Sunday, June 30, 2013

The End Is Near!

 
 
As most of you should know by now, Google Reader is going out the door July 1st, many of us are sad to see it go and Google Friend Connect is looking sure to follow.

So you don't miss out on any of my reviews, tours and giveaways, make sure you follow me on BlogLovin' (It is actually better then Google Reader I have found in terms of delivering content to you, and it is easy to use!)

Bloglovin' will easily allow you to import all your blogs that you are currently following on Google Reader, so....
 
What are you waiting for? Use the button below to follow me :)
 
 
 
Follow on Bloglovin
 


Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Giveaways & Guest Post: Altered Frequency By Joya Fields



 
  
Blurb:
 
After losing her father and brother in the line of duty, Missy Prescott vows never to get involved with anyone who has a dangerous job. Blessed with a golden voice, she takes a job as a disc jockey with her own late-night lovelorn dedication show on a popular radio station in Baltimore.
 
Blake Decker has never had a family. He has come to count on the only family he knows—his brothers on the police force. He’s a one-night-stand kind of guy when it comes to relationships. Betty McAllister, the caring woman who used to live in Missy’s apartment, is now a ghost. She refuses to cross over until Blake—whom she viewed as her own son—is happily in love.
 
She thinks Missy is the perfect girl for him. Missy and Blake need to keep each other at a distance as they work together to help Betty find a way to cross over. But when danger lurks, will Missy and Blake lose everything?
 
Buy Links:


 
 
Ten Cool Things About Baltimore, MD

Thanks so much for hosting Altered Frequency (Hauntings at Inner Harbor, Book 2) on your blog today. It’s great to be here talking about ghosts, romance and the setting of this book! Each story in this series focuses on a different couple and a different ghost in a haunted Baltimore apartment building, so I thought I’d take this chance to tell you some awesome places around Baltimore’s Inner Harbor.

1. Harborplace-Opened in 1980. Two huge buildings that overlook the water feature shopping and dining choices galore. Everything from crab cakes and soft ice cream to souvenirs, hand-made treasures and toys. Local acts perform at an outdoor amphitheatre in spring and summer.
 
2. Fort McHenry-The flag flying here inspired Francis Scott Key to pen “The Star-Spangled Banner.”
 
3. Fells Point-The Inns and bars in this waterfront area are purportedly haunted by many ghosts. The cobblestone streets and historic buildings make it a perfect place to relax and enjoy a beverage.
 
4. National Aquarium-Sharks, jellyfish, turtles, a dolphin show, and more. It takes almost a full day to take in all the fun exhibits and shows.
 
5. The Water Taxi-What a cool way to get around, eh? This boat makes stops at Harborplace, National Aquarium, Fort McHenry, and lots of other fun places. No better way to travel on a gorgeous day.
 
6. U.S.S. Constellation-The last all-sail ship built by the U.S. Navy. Some people have reported seeing ghosts or smelling gunpowder while touring this attraction.
 
7. Westminster Hall-Edgar Allan Poe’s house/grave-Yeah, I’m a huge fan of Poe, so this is a big deal to me. Not to give anything away, but Poe makes a cameo in one of the books in this series. After all, he IS a ghost now.
 
8. Flamingos-From page one of Altered Frequency, Betty-the-ghost’s flamingo earrings set her up as a fun-loving ghost. The fun-loving residents of Baltimore love their pink flamingo yard decorations, too.
 
9. Crabs! It’s what Maryland, and specifically any place near the water, is known for. With dozens of Inner Harbor restaurants to choose from, you’ll find a little Old Bay seasoning (or maybe a lot) on these hard-shelled creatures from the bay.
 
10. Hanging out on the waterfront. This is my personal favorite. You don’t need any money or reservations. Grab a bench, take a deep breath, and enjoy the waterfront surroundings.

Can you tell I love Baltimore’s Inner Harbor? I hope you’ll feel like you know and love it too through Missy, Blake and Betty-the-ghost’s eyes as they traverse through different areas of Baltimore in Altered Frequency.

Thanks very much for stopping by today, and I’d love to hear from you. Do you have a favorite city or town? 
 
 
 
 About Joya:
 
Joya Fields has had over 100 stories and articles published in local and national magazines. Her debut novel, a romantic suspense, was a NJRW GOLDEN LEAF WINNER FOR BEST FIRST BOOK OF 2012 and was nominated for RT Book Reviews 2012 Indie Press/Self-Published Contemporary Romance award. She's since released three more books.

Over the years, Joya has taught arts and crafts, worked in public relations, owned a daycare center, helped her children raise prize-winning 4-H livestock, competed in three marathons, and even spent a year as a Baltimore Colts cheerleader. Joya loves spending time with her high school sweetheart/husband of over twenty-five years, two very supportive children, and a pug who follows her everywhere. www.joyafields.com

Find Joya:
Amazon Author PageGoodreads Author Page / Twitter / Facebook







`~ Giveaway~`

Rafflecopter grand prize of a $25 Amazon/Barnes & Noble gift card to one winner
 
 
 
 
Trading Cards!
 

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Giveaway & Spotlight Blog Tour: In The Light Of The Moon By A.L Kessler


 
Stripped of all control, shifter Kassity has no choice but to be a killer for a vampire named Lucius. Obeying the vampire from the shadows was simply her way of life, until Jax comes to town and brings trouble with him. When her panther half recognizes Jax as her fated mate, Kassity must deal with betrayal, secrets and Lucius in order to be with him.

With a war going on between all supernatural creatures Jaxon must figure out whose side he is on. What started as a simple job turned into a complicated game of hearts when he meets Kassity, the woman he thought he was rescuing, but not everything is as it seems in Lucius' territory.
 
 
Buy Links:
 
 
 
 
Excerpt:
 
“So you killed Josh, now what?” Clenching her fists she tried to coax the beast in her to calm down, but the block between them seemed to prevent it.
 
 
“We continue with the plan.”
 
“I don’t like the plan.” She placed her hand against the concrete gray wall, her fingers tracing claw marks she’d left while in panther form. The room acted as her prison, with no windows for escape and a mattress on the floor that she called a bed.
 
“It doesn’t matter what you like.” His voice held a harsh edge. “The human society thinks you are dead, their government believes that the panther-lycan strand is almost extinct. It is the perfect cover.”
 
Kass closed her eyes and leaned her head against the wall. “I don’t want to kill any more.”
 
“Then I will simply force your hand as I have been.” He laughed and his energy crackled in the air, striking against her skin, calling to her panther. She groaned as the aches in her body became more pronounced, the pressure she felt before grew, pushing her to the brink. She could have sworn that she felt fur brush the inside of her body as her panther tried to shove past the block.
 
An inhuman growl trickled out of her throat. “You left me in a cage last night, wasn’t that enough?”
 
“I will stop forcing your change if you learn to accept what you are.”
 
“And what is that?”
 
He traced a finger down her neck. “A weapon, my killer.” His finger continued down her back and her body arched to meet his touch. “The moment you accept that is the moment your life becomes easier.”
 
 
 
`~Giveaway~`
 
Thanks to the wonderful A.L. Kessler, I have 1 paperback copy of "In The Light of the Moon" to give away! US  & Canada Only.
Just fill out the rafflecopter.
 
 
 

Monday, June 17, 2013

Book Blitz: Conceal By Juliana Stone

 
 
 
Title: Conceal
Author: Juliana Stone
Series: The Barker Triplets #3
Format: eBook
Expected Publication: June 15th 2013 (First published June 13th, 2013)
Publisher: Self Published
Genre: Contemporary Romance
 
 
Blurb:
 
 
No one said going home would be easy…
 
Black sheep and all around trouble maker, Betty Jo Barker is back home and hoping for a do-over. Things are finally looking up until Beau Simon comes to town. The man pushes every button she owns and manages to awaken long dead emotions she’d rather leave buried. Beneath the surface she knows she’s a wreck–her scars run deep–and she can’t help but wonder, is Beau Simon the one who can fix her?
 
Beau Simon, the brightest star in Hollywood has come to New Waterford for one reason only. He’s determined to have Betty Jo Barker star in his next film. He knows she’s perfect for the part, but a past encounter might prove more than a little difficult to overcome. As Beau turns on the charm, hoping to win over this complicated woman, he realizes it won’t be easy.
 
Only time will tell if what lies beneath can ever be overcome. Or if love can heal all…
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Excerpt:
 
Slowly, Beau got to his feet, the air between them thick with things that she didn’t understand.
 
“You’ll probably need stitches,” he said after a few moments.
 
“I need you to leave. To leave New Waterford.”
 
He didn’t say anything to that. He just watched her with those eyes that made her feel small.
 
Exposed.
 
He opened his mouth to say something but she didn’t give him a chance. She was done. She was tired. She was sore.
 
She was cranky as all hell and she had a bone to pick with her sister. At least that was something she understood. Her relationship with her sisters was complicated. It was complicated and volatile, but it was…home. It was familiar.
 
Beau Simon, however? He was a complication she didn’t understand and Betty didn’t have the energy or the heart to deal with him right now.
 
“Like you said, Beau. I’m a washed up has-been junkie-model with a reputation that would make a nun’s toes curl. So I can’t imagine what you want with me. But whatever it is? The answer is no.”
 
She turned without another word and headed back up the path, listening for him to follow but there was nothing.
 
And that didn’t surprise her at all.
 
 
 
 
About the Author
 
A Bit About Me
 
Juliana Stone’s love of the written word and 80s rock, have inspired her in more ways than one. She writes dark paranormal romance as well as Contemporary Romance and spends her days navigating a busy life that includes, a husband, kids, a dog and a cat.
Juliana is represented by Sara Megibow of The Nelson Literary Agency.

Hobbies & Interests
 
Music and words have always been my passions. I sing in a band in which my husband plays guitar and my son comes along for the ride as well. We’re total ’80s geeks, but sadly, the big hair, big shoulder pads, and neon colors are a thing of the past!
 
Writing Tips
 
I think that it’s important to take some time for yourself when you’re on deadline. If you spend all your time in the chair writing, it’s so easy to burn out. Because writing is such a lonely job, with so many hours spent by yourself, it’s important (for me) to get some social time in. So as a reward, I allow myself time to surf the Net, read blogs, Twitter, and Facebook to connect with all the writer friends that I have.
 
Author Links:
 
 
 
Book Blast Schedule
June 17th, 2013
 

 
 
 
`~ Giveaway~`
 
Thanks to the generosity of Juliana Stone, I have one eCopy of "The Stillness of You" written by Julie Bale, Juliana Stone's alter ego to giveaway! Just fill out the rafflecopter!
 
 
 
 

Saturday, June 15, 2013

Giveaway & Tour Review: Shadow Hunter By Kait Ballenger

After Dark: Shadow Hunter (Execution Underground #0.5)

*Reviewed as part of Tour*

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

Vampire hunter Damon Brock's first assignment with the Execution Underground is Rochester, New York, a city crawling with the undead. But he isn't the only hunter in town gunning for vamp blood. Tiffany Solow is fierce and ruthless when it comes to slaying the monsters that destroyed her family-and she works solo. But being alone is no longer so desirable when she meets the mysterious hunter who wants more than just her turf. As they work to massacre the local covens, the line between good and evil blurs when they are forced to decide between their lifelong beliefs... and their newfound hearts.



Review

A little slow to start but once the story picked up I found myself quite intrigued with where the plot was going. The vampire angle in terms of the serum was interesting and the twist about Caius not being the end of it all I didn’t see coming.

As for the characters, I really enjoyed Tiffany, she was sassy and smart and she could hold her own but also had vulnerability about her. Her and Damon work perfectly not only as a team but also as a couple. I felt for her when she discovered his special connection to her but I was glad when she was able to overcome that.

I was keen on the whole “virgin” thing with Tiffany, I never do care for it in books for the way the taking is written most of the time, but I will give the author props for the way it was handled in a more realistic way. Damon not shying away from the fact and not deciding to stay away from her to preserve her “innocence” or not feeling worthy of it, unlike in some reads.

The ending! What a massive cliff-hanger! I don’t know what will happen in the next book but I am dying to find out, was one hell of a turn of events. With a prelude this good, you know the official first book in the series is going to be a knock out. I'd give this a high three and a half stars, bordering on four stars.




Rating: «««






`~ Giveaway~`
 
 
 
Thanks to the generosity of Kait Ballenger. I have a signed copy of After Dark to give away! Just fill out the rafflecopter to enter!

Open to US and Canada ONLY!







Saturday, June 8, 2013

18+ Book Blogger Follow

 
 
 
 
Question of the Week
 
"Fantasy to Reality: Do you like to read steamy romance books where the story line circles around a hot sexy couple + 1 (or more)? Or is Ménage à trois one person too many for you?"
 
 
 
 
I like a good multiples steamy romance when it is written well, which can apply to most reads really, after all it takes a lot of creativity to pull off a multiples steamy scene. I think one of the things that is most important in multiple reads is that all the characters personalities mesh well together and each stand out not just individually but as a whole.
  
The Buffalo Intimidators series by Cassandra Carr is one of my favourites.


 
 
If any of you fellow bloggers know any ménages or multiples that are worth mentioning, comment below! I am on the look-out for some new reads and they might be just the ticket. :) 
 
 

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

The Interesting Reveal of Author Natasha Walker

 
I came across an article which I found particularly interesting a couple of days ago which in turn sparked my curiosity.
 
The article was about author Natasha Walker, who wrote the erotic series “The Secret Lives of Emma”.
 
You can find my reviews for the first two books in the series here:
 
 
What I found particularly curious is that "she", being Natasha Walker, is actually a HE!
 
 
He to be exact is John Purcell. Who is John Purcell? Well he just happens to be the chief book buyer and head of marketing at Booktopia! For those international book lovers out there, Booktopia is an online bookstore here in Australia.
 
This got me thinking, are there other male authors out there, hiding behind a female guise?
 
Does the fact of being female or writing under a female name guarantee you will sell more than if you were writing under a male name?