! All you have to do is fill out the rafflecopter!
 
 

 
a Rafflecopter giveaway



TOUR SCHEDULE:
Random Jendsmit - http://randomjendsmit.blogspot.com/
Book Devotee Reviews - http://bookdevoteereviews.blogspot.com/
Talk Supe - http://www.talkingsupe.com/
Toot's Book Reviews - http://tootsbookreviews.blogspot.com/
Cocktails and Books - http://www.cocktailsandbooks.com/
Unwrapping Romance - http://unwrappingromance.blogspot.com
Angie's Dreamy Reads - http://www.angiesdreamyreads.com/
Reality Bites - http://realitybites-letsgetlost.blogspot.com/
United By Books - http://unitedbybooks.blogspot.com/
Good Choice Reading - http://www.goodchoicereading.com/
I Read Indie - http://twimom101bookblog.blogspot.com/
Viviana, Enchantress of Books - http://www.vivianaenchantressofbooks.com/
Book Nerds Anonymous - http://avasmith.org/
RhiReading - http://rhireading.blogspot.com/
Rather Barefoot than Bookless - http://ratherbarefoot.blogspot.com/
Books N Kisses - http://www.books-n-kisses.com/
Got fiction - http://www.gotfiction.com/
Curse of the Bibliophile - http://curseofthebibliophile.blogspot.com/
Reading Between the Wines - http://readingbetweenthewinesbookclub.blogspot.com/
Book Savvy Babe - http://www.booksavvybabe.com/
Urban Girl Reader - http://www.urbangirlreader.com/

Friday, March 8, 2013

Promo Post: Mystically Bound By Stacey Kennedy

 
Mystically Bound
 
 
 
 
Frostbite Book Three
 Urban Fantasy Romance
 ISBN: 9781301901340
 Length: Novel
 Heat Level: Sensual
 Release date: January 31, 2013
 
 
 
Blurb:

Tess Jennings’ life is in chaos. Her ghost lover, Kipp McGowen, vanished into the Netherworld without a trace. Now, she finds herself in White Castle, Louisiana, surrounded by the Animus—a secret society of the supernaturally gifted. To make matters worse, they present her with an offer she cannot refuse.

If she helps solve the murder of their Grand Master, they will assist her in saving Kipp. Soon, Tess will land herself lost in another mystery she doesn’t want. But she will have to trust her enemies to gain what she most desires—a life with Kipp.

Only problem? People are hiding secrets and dark pasts. Tess will soon discover that nothing is as it seems. She might want to save Kipp from his ghostly state, but someone has decided it’s better for her to join him…
 
 
Buy Links
 
 
 
Excerpt
 
Find our ghost, and we’ll help save Kipp.
One statement took my already upside down world, spun it in a new warped direction, and sent hot slivers of frustration through my veins. Another mystery didn’t interest me. My to-do list toppled with one important checkbox to mark off: find my ghost lover, Kipp McGowen, and return him to his comatose body.

I glanced sideways at my friend, Gretchen. Her cinnamon-colored hair swept over the side of her face, deepening the grayish tones in her blue eyes. “Did I hear that right?”

She nodded tightly. “You did, and they’re waiting for your answer.”

What if I didn’t want to answer? What if I didn’t want to help anyone else? Hadn’t the time for someone to assist me—without my having to return the favor—been earned? Yet, here I stood in White Castle, Louisiana, presently cornered to use my gifts to communicate with the dead.

Couldn’t someone cut me a damn break?

Blowing out a frustrated breath, I scanned the mansion. Its fancy furniture, dating to the nineteenth century, had an overall charm with gothic detail and rich crimson fabrics. Even the scent of a spicy potpourri portrayed comfort. Sadly, the two people—excluding Gretchen—who currently awaited my answer, didn’t look friendly. Especially the crotchety man in his early forties, sitting in the dark wood antique wingback chair.

I finally admitted to myself that I couldn’t ignore them. “Sorry, can you repeat the question?”

Wayde Hagen’s light brown eyes blazed with a bottomless irritation I wouldn’t dare agitate. His thick, six-five frame put me on edge since next to him, I was a tiny woman. Though I attempted to hide the fact that he intimidated me, the coldness in his features, the sharp contours of his face, and his thin hard lips unnerved me.

“I don’t need to repeat myself.” His low voice echoed off the high ceilings. “Answer the question.”

I could only gawk at him. Were all the others so chilling?

Truth be told, I had no idea what to expect when I first heard of the others from Gretchen. The entire airplane ride to White Castle, I drilled her on the group she belonged to. She explained some were mediums, others psychics, and a few more were witches. But tonight, only two of the group greeted me—if you could even call it that.

While I sensed energy in the room, much like an elevated awareness, and assumed it meant all those present held some level of supernatural power, none held my abilities. Perhaps they might create a kick-ass spell, predict the future, or sense ghosts, but no one except me could see and talk to spirits.

Some might think I’d impress them, but Wayde’s ice-cold gaze declared otherwise. To him, I was an outsider, and well, I’d prefer to be outside than near him. “Let me get this straight. You want me to find a ghost, and if I do, you’ll help me locate Kipp?”

Wayde inclined his head. “That’s the offer.”

I restrained my snappy response, considering a morgue would’ve been friendlier than talking to Wayde. He wasn’t the first to disapprove of my loving a ghost and I doubted he’d be the last. But I didn’t much give a shit what he thought. “Why do you need me to find your ghost?”

Turning from the towering hand-carved marble fireplace with the blazing fire, the other woman, Amelia, smiled at me. She settled in next to Wayde and her crystal blue eyes warmed. Her shoulder-length honey-colored hair looked soft, leaving me to wonder what shampoo she used. Everything about this woman screamed gentle…and maybe a slight undertone of weakness. “Someone killed my father.”

Perhaps that explained why she welcomed me so easily, since the matter was personal. “Your father?”

Her voice trembled. “Or I should say, our Grand Master.”

My lip arched as I glimpsed Gretchen, and she chuckled. “Alexander was our Grand Master. He ruled us for the last fifteen years.”

“Oh.” What else could I say? You’re strange. Or, why am I here?

Gretchen told me the secret society, known as Animus, was established in the eighteenth century. A group of supernaturally gifted had come together and formed the organization. Many of the founding members’ descendants remained.

To me, it sounded like an unfriendly cult, since I hadn’t received the warmest of welcomes. Not like I would call Gretchen a cult member to her face. She’d bailed my ass out of trouble only days ago. When a demon had come to Memphis to feed on innocent souls, I had been given the task to rid the world of it. Thus, Gretchen’s teachings of witchcraft. Her assistance had led to the demon’s banishment back to Hell.

Trust in Gretchen had been forged out of the weirdest circumstances, but it held strong. Perhaps I could see some logic in knowing others who lived a similar lifestyle, since without her, the demon incident might have turned out very differently, and not in my favor.
 
 
 
 
Author Bio:

Stacey Kennedy’s novels are lighthearted fantasy with heart-squeezing, thigh-clenching romance, and even give a good chuckle every now and again. She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her husband and two children. If she’s not plugging away at a new story—which is rare because her muse is annoying—you’ll find her camping, curling up with the latest flick, or obsessing over Sons of Anarchy, Games of Thrones, Supernatural and Dexter.
 
Stacey welcomes comments from readers. You can find her at:
 
 



Monday, March 4, 2013

Corporate Temptress By Stacey Kennedy

Corporate Temptress

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Short

Description:

Evan needs to finalize the details of an important merger. Problem is, the deal has come to a standstill because of the rival company’s drop-dead gorgeous CEO. Frustrated as he is with the woman, Evan can’t keep his mind off Brooke’s overt sexuality. He demands she sign the paperwork or the deal is dead. But Brooke has demands of her own. She’ll sign the contract…for one night of no-strings sex.

That’s a lusty merger Evan can’t possibly refuse.





Review


Stacey Kennedy really knows how to turn up the heat! This may be an EC for men but it would be just as great a book for the ladies out there who are fans of the contemporary erotic genre. You get a lot for the “quickie” that it is, though I wish it had been a full-length read, to see what else the pair get up to.

I always like when the female lead takes control in a book, and Brooke certainly did that. She was upfront, brazen and willing to not just talk the talk, but walk the walk. Evan certainly lived up to his words as well, leaving Brooke in quite a state and showing her what he has to offer.

I think what a like most about the way Kennedy writes is her attention to detail, she isn’t afraid to get dirty and turn up the steam, to flaunt her character's sexual side. A great short little read, that I enjoyed from start to finish.





Rating: ««««