Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Safeword Rainbow By Candace Blevins

Safeword Rainbow (Safeword #1)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Erotic Romance/BDSM

Description:

Tyler and Vivian have found each other again after a three day fling three years ago. They think they are ideally suited for each other and go forward to try to make a relationship work. And then they realize that Tyler was expecting a 24/7 total power exchange relationship and Vivian will never be a 24/7 submissive. They want to make a relationship work, but how can they get past this? As they try to find a compromise Vivian must deal with what a Total Power Exchange means, even if it is only a part time power exchange. And Tyler must decide if he can be okay with a sometimes Master and sometimes boyfriend relationship. Will they find their pot of gold at the end of the rainbow?



Review


I had previously read a book by Candace Blevins, so I did have some idea as to what I was getting into yet this one still managed to shock me with the detail it went into, in a good way. So many authors tend to glaze over the BDSM aspects when they write the genre, Candace Blevins does it justice. Though I would say with the read being so honest in that form, it can be quite confronting and some may find it too much for their particular tastes.

I love how everything started off with Tyler and Vivian and then the co-incidental reunion. I liked how though Vivian was a Submissive, she wasn’t completely willing to give away her right to decide what she was comfortable with, even if it meant that she and Tyler couldn’t be together due to his tastes for a TPE lifestyle.

I found this read completely enthralling and enjoyable from start to finish, even when I squirmed at some of the elements of the BDSM scenes. If you like this genre and you haven’t read anything by Candace Blevins yet, you need to get reading stat! She is truly amazing.



Rating: ««««

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Release Day Blitz: Tempting Gray By T.A. Grey


 
Title: Tempting Grey
Author: T.A. Grey
Series: The Untouchables (# 2)
Genre: Paranormal Erotic 
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: Nov 21 2013
Edition/Formats Available In:  E~Book

Blurb/Synopsis:

It all began nearly 600 years ago…
A dangerous vampire, mated to a woman his heart no longer beats for.
A mistake that would change his entire life.
A mistake so horrific it would lead Grayson Blackmoore back to one woman.
A woman who holds the power to shatter him completely—Arabella Donahue.
Vengeance, bloodshed. The hunt is on and Grayson won’t stop until they're all dead.

Excerpt
 
She smiled and held his hand a little tighter where their hands joined, energy swirled. He couldn’t see it but he could feel the presence of something special in her. Maybe she really was his bruid. A flicker of hope sprung. That could explain why she made him feel so strange…so good. 
 
“My mother’s not around. My father’s always traveling so I go with him. He’s really good at finding people.” 
 
“My father is Argonzo Blackmoore, president of the were and vampire council.” 
 
Her fingers flexed at the name. Everyone knew the name of his father. He was one of the most powerful people in the world. “That’s if you’re really that awful Grayson.” 
 
“Awful?” Surprise got the better of him. 
 
A playful look crossed her face. “I hear Grayson is a stalwart hero who’s as impenetrable as rock in a fight.” 
 
That almost made him laugh. “No one says anything so poetic about me.”
 
“True. I believe what they really said was that you were a quiet vampire with a temper.” She threw her head back and laughed, revealing the smooth length of her neck, and the thumping pulse beating beneath the skin. Gray had to force his gaze away from her vein. 
Too late! 
 
He saw the throbbing vein. The muscles in his neck locked tight in a painful knot as he straightened his spine. His fangs distended. Only weak, or young, vampires couldn’t control their compulsion to feed at the sight of a vein. Panic grabbed at him. How shameful to reveal his fangs to her, to show weakness to this woman. No! Grayson’s heart beat frantically, sweat slicked the back of his neck, he wouldn’t do it. Even if he had to kiss her to keep her from seeing those vile teeth. Wait. His mind slowed. Kiss her? Grayson froze, his wayward thought garnering far too much consideration. 
 
“Are you feeling well?” Concern pulled the girl’s eyebrows into a furrow that still made her look impossibly sweet. 
 
His eyes locked on her mouth. All he could manage in answer was a brisk shake of his head—no. 
 
“Is there anything I can do?” she asked. 
 
Again, he shook his head. How was it he knew he needed to open his mouth and speak to her, yet he couldn’t think of a single thing to say? 
 
He was nearly hugging her. They’d long stopped dancing. They merely stood there touching each other. Suddenly words he hadn’t known he wanted to say burst from him. “Please tell me if you are her!” He shook her with the question. “I must know.” 
 
The smile on her face faded. Sadness transformed her face into something beautifully bad. The look made his own heart break into pieces at the sight. “Are you truly Grayson Blackmoore or are you funning me, my lord?” 
 
Just then the sound of rocks being removed began. They’d been found. People on the other side of the rubble started clearing it out. The crashing of stone made it difficult to answer her without yelling.
 
Grayson grabbed the girl’s hand and pulled her further back into the room as dust and small rocks trickled down from the pile. 
 
When he had her attention he told her, “I am.” 
 
She blinked as if she’d forgotten what he was talking about. Then she remembered. 
Grayson must admit he wasn’t prepared for the impact her stricken face had on him. He nearly took back his words—however stupid that’d be. He nearly denied truly being Grayson, he’d do anything, to remove that expression from her face. Anything. 
 
The rocks were being pulled away faster. They didn’t have much time. Grayson felt like he 
held a delicate kite in his hands on a thin string and the wind was whipping by trying to tear the kite from him. 
 
Leaning close he asked, “Are you her?” 
 
Her lips parted before she fixed her expression into an unreadable mask. He hated the look; she was hiding something. That secret look made his stomach plummet. But her next move caught him completely by surprise. The beautiful blonde were, not the dark-haired vampire who he’d be mating with tonight, stepped up on the tips of her toes and pressed her lips to his. 
 
It was Grayson Blackmoore’s first real kiss. 
 
Grayson jerked in surprise, but didn’t sever their tentative connection. Their breaths stirred, mingled. Eyes stayed locked in a warm embrace. Gently, he pressed his lips more firmly against hers. Their lips touched completely now. He yearned to close his eyes and kiss her properly how he’d really like to, but he could hear voices now. The wall was nearly torn down. 
 
Grayson stepped back from temptation, feeling as dazed as the girl looked. The stones were removed moments later and a flood of faces swept into the small room. His father was before him, angry. Not that anyone but close family could see that the president of the were and vampire community was anything more than mildly annoyed. No, Grayson had been around his father long enough to recognize the stiff upper lip and quickened steps. 
 
He was dragged to a room the size of an area. It was packed full of unfamiliar faces, both were and vampire. The room smelled of expensive cologne, blood that filled glasses, and sweetness from poppy flowers used to decorate the occasion. 
 
“We do not have time to idle, son. The Redenver father has it in his head this is a poor sign of tidings to come. Hurry, we must begin the ceremony before he reneges on his deal.” Argonzo Blackmoore was a tall, slender figure with the nose of a hawk, and the complexion of an Italian. 
 
“Now?” 
 
His father cast him a spared glance, watchful. “Yes, now. Are you ready?” 
 
It was time. He would meet and mate with his one and only now. How strange that a cool stillness crept over him, bracing him, in that moment. Those unfamiliar faces turned to watch him and his father as they made their way to the center of the room to the dais on which stood the awaiting Blackmoore and Redenver family. 
 
It wasn’t her. 
 
Tongue dry as parchment, Grayson licked his lips. It couldn’t be her. The possibility of it was next to nothing. Yet, as his father released him and Grayson marched up the dais to meet his bruid, he yearned for that familiar face to stare up at him from beneath the veil. One that could dazzle him with a smile. 
 
His father announced the families to the quieting crowd. Grayson stood tall next to a girl wearing a loose white gown with a veil obscuring her face from view. Grayson would soon pull that veil up to reveal her. And so it began. 
 
He and the quiet girl who had yet to speak a word were positioned to face one another. Grayson swore everyone could see the sweat dripping down his temples. He was sure of it. Everyone knew he didn’t want to be here right now. They had to see it in the strain on his face. His hands managed not to tremble as he took his bruid’s slender hands in his own. For a second he found himself trying to learn if this girl’s hands were the same as the girl he’d danced with. The girl had been wearing gloves so he didn’t have any clue how her hands looked. Were they slender fingered with long nails like the girl next to him had? 
 
The moment came crashing over Grayson with staggering finality. A priest spoke vows before them, his words sounding as if they came from far away. On a final word, the bruid before him slowly pulled back the veil. 
 
It felt like someone was skinning him alive, such was the agony of waiting to see. 
Was it her? 
 
He didn’t think he’d ever wanted anything so badly in his life as he wanted this. The first strands of hair came into view. The very world rolled before him making the room spin in a whirlwind of motion. Grayson rocked on the heel of his boots nearly losing his balance before he caught himself. Did anyone see him losing control right now? Did anyone even care that his world was completely upside down? 
 
Across the room stood a girl. In front of him, a lovely girl with eyes the color of coal and hair dark as night looked up at him with calm acceptance. Across the room, his eyes stayed locked on a girl with the wildest blonde hair he’d ever seen. She stared at him with an expression 
Grayson knew he’d never be able to forget. For her look showed exactly how he felt right now—ravaged. Like he’d found something precious and perfect for a few minutes but now had to put the gift down and walk away from it. She shook her head as if to clear her head from what she was seeing. His body nearly surged towards her, wanting, no, needing to go to her and comfort her. 
 
Then Anita of Redenver spoke, and in a strong voice vowed to stay beside Grayson for eternity. 
 
It was his turn. His role had already been cast. His mother, his family, were more important than him. 

Grayson Blackmoore delivered his vows as succinctly as Anita had. Applause broke out as Argonzo presented Grayson and Anita to the crowd. Shiny teeth flashed in forced, over-bright smiles from the faces below. But across the room, the face he sought to look upon one final time was gone. And he realized, it would never be there again.  
 
 
About the author:
 
I love to write the kind of stories that will keep you up late at night and make your heart pound. It’s my goal in writing to make each new book better, more exciting, more action-packed, not only to test myself as a writer but to keep thrilling you. I’m always trying to push the boundaries with my imagination, and yours, to create something new and different.

If you’re a fan of paranormal romance novels then you’ll love my Bellum Sisters Trilogy. This isn’t your typical romance story, so be prepared for a kick of heat and tons of action. The Bellum Sisters Trilogy has received excellent reviews from paranormal bloggers and two of the three books are Top Picks from Night Owl Reviews.

Now, if you like shorter books with quite a bit of heat, humor, and action then I’d recommend the Kategan Alphas series. This erotic series features the sexy Kategan family and all the lucky men and women who get to meet them and complete their lives.
Visit my website to learn more about me and my books at www.tagrey.com

Places to find T.A.

Places to find Tempting Gray



Tuesday, November 19, 2013

Cover Reveal: Forever In France By Georgie Summer

 

Title: Forever in France
Author: Georgie Summer
Genre: Erotica
Publication Date: November 2013


And he’s back…

Returning to the ranch to take up her position as nanny to the adorable Mathew and of course not forgetting the other exclusive side-line perks that come with the job either, Lexi thinks her life is just about perfect…but not quite.

It’s not even the fact that her boss Max is still his cocky, self-assured, cold assed self either and the sex alone, which is as amazing as ever, is incentive enough to stay…no, it’s the other little surprises that completely rock her world and have Lexi seriously wondering where her life is truly meant to be…

Can she accept everything as it is and not want more?

Sex on legs Max still refuses to admit to himself, let alone anyone else that his blurty, filter-less employee could actually mean more to him than he had ever hoped to feel for anyone again. He is happy with their arrangement and for things to carry on as they were, after-all why wouldn’t he?

He’s getting all the mind-blowing sex he could ever want without the added complication of ‘feelings’ being a requirement, so why change it? Besides, hadn’t he already changed so many of his ways and rules to accommodate her as it was…

Is it too late for either of them to work it out and find their happily ever after or are some things best being put down to experience and left well alone?


Hi everyone,

I am the accidental author of the 5 Star reviewed 'Steps series' and 'Flip-Flops in France' and brought you the mouth watering Mr Zane Fitzgerald, hot alpha horse breeder Max and I mustn't forget 'Man On!' with sexy football coach Spencer.

In just over 3 months I have released 6 erotic romance novels and considering that I never intended to publish at all, it has been quite a journey.

Being an Indie author is so much harder than I could have ever imagined but is also very rewarding when you get such amazing feedback from readers.

I am very fortunate to have some amazing supporters, readers and friends and their continued encouragement is amazing and I love each and every one of them. xx





Saturday, November 16, 2013

Secret Scarlet By H.N. Sieverding

Secret Scarlet

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Description:

After an audition for a modeling gig goes wrong, Scarlet finds herself doing something she’s ashamed of—something sinful and dark. She leads a double life as Lady Rose, dressing up and role-playing as a living doll for a man she knows only as Master Red. He is the gateway drug into a dangerous world of vampires. She's soon blinded by the mass of attention she gets from men who fall in love with her alter ego. But her rare beauty may be her downfall and trap her here, making this dark lifestyle permanent. It’s not long before vampires more dangerous than Master Red catch sight of the rare white rabbit and vow to make her their own.



Review


This was a fast paced read that covered a lot of ground in terms of story and plot development which I found a little hard at times because I didn’t feel like I got enough information and that it was a little rushed. It is definitely one of the more original reads I have probably ever read, I have never come across vampire blood dolls before which made this quite interesting.

In terms of the characters, I didn’t find the two male leads appealing at all. Alex started off like a jerk and come across as super possessive and selfish, but towards the end I did end up liking him more-so then the Count. The Count is completely self-absorbed in my opinion; he wants nothing but to please himself and get what he wants regardless of others or of Scarlet.

I know that Scarlet claims to love the Count, but she has so much hesitation and goes to leave and is solid in her decision, then just goes running right back which didn’t sit well with me. Her lack of awareness for what she wants was frustrating and I just wanted her to give up on both the Count and Alex and just find someone else that wasn’t going to use her.

Overall this read was intriguing and it kept me interested from start to finish, though I did struggle to keep up at times with what was happening. I’d give this book a solid three and a half stars.



Rating: «««

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Cover Reveal: Give Me Hope By Zoey Derrick


Title: Give Me Hope
Author: Zoey Derrick
Series: The Reason Series (#2)
Genre: Paranormal Romace/Fantasy
Publisher: Self Published
Release Date: Nov 19 2013


Blurb/Synopsis: 

An Angel is he...

From the first moment he saw her, MIKAH BLAKE was seized by an inexplicable need to protect Vivienne Callahan, a fragile but fiery young woman who’s awakened a slumbering power within him. With his encouragement, Vivienne has begun to turn her life around, and things seem to be heading in the direction of a slow but certain happily-ever-after. But that happy ending is side tracked by a rising evil that is determined to destroy her.
 
When her dark past comes back to claim her, Mikah is caught in a whirlwind of events that lead him down a path he was born into but never understood. Until now.
 
Can Mikah save Vivienne?  Will his love be enough? Will he be able to control his angelic powers and use them to protect his newfound love?



About the Author:

It is from Glendale, Arizona that Zoey Derrick, a mortgage underwriter by day and romance and erotica novelist by night, writes stories as hot as the desert sun itself. It is this passion that drips off of her work, bringing excitement to anyone who enjoys a good and sensual love story.


Not only does she aim to take her readers on an erotic dance that lasts the night, it allows her to empty her mind of stories we all wish were true.

Her stories are hopeful yet true to life, skillfully avoiding melodrama and the unrealistic, bringing her gripping Erotica only closer to the heart of those that dare dipping into it.

The intimacy of her fantasies that she shares with her readers is thrilling and encouraging, climactic yet full of suspense. She is a loving mistress, up for anything, of which any reader is doomed to return to again and again.


Places to find Zoey:


Places to find Give Me Hope

Saturday, November 9, 2013

Giveaway & Cover Reveal: Embrace The Mystery By Caris Roane



COVER BLURB:
Mastyr Quinlan pursues the artist, Batya, with only one thing in mind but soon discovers that his desire for her is just the beginning of an earth-shattering affair...
 
He doesn’t want a woman in his life…
 
Quinlan must keep Grochaire Realm safe from the enemy at all costs.  As ruler of his realm, a woman has no permanent place in his day-to-day existence. But when his lust takes him to Batya’s bedroom, he soon discovers he’s deep into a powerful experience that threatens to blow his life apart.  He wants Batya with a feverish desire that makes no sense in his logical, warrior world.  But when an ancient fae attacks Batya’s gallery, he launches into protector mode and soon finds himself embroiled -- body, soul, and fangs -- with a woman he’d only meant to bed a couple of times.  
 
She has no desire to get involved with a mastyr vampire…
 
Batya’s intense desire for Mastyr Quinlan stuns and baffles her.  She doesn’t want to be involved with the vampire on any level.  His sole focus of ruling Grochaire Realm has kept him from staying with one woman longer than the proud length of his fangs.  Besides, she’s built a life for herself in Lebanon, Tennessee as an artist and healer to the realm ex-patriot community. But when the ancient fae attacks Quinlan at her gallery, then attempts to kidnap her assistant, Batya finds herself catapulted into an astonishing adventure.  Even so, she works steadily to get back to her free-clinic and her painting, but how can she leave Quinlan behind when he’s commanded her like no other man ever has?
 

BIO:
I confess I've had a love affaire with vampires for several years now, especially warrior vampires, the kind found in the books of Sherrilyn Kenyon, Lara Adrian and JR Ward. Though I've been published in Regency Romance under the pseudonym Valerie King--and yes one of my Regency Novellas features a vampire--one day I woke up knowing I had to create my own contemporary world of the warrior vampire.
 
For some mystical, magical reason, early in the process, my vampires appeared with enormous beautiful wings and it has been the most amazing experience to include flight in my novels, in both battle scenes and scenes involving spectacle.
 
My special vampire world, published by St. Martin's Press, is introduced in the first book called, ASCENSION (12-28-2010). The second book, BURNING SKIES (May of 2011), opens up the world a little bit more. And even as I write this, I'm on the final draft of my third novel, WINGS OF FIRE (September of 2011). What a thrill it has been to live with my ascended vampires through the creation of this extraordinary, multi-dimensional world!
 
 
For more information about my unique take on the vampire mythos, check out my website at carisroane.com and my book release video on YouTube by putting in the search phrase, Caris Roane Ascension.

SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:
Website:  http://www.carisroane.com/
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/caris.roane
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/carisroane
Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3500801
 
 
 
EXCERPT:
 
From Chapter Two: Mastyr Quinlan, having survived an enemy attack because Batya healed him, has to brush out his long warrior hair. Batya helps him out…
 
Quinlan showered, washing out the mass of his hair twice then applying Batya’s crème rinse until he’d have a half-way decent shot at getting the snarls out with a brush.
 
Using her blow dryer, he scowled as he watched his damn hair fly around. Why couldn’t a vampire, especially a Guardsman, have some kind of preternatural power to remove snarls and dry his hair without electricity?
 
“Want some coffee with your ‘shits’ and ‘damn-all-the-elf-lords-to-hell-and-back’?” He met Batya’s reflection in the mirror, and saw a mug extended in his direction.
 
He shut the dryer off, turned around, and took the cup. “That bad, huh?”
 
Batya chuckled. She had dimples, two of them. Not deep, but they were definitely there, beside her mouth. He’d never noticed before, but then most of his seduction work had taken place at a distance.
 
“Turn around. I’ll work the back section.”
 
He didn’t hesitate, something that resonated deep in his brain as a serious warning of some kind, but he wasn’t sure in what way. 
 
She picked up the brush he’d been using and started at the tips. He couldn’t even feel the tugs so he drank his coffee and released a sigh. 
 
His thoughts turned to Grochaire, the realm he ruled. “I need to get word to my Guard, to warn them about what they’re up against. But my telepathy isn’t working through your shield and my phone got blasted by one of those wraith-pairs.”
 
“You can try my phone, but I can’t guarantee you’ll get through, not with the shield I have in place. Sorry, but staying alive has a priority here.”
 
He smiled because he couldn’t have agreed with her more.
 
She brushed through a long length, hit a snag and started working it. He could see her in the mirror, brow furrowed. He’d seen that look already, more than once just conversing with her. She had a seriousness about her that he approved of, maybe because it matched his own. 
 
He sipped some more and watched her. She was a beautiful woman and tall, maybe just under six feet. He wouldn’t have to lean too far down to pull her into his arms and kiss her. She wore her hair loose with clips holding it away from her face.  She had strong cheekbones and a straight nose. Her chin was definitely fae, more pointed than a human’s would be, but exquisite.
 
 He knew her ancestry, half-fae, half-troll, her genetics having fallen on the fae side. Realm-DNA did that when the species mixed. The offspring landed one way or another, the same if more than two lines made up the code. Genetics always picked a lane. He realized that he liked her looks, really liked them. “Have you ever done a self-portrait?".
 
She picked up another long hunk of his hair and once more started at the tips, working swiftly. “I don’t really do faces. I’ve always been into landscapes and the occasional still-life if the objects intrigue me enough.”
 
“Do you go out, snap photos of woodlands, that kind of thing?”
 
“Sometimes.” She stopped brushing and scratched her cheek with her thumb. “But more often than not I’ll get these rich images in my head and that’s what I’ll paint.”
 
“Sounds fae.” 
 
She started brushing again, making quick work as he sipped his coffee. “Maybe. Probably. I don’t think about it. I just paint and let the spirit move me.”
 
He smiled. “The spirit, huh?”
 
“It’s a good earth-saying, don’t you think?”
 
“I suppose it is. So you like being here on human earth?”
 
“I do. In fact, I love it. I didn’t know what happiness or freedom was until I moved here.” She met his gaze in the mirror. “And I don’t plan on ever returning to the Nine Realms. The day that we made our treaties with the US, turned out to be the best day of my life…”
 
GIVEAWAY:   signed copy of BORN IN CHAINS, e-copies of EMBRACE THE DARK, EMBRACE THE MAGIC, and EMBRACE THE MYSTERY, small tote, notepad, versatile calendar, sticky notes, and RTC cards!!!  International winner receives gift card compensation!!!

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Giveaway & Book Blitz: Permanent By Kim Carmichael

 
 
Title: Permanent
Author: Kim Carmichael
Series: Indelibly Marked (#1)
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Breathless Books an Imprint of Assent Publishing
Release Date: Oct 7 2013
Formats/Editions Available In: eBook

Blurb/Synopsis:
An accountant's calculated attempt to fit in entangles her with Hollywood's hottest tattoo artist who thrives on standing out.  Worlds collide as the two decide what is truly permanent.

What is Permanent?

Always on the outside looking in, accountant, Lindsay Stevens, has calculated her transformation from a small town, nerdy bookkeeper to a sleek, high-powered accountant down to the last penny.  With all her checks finally in balance, she moves to California to start a new life free of her embarrassing past she never wants revealed.

As Hollywood's hottest tattoo artist, Shane Elliott thrives on standing out.  Charismatic and free of commitments, he travels through life with a wink and a smile, hiding the letters he receives from the IRS as if they don't exist.  Now with bills to pay and tax collectors breathing down his back, for the first time in his life Shane can't charm his way out of his situation.  However, when his new neighbor literally falls into his life, he knows he has struck gold once again.

Though Lindsay tries to keep her distance, she suddenly finds herself trying to hide her true self as she thrust into a world she doesn't think she belongs, but can't resist.  In his good-time life, Shane  must discover there is more to life than a party if he wants something more.

With their lives intertwined, the two must learn accept each other, themselves and their love.
Worlds collide as they decide what is truly permanent.
Permanent is the first book in the Indelibly Marked Series that follows the lives and loves of those surrounding Permanent Tattoo.

 
 
Giveaway

Kim Carmichael began writing eight years ago when her love of happy endings inspired her to create her own. A Southern California native, Kim's contemporary romance combines Hollywood magic with pop culture to create quirky characters set against some of most unique and colorful settings in the world. With a weakness for designer purses, bad boys and techno geeks, Kim married her own computer whiz after he proved he could keep her all her gadgets running and finally admitted handbags were an investment. Kim is a member of the Romance Writers of America, as well as some small specialty chapters.  A multi-published author, Kim's books can be found on Amazon as well as Barnes & Nobel.  From alcohol to makeup to infrared cameras and even scientific lasers studying the atmosphere, Kim has worked in some aspect of sales and marketing for over twenty years.

When not writing, she can usually be found slathered in sunscreen trolling Los Angeles and helping top doctors build their practices.


Place to find Kim

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Underneath It All By Cassandra Carr

Underneath It All (Storm #2)

*ARC submitted for review by author*

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Description:

Professional hockey player Rob D'Amico is confused when he's chosen to take part in a reading program for inner-city students. While athletes are role models, he tends toward the gregarious and playful side, rather than a studious bent.

Despite the lack of funding plaguing her inner-city district, every day kindergarten teacher Alaina Rossa ensures her students learn something to prepare them for life. At first she's unsure how a hockey player will help her achieve that goal.

When Rob visits Alaina's class for the first time, they welcome him with open arms, despite the lack of even the basic supplies for their education. He takes it upon himself to get the students what they need, sweeping Alaina up in the excitement.

As time goes by and she learns more about Rob, Alaina finds her heart opening to him. Is it possible her soul mate could be found in a world so different from her own? And for Rob, the last person he thought he'd find forever love with was an elementary school teacher wearing clothes permanently stained with finger paint. But when you're playing for keeps, sometimes you have to get a little dirty.







Review

Even better than the first in the series! I put my utter enjoyment of this book down to the two main characters, Rob and Alaina. Rob is such a sweetheart! The way he was with the kids and wanting to help them out to get a better educational start to life and have equal opportunities just melted my heart. He is the perfect male lead and I hate to say it, but I liked him even more then Sebastian from the first book “Should’ve Known Better”!

I loved seeing the relationship between Rob and Alaina develop, it wasn’t steam right from the get go, they allowed themselves to grow together and not rush into anything. There wasn’t much drama or anything particularly controversial happening to affect their relationship like in the first book with Sebastian and Sarah, but I still really enjoyed reading this and before I knew it I had finished it in one sitting.

I will be interested to see if Carr continues on with more of the hockey players, but they have a real task trying to live up to Rob, he really stole my heart in this one.



Rating:  «««««