Friday, May 31, 2013

Reckless By S.C. Stephens

Reckless (Thoughtless #3)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

Can love survive when life gets Reckless? When the band hits it big, Kiera and Kellan must ask themselves: Can their love for each other withstand the constant pressures of superstardom? The friendships they’ve formed, the new family they’ve found, and the history they’ve forged will all play a part in helping them navigate the turbulent waters of the band’s exploding popularity. A greedy executive hell-bent on success, a declining pop star looking for an edge, and a media circus that twists lies into truths are just some of the obstacles the lovers will have to overcome if they are going to remain together. Fame comes with a price—but will it cost Kiera and Kellan everything?







Review

I think what I loved most about this third and final book in the series was seeing the growth of Kellan and Kiera not only as individual characters, but also as a couple. They have finally learnt to fully trust each other and to support one another. I was so proud of Kellan standing up to Nick when he felt like what he was asking him to do with the music video would hurt Kiera, he was willing to walk and throw everything away for her.

The whole Sienna scenario was annoying! The woman was a pain in the butt. Only took into consideration what she wanted and would do whatever it took to get it, regardless of those around her and how it affected them. Kiera handled her in a mature way but I have to admit, I would have liked to see her get put in her place with a little more impact and taken down a few pegs.

When the accident happened with Kellan and Kiera, I couldn’t help but tear up and the aftermath. Everyone came out to make sure Kellan was okay and to support him, he finally got the family he craved for so long.

I am so sad that this is the final book; I loved reading about Kellan and Kiera. I am hoping that there are some spin-off books about the other band members. I would love to read a book about Griffin and the lead up to meeting Anna, I think there is more to him then was shown in these books especially with some of the snapshots of him we got in this read. A perfect ending to a series I wish could have gone on forever.






Rating: «««««

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Giveaway & Blitz Tour: To Catch A Spirit By Carrie Pulkinen

 
 
To Catch A Spirit
by Carrie Pulkinen


Genre: Paranormal
Heat Rating: 2
Publisher: Breathless Press
Formats Available In: Print
Word Count: 93,868
 
 
A psychic who's afraid of ghosts and a millionaire with a haunted past and a hidden power find that only love can catch a spirit. With love, all things are possible—especially if you need to catch a Spirit.

Psychic Allison Dupuis has a soft spot for Logan Mitchell, even though she's never met him. All it takes is one encounter for the millionaire's true emotions to slip through Allison's shields, and she is intrigued. He needs her help, but Allison soon discovers that the kind of help Logan needs is the kind she isn't willing to give. Logan has a ghost, and Allison doesn't work with spirits anymore.

But the ghost is the least of Logan's problems. Born an empath, Logan is constantly barraged with human emotions. And while his talent has come in handy in the business world, it's about to drive him insane. Literally. Logan has OCD, and his ability triggers unbearable attacks that have him counting and cleaning until he collapses from exhaustion.

Sex and money. That's all anyone wants from him. Even worse, he's plagued with recurring visions of his future wife's death, so Logan has spent his entire life avoiding love. He's given up hope of ever having a normal life, until he meets Allison. She's everything he's ever dreamed of, and now he has to decide if loving her is worth risking her life.

If she'll even have him. Allison's lost too much already — her mother to cancer, her father to suicide. But, Logan is so charming and so real, she can't help but fall for him. Now she has to overcome her fear of commitment...and ghosts...or face spending the rest of her life alone.

 
 
Buy Links:

 
Excerpt:

She sensed them as they drew closer to her—many different spirits, their energy buzzing on varying frequencies.

"One at a time, guys. Please." she said. But they didn't listen. These were the spirits of the mentally ill, after all. Taking turns wasn't their concern, and they all rushed her. She felt their presence closing in on her like an avalanche, and she was consumed. Every mental illness imaginable was thrown into her psyche as she tightened her grip on Gage's hand and slumped down in her chair.

"Allison! Allison, are you okay?" Gage's voice was a distant echo as she fought to hold on to herself. She was slipping. Sliding into the depths of despair and the spirits were pulling her down.

"It's... No... There's a light... You need to... You need to go to it." She tried to help the spirits cross over, but they wouldn't listen. There were too many. Twenty at least, and they were so consumed by their own illnesses they thought of nothing else. Paranoia, depression, anxiety. Allison felt it all, and it was going to kill her. The pressure. So hard to breath. Her hands cradled her head as the migraine overtook her. Sharp, pounding pain had her crumpled on the floor as she drew her knees into her chest and rocked back and forth.

"Make it stop. Please, just make it stop." She was paralyzed. Frozen by the anguish of the tortured souls that forced themselves upon her. Hot tears streamed down her face and blood trickled from her nose. She gasped for air as she heard a faint voice call, "Get her out of here!"
 
 

About The Author:

Carrie Pulkinen has always been fascinated with the paranormal. Of course, when you grow up next door to a cemetery, the dead (and the undead) are hard to ignore. Pair that with her passion for writing and her father's insatiable love for monster movies, and you've got the perfect recipe for an exciting storyteller.  

When she's not writing stories of amazing sex with devilishly handsome men, Carrie likes to read, take pictures, and play with her kids. She also enjoys hearing from her readers, who can write to her at carrie.pulkinen@hotmail.com.

If you enjoyed this story, Sweet Release, her first published work is also available from Breathless Press.
 
 
 
 
 
`~Giveaway~`
 
Fill out the Rafflecopter for the chance to win an autographed copy! Also a $10 Amazon card up for grabs!
 
   

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Effortless By S.C. Stephens

Effortless (Thoughtless #2)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

After being caught in the middle of a love triangle which led to a devastating betrayal, Kiera pledged to learn from the mistakes she’d made. She was determined to never again inflict that kind of pain on anyone, especially the soulful, talented man who held her heart. But life offers new challenges for every relationship, and when Kiera’s love is put to the ultimate test, will it survive? Love is easy . . . trust is hard.






Review

The rollercoaster continues! Nothing ever seems easy with Kellan and Keira, if it’s not trying to fend of groupies from her man, its Kiera trying to overcome the trust issues going on in her head when she isn’t there to make sure they all know who Kellan Kyle is committed to. I like how the relationship between Kellan and Kiera isn’t cookie-cutter sweet and happily ever after, it is raw and messy.

I really disliked Kiera for hiding the fact she was hanging out with Denny behind Kellan’s back. Even if it had caused Kellan to drop everything and return home to check out if anything was going on, it would have been better then the way he found out and it could have avoided the big fight they had, it was so frustrating. Granted, Kellan was keeping a secret of his own.

The way griffin reacted to Anna’s news was so sweet, he was a complete dog for most of the first book and most of this second installment, but with the way he reacted to the situation really made you see the person that he was on the inside, behind all the ego and show-boating.

This book focused more on Kiera’s growth as a character which was nice, seeing her mature and work on her life without Kellan to lean on. I did miss Kellan in this though so I am looking forward to the final book “Reckless”, no doubt it will be another emotionally charged ride with some unexpected complications here and there.





Rating: «««««  




Follow on Bloglovin

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Thoughtless By S.C. Stephens

Thoughtless (Thoughtless #1)

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

For almost two years now, Kiera’s boyfriend, Denny, has been everything she’s ever wanted: loving, tender, and endlessly devoted to her. When they head off to a new city to start their lives together—Denny at his dream job and Kiera at a top-notch university—everything seems perfect. Then an unforeseen obligation forces the happy couple apart. Feeling lonely, confused, and in need of comfort, Kiera turns to an unexpected source—a local rock star named Kellan Kyle. At first, he’s purely a friend she can lean on, but as her loneliness grows, so does their relationship. And then one night everything changes . . . and none of them will ever be the same.






Review

Just as great the second time round! I first read this book a couple of years ago when it was new and only available as an eBook, now I am so happy to see that it got published in book form now and even more so that it is now part of a series.

Any cheating in a read usually turns me straight off, but the brilliance in this book comes from the way you feel for Kiera. She felt so alone and in a way abandoned by Denny and Kellan was there when she needed someone the most. Even though she cheated on Denny and betrayed him, you feel for the situation she is in, yet despise her for not just sticking to the one relationship she wanted, instead stringing both Denny and Kellan along because she didn’t want to make a decision.

I loved Kellan, though he did so much wrong and hurt Denny and Kiera, you felt the pain of all that he had been through in the past and how much light Kiera bought into his life, how much he needed her. I was happy that when Denny made the decision that needed to be made for Kiera that Kellan didn’t automatically jump to her rescue and be with her, he took time away, he cleared his head.

This was such an addictive book, once you start you cannot put it down and you have to keep reading to see where everything ends up, how this train wreck of emotions and betrayal ends up. I cannot wait to read the next in the series; I am on the edge of my seat to see what happens next.




Rating:«««««

Sunday, May 12, 2013

Giveaway & Spotlight: The Cat's Meow By Stacey Kennedy

The Cat's Meow
A Witch's Brew Book
Stacey Kennedy
 
 
 
Genre: Urban Fantasy Romance
Length: 256 pages
Release Date: December 2012
ISBN: 978-1-62266-857-1
Imprint: Entangled Edge
 
 

When a magical presence is detected around a recent string of feline slayings, Libby, an enchantress, is determined to discover who is behind the odd deaths. But being a witch gifted by the Goddess won’t protect her from the talented warlock the Coven sends to assist her. Kale weaves a spell more powerful than any she’s ever seen–and he’s sexy as sin. But why he’s even needed for such a simple mission is beyond her.
 
While having some muscle around can’t hurt her investigation, fighting her growing attraction for Kale is worse than a hex, especially considering she knows he—and their Coven—are hiding something from her. When she turns up clues that point to something far more sinister than slaughtered cats, though, the elusive warlock isn’t the her only concern. She now has a political rebellion on her hands, too. And when the truth about who she really is begins to surface, the only person Libby can trust is herself.
 
BUY LINKS:
 


 
 
About the Author:
 
Stacey Kennedy is an urban fantasy lover at heart, but she also enjoys losing herself in dark and sensual worlds. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who gave her a happily-ever-after.

Together, they have two small children who can always make her smile, and who will never be allowed to read Mommy’s books. If she’s not plugging away at a new story, you’ll find her camping, curling up with the latest flick, or obsessing over Sons of Anarchy and Game of Thrones.

Website / Facebook / Facebook Fan Page / Twitter / Goodreads
 
 
Teaser:
 
Fur. Guts. Blood.
 
I scrunched my nose as my spaghetti dinner threatened to make an appearance at the sight of the slaughtered black cat on the forest floor. The kitty’s stomach gaped open and its intestines spilled out along the ground, as well as other grossness I’d rather avoid.
 
Not how I intended to spend my night, or any night for that matter. I turned to my fellow witch, Peyton. “Of all the hobbies to take up, taxidermy isn’t something I’d peg you as interested in.”
 
Flicking her blond bouncy curls over her shoulders, her baby-blue eyes narrowed on me. “This isn’t a time for jokes, Libby.”
 
Not as if her wrath had the desired effect; an angry Peyton looked as deadly as a growling puppy. She placed her hands on her tiny waist, pursing her lips. Too bad, I only paid attention to her cute knee-length black baby-doll dress, a tad jealous I didn’t own it. “Look at the poor kitty. Its guts are hanging out.”
 
“Yes, I see that.” Even if I wanted to pretend I didn’t. In fact, I would have preferred to enjoy the dark night surrounded by the rich earthy scents of the large trees hugging the trail. Sadly, that wasn’t an option. Once again, I glanced down at the disgustingness at my feet.
 
From all viewpoints, this appeared to be an open-and- shut case. “Looks like a wild animal wanted a snack.” Evil warlocks, I’m there. A dead cat was not a priority. “You better have a good reason for bringing me here.”
 
“An animal didn’t do this. There’s magic present.” She fiddled with the hem of her incredibly cute dress. “Besides, it’s the fourth gutted cat in three days.”
 
I paused at that bit of weirdness. I had dealt with at least a hundred cases in the five years I’d worked for Charleston’s coven, and out of all of those cases, none had ever involved animal murders. Four cats in three days was staggering.
 
I sighed, beginning to understand my presence there. “Four, really?”
 
Worry darkened Peyton’s eyes. “Each death the coven has sent me to, there has been this weird magical presence.” She rubbed her arms, shaking her head at the dead cat. “It’s peculiar.”
 
The leaves beneath the cat’s body were soaked in enough blood that I assumed it had been killed at this location. To my disappointment, even with that knowledge no answers materialized, and actually more questions were raised. “If this is the fourth cat, why is this only coming up now?”
 
“At first, it didn’t seem malicious and no human deaths resulted from the dead cats.” She shrugged.
 
“Now, with this many felines dead, it could be an animal ritual.”
 
“Possibly,” I agreed. Charleston’s last case of a warlock tapping into dark magic happened only a week ago, but it got cleaned up quickly enough and the warlock received his death sentence. Compared to that, a few dead cats wouldn’t concern the coven, but then why did it now?
 
Furthermore, why hadn’t the coven contacted me? Peyton held the ability to sense magic’s presence.
I am an Enchantress, a witch gifted to work spells. We both held an important role in the coven, as did every witch and warlock who worked for them. Peyton located the scenes tainted with magic, I found the offenders, other witches assisted with different gifts, and warlocks killed the guilty.
 
If the coven had been as concerned as Peyton seemed now, I would’ve been brought into this a lot sooner. They would’ve requested I take on the case to search around and see if I discovered a reason behind it. That I knew with total certainty. The coven didn’t take chances on these things. The longer we waited to act on someone who harbored evil, the higher the chance they would succeed.
 
“The coven clearly wasn’t worried about the past deaths, so what’s happened to change their opinion?”
 
Peyton nibbled her lip. “They didn’t think much of it before because the level of magic isn’t dangerous. Strong, yes, but not dark.” She continued to rub her arms, shifting uneasily on her feet.
 
“I’ve been watching over the matter to see if things worsened, but the only change has been more deaths.” She tilted her head. “One cat can be shoved aside as maybe someone who practiced their magic. This many deaths can’t be overlooked.”
 
The coven obviously requested that she see if the levels of magic had increased. Yet, why did Peyton call me and not the coven? An order had never come to me in this manner before and it made me curious. “Who told you to ask me to come here?”
 
“Glenda.” Peyton grimaced at Fluffy. “There’s a reason behind this. The Goddess is warning me.”
 
I refused to look at the mangy beast and attempted not to inhale the odor of decomposed flesh beneath me. Instead, I scanned the area. Within the dark night the old trees around me created shadows. The stars above twinkled in the sky and the damp grass below my boots glistened with dew.
 
A typical night for me—I hadn’t seen a sunny day in the five years I’d been employed by the coven.
Danger happened during the witching hours of midnight to three in the morning because magic held the most strength then, so the coven stuck to the night shift. I’d become so accustomed to it I never missed the days I had lounged in the sun anymore.
 
On a sigh, I continued to ponder the fluff ball at my feet. If magic were present, clearly someone had either spilled its blood as an offering to dark magic, or simply practiced a spell to kill. Either one sucked, at best. Resolved I’d get nowhere in discovering the truth right now, I moved along. “What does the coven expect me to do about this?”
 
Peyton rolled her eyes, giving her customary flippant look. “Find who’s responsible.”
 
I snorted. “What am I, a pet detective?”
 
“Yes, Lib, that’s exactly what you are.” She frowned. “Must you be a smart-ass all the time?”
 
I grinned. “I must.”
 
She ignored my dig—as usual—and carried on in a hurried tone. “Stop stalling, conjure a spell, and fix it.”
 
“You know I can’t—it’s dead.” I glanced at the cat and groaned. Yes, still very dead. “The coven would wring my neck if I brought it back to life.”
 
The role as Enchantress with the coven came with one rule—never step out of white magic boundaries. Resurrecting a dead cat hit the no-no list. My job within the coven: stop those who went against the coven rules to protect human lives, since the last thing we needed was the human population going out on a witch hunt. The coven existed to keep witches in Charleston safe. That one law ruled my life.
 
Peyton’s shoulders slumped and her eyes saddened. “Okay, okay. I know we can’t, but it’s so sad, the poor little kitty.”
 
My best friend at her finest: her soft heart in this cold magical world had never changed over the years. Yet Peyton’s innocence had once been damaged by loss and pain over the death of her mother, and ever since she’d been emotionally fragile. Three years ago, I’d seen her go into a deep depression at the death of a teenager, and it took her a good month to recover. I would give my life to ensure she stayed away from anything that could damage her again.
 
Especially now, seeing the vulnerability in her eyes, confirming that any death still rattled her.
 
“Who’d do this?”
 
“Someone after a higher power.”
 
At the low velvety voice, I glanced over my shoulder, scowling at the approaching warlock. The coven’s muscle came after I found the offenders. I preferred no help, so his presence at my scene awakened my inner bitch.
 
Not to say I didn’t realize their worth to the coven. I might be brave, but I couldn’t kill, and warlocks held that desire in spades. However, his presence this early in an investigation meant this matter leaned to the serious side. The coven wouldn’t have called him in if something wasn’t up. More to the point, called in a warlock I’d never seen before. Two strikes against my coven on the “what the hell are they doing” meter.
 
“Go away.” I pushed the bitch to the forefront of my voice and snapped, “I’ll call the coven when I’m done.”
 
“I’m looking for Libby Jenkins.” The warlock stopped a foot away by a fallen tree, ignoring my demand, and in the same low voice with a slight Southern accent said, “Would that be you?”
 
 
 
 
 
`~ Giveaway~`
 
Three eBooks up for grabs!
 

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Giveaway & Promo Post: Imprints By Natalie Acres



Imprints (MFM) (Dominant Wolves, Submissive Mates #1)

 
Ménage Amour: Erotic Paranormal Western Consensual BDSM Ménage a Trois Romance, M/F/M, werewolves, spanking, wax play, sex toys, HEA]
 
 
Two pack masters discover an unyielding love in one woman by altering customs and forming new traditions destined to change the Wyoming Territory forever. Imprinting upon and sharing a lover, the Alphas realize their packs must join together, but they will face great opposition when their chosen mate is confronted with a wrenching decision.

Pack masters Frank Smith and Jock Corrigan aren’t enemies, but they aren’t exactly friends. Still, their similar fates have been altered by an unusual union they cannot deny. Their relationship with Carla Cassidy forces several wolves to make their independent choices. One will stand with the newly formed pack, but another will fall victim to his own selfish needs and motives. A group of new shifters will emerge and change the course of history, but not before the expanding pack’s goals are tested and tried.
 

Buy Links
 
 
 
  
 
`~Giveaway~`
 
$20 gift card to Amazon
The giveaway will run till 05/18/2013 and is international.
Enter via the Rafflecopter! 

 

Saturday, May 4, 2013

Werewolves Be Damned By Stacey Kennedy

Werewolves Be Damned (Magic & Mayhem #1)

*Submitted for review*

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Decription:

Nexi Jones—part witch, part guardian, and wannabe kick-ass warrior—can’t throw a punch or conjure the simplest magic. But that doesn’t stop her from hunting the werewolves who slaughtered her human family. She’ll have her revenge, but only if Kyden, the elite guardian, would get the hell out of her way.

Kyden can’t decide if Nexi wants to get herself killed or if she just has no clue what she’s doing. But her father made it clear: keep Nexi safe…or else. Of course, the more Nexi runs toward revenge, the more she needs Kyden’s aid, and as she grows into her power and confidence, so does his desire to protect her. The only problem? She’d rather he dropped dead.

But when a vampire paints a bull’s-eye on Nexi’s back, she’s hard-pressed to deny Kyden and the help he’s offering. Even if it means getting her revenge will be a little bit harder. At least it will still be as sweet.








Review

Not what I expected from a Stacey Kennedy read and I am left with a feeling of disappointment. I really had to force myself to keep reading and not give up on the book, it was too young-adult like for my liking and it did have a couple of sexual scenes so I would not recommend it for those who only read young adult, but for those who enjoy both the YA and adult genres.

I couldn’t form a connection with the main female character, Nexi, which I think contributed to my inability to get truly involved in the story. She just didn't cut it for me as a main character. I did however like the supporting characters, such as Zia and Haven, they had some real life to them and stood out to me.

I feel like it was missing the spark that makes Kennedy reads so addictive which is a shame. The witch element reminded me a lot of the “House of Night” books but this had more of an edge to it. I will continue to reads books from this author but I will be sticking to her more erotic reads which I tend to enjoy more.




Rating : «««