Monday, December 29, 2014

Laid Bare By Lauren Dane

Laid Bare (Brown Siblings #1)

Genre: Erotic Romance

Description:

Unexpected Desire...

It's been ten years since clean-cut, sexy-as-hell police officer Todd Keenan had a white-hot fling with Erin Brown, the provocative, wild rocker chick next door. Their power exchange in the bedroom got under his skin. But love wasn't in the cards just yet...

Now, life has thrown the pair back together. But picking up where they left off is tough, in light of a painful event from Erin's past. As Todd struggles to earn her trust, their relationship takes an unexpected and exciting turn when Todd's best friend, Ben, ends up in their bed--and all three are quite satisfied in this relationship without a name. As the passion they share transforms Erin, will it be enough to help her face the evil she thought she had left behind?  



Review

This book was not what I was expecting. It started off with a real punch and I thought I was in for another run of the mill, all steam, no substance kind of story but that was not the case. There was some depth in the plot, emotion and growth of characters which may not have been the best compared to some other books that I have read but it was enough to keep me interested and kept it from being average.

I like how the book started off with Erin and Todd starting something but then them going their separate ways but finding each other again. When they were first together Todd was the one that needed to realise who he was but when the time came for them to reunite, it was Erin who needed help finding who she was again which was interesting.

I found the introduction of Ben into a threesome a little abrupt for me, though I do love an m/f/m, it just would have been nice to see more of the progression. This series is definitely one I will be continuing on with, I hope we get little snippets from Ben, Todd and Erin in the next books, I would like to see where they are and how their relationship is progressing. I’d give this read three and a half stars, very close to four stars.

       

Rating: «««1/2

Friday, December 5, 2014

Cover Reveal: Chasing December By E. Montgomery


Title: Chasing December
Author: E. Montgomery
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date:  December 19, 2014


When December had had her fill of bad boyfriends, she cashed in her savings and made her dream a reality. She is now the proud owner of December’s Light, the towns first candle boutique. Entrepreneurship has left little time for play – or men – over the last two years.

Chase, the new guy in town, stumbles upon December’s Light while on the search for a birthday gift for his sister. He finds a lot more than the perfect scented candle inside the shop though.

But can December allow her heart to open up to this man after she learns his secret?









E. Montgomery was born in Williamsburg, Virginia and raised in Yorktown, Virginia; so paranormal inspiration was easily obtained. She is working on a few books due out in 2015, paranormal and contemporary. When not attached to her laptop, E. Hammond has 4 wonderful children and a nursing degree that likes to rob her of writing time. Some favorites include: Reading (of course), writing (well duh), baking fancy-schmancy cakes, painting and last but not least hanging out with her amazing husband.



Monday, December 1, 2014

The King By J.R. Ward

The King (The Black Dagger Brotherhood #12)

Genre: Paranormal Romance


Description:


 J.R. Ward's # 1 New York Times bestselling Black Dagger Brotherhood continues as a royal bloodline is compromised by a grave threat to the throne.

Long live the King…

After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle--with the help of his beloved mate. But the crown sets heavily on his head. As the war with the Lessening Society rages on, and the threat from the Band of Bastards truly hits home, he is forced to make choices that put everything--and everyone--at risk.

Beth Randall thought she knew what she was getting into when she mated the last pure blooded vampire on the planet: An easy ride was not it. But when she decides she wants a child, she’s unprepared for Wrath’s response--or the distance it creates between them.

The question is, will true love win out... or tortured legacy take over?



Review


 This read was slightly disappointing for me, Wrath has always been one of my favourite characters, but in this it just didn’t feel like we got enough of him. Though I do understand that Ward is trying to transition in the side characters more into the focal point, they don’t measure up to the greatness of the main characters that we have come to know and love in my opinion.

Perhaps my opinion may change when the size characters get their own books and we get more than just a few pieces of their stories here and there but for now I can’t seem to get infested in them. I think I am having a hard time letting go of the fact that there will most likely not be full books on any of the “original” brothers any more *sigh*.

On a more positive note, what little we did get of Wrath and Beth in this read I loved. The progression of the characters and the relationship struggles they faced kept me enthralled and is what kept me reading. I am missing the other brothers though so even though I am not particularly interested in the side characters, I will keep reading for snippets of them. I give this read 4 stars.



Rating:
««««

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Cover Reveal: Witches Be Burned By Stacey Kennedy

WITCHES BE BURNED by STACEY KENNEDY
 

In Stacey Kennedy’s steamy paranormal romance novel, a rookie guardian sworn to combat the undead risks life and love in a world of violence, witchcraft, and seduction.
 
Title: Witches Be Burned, a Magic & Mayhem novel
Author: Stacey Kennedy
Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Page Count: TBA
Publisher: Loveswept by Random House
Format: Digital eBook
ISBN: 978-0-553-39513-6
 
Synopsis:
 
Nexi Jones has lost her family, she’s been stripped of her guardian duties, and she’s still learning the ins and outs of white magic. At least she has Kyden, the smoldering hot elite guardian who’s been there for her every step of the way. But just as Nexi completes her training, tragedy strikes the Otherworld when a fellow guardian is murdered by a group of rogue vampires. Ready or not, she and Kyden trek into the Earthworld to hunt down a killer—and Nexi alone will be put to the ultimate test.

Although Kyden knows that Nexi must fight her own battles, his guardian instincts are raging as he struggles to keep her close. The ruthlessness of these vampires is like nothing he’s ever seen. And at their helm is the Black Witch Astoria, a demon with one burning desire: to shed Nexi’s blood in the name of vengeance. What troubles Kyden even more, though, is the warlock who covets Nexi’s heart. Let the devil do his worst . . . all Kyden can do is love and protect Nexi until his last breath.
 
 
 
Author Bio

STACEY KENNEDY is the USA Today bestselling author of the CLUB SIN series. Growing up, Stacey’s mind wandered the path less traveled and that path most often led to love. She has always broken rules and she continues to feed off emotion – staying true to her heart.
 
Those traits are now the bones of her stories. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who puts any of the heroes in her books to shame, and their two young children. If she’s not on mom duty or plugging away at a new story, you’ll find Stacey camping in the summer, hibernating in the winter and obsessing over Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones and Sons of Anarchy.
 

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Lover At Last By J.R. Ward


Lover At Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood #11)

Genre: Paranormal Romance, M/M

Description:


Qhuinn, son of no one, is used to being on his own. Disavowed from his bloodline, shunned by the aristocracy, he has finally found an identity as one of the most brutal fighters in the war against the Lessening Society. But his life is not complete. Even as the prospect of having a family of his own seems to be within reach, he is empty on the inside, his heart given to another....

Blay, after years of unrequited love, has moved on from his feelings for Qhuinn. And it’s about time: The male has found his perfect match in a Chosen female, and they are going to have a young—just as Qhuinn has always wanted for himself. It’s hard to see the new couple together, but building your life around a pipe dream is just a heartbreak waiting to happen. As he’s learned firsthand.

Fate seems to have taken these vampire soldiers in different directions... but as the battle over the race’s throne intensifies, and new players on the scene in Caldwell create mortal danger for the Brotherhood, Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together... finally become one.


Review

This read was a quick one for me, though I found that I didn’t enjoy it as much as the previous instalments. The story was still very enjoyable and I got lost in the pages, finishing it one sitting. There is so much going on as usual in a Black Dagger Brotherhood book but you never feel lost or overwhelmed.

I like how we got an insight to the strength and integrity Layla has for herself and others, if I remember correctly I didn’t much care for her at all in the previous book, I just wanted her gone so Qhuinn and Blay could be together without interruption but I really enjoyed her in this read and I look forward to reading more about her in future.

As for Blay, I feel like he came into his own in this, he found his strength and did what needed to be done and say what needed to be said, finally. Qhuinn also opened up in this read, he allowed himself to be vulnerable and let down all the barriers he had up, it is almost like Blay and Qhuinn switched places from the roles they played in the past books, they got perspective in each other’s shoes.

My expectations were met with this book, it was everything I had hoped it would be though I feel like I could go back and read it again to get a better understanding of some of the side characters, such as Assail and Xcor. This series is one that I hope never ends and I’d give this particular instalment a rating of 4 stars.


 
 Rating: ««««

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Giveaway & Promo: Freed By Stacey Kennedy



FREED - CLUB SIN # 3.5
Contemporary Romance – Erotica
Publisher: Loveswept
(Random House Publishing Group)
ISBN: 978-0-553-39119-0
Release date: November 4, 2014

Advance praise for FREED:

“Freed is fabulous! Stacey Kennedy’s a master at creating steamy and heartwarming romance, where the BDSM lifestyle is inextricably bound with compelling emotion and unforgettable characters!”—Virna DePaul, New York Times bestselling author of Turned and Awakened

“Freed is a heartwarming tale of sensual surrender and starting over. I loved it!”—Cherise Sinclair, USA Today bestselling author of Club Shadowlands

About FREED:
 
Fans who can’t get enough of USA Today bestselling author Stacey Kennedy will love this wicked, wild spinoff novel that explores how sexy life can be outside Club Sin.

Mary Schmidt knows only too well how thrilling a Master’s touch can be. Her husband, Charles, had been her ultimate fantasy, a seducer in the erotic dance of dominance and submission. She misses the sensual lifestyle they shared, but mourns him so deeply she cannot bear to embrace her submissive needs with another Dom—until a man who exudes temptation reawakens desires she can no longer deny.

Elliott Foster is dazzled by Mary. He instantly knows that she’s the woman he’s been waiting for—a woman who turns games into need. As her Master, he dares to unlock the deepest pleasures of her flesh, releasing her from pain and healing her mind. When Mary’s lithe body comes to life under his, he knows their connection goes beyond sex. Now that he has found the perfect woman, the perfect partner, the perfect submissive, he desires only to give her everything she craves.

Freed is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.
 
Buy links:
More buying options - http://bit.ly/1qxPv3g






About the Author:

STACEY KENNEDY is the USA Today bestselling author of the CLUB SIN series. Growing up, Stacey’s mind wandered the path less traveled and that path most often led to love. She has always broken rules and she continues to feed off emotion – staying true to her heart. Those traits are now the bones of her stories. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who puts any of the heroes in her books to shame, and their two young children. If she’s not on mom duty or plugging away at a new story, you’ll find Stacey camping in the summer, hibernating in the winter and obsessing over Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones and Sons of Anarchy.


Loveswept website - http://www.readloveswept.com





EXCERPT:
 
Mary drove past the iron gate minutes before six o’clock and up the cobblestone driveway toward the Georgian-style mansion. Set back from the road, the redbrick residence was decorated with black shutters and white pillars. Flowers embellished every inch of the grounds, as did olive and Australian willow trees. Dmitri Pratt and Presley Flynn’s home was breathtakingly beautiful yet commanding in its own way, too.
 
She approached the circular portion of the driveway, and parked her car behind a limousine. As she turned off the engine to her Mercedes convertible, Mary tried to figure out whom the limo could belong to. Since the chauffeur was waiting patiently in the vehicle, she doubted it belonged to her dear friend Dmitri. Besides, he had always preferred to drive himself.
 
Curious now, she grasped the wine bottle off the passenger seat, and as she exited the car the stifling Vegas air engulfed her. Her high heels clicked against the stone driveway as she made her way to the dark hardwood front door. When she reached the entrance and knocked, the light breeze fluttered the hem of her mauve sundress.
 
Only seconds passed before the door opened, and Dmitri’s girlfriend, Presley, greeted her, wearing a strapless yellow baby-doll dress. Mary thought even with dark eye makeup around her gorgeous emerald-green eyes and her curled blond hair, Presley still looked much younger than Mary’s own fifty years.
 
“I’m so glad you could make it, Mary,” Presley said with her sweet smile. “It’s nice to see you again.”
 
Mary returned the smile, stepping into the house and hugging her friend tightly. Since Presley had come into Dmitri’s life, she had made it a point to invite Mary over for a weekly dinner. At first Mary had refused the kind offer because she worried it would bring back too many memories. Dmitri reminded her of her late husband, Charles, whom she missed dearly. Though after Presley’s numerous invites Mary felt rude saying no. Now she enjoyed their get-togethers, even looking forward to them. She released Presley and said, “Thank you for having me. How are things?”
 
“Couldn’t be better. I told you, or I think we talked about, my hours at the clinic being cut back, which is good and bad financially, of course, but it’s giving Dmitri and me more time together.” Presley’s soft, gentle voice was so welcoming.
 
“Wonderful news.” Mary offered the bottle of wine. “A treat for dinner tonight. A nice white that I think will complement whatever you’re serving.”
 
“Yum. Thank you. Let’s go into the kitchen and talk a bit before we eat.” Presley turned and headed in that direction, her curls bouncing around her shoulders.
 
Mary smiled, as Presley reminded her a lot of herself when she was twenty-five years old—passionate about life. She removed her high heels, leaving them at the door like she always did, and looked around the foyer. A huge balcony curved around the entire upper floor, leading to a grand wooden staircase. Dmitri’s interior designer, someone that Mary had recommended when he built the home just over four years ago, had outdone herself. From the art on the walls, to the decorative sculptures, the house exuded wealth. One of her favorite paintings was the Edgar Degas—she wasn’t sure if it was a print or an original, Dmitri could afford either. She always admired the entrance no matter how many times she’d seen it before.
 
Her gaze lowered to the cherry hardwood floors, and her stomach tightened. In the basement was a secret not many knew of unless they were members of the elite and exclusive BDSM dungeon Club Sin. A club that Mary had never attended—in fact, she had no idea what it looked like, only that the club existed.
 
Even if Dmitri owned the dungeon and would no doubt allow her membership, many of the members were his close friends and presumably closer to his age, thirty-five years old, or younger. It was one thing to visit your friends’ home for dinner; it’s quite another to have a dialogue half naked and dressed for play. Besides, most of Club Sin’s members were still single and she doubted any of them had children—the differences in their lives were vast, and therefore playing at the club lacked in appeal in more ways than one.
 
After Charles, her husband and the father of her children, and also her best friend and Dom, passed away, just over four short years ago, her need to play in BDSM clubs died with him.
 
She sighed through those still-painful memories and followed Presley when she heard voices coming from the living room. Glancing to her left, she noted Dmitri sitting on one of the leather couches. His features were stern and focused on his conversation until his eyes met hers; then he smiled.
With his blond hair and piercing blue eyes, Dmitri was a handsome young man. Though she’d known Dmitri for more than ten years, the relationship between them had always been strictly platonic.
 
“Mary,” Dmitri said, waving her into the room. “Please come in.”
 
She immediately noticed another man with a dark head of hair showing hints of gray on the sides. When he rose from his seat, her breathing faltered and her gaze drank him in.
 
“Mary Schmidt,” Dmitri said. “Please meet Elliott Foster.”
 
Elliott was tall, at least six-foot-three, and compared to Mary’s five-foot-six frame, he towered over her. He had a powerful physique, obviously a man who cared for himself and lived a healthy lifestyle. It’d been quite a while since she’d allowed herself to have an interest in another man, but this guy, she couldn’t look away.
 
He was undeniably gorgeous, and he looked to be right around her age.
Excitement shot through her when the side of Elliott’s mouth arched in a half-smile. He offered her his hand in greeting. “It’s my pleasure.”
 
“Likewise.” Mary slid her hand into his and heady warmth seeped from his strong fingers into hers; she felt drawn in to his spell.
 
His grip tightened slightly and he observed her. Nervously, she shifted on her feet from side to side, suddenly very unsure in her own skin.
 
She removed her hand from his, and couldn’t help but cast her gaze downward. Partly anxiety but partly a result of his presence, a natural response for her, and unfortunately something he would also detect and understand himself.
 
A long pause passed before Dmitri cleared his throat, drawing Mary’s attention. “Elliott is a close friend. We do a lot of business together.” His normal conversation pulled her back into their surroundings.
 
“Oh, do you work at the casino as well?” she asked, keeping her focus on Dmitri, attempting to settle the racing of her heart. Without having Elliott confirm it, she knew he was a Dom—for those in the lifestyle, it was instinctual. She could tell by his observation of her, the knowing smile, and the desire in his eyes. Possibly even in the way he commanded his space within the room. She didn’t know if he played at Club Sin or somewhere else, but experience led her to identify a sexual Dominant.
 
“I invest in many companies,” Elliott replied, his voice smooth and alluring, holding mystery.
 
“Dmitri’s casino is one of them.”
 
She sensed his stare and peeked at him. When their eyes locked on each other, her stomach somersaulted. She realized this was the first time she’d been around a mature Dom since Charles had died.
 
The effect rattled her, because she was aroused, interested, and she liked it.
An unnerving ache sizzled between her thighs, reminding her she’d been neglecting her own needs. When Charles was alive their relationship was very sexual and they enjoyed their play in and out of the dungeon. She’d always been a submissive and fiercely reacted around a Dom. Now she realized she still craved the power a Dominant held—the confidence, and the kink he could offer.
 
Dmitri said, “We’re looking to expand at the casino, so I casually was inquiring to see if Elliott might want to be involved.”
 
Elliott smiled, yet it was his chocolate-brown eyes that held Mary’s focus. They were commanding, capturing her as he said, “And I casually said yes.”
 
Dmitri laughed at Elliott’s remark, but Mary couldn’t move. Couldn’t breathe. Couldn’t ignore the heat coursing through her. This man had a serious effect on her and she wasn’t sure what to do about it.
 
Someone brushed against her arm, drawing her gaze away from Elliott’s stare. She inhaled sharply, discovering Presley had entered the room. An awkward moment passed as Presley looked from Mary to Elliott, then her smile beamed. “You know, I made a little extra for dinner tonight. Would you like to stay, Elliott?”
 
Mary tensed, awaiting his answer. On one hand, she would enjoy knowing more about this man; on the other, heady guilt was riding her for even thinking that. She still missed Charles. She still loved him. In her heart, she still belonged to her Dom.
 
Elliott’s gaze zeroed in on Mary before his grin turned devilish. “I would love to stay for dinner, thank you.”
 
“Just give us a few more minutes, doll,” Dmitri said to Presley and motioned to the papers on the glass coffee table. “We’re just wrapping up the details.”
 
Mary clenched her teeth, sensing Elliott’s focus remaining on her. She instantly shivered and swore his stare was similar to fingertips dragging over her flesh. Doing her best to hide her unexpected reaction, she followed Presley into the chef’s kitchen. She inhaled the warm hints of spices and settled her hip against the island, narrowing her eyes on Presley.
 
Presley gave a tight smile. “He’s handsome, isn’t he?”
 
“Presley,” Mary warned.
 
“I’m just saying, he is.” She laughed softly. “Besides, isn’t it nice to meet someone else in the lifestyle?”
 
Mary frowned. What is this? Is she matchmaking tonight?
 
Though Presley was referring to the relationship of a submissive and Dom when the two lived the BDSM lifestyle, enjoying the power exchange and kink, Mary hadn’t been involved in it since Charles passed. “If I wanted to meet others in the lifestyle, I would have arranged it myself, without your meddling.” She crossed her arms. “I didn’t come here tonight for a date, if that’s what you thought you were arranging.”
 
Presley opened the oven and peeked in before she glanced over her shoulder. “It’s not like I planned it or something. I don’t mean to step on toes or anything, but I thought it’d be rude not to invite him to stay for dinner. Even if Elliott wasn’t in the lifestyle, I still would have asked him.” She shut the oven and added, “Why, does it make you uncomfortable?”
Yes!
 
Mary withheld her response, knowing it shouldn’t make her uncomfortable. If Elliott wasn’t a Dom, having another dinner guest wouldn’t be a problem. Yet she sensed something with him that made her feel unsteady. The heat burning through her reminded her she was attracted to him and that he was a Dominant, a man who was skilled in controlling women and getting what he wanted.
She lifted her chin, forcing the thoughts away. She was no longer a submissive and certainly was not going to act on her body’s response to him. Her fingers absentmindedly reached for her diamond necklace—Charles’s claim of her—which was the collar that marked her as his. No one could replace him. “You’re right. It would have been rude of you not to ask him. Just no matchmaking, got it?”
 
“Of course,” Presley replied with a smile. She moved toward the counter, grabbing the tray of buns. “But maybe it’ll be nice to talk with someone who isn’t”—she glanced over her shoulder and grinned—“my age.”
 
Mary laughed, picking up the bowl of summer salad. Nice way of not saying she was old, she thought. Regardless of the years between them, she’d grown fond of Presley in the few months she’d known her.
 
Though lingering tension followed Mary as she walked through the kitchen toward the circular dining room, she could not be happier for Dmitri and all of the success he had achieved as well. When Charles first hired him to work at the casino, Dmitri had seemed strained, as if something heavy was weighing on him. His years of employment with her late husband was how she’d got to know Dmitri, and over time he became more relaxed and another part of their family. Not only had he and Charles gotten along very well, but Dmitri was a Master and needed to release that controlling nature, so when he got involved in the lifestyle he became a more well-rounded young man.
 
Charles had introduced Dmitri to Chains, a local BDSM club, and mentored him. They had known Dmitri since he was in his twenties, and he had gone from a kid who struggled through life to a confident thirty-three-year-old man.
 
Her late husband would have been proud of the man, and Dom, Dmitri had become.
Mary entered the dining room and placed the salad on the antique table, knowing Presley’s intentions were good. Perhaps Presley thought Mary was missing something in her life.
Maybe she was.
 
She’d always known she’d lost a piece of herself when Charles passed away. In the year Charles was sick with terminal pancreatic cancer, she hadn’t been interested in anything sexual at all. She only wanted her husband well again. Then in the years since his death, she hadn’t watched a BDSM scene, except for a few adult movies, which were much different from being in the club and seeing a live display.
 
It’d been a long time since she had sex or any sexual physical contact, with or without the kink she had once craved and needed in her life. She sighed as she aligned the fork next to the plate and noticed Presley watching her. “All right, spit it out.”
 
Presley looked down, fiddling with a napkin. “Do you think you’ll ever date again?”
 
“I’ve already met the man I was meant to be with and he’s gone.” Presley’s eyes saddened, but Mary pushed past the thickness in her throat. “You don’t get two chances at something that beautiful.”
 


~`Giveaway`~
Prizes - $100 Amazon Gift Card and Fifty Shades Of Grey Submit To Me Beginners Bondage Kit.

Saturday, November 1, 2014

Safeword Arabesque By Candace Blevins

Safeword: Arabesque (Safeword #9)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre:
BDSM, Erotic, Ménage, M/M

Description:


Cassie’s introduction to kink throws her for a loop until a friend and his slave give her a gentle introduction. Unfortunately, her friend has issues when it comes to kinky activities with women, so Cassie goes looking for someone else to teach her.

She knows how to be safe, but a disastrous adventure ends with an ambulance ride to the emergency room, and the three men it hasn’t worked out with all come together to nurse her back to health.
Two Doms and two submissives in one house should be a nightmare waiting to happen, though under the right circumstances could be a dream come true.

Warning: Contains graphic language, consensual BDSM, male/male sexual practices, bondage, male chastity devices, and the use of toys including clamps, canes, paddles, floggers, plugs, and gags.

Readers with a history of rape may find elements of this story disturbing.

Safeword: Arabesque is a stand-alone book. You do not need to have read the previous books in the series.
  


Review

I hadn’t read one of Candace Blevins Safeword instalments in while and as soon as I started reading this I remembered why I enjoyed them so much. I could not stop reading, time flew by without my notice I was so enthralled in the story and the characters. I felt a little bit spoilt while reading this, not only did you get told and get to experience Cassie’s story but you got Cam’s on the side as well.

I liked how Cassie and Frisco didn’t immediately get into the Dom/Sub relationship and that when Cassie branched out to Isaac for enlightenment Frisco didn’t run to get her back, it made the story realistic and I was thrilled when Isaac didn’t just disappear into the background either once Frisco came back into the fold.

I didn’t expect to like Cam as part of the read, often when I read ménages there is one of the three I either wish wasn’t part of it or I didn’t care for but I grew to adore his character so much. The element that striked me the most about this read was the emotional depth. I even teared up reading some of the moments in this book, I think that is a tell-tale sign that this is worthy of picking up.

Due to the nature of this read it wouldn’t be for everyone’s tastes. There are some rough moments to read through and some aspects that might be too much for some but if you are a BDSM fan, I would recommend this read without any hesitation. I’d give this read five stars.



Rating: «««««

Friday, October 24, 2014

Fire And Ice: Seasons of the Vampire I By Maya DeLeina

Fire and Ice (Seasons of the Vampire I)

*Submitted for review by author*

Genre:
Paranormal Romance, Erotic

Description:
Noel Tierney thought she’d have enough time before the predicted storm to make it to her holiday retreat, but the snow hit sooner than expected. Caught unprepared on a treacherous pass, poor visibility and icy conditions lead to a crash. She lay immobile in her vehicle, stranded in a ditch in the most remote leg of her journey.

A faceless hero comes to her rescue and Noel has no choice but to wait out the blizzard in her rescuer’s unique cabin nestled in the woods. Everything about Grayson James peaks her curiosity—his valor, air of mystery and most of all, undeniable attractiveness.


For three days and nights, passions are unleashed and unexpected emotions are brought to life. When the storm breaks, Grayson vanishes into thin air, but not before revealing startling news that leaves her questioning her sanity.


Fast forward years later and Noel is in the southernmost part of the United States. She’d come seeking solace after her husband’s tragic death, but what finds her in Key West is more than she ever anticipated.


In the sultry summer, her unbridled winter’s ecstasy resurrects.


And so does the Vampire.


Review


I will start off my saying that I have read some real doozy of plot twists in my book reading life but the ending/epilogue to this one really took the cake! I did not see that coming and it left me both intrigued and mind blown but also disappointed that Grayson and everything might be…

Well… I won’t ruin it by going into any more detail, you will have to get the book to find out for yourself. Though I suppose the beauty of the way the ending was written, everyone will most likely have a different interpretation of what it means.

As usual with a piece written by Maya DeLeina, the story telling and description of every moment is wonderfully done, it really captures the moment and allows you to imagine every element of what is happening. I liked how the plot progressed, it didn’t feel rushed to get where the story needed to go and it flowed smoothly.

The steamy scenes were some of the more heated and screen meltingly good that I have come across in a while, though some of the sexual dialog was a touch much in some instances for me however it wasn’t off-putting and didn’t affect my overall enjoyment of the read. If you are after a refreshing story from the other paranormal romances out there this might be one for you to consider. I’d give this read a rating of four stars.



Rating: ««««

Monday, October 13, 2014

Release Blitz & Giveaway: On the Growl – A Shifter Romance




On the Growl – A Shifter Romance Anthology by:
Celia Kyle, Lynn Red, Jessica Sims, Flora Dare & Marina Maddix
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Publisher: Rising Books
 

DESCRIPTION
 
From a pack of your favorite NYT and USAT best-selling paranormal romance authors comes a collection of ALL NEW novellas that will make you howl, scratch and bite... and leave you roaring for more!
 
Love comes in all shapes and sizes. No surprise there, right? Passionate, wild, hungry, dripping, salty, sweaty, steamy; falling in love is the best thing in the world.
 
It doesn’t matter if you’re a bunny with curves, a brand new werewolf without much clue what’s happening, a feisty wolverine shifter, a fun-loving house cat or a were-tigress with a short temper for obnoxious men, there’s a big, protective, incredible alpha for everyone... or in some cases, two of them!
 
Except... sometimes, it gets complicated. Mysterious and magical resorts, dangerous rogue wolves, dentists that get just a little too excited and start growing hair in funny places, a couple of bears who might be terrorists, and a tiger with a bad attitude?
 
Gulp. Things could get REAL complicated.
 
In places where the only rules are Pack rules; in towns where shifters and witch doctors rub shoulders; on exotic vacations where only eagles dare, and on planes where a wolverine shifter is sandwiched between two of the sexiest bears she’s ever imagined, you’ll never have more fun, or get more steamy, seductive, incredible paranormal romance in ONE PLACE at ONE LOW PRICE.
 

From our pack to yours, enjoy these incredible novellas, and keep howling for the moon!

* Waking Up Were by Celia Kyle *
What’s a gal to do when a dog bite isn’t a dog bite and her boss makes her want to howl at the moon? Keep him.

* Bear Your Teeth by Lynn Red *
A slightly clutzy rabbit-shifter and a big, bad bear of a dentist will take you along on a steamy, hilarious ride you’ll never forget!

* Tiger by the Tail by Jessica Sims *Were-tiger Adrian Merino is determined to see the newest shifter on the block, Mandy, become his mate. But it’s got to be her idea first…

* Bears Repeating by Flora Dare *
It takes double the werebears to handle one cranky wolverine in this menage romance.

* To Screech His Own by Marina Maddix *
It may be against the rules, but when a hot eagle shifter lands at an exclusive resort, one employee really wants to ruffle his feathers. What’s a curvy kitty to do?
 
 

Contact links:
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
~`Giveaway`~

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Cover Reveal: Tamed By Stacey Kennedy

Tamed
by Stacey Kennedy
 
 
 
Title: TAMED
Series title: Club Sin
Publisher: Loveswept
(Random House Publishing Group)
ISBN: 9780553391206
Release date: 3/10/2015
 
USA Today bestselling author Stacey Kennedy returns to the tantalizing world of Club Sin in an enticing novel of control and surrender.

 
Porter Marshall has nearly achieved his goal of becoming a Club Sin Master, but his new sub poses a much bigger challenge than he anticipated. Despite their mutual attraction and red-hot dungeon sessions, Kenzie Hart plays her own games. Her bratty, you-can’t-break-me attitude masks terrible personal hurt—pain that only the exquisite touch of a skilled Dom can release. But when Porter suggests taking their connection to the outside world, Kenzie denies him . . . which only makes him want her more.
 
 Kenzie can’t ignore the raw, fierce bond she has with Porter. But she can’t give in to his dangerous demands, either. Is the passion they share real, or is he using her to solidify his status at Club Sin? And yet, who else can she trust with the shattering secrets she holds within? As Porter expertly brings her to the point of no return, Kenzie surrenders her body—and, piece by piece, her heart.
 
Tamed is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.
 
Buy links:
 
 
 
About the Author:
 
 
STACEY KENNEDY is the USA Today bestselling author of the CLUB SIN series. Growing up, Stacey’s mind wandered the path less traveled and that path most often led to love. She has always broken rules and she continues to feed off emotion – staying true to her heart. Those traits are now the bones of her stories. She lives in southwestern Ontario with her husband, who puts any of the heroes in her books to shame, and their two young children. If she’s not on mom duty or plugging away at a new story, you’ll find Stacey camping in the summer, hibernating in the winter and obsessing over Penny Dreadful, Game of Thrones and Sons of Anarchy. 
 
Loveswept website - http://www.readloveswept.com
 
 
 
 
Praise for the Club Sin series:

“Claimed sucked me in! Stacey Kennedy weaves together the intense BDSM lifestyle with the soft touch of a sweeter, more traditional love story in a novel with an engaging heroine at its heart.”—J. Kenner, New York Times bestselling author of Release Me
 
“Deliciously sexy, Claimed will captivate you at once, leading you on an erotic journey that you won’t want to end. A fabulous talent, Kennedy shines in this fast-paced and exciting novel.”—New York Times bestselling author Cheyenne McCray
 
“Tender, emotional—and smoking hot!”—Savanna Fox, author of the Dirty Girls Book Club series, on Claimed

“Bared is a seductively haunting tale of control and surrender that will tantalize existing fans of the series while enticing new readers into the passionate world of Club Sin.”—Eliza Gayle, New York Times bestselling author of Submissive Beauty
 
“Bared is a hot blend of raw sensuality, and Stacey Kennedy is an author to watch!”—Eden Bradley, author of The Dark Garden and Dangerously Bound

 

 

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Giveaway & Guest Post: Pool of Crimson (The Blushing Death #1) by Suzanne M. Sabol

 
 
Pool of Crimson (The Blushing Death #1) by Suzanne M. Sabol
 

Killing vampires is easy. Trusting one will be the hardest thing Dahlia Sabin has ever done. Dahlia has lived a lonely existence as a killer of the undead. Known as The Blushing Death to those that fear her, Dahlia uncovers a plot by Columbus's Master Vampire, Ethan. He intends to raise a demon from the depths of hell to destroy the city, cement his power, and take control. In her pursuit to stop a demon from manifesting, Dahlia sinks deeper into the city's supernatural underworld and discovers that vampires are not only deadly; one in particular could be dangerous to her very soul and her heart. Patrick, the Master vampire's second-in-command with dark penetrating eyes and a cool, deadly sophistication, can't stay away and Dahlia can't tell him no.

There's something that neither of them knows, Ethan wants Dahlia's unleashed power for himself and is willing to do anything to get it. Dahlia is in a race against time to send the demon back to hell, at war with her better judgment, trusting a dark and intriguing vampire with his own agenda, while struggling to save her own neck. As the portal to hell opens, Dahlia has only herself to rely on in order to survive, if she can ... Also be sure to check out more action in the second book of the series with Dahlia Sabin, MIDNIGHT ASH.




Excerpt
 

“Well, Ma’am, it’s not the battery. I can tow it back to the garage on Third Avenue for you but that’s about all I can do here,” the tow truck driver said, after fifteen minutes of tinkering under my hood.
“I guess if it’s not going to start, I’ll have to take that,” I replied, my shoulders slumping in frustration.

“Do you need a ride, Ma’am?” he asked after watching me for a silent moment.

“No, Sir,” Jade said with a broad and bright smile that turned the corners of her mouth up in a sexy grin. The tow truck driver noticed, too, and couldn’t seem to take his eyes from her smile. “I’ll take her home,” she finished with a cocky hand on her hip.

The guy hoisted my car up onto the back of his flatbed and I waved goodbye to my ten year old, piece of shit, Pontiac. Damn it.

I slid into the warm leather seats of Jade’s fairly new BMW 3 Series Sedan. Everything was jet black, smooth, and sleek. It looked as if it was built for stealth. When she said that her dad had money, she wasn’t kidding. This thing was top of the line.

“So, where to?” she asked with a smile as she started the car in a roar of a beautifully tuned engine, something I hadn’t heard in a very long time.

“Grandview,” I said as I fastened my seatbelt. “I hope this isn’t taking you out of your way?” I suddenly felt ashamed. We’d gone to a sushi restaurant on the North end of town, but I had no idea where she lived.

“Don’t worry about it. I was just going to go home and start working on this Atiman thingy,” she said with a smile.“Ahriman.”

“Right, so this Ahriman could be a lot of things but if we combine it with the amulet you found, I’d say demon.”

“Demon, huh?” I asked as I shifted in my seat to face her. I’d grown up Catholic so I knew theoretically about demons but being told as a child about the fall of Lucifer and knowing that vampires were actually protecting themselves against demons were two different things.

“Yeah,” she said as she glanced at me from the corner of her eye then pulled onto I-71 South.
I caught a flash of headlights as I glanced out the rearview window.

“Especially with the caraway. That ingredient would guard against any demon since it’s powerful enough to guard against Lilith, the mother of all demons. The obsidian gives it a special twist I can’t quite figure out yet.”

A brand new white Dodge Charger pulled up alongside us at high speed in the lane to the left of Jade’s car. They slowed and maintained our speed, then dropped to just behind Jade’s rear bumper. The driver, a small woman with thick, curly, dark hair who could barely see over the dashboard, gawked at us.  The passenger, however, kept his head turned toward the driver and away from us.
The look in the driver’s eyes as they met mine was predatory and hungry and set my teeth on edge.
The passenger finally looked at me with a sneer. SMARMY! The glint of recognition in his eyes made my pulse race. Their presence was no coincidence.

“Now, I’ve never seen—”

“Jade,” I interrupted with a sharp tone. Her bright green eyes turned to me in surprise. “Can you slow down for me, please?” I said in a calmer tone, belying the pounding of my heart. An exit was coming up. We needed to make that without the Dodge Charger getting off, too.

Jade looked confused, but she dropped a good five miles per hour off her speed, taking her foot from the gas and not applying the brake. The white Dodge Charger did the same.

“Are we in trouble?” Jade glanced in her side mirror at the car slowing in the lane beside her.

“Not yet, just keep it at this speed and then take the I-270 West exit at the very last minute, then gun it,” I said, keeping an eye on the smirk cresting Smarmy’s lips.

I really wish I was driving. I’d show him a few tricks.
Jade did exactly what I said and when we hit the onramp, she laid her foot down on the gas, hard. The turbo engine revved and I whipped around in my seat to see where the white Charger was. It was hard to find in the darkness, and then I spotted it.
The driver was coming for us, across three damned lanes of traffic. Horns blared from the highway in long angry cries. She made the turn through the grass and headed up the hill, off-road, and toward us.

“Shit.” Smarmy and the crazy lady were gaining on us. “Go, go, go,” I yelled as the Charger closed in. I felt Jade’s car change gears and knew we had already hit 75 miles per hour.
“Get around this car, now!”

Jade swerved the car hard, and I drifted up, straining again the seatbelt before slamming my back into the door. I pulled myself back into the seat, my fingers clutched around the headrest as she straightened the car out. The white Charger bore down on us like a rampaging beast, all growling grill and glaring headlights. It was going to hit us. No, it was going to ram us.

Jade drove like a woman who wanted to avoid an accident or a ticket and the Charger drove like it wanted to send us into oblivion. That was the only thing keeping the Charger in proximity to Jade’s BMW. 
 God, I wish I was driving.

“Change lanes,” I screamed at her.

Jade slid the car easily into the next lane. A BMW should have been able to outrun the Charger any day of the week but not with Jade driving. “Drive this fucking car like you mean it!” I shouted in frustration.

The Charger got within a few feet of the bumper of Jade’s car and everything seemed to move in slow motion. I couldn’t do a damned thing but watch it happen. The Charger bumped Jade’s back end almost gently but the jolt rippled through the car like it was on a chain-pulled roller coaster. The force of the impact slammed me back in my seat and against the door. “Get over,” I screamed again over the pounding in my ears.
 
Jade jerked the car into the next lane then fought to straighten it out and keep control. Just as we were almost out of reach and I could see another exit, the metallic sound of metal on metal ripped through the air as the Charger clipped the back end of Jade’s car. I was flung back against my seat from the pull of the spin and pinned to the passenger side door as the car spun out of control. The entire world went silent as the tires squealed.
Tail lights. Trees. Head lights.
Taillights, trees, headlights.
Taillightstreesheadlights.
Taillights ...



 
Suzanne M Sabol is the author of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance. Welcome to my site! Stop in for exciting extras from the Blushing Death Series, tidbits of what’s to come, and exciting news.
Suzanne M Sabol is a member of Romance Writers of America; Central Ohio Fiction Writers; North East Ohio Romance Writers Chapter; Fantasy, Futuristic, and Paranormal Chapter of RWA.
Author Links





~`Giveaway~`
 

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Feature: The Story of Control By Adrianna Taylor

 The Real Truth about BDSM…
 

Written by British Dominatrix, Adrianna Taylor, The Story of Controlwill stimulate the reader’s most private inner fantasies as it reveals the secret, steamy world of BDSM.
 
The book fuses the author’s experiences as professional Dominatrix with her compelling life story; showing that the sweet-looking girl next door may actually lead a very different life, and be spanking bare bottoms behind closed doors in the house next door to you.
 
A must read for everyone who wants to expand their horizons.
 
 
 
About the author
 
Adrianna Taylor is a professional Dominatrix, known as Mistress Hallie Brookes. She has been a Dominatrix for 3 years, seeing clients regularly. She is 26, an attractive blonde, and a former fetish/glamour model. She is very bright, articulate, and a woman to be reckoned with. She lives in an ordinary, semi-detached house, in an ordinary housing estate in a medium-sized English town. However her life is far from ordinary. It is hard to believe this sweet, shy woman has a secret that she keeps from the outside world. In her secret life, Adrianna is known as Mistress Hallie Brookes, a formidable Dominatrix who likes to wield the cane on the bottoms of men.
 
The Story of Control is the first book in the story of Adrianna’s real-life experiences, mixed in with her life story. It is hard for most people to believe that this kind of thing could easily be going on in their neighbour’s house. Behind closed curtains. Of course, names are changed, and describing characteristics mixed up, to protect Adrianna’s clients’ privacy. Many people will find it hard to believe that this girl-next-door lookalike could be doing such outrageous things on a daily basis, quite possibly next door to where you live. And, proving that Adrianna is an ordinary person like you or me, the book is mixed with insights into the ordinary reality of her life when she is not being a Dominatrix.
 
BDSM is now a very popular topic thanks to a few well-known fictional novels. But The Story of Control is about factual real-life experiences in the world of BDSM, and the story of a young woman (who happens to be a Dominatrix) making her way through life - her loves and relationships. The Story of Control will appeal to both women and men, empowering both sexes to do (maybe) what they've always secretly wanted to do.
 
“This book is incredibly diverse, giving readers everything from blood-rushing depictions of my experiences through to the more poignant aspects of my personal story,” says Adrianna Taylor. “It also examines the changing role of women. For example, there have been Dominatrixes operating for centuries, but only now is society ready for one of them to come out of the woodwork and release a book. ’50 Shades of Grey’ has caught the public imagination, but it’s a work of fiction. This is the real deal.”
 
Taylor continues, “Readers will get to learn about a shadowy world that has always existed, but is often swept under the rug. I’ve literally seen and done it all – now you too can read about my very varied experiences.”
 
Critique:         
 
Extracts from a professional critique dated 12th May 2014:
 
“..it proved totally absorbing.”
 
I started reading it with the intention of merely reading the Prologue and Chapter One to get a 'feel' for the content but found myself so completely absorbed in it…. that I continued reading and read it from beginning to end in two sittings….”
 
“..it is a very sophisticated book of its type, carefully avoiding base and crude language and behaviour which elevates it above other books falling within the same genre.”
 
“…the reader feels privileged to have been led by the hand through this unusual world by someone as intelligent, self-aware and with such an absorbing personality as the author.”
 
 
For more information, to read excerpts, view recent photos of Adrianna,
 or to buy the book, visit: www.thestoryofcontrol.com
 

The Story of Control
is now available to purchase from Amazon on Kindle or paperback
 
Follow Adrianna on Twitter

Adrianna is available for interview via her agent, ​​​Nick Davies, at press@thestoryofcontrol.com
 
If you would like a copy of the book to review or feature on your website or blog, please contact Kris Barnes of Authoramp