Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Author Guest Post: Abby Niles

 
Casting Characters
 
 
It took me awhile to get the characters straight for The Awakening series. After the idea for the series took root, I started writing. I’d originally planned for the series to go in this order: Liam, Blake, and (I honestly can’t remember the third name, but it wasn’t Britton). Liam is the only character whose name hasn’t changed. I think that’s because the original idea came from his conflict.  
 
My CP’s played a pivotal role in Aidan’s story. I quickly realized after I posted the first chapter on my crit loop that I had jumped the gun. I had it in my head what I was trying to do, but in hindsight, I don’t think I even knew all the ins and outs of the mating idea I was building. 
 
I’m typically a pantser. Now with contracting books, I’ve had to go outside my comfort zone and actually write proposals without writing the book. But at this time, I was still a full pantser. My first draft is my outline. I spend that time getting to know my characters, the story and the conflict. Second draft is where I build on these things. I found myself in a very odd place. I had this idea for a story, but was having a heck of a time executing it. 
 
I knew Liam had issues. I knew the basic idea of these issues, but I didn’t know the in-depth stuff. After a couple of brainstorming sessions with my awesome CP’s, I knew I needed a therapist. 
 
Not for me, though I probably do need one, but a therapist for Liam. Aidan had originally been named Blake, and the tone I’d set up for him in those couple of chapters no longer matched the tone of this story. Blake was scratched and Aidan was born. 
 
Blake was a more gruff character. Aidan was more laid back with an easy smile. I immediately clicked with Aidan, and knew changing directions had been the correct thing to do. 
 
So I had my hero and therapist. Now I needed a heroine and a conflict. What if the heroine is the therapist and she’s become completely jaded on shifter mating?
 
Jaylin flourished from that. 
 
She became a psychiatrist who works with the rejected and widowed mates, trying to help them cope with their new way of life. After spending years dealing with the negative, including watching her mother and aunts change for the worst after the death of their mates, Jaylin has become blinded to the positive side of mating. She never wants to bond. She just wants to marry and save herself and her mate from the devastating life-altering effect death has on the bonding. 
 
Aidan is a shifter. All shifters carry an instinct within them that only stirs when they are face –to-face with their true mate for the first time. Of course, his instinct stirs the moment he opens the door and finds Jaylin standing outside. Jaylin, being an expert in her field, knows what happens and is blunt in telling him that she will never bond. Aidan is then faced with the possibility of winding up just like his friend, Liam, who has been rejected by his mate after he bonded himself to her. Aidan goes on a journey of trying to prove to Jaylin that the bonding isn’t this awful thing she’s built in her head while also fighting the unrelenting instinct to bond to her just in case he fails to do so. 
 
Words aren’t going to be what opens Jaylin’s eyes. She’s seen too much heartache, been through too much as she helped others try to cope. She needed someone who would shake her beliefs, make her doubt everything she ever believed. And that is where Raphael comes in.  
 
While I wrote The Awakening: Aidan, my understanding of this world became clearer and readied me for writing the next two books. I’m very excited to eventually share Liam and Britton’s story. If it wasn’t for Aidan and Jaylin, I don’t think this series would’ve ever came together the way it did. 
I wanted to take a moment to thank Jet for having me today! It’s been a real pleasure! 
 
 
 
 
About the author:
 
Abby Niles has always loved to read. After having twins and becoming a stay-at-home mom, she started doodling stories to keep her sanity. She didn’t plan for writing to become an obsession, but it did. Today, she juggles work, home life, and writing. It’s not always easy, but hey, who said life was easy? When Abby’s not writing, you can find her playing ‘Just Dance’ with her kids or trying to catch up on her never-ending to-be-read list. She also loves Zumba, and refuses to admit she looks more like Animal doing his Muppet flail than a sensual Latin dancer.
 
Author Links:
 

Friday, April 26, 2013

Giveaway & Cover Reveal: Claimed By Stacey Kennedy

 
 


 
CLAIMED
Club Sin, Book One
Stacey Kennedy
 
Publisher: Loveswept (Random House Publishing Group)
ISBN: 9780345548306
Release date: August 5, 2013
 
Pre-Order
 
 
 
Book Description:
 
A novel of erotic discovery and forbidden desire that goes beyond Fifty Shades of Grey.
 
Presley Flynn is ripe to experience her secret fantasies . . . and Dmitri Pratt wants nothing more than to fulfill them. Once inside the elite Club Sin in Las Vegas, Presley is nervous but excited—and determined to surrender to her every desire. Dmitri is her Master, and his touch is like fire. With each careful, calculated caress, he unleashes her wildest inhibitions, giving her unimagined pleasure.
 
Presley is different than the other submissives Dmitri has mastered. The BDSM lifestyle is new to her, and so are the games they play at Club Sin. From the start, Presley stirs emotions in Dmitri far beyond the raw purity between a dom and the perfect sub. For the ecstasy they share goes beyond the dungeon, igniting a passion that claims the very depths of the heart.
 
Claimed is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.
 
 
 
 
 
 
About the Author:
 
Stacey Kennedy is an urban fantasy lover at heart, but she also enjoys losing herself in dark and sensual worlds. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who gave her a happily-ever-
after.

Together, they have two small children who can always make her smile, and who will never be allowed to read Mommy’s books. If she’s not plugging away at a new story, you’ll find her camping, curling up with the latest flick, or obsessing over Sons of Anarchy and Game of Thrones.

Website / Facebook / Facebook Fan Page / Twitter / Goodreads





`~ Giveaway ~`
 
 




Sunday, April 21, 2013

Iron Crowned By Richelle Mead

Iron Crowned (Dark Swan #3)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Description:

An embattled mystically entwined with our own,
the Otherworld is at the mercy of one woman...


Shaman-for-hire Eugenie Markham is the best at banishing entities trespassing in the mortal realm. But as the Thorn Land’s queen, she’s fast running out of ways to end the brutal war devastating her kingdom. Her only hope: the Iron Crown, a legendary object even the most powerful gentry fear…

Who Eugenie can trust is the hardest part. Fairy king Dorian has his own agenda for aiding her search. And Kiyo, her shape-shifter ex-boyfriend, has every reason to betray her along the way. To control the Crown’s ever-consuming powers, Eugenie will have to confront an unimaginable temptation--one that will put her soul and the fate of two worlds in mortal peril…









Review 

Fair warning, once you have reached the end of this book, you will be on the edge of your seat wanting the next installment! So many twists and turns, some major events go down that really change things and will change your opinions of certain characters. A bit slow to start but once the crucial events in this read start taking place, brace yourself, you’re in for one hell of a ride.

I couldn’t believe Dorian, his manipulation of Eugenie to suit his own agendas was sickening, especially seeing as he claimed to love her. I wanted so badly for Eugenie to take his kingdom away from him and be the ruler of everything, screw Dorian! He can go crawl into a hole! Though the last few pages of the book saved Dorian in my eyes, I still want Eugenie to get all the power so people stop trying to use her and control her, but hopefully Dorian can be by her side and help her achieve that in some form.

Don’t even get me started on Kiyo. What the heck is wrong with him? I was glad that he was back in the fold and all; that he and Eugenie got to be together again seeing as at that point in time Dorian was being a manipulative jerk, but once everything got turned upside down with the predicament Eugenie has found herself, he turned into this horrible person that I never expected he could be. My whole opinion of Kiyo got turned on its head and I am left in complete shock. I could not put this down and I am so excited to see what happens in the next book.







Rating: ««««

Monday, April 15, 2013

Should've Known Better By Cassandra Carr

Should've Known Better

*Submitted by author for review*

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

Sara Jenkins, a math geek and hockey fanatic, is thrilled when the NHL hires her as an advisor for the Buffalo Storm. She gets to marry her two loves in this perfect job.

Sebastian St. Amant is a young hockey player looking to make the jump from the minors to the big leagues. His lifelong dream is within reach, but he needs to convince the Storm's management and coaches he's ready.

When Sara and Sebastian meet, sparks immediately fly. Both want to succeed, but neither can ignore the growing attraction and a relationship is out of the question—Sara’s an influential staff member and Sebastian’s a player, not to mention over ten years her junior.

But the impossible becomes the necessary when they can no longer fight their attraction. As everything crashes around them, the strength of their relationship is tested. Will it weather the storm, or should they have known better?





Review


Such a great read, from the nerdy math-geek female lead to the sweet hunky french hockey player, I was entertained from start to finish. I loved the math element in terms of improving the players of the hockey team and enhancing their chances of winning, I have never read anything like that before.

I felt bad for Dan, he seemed like such a sweet, nice guy and Sarah used him to try and get over Sebastian which didn’t sit well with me. I expect so much more of Sarah though I suppose when you are staring down the barrel of destroying not only your career but also the career of the person who you are utterly head over heels for, you have to do what you can to try and make the best of a complicated situation.

I really enjoyed some of the supporting characters on the team as well, like Rob. I hope this becomes a series and Rob gets the chance to find his HEA, he is such a great guy and supported Sebastian right from the start. Even Ben or Rick, I’d like to read more about them too. Another fantastic book by the amazing Cassandra Carr.



Rating: «««« 

Friday, April 12, 2013

Cover Reveal: Werewolves Be Damned By Stacey Kennedy

 
WEREWOLVES BE DAMNED
A Magic & Mayhem Novel
Stacey Kennedy
 
 
Publisher: Entangled Publishing 
Release date: April 15, 2013
 
 
Pre-Order
 B&N
 
 
Description:
 
Nexi Jones—part witch, part guardian, and wannabe kick-ass warrior—can’t throw a punch or conjure the simplest magic. But that doesn’t stop her from hunting the werewolves who slaughtered her human family. She’ll have her revenge, but only if Kyden, the elite guardian, would get the hell out of her way.
 
Kyden can’t decide if Nexi wants to get herself killed or if she just has no clue what she’s doing. But her father made it clear: keep Nexi safe…or else. Of course, the more Nexi runs toward revenge, the more she needs Kyden’s aid, and as she grows into her power and confidence, so does his desire to protect her. The only problem? She’d rather he dropped dead.
 
But when a vampire paints a bull's-eye on Nexi’s back, she’s hard-pressed to deny Kyden and the help he’s offering. Even if it means getting her revenge will be a little bit harder. At least it will still be as sweet.
 
 
 
Teaser:

I’ve found you, fur ball.
 
Nexi peered from behind the large oak tree and spotted the small log cabin nestled in the thick forest. The porch light cast a warm glow into the night. Fog settled over the lush grass, and the night was dark, eerie. 
 
Stepping away from her hiding place behind the tree, she strode forward and gripped the dagger tightly in her hand. Keeping the silver blade pointed outward, she climbed the cabin’s porch steps, taking each one slowly to avoid detection. 
 
Once she arrived at the front door, she wrapped her hand around the door handle. Rich hunger for revenge burned in her veins and made her intent on one thing: to slaughter the werewolf who escaped the night of her parents’ murder. Not caring what awaited her, she stormed inside, dagger pointed, ready to kill. 
 
The simple cabin had two large brown couches near a wood-burning stove, a kitchenette behind the living room, and a quilt-covered bed resting in the back. And that was it; there were no other rooms to investigate. No secret hiding places she could see. 
No damned werewolf. 
 
She cursed, shut the front door behind her, then trotted down the steps to return to her hiding spot. On her way across the yard, she glanced at the space to the right of the tree, which looked much like a heat wave, indicating that the portal to the Otherworld remained. 
 
In some places around the world—or the Earthworld, as supernaturals had called it—there were permanent portals to the supernatural realm. This portal had only appeared because Nexi had travelled to this cabin from the Otherworld. Once she passed through the portal again, the gateway would vanish.
 
Magic had its perks. Quick travel was one of them.
 
Nexi shook her head at how normal all this magical stuff seemed now. Just over a month ago she’d never believed in anything that went bump in the night. Now she knew all those things existed, and in fact, she was one of them. 
 
To her horror, she had learned that her birth mother, Tillie, had been murdered by a power-hungry vampire, Lazarus.  All those years ago, her birth father, Drake, had protectively decided to block Nexi’s supernatural abilities. He had planned for her to live and die as a mortal. Now with her return to the Otherworld and the removal of the block on her true identity, there was no going back. 
 
She was no longer plain, human, Nexi Jones.
She was Nexi Jones, part guardian, part witch.
 
Looking away from the portal and to her hiding spot until the werewolf returned, she hurried her steps. She wasn’t ready to return to the Otherworld yet. Not until she had the werewolf’s head as her wall ornament would she dare go home. 
 
Just as she neared the tree, a woodsy scent that had nothing to do with the forest mixed with the citrusy aroma of aftershave. A blink of an eye later, the dagger she held was now at her throat, a hard body closed in on her back.
 
“You smelled lovely when you arrived.” The low voice by her ear held a faint English accent. “But I never imagined you’d be so pretty.” 
 
The blade pressed into her skin, not drawing blood, but implying that if the werewolf chose, she’d be destined for the grave. “I’m…”
 
“Going to explain yourself.” He lowered the dagger, took hold of her arm, and jerked her forward. 
 
In a few short strides, the werewolf tossed her through the threshold of the cabin, and slammed the door behind them. He sauntered to the couch, sat down, and regarded her. “Now then, darlin’.” His olive skin was stunningly flawless, and his chocolate-colored hair was spiked tall. “Why would a pretty lass like yourself plan to attack me?” 
 
“Don’t move.” That charm wouldn’t fool her. “Stay right where you are.”
 
“My mouth is the only thing moving.” His slanted amber eyes raked over her. “Would you like me to stop talking?”
 
“No.” She hesitated then added, “Only your mouth can move. Nothing else. Tell me what you know.”
 
He gave her a long look. “I’d be glad to tell you anything you’d like, love.” 
His kind face and soft voice wouldn’t trick her. He was a werewolf. She was certain, which was another oddity.
 
After the block on her supernatural abilities had been lifted, she could identify a supernatural creature as if knowing the difference between a brunette and a redhead. “Tell me why you killed my family.”
 
“That’s an interesting accusation.” He cocked his head, studying her with a frown. “But I think the more important question is who are you?”
 
She lifted her chin. “The lass who’s going to cut off your furry wolf balls.”
 
 
 
About the Author:

Stacey Kennedy is an urban fantasy lover at heart, but she also enjoys losing herself in dark and sensual worlds. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who gave her a happily-ever-after.
 
Together, they have two small children who can always make her smile, and who will never be allowed to read Mommy’s books. If she’s not plugging away at a new story, you’ll find her camping, curling up with the latest flick, or obsessing over Sons of Anarchy and Game of Thrones.
 

Monday, April 8, 2013

Author Guest Post: Malia Mallory

Five Snippets from His Desire, Her Surrender

 
Thank you Jet for letting me drop by! My newest release is entitled His Desire, Her Surrender. It is the second book in a series and the sequel to His Need, Her Desire. I thought I'd select a few snippets from our hero, Marcus, to entice you. They are taken out of context, but I think you can use your imagination to figure out what might be happening.
 

1.  "You accepted my collar. Did you think that meant nothing?"

2.  "Take off your clothes." Dominance filled his voice. This was the Marcus she remembered. This was the Marcus her heart refused to release.

3.  "I want you to be who you are, Tabitha, always. I don't want a doormat. I want to explore with you, not subjugate you."

4.  "It makes me want to drive that sass right out of you. By whatever means it takes."

5.  "You know a penance must be exacted for pleasure. Don't you agree?"

Which of the five is your favorite?



Blurb for His Desire, Her Surrender

Tabitha Quinn's Hawaii vacation was anything but ordinary. Dominant billionaire Marcus Granger saved her life, swept her into his bed, and then left her heartbroken. Now she's back in New York, mourning the man she's sure she'll never see again.

Marcus may have left handprints on her skin, but Tabitha's left handprints on his heart: he tracks her down, and they resume the sizzling affair they began in the islands.

Tabitha belongs to Marcus body and soul in bed, but she worries she doesn't belong in his high-stakes world. They've already dodged a murder attempt, and now Marcus is fighting off a competitor's takeover. When the rival company obtains critical information, suspicion falls on Tabitha. She has to prove she's innocent--and worthy to wear Marcus's collar.







Excerpt

Marcus tapped his stomach. "I don't know about you, but I'm getting hungry. If you fix something, I'll reward you later. Deal?"
 
"Sure." Tabitha pulled chicken from the refrigerator as Marcus left her to find her way around the kitchen. She planned to cook something quick and easy on the stovetop. She located onions, chopped them and tossed them into a sauté pan. Further searching turned up rice and spices. A little saffron and cardamom and she'd have something tasty.
 
Once everything was in the pan, she tracked down the makings of a salad. That would do, she thought, chicken and rice with salad. Simple but appetizing.
 
As she set the table, Marcus reappeared, towels in hand. "I thought you might want one for sitting."
 
He spread one on the chair at the head of the table and the other on the chair to the side.
 
Tabitha handed Marcus the salad bowl. "This whole nudity thing. I'm not sure if I'd get used to it. Might get chilly."
 
Marcus stole a carrot slice out of the salad and tossed it in his mouth. "I imagine so. But it can be a fun change of pace."
"
Yes." Tabitha brought the chicken and rice to the table, and they settled in.
 
Marcus gazed on the food with appreciation. "This is great. I'm starving."
 
"I hope you like it. I make it quite often."
 
Marcus placed one hand on her thigh as he took a bite with the other.
 
Tabitha's fork stopped in mid-air as heat flooded her. She was glad for the towel underneath her. The last thing she wanted was to stain the upholstery.
 
Marcus massaged her skin and slid his hand between her thighs.
 
Tabitha set down her fork. "Marcus!"
 
He continued eating. "Yes?"
 
"I can't eat when you do that."
 
"You can't?" He took another bite of chicken, clearly enjoying it. His fingers searched her intimate recesses.
 
Tabitha pursed her lips, displaying an amused frown. "No. I'm too distracted."
 
"Mmm. That is unfortunate. This meal is wonderful."
 
"It's hard to think about eating right now."
 
Marcus maintained his innocent air while he explored her moistening skin. "Really? I'm having no trouble at all." He ingested another bite.



Malia Mallory Biography

Malia Mallory lives in Hawaii with her husband and daughter. She's been working with words since alphabet blocks rolled into her crib, not only writing her own work but copy editing and proofreading the work of others. She has loved to read about relationships since she first sneaked off with her mother's Harlequin.

Malia Mallory is the best-selling author of The ABCs of Erotica series, which covers the erotic spectrum from BDSM to ménage and everything in between. More releases in the series are on the way. She has also released the Mia's Cop Craving series and Santa's Backdoor Baby. Malia’s books have hit the bestselling erotica lists at both Amazon and iTunes. Her books are available in electronic format at major retailers like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, Sony, Diesel, Smashwords and AllRomance Books.

For a free copy of B is for Beach from The ABCs of Erotica, head to her website and sign up for the newsletter at http://www.maliamallory.com/Join_My_Mailing_List.php.

Connect with Malia Mallory
Twitter / Facebook / Blog  / Web Page


Buy Links
Amazon / Barnes & Noble  / Smashwords / All Romance

 
 
Follow on Bloglovin

Saturday, April 6, 2013

Google Making Life Difficult


Just when you think Goggle has stopped making changes and cutting servies that we require as bloggers, they go and make life even more difficult. If you haven't heard about the pending changes/removal of Google Reader and what that means for you, then you should get informed!
 
 
 
 
As such much like some of my fellow bloggers, I have started using Bloglovin'. 
 

 
 
Though it has left me wondering, is it worth staying with Blogger? Should I make the change to a different site and start over?

Friday, April 5, 2013

Hope(less) By Melissa Haag

Hope(less) (Judgement of the Six #1)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: New Adult, Paranormal Romance

Description:

Our world is being judged and we remain unaware.

In a world filled with people, Gabby is uniquely alone. The tiny sparks she sees in her mind represent the people around her, but she doesn't know why she sees them.

A chance encounter leads her closer to answers she's struggled to find, and into a hidden society where fur is optional.






Review

I have never read anything classed as ‘New Adult” and to be honest, I had to Google what it even was as I had never heard the term before; basically between YA and general adult fiction. I have to say, for those who find YA not to their tastes; NA might be a genre that may appeal to you more so as I found myself with this read.

The read was a little slow to start, but once Gabby moved in with Sam and the story started to get going I was hooked! The way it was written was wonderful and the characters were great to follow and easy to connect with.

I loved the relationship between Gabby and Clay, and how Clay remained silent until the very end, it made it so special and unique. I liked how Clay would mess with Gabby’s friend Rachel when he was in wolf form as well; it added some nice humour to the read that I found quite entertaining. The angle of Gabby being able to see Auras/Lights was inspired; I don’t think I have ever read anything like it before which was refreshing.

I didn’t like Sam though. I felt like all he did was use Gabby or try to force her into the customs of the werewolves right off the bat before she could even adjust to her new life. I was glad when Gabby was finally able to stand up to him and do what she felt was right. Overall this was a really great read; I cannot wait to see what happens in the next installment. I give this read a solid four and a half stars.






Rating: ««««  

Monday, April 1, 2013

Midnight Symphony By A.L. Kessler

Midnight Symphony

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

The legend of the Gypsy Lady had been passed down for centuries, and now it is Cora's turn to dance in the square. Giving people hope and taunting the Demon King is what she lives for, until she catches the attention of Darius, prince of the demons. Hidden behind her mask, she keeps her identity from him until she is captured by the king. With her magic on the verge of waking and the village on the brink of war can Cora tame Darius' heart before it's too late?

Darius became obsessed with the Gypsy Lady the first time he had seen her dance and play in the market place. The night he kissed her became his undoing. When his father captures the woman people believed to be a spirit, Darius takes the chance to observe her. His obsession with her grows into something more, he knows that together they can stop the war and set things right, but can he accept it?







Review


I was a little dubious as to whether I would like this read when I first looked at it and read the description, due to the fact of seeing the word “gypsy” in the blurb made me think of it as having a historical aspect which I am not a fan of. However, I was pleasantly surprise as to how much I did enjoy this book and liked the storyline.

Cora was a fascinating character to follow; I liked her determination and her strength. Her sister Theresa though, towards the end I wasn’t really sure what side she was on! After Cora put herself in danger to try and save her, she turns on her once she finds out about Cora being involved with Darius. Though all was revealed by the end of what Theresa had planned in order to ensure Darius and Cora's safety.

Overall this read exceeded my expectations and left me wanting to read more. I hope there are more books in the works by this author in the genre or even a continuation of Darius and Cora’s story to see what battles the pair might have to overcome next.



Rating: ««««